Advice on Penang

beanstalk6

Excluding the traveling, how much time is needed for Kek Lok Si? I'm hoping 2.5 hours would be sufficient.. I really think it's a pity to land in Penang and only see georgetown sia

2 hours. Tops. What time is your shore break?
It will be a pity if you are going to visit every place just to check off against a list.

Andrew833

Excluding the traveling, how much time is needed for Kek Lok Si? I'm hoping 2.5 hours would be sufficient.. I really think it's a pity to land in Penang and only see georgetown sia

Agree, less than 2 hours excluding transportation time. So just nice to go Georgetown for lunch.

summersky1986

2 hours. Tops. What time is your shore break?
It will be a pity if you are going to visit every place just to check off against a list.
ARRIVES 14:30 DEPARTS 22:00 (DOCKED)
PORT OF CALL : PENANG

Of course, I don't expect to be on shore at 14.30 exactly and don't intend to board at 22.00 sharp lol

Sent from 10char using GAGT

beanstalk6

Of course, I don't expect to be on shore at 14.30 exactly and don't intend to board at 22.00 sharp lol

Look, you only have 6 hours or less. Half of it after sunset.
Street Art Trail, Komtar, Goddess of Mercy temple, Chulia Street, Fort Cornwallis for you. Clan jetties or Guerney Drive, if you stretch it a bit.

beast78

The problem is how much you can eat. Every place got makan. At least do some culture sight seeing.

True... there will be a lot of makan onboard the cruise anyway...

Sent from 10char using GAGT

You only have less than 8 hours and 3 hours are in the dark..... so I think you need to set your expectations very realistically that you really can't do much....at most 3-4 activities...

If you want to go Kek Lok Si, then maybe do that + Jetty + makan at Gurney Drive...that's it...

summersky1986

Look, you only have 6 hours or less. Half of it after sunset.
Street Art Trail, Komtar, Goddess of Mercy temple, Chulia Street, Fort Cornwallis for you. Clan jetties or Guerney Drive, if you stretch it a bit.

You only have less than 8 hours and 3 hours are in the dark..... so I think you need to set your expectations very realistically that you really can't do much....at most 3-4 activities...

If you want to go Kek Lok Si, then maybe do that + Jetty + makan at Gurney Drive...that's it...

Thanks both for all the information.. I didn't even account for the night hours..

Think I'll stick to beanstalk's plan and not force on the temple.. it's meant to be a relaxed trip after all

beanstalk6

Thanks both for all the information.. I didn't even account for the night hours..

Think I'll stick to beanstalk's plan and not force on the temple.. it's meant to be a relaxed trip after all

You can visit Penang next time for the food, Penang Hill, Batu Ferringhi and Kek Lok Si. If the ship docks at 2.30pm, I think the earliest you can be on shore may be 3pm. If it is going to leave at 10pm, you probably need to be there before 9.30pm to account for processing and the traffic near the cruise terminal.

chehjin

wow, since u have so little day light, really don't leave georgetown. and maybe u can consider a good dinner at new lane or gurney drive then slowly make ur way back to ship.

gurney drive although more chop tourist but it has gurney plaza beside, if that is your thing.

summersky1986

wow, since u have so little day light, really don't leave georgetown. and maybe u can consider a good dinner at new lane or gurney drive then slowly make ur way back to ship.

gurney drive although more chop tourist but it has gurney plaza beside, if that is your thing.

Bro, any recommendation for a good dinner at Penang? No budget concern, just recommend freely

beast78

summersky1986

New lane and gurney drive are street food/hawker centre where you get your char kway teow, chendols, wanton mee and the likes.

If you are looking for restaurants, then maybe you want to consider a Nyonya restaurant?
http://penangfoodie.com/nyonya-restaurants-penang/

I think we'll do the street food in the afternoon and the nyonya restaurant at night.

You guys basically planned my whole itinerary :s13:

beast78

I think we'll do the street food in the afternoon and the nyonya restaurant at night.

But by the time you disembark from the cruise, its 3+pm liao right... Shouldn't you had lunch onboard the cruise by then?

Not very sure if the hawkers are open in the mid-afternoon... maybe the other bros can advise...But I reckon you guys should have stomach for only 1 meal bah...

chehjin

after 3pm, some of the popular/famous street foods might be closed liao.

about 3pm-5pm, if u do the street art first, can go ming xiang tai pastry shop for egg tarts and dim sum and drinks. its right in the area of the street arts.
http://mingxiangtai.com.my/

I suggested new lane, gurney drive kind of food cos I assume you will be sick of restaurant kind of food from the ship.

But if you want a proper sit down place, you can try Kapitan resturant. very good indian food, naans and tandoori stuff. they also got claypot briyani. there's a branch quite close to the cruise pier.

else, you can consider red garden which is right beside cheong fatt tze mansion. food wise still the same penang hawker fare though but its a beer garden and you get some thai singers and entertainer (not sure what time it starts though)
https://www.facebook.com/redgardenpenang/

for nyonya restaurant, I don't have any recommendation, nothing memorable for me

summersky1986

But by the time you disembark from the cruise, its 3+pm liao right... Shouldn't you had lunch onboard the cruise by then?

Not very sure if the hawkers are open in the mid-afternoon... maybe the other bros can advise...But I reckon you guys should have stomach for only 1 meal bah...

Yea, lunch onboard.. just a light one perhaps? Hawker food don't need to finish up clean clean la.. eat till song throw buy something else to try :s13: Or I'll just ask for half portion, pay same price doesn't kill.. it's a holiday..

summersky1986

after 3pm, some of the popular/famous street foods might be closed liao.

about 3pm-5pm, if u do the street art first, can go ming xiang tai pastry shop for egg tarts and dim sum and drinks. its right in the area of the street arts.
http://mingxiangtai.com.my/

I suggested new lane, gurney drive kind of food cos I assume you will be sick of restaurant kind of food from the ship.

But if you want a proper sit down place, you can try Kapitan resturant. very good indian food, naans and tandoori stuff. they also got claypot briyani. there's a branch quite close to the cruise pier.

else, you can consider red garden which is right beside cheong fatt tze mansion. food wise still the same penang hawker fare though but its a beer garden and you get some thai singers and entertainer (not sure what time it starts though)
https://www.facebook.com/redgardenpenang/

for nyonya restaurant, I don't have any recommendation, nothing memorable for me

I'm quite tempted to go to red garden for dinner, but I also feel like going to Kebaya restaurant for more upscale Peranakan food. I told the missus about Kapitan awhile ago, we're certainly gonna drop by for some naan and tandoori.. will definitely find stomach for ming xiang tai and other street food

stonefish35

Don't waste your time at gurney drive. the hawker food are over rated. It's only cheap due to the 1 : 3. save your time and stomach space for other recommendations

beanstalk6

Don't waste your time at gurney drive. the hawker food are over rated. It's only cheap due to the 1 : 3. save your time and stomach space for other recommendations

Can you imagine how the original Gurney Drive hawker centre expanded 4 times the size of the original 20 years ago?

summersky1986

Can you imagine how the original Gurney Drive hawker centre expanded 4 times the size of the original 20 years ago?

Cause tourist carrot good to chop :s13:

It gets so commercialized everywhere these days, rather I go sweat it out at gurney I might as well pay for something nice :s13:

Park8282

Visit Gurney Paragon!

For shopping, must visit Gurney Paragon shopping mall! Can also find murals in Georgetown area and take photos w them!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.