Actually what's the benchmark? And what's the point?

coolhead

I was referring to him and whichever girl he might be hoping for. Not me. As for me, I'm tired of being rejected or trying.
I think our @mgx-alander has a never say die attitude.

@mgx-alander , she is tired of trying, she won't put up anymore struggles. Now's your chance to snap up this bargain. Ask and you shall receive. Be the man to inspire conversations, turn dates into reality, her dreams and happiness x2.

@IAmChiobu12M That time he was perm banned due to GE, the horde of edmw rose up and rescued him from the vestiges of death. He is now where he is today, stable job in an industry always in demand. He is a good man imo.

Jude Raphael

So I'm curious what's the benchmark? And what's the point of having a relationship or even marriage or even family.
Benchmark is relative. Everyone has different tastes and they can hardly come to the same conclusion on certain topics. If you find that the chap looks 顺眼 to you, fair enough. That will always be someone who looks cuter. Well, probably these are some "natural" steps in our lives.

You find someone, date for a few years, decide to settle down after "floating" for a while, get married, get a flat, kids, you raise them up, they continue from how you started, you begin to grow old and then..you leave this world. Rather than ask, "what is the point of doing all these?" Why not consider the meaning, joy, lessons and other intangible aspects that you may bring to the lives of the others? To be the best version of yourself and impart these to the next generation. How would you like to be remembered by those surviving after you have passed on?

Girls keep saying girl power and we deserve better, hence we should have high standards and daringly demand but if men are not buying it is pointless. It takes 2 person to agree to come together.
If what the ladies have at home is already good for them, why settle for lesser outside? As compared to the past, many parents are now able to provide MORE to their children in terms of the quality of education e.g. Parents are better educated these days and they are the models for their kids in terms of what they may achieve with a different head start.
Similarly, a lot single bbfa always say they wish to have a girl even hiew them. Yet there are another camp keep say rs is burden, single is best.
Well, both aren't wrong from what I feel.
And honestly at this stage and even as a female, I also think rs are quite pointless. Even if the best piak, strongest passion, thickest love will also eventually withers.
Well, maybe, you have not met the one who makes you want to take the next step and risks involved.. Yes, physical aspects will fade with time. No doubt about it. But, other than asking what others may do for you, what will you do for others in return? Even with the highest level of passion, if the lady were simply going thru the motion of it all and does not feel the same, how long would this passion/lust/love last?
As the Chinese saying goes: "水涨船高“。 水位不上涨,船位哪儿会提高?
Caz bto lor. We are in an environment where housing keep pricing us out so to catch up, many decided to play the bto game by getting someone, if not single need wait 35yo.
This to me, is illogical. It is nothing but a sham marriage like what some have gotten themselves into for monetary returns. Why bother then? Why waste a few years of your life and his, simply to queue for a flat, buy one, complete the M.O.P, sell and then do what? Of course, if both parties have agreed that the union were simply to buy and sell the flats for maximum profits but lead separate lives, then by all means, go ahead. I believe that the breaking up would be relatively more amicable.
But even those who successfully attached or married end up also have other problems. Guys scared wear green hats or WC, girls scared end up nothing and become single mother suffer.
Sure. Definitely. Both parties are not wrong as people have gone thru what you have described. These fears are omnipresent.

At the end of the day, you know all the theories and stories from both sides. You will have to make an informed choice (or meeting someone who makes you want to do that with him), if all these efforts are worthwhile. There is no RIGHT or WRONG answer.

BunnyPancake

I believe it has to do with our upbringing leh...

For example, men like to say SG girls too demanding, too spoilt, .etc. So why we say this? It is because we grew up and see our moms being warriors - many of our moms worked while also tanking household chores and everything. They literally stick with the family and their husbands (our dads) through thick-and-thin. So we start wondering why women aren't like this. Some guys even expect women to be subservient like how our moms listen to our dads traditionally.

For SG women, they also experienced a relatively good life. Their dads treated them well and never let most of them go out work but focus on studies and enjoy. They literally treated them like princesses and they also get spoilt from their moms to the point they don't know how to cook or do basic household chores. Compare this to the older generations when the moms will force their daughters to learn to cook and do household chores, .etc.

So end up, both genders keep blaming each other. In reality, I think we all became too blind from all the expectations and pampered upbringing le.

Now add all these with the unrealistic expectation from K-dramas and movies or Hollywood shows and sitcoms; while guys are bombarded with beautiful women photos and pornographic materials. So they became unrealistic too: women set their standards as according to those K-drama - wants the guy to be yandao, fitzai, mid 20s or late 20s max, got BMW or some luxury car, then family also got big biz, .etc.; SG men expect women to look like Yui Hatano minimum while tua neh neh and nice body, while also able to do their duties like their moms - able to work and tank household chores.

