snipes14
heard from friend that the winxp version comes with 120GB hdd.
Yes we know that. What everyone wants to know is the release date...
heard from friend that the winxp version comes with 120GB hdd.

Hi, just got my seashell white from KL, but I just cun install my XP in it. Read through numerous website, used all sorts of tactics on web, my whity just cun detect XP from SSD nor thumb drive.... Conclusion from my IT friend is, I must format the upgrade the Bios and clone from another Atom machine.
Can any one share with me a better the way of installing the XP or the only solution is cloning? I'm noob in IT, but trying to gain as much info frm here....
Thanks!
btw, the aspire1 don't have bluetooth right?

nopes.. no BT.
hope funan got stocks liao. later go recce![]()
Yes we know that. What everyone wants to know is the release date...
Share with you my experience. I bought 2 AA1 UMPC during Funan Acer promotion at $699+$499. Cost is around S$600
The white colour has 2200mAh battery capacity and 2400mAh in the blue one. Following the forum in www.aspireoneuser.com I managed to upgrade the blue one to 1.5GB RAM, using a samsung 667 1GB RAM. The replaced Hyndix RAM is also 667. The upgrade is a pain and need an hour.
With this machine, I installed XP by firstly disabled the D2D in BIOS and used a USB DVD ROM as the 1st boot device. I deleted 2 partitions in its SSD and format to FAT32. It is as simple as normal installation in a new hard disk.
For almost an hour, I set up the XP OS. Using the drivers downloaded from Thailand Acer official websites and unzipped earlier, another half an hour is required. You need to find a WLAN driver to make the LED work, contributed by one member from aspireoneuser website.
I activated the windows XP, installed MS Office, Acrobat 6.0, Realplayer 11, installed RAM disk and set 768MB as R drive, limit the system restore to smaller size, point the virtual drive to R:, set environmental variable to R:\temp. I spent in total 2 hours 15 min.
The machine can now play RMVB, VOB, MP4 video files smoothly.
With the other machine, I did not upgrade the RAM and installed XP. Activation needs another license so I am pending to buy. I only install MS office and real player. The result is acceptable. Don't expect too fast but at least the video files can be played smoothly with normal resolution.
Hope the above helps you.
found a lobang to get AOA150 at less than $700 but promotion ends 31 aug. still indecisive whether to get it cos dun really need it.
674 for the 120gb one? must be NTU student then can buy lah?
i think his lobang is ntu 8flags. they are selling at 674 for the xp version.
bros,
1st sorry, cannot login HWZ in the office now. got to wait till i reach home then can login n reply.
2nd sorry, the lobang is for staffs only. but i think public can buy at $728 for AOA150.
the website has been updated. you can view it again.."Special Price SGD 630.00 (SGD 674.10 w/gst)"
Anyway, a bit off topic here but they have also added the EEEbox for $439 (w/ GST)