Advice on gaming rig

iNoStandard

i would get the 6500 but that's just me. for the mobo selection, if u think u need the gen 3.1 usb, go ahead. otherwise u could go with cheaper variants of h110m.

gpu wise i think u get zotac for its pricing. so far i using the 1070 mini and no problems really.

ram u only need 8gb. but 16 if u like. dun get coerced by the shop to get things that u dun need. also like i mentioned, your ram can be reused if u buy mobos that support ddr3.

psu if u are considering to change, u can get superflower. they won't cost like 150. 550w should be more than enough.

lastly, are u gonna assemble yourself or what? if so, are u comfortable with online shopping? there's some qoo10 sales going on right now and u can enjoy significant savings.

yes i will get from qoo10, i have the $100 coupon and the shop coupon & the shop that are selling stuff is just below my house :s13:
i will try to get them help me with it.

MianBaoFren

yes i will get from qoo10, i have the $100 coupon and the shop coupon & the shop that are selling stuff is just below my house :s13:

cpu + mobo: i5-6500 + gigabyte h110m-ds2 @ 410
ram: kingston ddr4 8gb ram 2133mhz @ 66.50 (after applying qoo10 $5 coupon) http://list.qoo10.sg/item/KINGSTON-KINGSTON-MEMORY-RAM-STICK-VALUERAM-DDR4-2133-8GB-4GB-LIMITED/455039959
gpu: zotac gtx 1060 3gb mini @ 244 (after applying qoo10 $50 coupon and 2% shop discount) http://list.qoo10.sg/item/ZOTAC-ZOTAC-GTX1060-AMP-6GB-DDR5-ZOTAC-1060-3GB-DDR5-GRAPHIC-CARD/480895587
psu: fsp 450w hexa plus @ 58
casing: f3 tecware @ 50 http://list.qoo10.sg/item/TECWARE-F3-M-ATX-GAMING-CASE-BLUE-RED-WHITE/503599422
ssd: crucial mx300 750gb ssd @ 175 https://sg.carousell.com/p/crucial-mx300-750gb-ssd-local-set-83978562/?ref=search&ref_query=mx300%20750gb&ref_rank=1&ref_referrer=%2Fsearch%2Fproducts%3Fquery%3Dmx300%2520750gb
total: 1033.50

this is my original quote for someone who i think is undeserving of it now. u can use it as a reference.

shadow84

I think u need to purchase online, cant get the same from shop directly.

Holee17

I wonder who it was :spin: :spin:

Wasn't the 750gb SSD on offer during Christmas? I remembered the price was around $100

cpu + mobo: i5-6500 + gigabyte h110m-ds2 @ 410
ram: kingston ddr4 8gb ram 2133mhz @ 66.50 (after applying qoo10 $5 coupon) http://list.qoo10.sg/item/KINGSTON-KINGSTON-MEMORY-RAM-STICK-VALUERAM-DDR4-2133-8GB-4GB-LIMITED/455039959
gpu: zotac gtx 1060 3gb mini @ 244 (after applying qoo10 $50 coupon and 2% shop discount) http://list.qoo10.sg/item/ZOTAC-ZOTAC-GTX1060-AMP-6GB-DDR5-ZOTAC-1060-3GB-DDR5-GRAPHIC-CARD/480895587
psu: fsp 450w hexa plus @ 58
casing: f3 tecware @ 50 http://list.qoo10.sg/item/TECWARE-F3-M-ATX-GAMING-CASE-BLUE-RED-WHITE/503599422
ssd: crucial mx300 750gb ssd @ 175 https://sg.carousell.com/p/crucial-mx300-750gb-ssd-local-set-83978562/?ref=search&ref_query=mx300%20750gb&ref_rank=1&ref_referrer=%2Fsearch%2Fproducts%3Fquery%3Dmx300%2520750gb
total: 1033.50

this is my original quote for someone who i think is undeserving of it now. u can use it as a reference.

Holee17

Huh? Nowadays HDD norm is like 1TB already, saw some WD gold edition boasting 10TB 😂 750GB for doing 4K video editing would be somewhat perfect ☺️ currently using 500GB M.2 crucial and it's quite comfortable already!

Oh but do note that If SSD dies there is no hope of recovery, HDD still got a rather high percentage of recovery.