Everyone became unrealistic. :s13:

mgx-alander

@mgx-alander , she is tired of trying, she won't put up anymore struggles. Now's your chance to snap up this bargain. Ask and you shall receive. Be the man to inspire conversations, turn dates into reality, her dreams and happiness x2.

@IAmChiobu12M That time he was perm banned due to GE, the horde of edmw rose up and rescued him from the vestiges of death. He is now where he is today, stable job in an industry always in demand. He is a good man imo.
Dun anyhow match make la

trumperater

I believe it has to do with our upbringing leh...

For example, men like to say SG girls too demanding, too spoilt, .etc. So why we say this? It is because we grew up and see our moms being warriors - many of our moms worked while also tanking household chores and everything. They literally stick with the family and their husbands (our dads) through thick-and-thin. So we start wondering why women aren't like this. Some guys even expect women to be subservient like how our moms listen to our dads traditionally.

For SG women, they also experienced a relatively good life. Their dads treated them well and never let most of them go out work but focus on studies and enjoy. They literally treated them like princesses and they also get spoilt from their moms to the point they don't know how to cook or do basic household chores. Compare this to the older generations when the moms will force their daughters to learn to cook and do household chores, .etc.

So end up, both genders keep blaming each other. In reality, I think we all became too blind from all the expectations and pampered upbringing le.

Now add all these with the unrealistic expectation from K-dramas and movies or Hollywood shows and sitcoms; while guys are bombarded with beautiful women photos and pornographic materials. So they became unrealistic too: women set their standards as according to those K-drama - wants the guy to be yandao, fitzai, mid 20s or late 20s max, got BMW or some luxury car, then family also got big biz, .etc.; SG men expect women to look like Yui Hatano minimum while tua neh neh and nice body, while also able to do their duties like their moms - able to work and tank household chores.

Everyone became unrealistic. :s13:
Most guys' requirements v simple actually: not fat, 看的顺,pleasant personality can alr

For the girls is like what you said, most of them are chasing the top guys and hiam the rest, won't settle for anything less and start panicking when their biological clock starts to turn against them. Less of an issue for women who don't want kids but they will find their pool of guys to be even smaller.

lampano

Been seeing a lot thread about relationships or girls wanting too much etc.

So I'm curious what's the benchmark? And what's the point of having a relationship or even marriage or even family.

Girls keep saying girl power and we deserve better, hence we should have high standards and daringly demand but if men are not buying it is pointless. It takes 2 person to agree to come together.

Similarly, a lot single bbfa always say they wish to have a girl even hiew them. Yet there are another camp keep say rs is burden, single is best.

And honestly at this stage and even as a female, I also think rs are quite pointless. Even if the best piak, strongest passion, thickest love will also eventually withers.

And having said that, I'm sure many, (at least in sg context), people are not even happy in a rs but why they stay on? Caz bto lor. We are in an environment where housing keep pricing us out so to catch up, many decided to play the bto game by getting someone, if not single need wait 35yo.
And doesn't mean ballot will get too. While resale is so expensive. Let alone private properties.

But even those who successfully attached or married end up also have other problems. Guys scared wear green hats or WC, girls scared end up nothing and become single mother suffer.

Lai edmwers, give your wisdom on this endless loop.
the smartest ladies are always giving face to men outside and act boss at home
they knw when to be 小女人 most of time and when to be Tiger. they act dumb when their man are showing off, and letting them taken care by.

most of SG ladies are like male in the relationship, then wonder why no one loves them
You cannot always be the winner in the relationship

BunnyPancake

Most guys' requirements v simple actually: not fat, 看的顺,pleasant personality can alr

For the girls is like what you said, most of them are chasing the top guys and hiam the rest, won't settle for anything less and start panicking when their biological clock starts to turn against them. Less of an issue for women who don't want kids but they will find their pool of guys to be even smaller.
The saddest part is... As I shared before, I've seen really jialat looking women still set high standards. It is a bloody miracle, I tell you.

I've seen 2 out of 10 looks women; some 3 out of 10... But they think they are a 6.

Nothing wrong when people have requirements like "the person needs to be caring and attentive" and so on... But when they still want guys must have car, at least 4-5K salary or higher salary than her; then looks must be at least average... I'm like wtf...

It is not being salty leh... But more can't understand their logic. It's like someone with a Xiaomi phone demands the same asking price as iPhone 14, 15, or worse yet, 16.

