Acer Aspire one

Citiguy

>>think NTU 8flags is still the cheapest. I thought only for the student so never enquire and also cant wait so rush down to SLS to buy just now before 8pm, now sim tia tat 8flags is almost $150 cheaper :( really heart pain typing this :s22:

I bought at $799

Enette, did you get the 6-cell version? The ones at 8flags (whether Linux or WinXP) are 3-cell version. (read from their website)

CrUeL

is it possible to buy the 6cell batt seperately? so can purchase at 8flags and using the discount to get the 6cell batt... so got 2 batts with the same price as retail. get the idea?

hamachi

Enette, did you get the 6-cell version? The ones at 8flags (whether Linux or WinXP) are 3-cell version. (read from their website)

I just called 8flags to enquire, and the lady said that the WinXP version comes with a 6-cell batt. And both versions include a 4GB SD card and a wireless optical mouse as free gifts.

Citiguy

I just called 8flags to enquire, and the lady said that the WinXP version comes with a 6-cell batt. And both versions include a 4GB SD card and a wireless optical mouse as free gifts.

hamachi, thanks for the update. The pricing for the Acer 1 at 8flags is very attractive.

Wish that Acer 1 has built in bluetooth, that would be perfect! I've used USB BT dongle before (c/w Blue Soliel S/W) - sometimes does not link up with my mobile phone. That is why I have this thought that built-in BT is better.

hamachi

>>think NTU 8flags is still the cheapest. I thought only for the student so never enquire and also cant wait so rush down to SLS to buy just now before 8pm, now sim tia tat 8flags is almost $150 cheaper :( really heart pain typing this :s22:

I bought at $799

I also felt quite "gek" after I bought my AspireOne! I got the Linux version at $588.50 from NUS. At that time the retail price outside was still $699, so I was happy I got a good deal. But the very next day, there was a $100 cash rebate, and the AspireOne has been retailing at $599 since then! I went thru so much trouble, but ended up with so little savings in the end! Grr. (It was very troublesome cos I'm not from NUS, and I had to get my friend to help me at that time.) And now, NTU 8flags has exactly the same deal as NUS, open to the public furthermore. On top of that, they have 2 colours to choose from, unlike NUS which only has the blue one. So much hassle for nothing! :frus:

Well, indeed the WinXP version deal is very attractive at 8flags (I think NUS doesn't have the WinXP version right?), but I prefer a lighter laptop, so the Linux version is better for me. (Trying to console myself, haha.)

Enette

yup, feeling kinda "Dui" buying at $799. $150 difference at 8flags store is really alot of saving. I can get an external dvd driver/ BT dongle with that $$ :(. Hamachi, at least u managed to save a little, tho its really a little, u didnt buy at a lost.

But still heng I didnt buy from best denki as theirs come with only 3 cell battery even for winxp version. Citiguy, I got mine with 6 cell battery fr SLS. If 8flags store comes with 3Cell battery then me also not so heartache lor.

SO, PPL OUT THERE, if u want to buy netbook, GO BUY ACER ONE at 8flags store ! ..... my heart really aches

sp9914957

i thought of getting too from 8flags, but next week is the computer fair in suntac, dont you think over there will have discount too and maybe more attractive deal ?? if you know any news on comex, share share...

droozy

is it nice to use ? Surf fast ? Can comment on your new toy ?? Thanks. Really tempted to buy at 8flags.

yup, feeling kinda "Dui" buying at $799. $150 difference at 8flags store is really alot of saving. I can get an external dvd driver/ BT dongle with that $$ :(. Hamachi, at least u managed to save a little, tho its really a little, u didnt buy at a lost.

But still heng I didnt buy from best denki as theirs come with only 3 cell battery even for winxp version. Citiguy, I got mine with 6 cell battery fr SLS. If 8flags store comes with 3Cell battery then me also not so heartache lor.

SO, PPL OUT THERE, if u want to buy netbook, GO BUY ACER ONE at 8flags store ! ..... my heart really aches

snipes14

8 flags is with 6 cell battery , free 4 gb sd card and free wireless optical mouse ...
As for color , only white available . I hope acer can let us change the casing color :)

Enette

is it nice to use ? Surf fast ? Can comment on your new toy ?? Thanks. Really tempted to buy at 8flags.

>>well, to me, it serves me well. I hv been carrying it around yesterday and today in my shoulder bag, dont really feel the weight, its light, no shoulder aches too. Screen is just rite for me, I dont feel it small at all. Surfing is same as my 2GB Ram 15" notebook, so for the time being, I am not thinking of upgrading the ram.

I did alot of word processing and email n chat, the keyboard is good for my fat fingers. For me, 8.9" size is just a cute, small, light, useful new toy for me :)

prostcode

so erm guys!!!!!!!!

any news when the brown one will come out!! by comex can come out?

if not jialat sia have to settle for blue or white.. :(

samuelchan13

Guys.. Heard from a friend who got a set from 8flag is having problem with the warranty with Acer as the offer price from them is actually from a NTU tender which is ONLY ENTITLED TO NTU STUDENT OR STAFF and that they are not allowed to sell to public.

Acer can trace from your serial number and require you to show prove that you're a student or staff from NTU else no warranty for you. This is silly. :s13:

Enette

hmmm, i guess acer wans to hv some control over the retailing price. If this is true then I am not sim tia buying my set for 799

samuelchan13

Manufacturers wont discount so much for no reasons unless there are reported defects in the product etc. Nonetheless it's a new and sellable product. RP $899 versus $674. A huge difference of $225 in just few weeks of launch? Didnt those people felt something is amiss and too good to be true? :s13:

Even fatdeals.sg, known for better prices didnt come close to that. :s13:

SaNZo

Guys.. Heard from a friend who got a set from 8flag is having problem with the warranty with Acer as the offer price from them is actually from a NTU tender which is ONLY ENTITLED TO NTU STUDENT OR STAFF and that they are not allowed to sell to public.

Acer can trace from your serial number and require you to show prove that you're a student or staff from NTU else no warranty for you. This is silly. :s13:

Dont think that it will be a problem IF you have a friend currently studying in NTU.

SaNZo

so erm guys!!!!!!!!

any news when the brown one will come out!! by comex can come out?

if not jialat sia have to settle for blue or white.. :(

Ya... I oso waiting for the brown one to be available... Else I'll take blue.. :o

yanfxl

hi,

can confirm if non ntu staff or student can buy the acer at discounted price at 8 flags?

thx.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.