750gb ssd ? Wah like that i dont even need hdd liao . My storage not even 100gb lo

MianBaoFren

shadow84

I thought it was $99 @ Lazada? Sold out in less than an hour I think

Nope, it was us$99 at amazon. Then a few days later, convergent released at $165 or $169. With coupon code, can get at s$157+/-, which is around $10 more than amazon + 3 yrs local warranty.

Holee17

Actually I'm considering buying one, currently using m.2 500GB, but it's quickly getting full and I'm quite limited in opening files while I transfer them from my HDD to my SDD to be used for quick access, if I do transfers from the crucial 750GB to my main boot SSD (m.2), will there be any speed loss? Or will I still be getting roughly the same speed? Yup saw on carousell people selling at 250 but from your link it's $170 so its quite a reasonable price 😂 was considering to just get it ☺️

Well friends can only be friends and be helpful to a certain extend, see when any issues prop up will the Friend be there to diagnose 😂 for all u know maybe this "Friend" is trying to eat money by overcharging 😏

Ignore the ssd. I realised its a troll but I lazy to change. Still there are some floating around for 250 onwards.

Just some guy who wants to build a pc for his friend without any knowledge. Very irresponsible if u ask me.

Sent from A Cat Who Does Not Need A Reason To Post using GAGT

Holee17

Ohhhh must have gotten mixed up!! Hopefully convergent rolls out the offer again ☺️

Nope, it was us$99 at amazon. Then a few days later, convergent released at $165 or $169. With coupon code, can get at s$157+/-, which is around $10 more than amazon + 3 yrs local warranty.

MianBaoFren

Actually I'm considering buying one, currently using m.2 500GB, but it's quickly getting full and I'm quite limited in opening files while I transfer them from my HDD to my SDD to be used for quick access, if I do transfers from the crucial 750GB to my main boot SSD (m.2), will there be any speed loss? Or will I still be getting roughly the same speed? Yup saw on carousell people selling at 250 but from your link it's $170 so its quite a reasonable price � was considering to just get it ☺️

Well friends can only be friends and be helpful to a certain extend, see when any issues prop up will the Friend be there to diagnose � for all u know maybe this "Friend" is trying to eat money by overcharging �
that's abusing our goodwill.

iNoStandard

i bought msi h110m pro-vhl / i5-6500 and corsair ddr 8gb 2666 .
total for 600$
they told me my gpu still working hence i did not change first.
i feel abit wrong leh :(
im sure something is wrong , did i over pay or the combination wrong

MianBaoFren

i bought msi h110m pro-vhl / i5-6500 and corsair ddr 8gb 2666 .
total for 600$
they told me my gpu still working hence i did not change first.
i feel abit wrong leh :(
im sure something is wrong , did i over pay or the combination wrong

Where did u buy? Who the f recommended u 2666mhz ram? It's actually overkill because your mobo don't support that.

Bro i am afraid u got carrot. It's hilarious that u don't even ask us and went ahead to buy.

MianBaoFren

my house downstair, she recommended me the corsair alot people buy..
then show me some ajipara ram which i don't know what's that .
i asked her about the kingston 2133 from qoo10, she say how come so cheap , cannot be .

Carrot. 100%.

U just paid 143 for 8gb ram. Congrats.

I really dunno what to say. I pasted the link for u to purchase, u don't want to follow or ask questions. What's the point of starting this thread then?

MianBaoFren

Actually I'm considering buying one, currently using m.2 500GB, but it's quickly getting full and I'm quite limited in opening files while I transfer them from my HDD to my SDD to be used for quick access, if I do transfers from the crucial 750GB to my main boot SSD (m.2), will there be any speed loss? Or will I still be getting roughly the same speed? Yup saw on carousell people selling at 250 but from your link it's $170 so its quite a reasonable price 😂 was considering to just get it ☺️

Well friends can only be friends and be helpful to a certain extend, see when any issues prop up will the Friend be there to diagnose 😂 for all u know maybe this "Friend" is trying to eat money by overcharging 😏

the 170 is a troll so take note. in any case, i dun think as casual users, we get to see any big difference in transfer numbers unless u are those crazy enthusiasts who get orgasms from slightly faster transfer speeds.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.