I've not bothered about the dating scene since then... Because I also know I won't be in the top.

So many times I've seen women tio rejected or piak-ed by their top guys or bad bois then tio dumped, then come find me. No thanks.

Encouragesome1

Didi @mgx-alander and @IAmChiobu12M meimei , just try meet for tea or coffee or go running tgt la. If good can be friend n who knows what will develop ? If cant click it’s just human life , some ppl we click some ppl don’t . Nothing to be amazed at.

Spike

Some ppl really want too much too exaggerated

I feel if you are attractive find someone similar … while ppl say opposites attract, we mostly can get by with ppl who r slightly different while somehow similar to us.. like have some overlaps.

to ah mah’s generation having a rs / family is for companionship happiness n sad
and good side effect is sharing of lives’ expertise, burdens and risks.

Society also gives legitimacy of a married couple as adults to house own before 35
and reward them with better roles n outcomes in careers vs single. Self validation. Chinese also sees being married as a legitimacy / recognition as grown up. If one neh marry, means alws a kid in e household, whatever u say, ur elders will say “u still young n immature u don’t understand de la”

Yea a human can say we how likeable how attractive how cute, if nobody else or only our parent thinks so then that is boh pakeh one.

Example If one can hold a decent job maybe 3-5 y or more it means they can mostly do a decent work. Likewise if one can sustain a loving relationship for x years it sort of prove that they aren’t too difficult to get along with.

In e end it’s just family n commitment and love is what keeps the commitment willing and endless

All rs as with anyth else got human got problems. It’s how two or more ppl use their best efforts n resolution to resolve before things grow out of hand. The best nor worst relationships / & situations are not there overnight , it takes 999 days and events to make it bad or good. 一切事在人为

Ah mah one cent worth not sure any help or mk u any wiser ya since u alr know most of what we know
Money can resolve everything.

If money cannot resolve, means money not enough, need more money! ;)

lampano

most of them are chasing the top guys and hiam the rest, won't settle for anything less and start panicking when their biological clock starts to turn against them. Less of an issue for women who don't want kids but they will find their pool of guys to be even smaller.
Exactly. my ex place so many late 30s and 40s single.
some still think they chiobu and look very young.
i just ask them to stand beside the 20s and take a good look of themselves:ROFLMAO:

Encouragesome1

Money can resolve everything.
Most things
If money cannot resolve,
They are priceless and not buy able
Time n health cannot be bought but u can buy other ppl’s time to help give urself bit more time but the outcome not same as u ownself do.

health wise u can spend $ on supplement food and best gyms, u still need own motivation n effort n sustained enthusiasm to keep up in long run.
means money not enough, need more money! ;)
Many thg eg above time energy health n True love cannot be bought w $ ba

jinsadndepress

Most things

They are priceless and not buy able
Time n health cannot be bought but u can buy other ppl’s time to help give urself bit more time but the outcome not same as u ownself do.

health wise u can spend $ on supplement food and best gyms, u still need own motivation n effort n sustained enthusiasm to keep up in long run.

Many thg eg above time energy health n True love cannot be bought w $ ba
Time can be bought ...

Enough money to not work = buyed 40+ hour every week

Health can be bought ...

Buyed supplement , buyed time to exercise , buyed healthy whole food , etc ...

Actually single best thing chiu can do for health is to sleep good 8 hour every night .., if enough marnee to no need work sure clock 8 hour quality stress free sleep every night 1 ...

True love doesnt exist

Encouragesome1

jinsadndepress

Try telling a stay home mom

Try telling someone who born with some handicap

My world and my mom tells me otherwise
Stay at home mum = working ...

If chiu got enough $ , hire maid n baby sitter . Mean chiu not enough $ lor ...

Handicap then too bad lar ...

Who ask their mother never spend marnee eat pregnancy supplement , go for regular pregnancy check up , not enough money eat good diet for baby health , worst case do gene edit to ensure baby born healthy ...

Chiu living in past ...

Chiu donch know the true power of marnee ....

Peepur who say marnee cant solve all problem really ish not enough marnee / donch know how to deploy the marnee

jinsadndepress

Try telling a stay home mom

Try telling someone who born with some handicap

My world and my mom tells me otherwise
Btw point about true love ...

Maybed true love between mother n child possible ... Evolution bias to ensure child survive ...

But true love between 2 other human ...

Hard la ,, no evolutionary pressure to support that ...

Love ish a modern concept , institutionalised to protect modern society ...

Biological , no such thing as true love ...

Maybe in k drama ...

Btw no true love doesnt mean no love n no hope for a fulfilling partnership

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.