AE Aego-M User Official Thread!

KayAge

Hi all,

I bought a pair of Aego M speakers today at SLS. At CE where they demo-ed their own set, it sounded really crisp and melodious.

Now back at home, I fixed it up to my computer. Following whatever little instructions there was on a singular piece of paper, the setup seemed simple.

However, it sounded rather...hollow. Not even better than my old pair of Altec Lansing speakers. Granted my soundcard is generic from Dell, and CE probably used some mad connecting silver cables costing $1k(I'm using stock), it still should be a significant improvement, shouldn't it?

There also seemed to be some slight crackling sound when the beats are heavy.

Questions:
1. Am I doing something wrong here with setup or otherwise?
2. What is the switch for central input meant for? Is it supposed to be at option Yes or No?
3. How can I improve the sound quality (without buying other stuff hopefully) ?

Thanks.

During the CE demo, the guy is playing music from the denon player!!! Agree that the cd player enhance the music so well even though they are using stock cable. After buying i tried it after buying, a little disppointing that aego m cannot handle high notes after i raise the vol to 12 o clock. though i am using chord cable and ibasso viper dac, poor quality mp3 jus sounded tt bad.

After buring, it sound much better. Sounds life-like with audio CD. Getting a gd speaker is impt, more importantly, the placing of speakers also helps. this high end speakers wont do magic jus like tt.

Nakedtoes

Either you really have very good ears, in which case you should go for better DACs and headphone amps,

or you are the x.xxx% of people that is affected more by placebo effect.

U play from CD and rip to HDD and play got diff one meh? Actually HDD even better coz no jitter. And that's why people go for EAC - CD is ripped slowly and multiple times to ensure the HDD copy is totally accurate and free from CD reading defects.

Or unless you talking about MP3 vs lossless, or computer vs CDP. Then of course got diff lah. :look:

I envy u cos u cant hear a different and thus maybe can enjoy yr ripped music better.. But yes the Aego sound better if yr source is good else get other multimedia speakers.. in fact i abit regret selling my ATP3 cos it sound better for mp3... now i listen to CD only..:o

erwinrommel

Remember to burn-in first then after tat the music will sound so much better!!! :s12::s12::s12:

Sorry but would like to ask more about these speakers first.

From their website, it stated that the bass control settings are behind the sub, but how about the volume control? Is it behind the satellites, or at the sub? I don't wish to bend down and keep adjusting the volume. =:p

aditzz

I tried to listen to audio CD file (WAV) and mp3 files (160kbps). Honestly...I dun hear any differences...Is there really a difference?

aditzz

Just came back from SLS. CE offers them for 230+7%GST. They said every 100 piece sold, price increase 10 bucks.

athenaesword

Sorry but would like to ask more about these speakers first.

From their website, it stated that the bass control settings are behind the sub, but how about the volume control? Is it behind the satellites, or at the sub? I don't wish to bend down and keep adjusting the volume. =:p

lol just look at any picture of the sw. the volume knob's located at the top. kinda impossible to miss.

erwinrommel

Just a quick short review.

I just got the Aego M 2.1 set from CE this afternoon. I was using Creative Gigaworks T40 initially and using the Creative X-Fi Xtrememusic sound card.

The music from the speakers were intially quite un-bearable and shrill and sharp. I am using 70% bass with 70% treble, Jazz Club EAX with EQ under Acoustic Mode. I change to Game mode and the music sounds clearer without any static and not that shrill-sharp treble.

Then once i switch back to Entertainment mode under same settings used previously, the music become very very clear and sharp! I am very very amazed such great sound can come out from the 2 small satellite speakers! The only bad thing I must mention is... I have to keep bending down to adjust the volume control. :s27:

Kitaro Silk Road is superb! Previously, T40 will tend to "choke" during the very high notes and produce a shrill slight hollow sound. This Aego satellite handle so seamlessly that I am amazed! I am even more amazed when I asked the CE sales assistant how much one Aego satellite cost--- $150!!! Next, its bass setting 1 is very weak. My T40 bass is quite similar to Aego bass setting 2. So right now I have to change to setting 2 instead of 1 as recommended by the bros here.

I guess there may be some problems with my sound card. Planning to switch to a more audiophile card like Onkyo or HT Omega Claro if I can find a suitable price for my current Xtrememusic card + X-Fi I/O console.

wwenze

Now u know why i never recommend the T20/40.

But do yourself a favor, and turn all the crappy EQ off. Driver software EQ/enhancements especially the bad ones inclusive of Creative (judging from their X-Fi Crystallizer, lol) just kill the sound.

erwinrommel

But do yourself a favor, and turn all the crappy EQ off. Driver software EQ/enhancements especially the bad ones inclusive of Creative (judging from their X-Fi Crystallizer, lol) just kill the sound.

EQ Acoutic mode sounds nice as compared to killing it off. T40 is actually OK, just that the treble can really struggle when hitting very high notes. For normal uses and normal music listening, IMHO, T40 is more than sufficient.

wwenze

Ok for the sound...

Not ok for the price you're paying for it. :D

bizkit86

i just installed the latest emu0404 drivers/patchmix and all i hear from my aegos are like muffled, static-filled noises :( help?

duckling

Yes, I agreed & rip your CD to at least 320kbps.

mexuswch

I always leave the power/volume knob at a fix position and on/off the speakers by switching on/off the main power switch. Just wondering if that will lead to some damage on the system? Any form of assistance is appreciated. Thanks.

erwinrommel

After contacting Aego M Returns and Service Department personnel, I am told that the current Aego M price is cheaper than the initial SGD$370 because they used different material alloy for their satellite speaker.

The $369 speakers are made of zinc alloy and will weigh much heavier while the current sets , which are selling for $230 (exclude GST), are actually using the lighter aluminum alloy. The change to aluminum alloy is partly because the price of zinc alloy went up last November, hence, changing to aluminum actually decrease the price of raw materials. But I was assured that "There is no difference acoustically between the 2 satellites."

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.