Advice on Penang

whoisD

u drive up there ah ?
any hotel nearby there?

I'm actually from Penang :) err there's hotel near there, Equatorial Penang , Eastin hotel next to queensbay mall, where you can find grill seafood nearby the beach too ....

dede1217

I'm actually from Penang :) err there's hotel near there, Equatorial Penang , Eastin hotel next to queensbay mall, where you can find grill seafood nearby the beach too ....

wow not bad u from penang still come this forum.
you come singapore often ah ?
i seldom go penang. so far been there 3x.
except for the temple and gurney drive, anything to recommend there?
also the toy museum is interesting lah

whoisD

wow not bad u from penang still come this forum.
you come singapore often ah ?
i seldom go penang. so far been there 3x.
except for the temple and gurney drive, anything to recommend there?
also the toy museum is interesting lah

I have lots of Singaporean friends that's why :) I personally haven't been to toy museum but an owl museum is coming up near Penang hill . It depends on what you like to do, foods and more foods I would say . Can try the tropical spice garden, nice place to chill, or go for durian buffet if you fancy those fruits.

whoisD

Is there anything nice near Traders Hotel??

That part is more to the food and old areas , there's hawkers like 5-10mins drive away usually congested at that area. There's a famous tang yuen stall opposite , and it's komtar area, prangin mall if you like cheap stuff....

dede1217

That part is more to the food and old areas , there's hawkers like 5-10mins drive away usually congested at that area. There's a famous tang yuen stall opposite , and it's komtar area, prangin mall if you like cheap stuff....

tried some of the market food around the area. not bad.
but the prata is soso only...

whoisD

tried some of the market food around the area. not bad.
but the prata is soso only...

Macalister road ahead have lots of foods. Prata have to be in between some heritage streets at the other side.... Depends on where you go tho :) gurney tower have nice tandoori or sri ananda at little India and tanjong bunga area hve good selection of Prata and mamak foods

dede1217

Macalister road ahead have lots of foods. Prata have to be in between some heritage streets at the other side.... Depends on where you go tho :) gurney tower have nice tandoori or sri ananda at little India and tanjong bunga area hve good selection of Prata and mamak foods

Sure. But i that time go there oni see kway teow alot of ppl queuing up lol...

tt32003

Booked 2 nights for a hill view family suite at Bayview Beach Resort.
Got beds for 4 people plus daily buffet breakfast for 4.
Booked thru booking .com total S$336.
Quite reasonable.
Probably the only hotel that we don't have to take 2 rooms.

dede1217

Booked 2 nights for a hill view family suite at Bayview Beach Resort.
Got beds for 4 people plus daily buffet breakfast for 4.
Booked thru booking .com total S$336.
Quite reasonable.
Probably the only hotel that we don't have to take 2 rooms.

You can try agoda.com coz booking.com no have points accumulated.
but agoda have points ...
for example every 300- 800 dollars of bookings, you will get 32.50 sgd off for your next bookings ...

SlackMon-Ster

Bro, any car rental lobang? Looking to rent one proton waja or saga (the new version one!).

Budget about RM120-150 self drive. Is the budget too low or high? Thanks!

tt32003

You can try agoda.com coz booking.com no have points accumulated.
but agoda have points ...
for example every 300- 800 dollars of bookings, you will get 32.50 sgd off for your next bookings ...

Strangely Agoda got no rooms available on the nights I chose but booking.com has.
And price at booking.com is cheaper too.

dede1217

Strangely Agoda got no rooms available on the nights I chose but booking.com has.
And price at booking.com is cheaper too.

If agoda has the room u want, you can write in to agoda best price guarantee...
i have booked from agoda and checked the price from hotels.com is 8 dollars cheaper. so agoda refund me...
Coz i everday check hotel prices LOL

tt32003

Posting from my family suite at bayview beach Penang. The room is really huge. Can easily accommodate 6 people.

whoisD

Bro, any car rental lobang? Looking to rent one proton waja or saga (the new version one!).

Budget about RM120-150 self drive. Is the budget too low or high? Thanks!

I recalled the price was around 100. Hmmm when are you planning to head down ?

Tuakong

Am in penang now for 4days. This place is cool. Almost everywhere has wifi access n speed is so much better than our stupid n useless wirelesssg

Am having breakfast at Dome 1st Ave posting this

Staying at Traders. Managed to find the trochew chendol n char kway teow next to Chowrasta Mkt

0401897D

Am in penang now for 4days. This place is cool. Almost everywhere has wifi access n speed is so much better than our stupid n useless wirelesssg

Am having breakfast at Dome 1st Ave posting this

Staying at Traders. Managed to find the trochew chendol n char kway teow next to Chowrasta Mkt

Bro,

just asking your wireless...do u use your SG line (i.e. disconect 3g and switch on WIFI) or purhcase msia prepaid card?..

considering that i will not bring my laptop when i go there next week.

Sorry i'm noob lah

TIA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.