Advice on Penang

ryeunkei

him hiang only has 1 store/outlet nia.. n the chendol is awesome! dun wish to go back sg le.. heh..

any food i shd try still? goin back tml le.. =(

padre

U tell dvr go 'da lu hou', in english means behind main rd.

Lotsa gd food there

Innocast

hooted this from prangin mall...........:Dcomic shop.....
4888177154_79cc30630c_b.jpg

Walked 20++ mins to go to the Chee Hiang to buy this dau sa piah.........:D

4887541893_4b51a478f6_b.jpg

4888180046_16acc4c498_b.jpg

Innocast

actually i hate the transport in penang, bus is not convenient and taxi ish damn ex.........they dun use meter but again they charge damn high..........:s16::s16::s16::s16::s16::s16::s16:

Franzz

megamall is big, but very dirty and look dangerous. entire topmost floor is almost empty. :(

if really boring, try take a walk down gurney beach. walk away from the shopping mall,
got lotsa good food, no shiat. morning can eat porridge, afternoon eat BBQ chicken wing, dinner eat BKT.

and you got class 2b bo? can go to burma road and rent a scooter. in the day weather quite hot so better stay indoor. at night can take a ride around fort cornwallis then head down to the nearby little india for cheap north indian food. don't worry about getting lost, worse come to worse you just ride in circles! :s13:

Franzz

if you are near prangin, at night can walk towards the jetty. alot of affordable seafood and bbq. crabs, fish, your usual kway teow etc. directly opposite the jetty got this food stall near a big tree, also quite nice i think.

Delsamor

ok mah I prefer to go travel alone, can manage my schedule easily.....

Super boring lo... the no of ppl in the restaurant also god damn little, but this ish good la........

Sat afternoon going back but already can't tahan to stay any longer, I just arrived yesterday late afternoon only.....stay for 3 nites
Lucky I didn't plan so many days else will be bored to dealth.....

Do they hab china town here or not????? I really need to get hold of the dao sa bia for gifts at least before I get rid of this boring place.......

Same time back also, jetstar flight? Welcome back! Penang is so good, I can eat and eat without worrying about the price. The most I spend on is taxi le, but I don't need to worry about jam or long distance cos the price is bargained ho ho liao.

Try food hunt, then you won't get bored. I get to taste penang laska opp bing hua sch (not sure how to spell). Theres a sense of satisfaction from hunting the food haha.

Innocast

Same time back also, jetstar flight? Welcome back! Penang is so good, I can eat and eat without worrying about the price. The most I spend on is taxi le, but I don't need to worry about jam or long distance cos the price is bargained ho ho liao.

Try food hunt, then you won't get bored. I get to taste penang laska opp bing hua sch (not sure how to spell). Theres a sense of satisfaction from hunting the food haha.
ya jetstar flight....

I am not a food chaser, in fact I dun like the taste of penang laksa, and I dun eat chendol etc......

How much u spent on taxi? What attractions u visited? U got go to the queensbay mall???

Delsamor

ya jetstar flight....

I am not a food chaser, in fact I dun like the taste of penang laksa, and I dun eat chendol etc......

How much u spent on taxi? What attractions u visited? U got go to the queensbay mall???

aww the penang laksa is totally different from ours. wah taxi i spend alot sia, during the 4D3N i take taxi to and forth hotel, malls, gf's college then back to hotel. I went to Gurney plaza twice to watch movie and stroll along the stinky beach haha, then many times to queensbay for sushi king and walk walk. I think about RM200 on the transport in total. I didn't go to those temples and historic place, cos i don't fancy those places + my gf said its boring (shes from penang).

Wanted to go komtar, but she said its old already and full of malays with vacants shop. Want to go Batu Ferringgi but she said its smelly.

You leh? Got go where fun?

ryeunkei

aww the penang laksa is totally different from ours. wah taxi i spend alot sia, during the 4D3N i take taxi to and forth hotel, malls, gf's college then back to hotel. I went to Gurney plaza twice to watch movie and stroll along the stinky beach haha, then many times to queensbay for sushi king and walk walk. I think about RM200 on the transport in total. I didn't go to those temples and historic place, cos i don't fancy those places + my gf said its boring (shes from penang).

Wanted to go komtar, but she said its old already and full of malays with vacants shop. Want to go Batu Ferringgi but she said its smelly.

You leh? Got go where fun?

wa liaoz.. sushi king.. wasted my money sia.. the worst jap food i've ever eaten.. n i had to go kimberly st for hawker food aft tt.. as we did nt finish the food at sushi king.. -.-"

Delsamor

wa liaoz.. sushi king.. wasted my money sia.. the worst jap food i've ever eaten.. n i had to go kimberly st for hawker food aft tt.. as we did nt finish the food at sushi king.. -.-"

huh not nice meh? I find it ok lor, its equal to sakae sushi so i don't expect it to taste very good also. Got try the golden ball? Its fried hard boiled egg with mayonnaise on top. Not bad de.

Franzz

rolfmao, this don't want, that don't want to try, then say everything is boring and dead! might as well stay home and ***. :s13:

my recommendations is not bad, those with class 2b give those scoots scoots a try.

Franzz

huh not nice meh? I find it ok lor, its equal to sakae sushi so i don't expect it to taste very good also. Got try the golden ball? Its fried hard boiled egg with mayonnaise on top. Not bad de.

should go hunt those unknown gems la. there's one jepun restaurant that's sells authentic nippon food at affordable price, reviewed positively at review website. personally hvnt been there yet, wanting to.

talking about hidden foodstalls, there's just way too many in penang to finish them all :(

Delsamor

should go hunt those unknown gems la. there's one jepun restaurant that's sells authentic nippon food at affordable price, reviewed positively at review website. personally hvnt been there yet, wanting to.

talking about hidden foodstalls, there's just way too many in penang to finish them all :(

yup agreed. If go with a bunch of food hunter friends sure very fun. There's a restaurant in the mainland which offers very cheap seafood according to my friend. But she forgot the restaurant name and location. Can't find people for review :(.

gnavin

Hey fellas,heading down to penang for 5d/4n next mth.Was wondering if anyone knows of a day tour guide,van for hire thingy?As will be heading down with a family of 5 adults,two kids,think its more practical than stopping cabs and getting burned 40rm each time.Been there alot previously but when didnt have kids so might be tricky now.Cheers........

o0KelviN0o

going to Penang on 30 Oct, staying in Tune Hotel

those who stayed in this hotel recently - can advise on dine & shop tips?

augustin0001

going to Penang on 30 Oct, staying in Tune Hotel

those who stayed in this hotel recently - can advise on dine & shop tips?

Left right centre also got food. From Hawker Centre, to cafe to restaurant. Morning just below hotel got nice roasted meat rice and very good vinnegar pork trotters:D

Facing out the hotel to your far right (not very far), theres a 24 hour makeshift tea shop.. sells the best crysenthemun (sorry for spelling:o) tea.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.