Aftershock shortchanged me?

hahaedmw

But im happy with their services. They actually took the time to call me after i WA them on then findings i discovered.

This kind of thing shouldn’t happen in the first place lor, and I think the CS rep also know and probably gaslighting u all the way.

Quite a red flag and really disappointing, especially from a local company. All PC builders should know how important the PSU is — and common advice is always to overbuild a bit. A lousy PSU and voltage not stable is one of the main reasons why PC parts spoil. Personally, I suggest you just change a proper PSU.

try walking in a lexus showroom and have the salemen talking sky high about their new model in 1600cc. somehow u buy into the sales talk, then drive home with new car and realise u cant find this car model in their latest lexus catalogue. and tada, u eventually realise u got yrself a toyota vios. but hey, but in this case, at least it doesnt broke down in a week.

tomsss

Got any small prints t&c stuff anywhere?

some biz have this practice of installing of alternative components that are supposedly similar in specs, likely due to shortage of the original spec components during the assembly period. In such cases, they would state that there can be instances where some of the builds may contain parts that are not originally stated and alternative parts of similar spec will be installed

carey

From memory the savings are usually in the motherboard, psu and ram and possibly ssd.

Gpu and processor only got that 2 brands that they bobian have to buy
GPUs can also source from unknown brands as long as they are the same specs

Last time got this SG listed company who resold RMA CPUs as new - suspect the buyers are these PC assemblers bah

Meteor84

Got any small prints t&c stuff anywhere?

some biz have this practice of installing of alternative components that are supposedly similar in specs, likely due to shortage of the original spec components during the assembly period. In such cases, they would state that there can be instances where some of the builds may contain parts that are not originally stated and alternative parts of similar spec will be installed
these are called shadey biz. it is especially so in electronics. certain brands are prefered over another due to variety of reasons. price, popularity, QC, ease of RMA etc. these brands also have vastly diff prices even though they have similar specs. biz cannot simply give u alternative components. its like saying u bought a samsung fridge but inside all prism+ OEM parts. but u paid for the full price of a samsung fridge. just a lawsuit waiting to happen

Unic0rn

The no. 1 reason why when I build my PC, I did not chose to go to Aftershock, is the choice of parts... for me PSU is number 1 important part you need to choose, I prefer Seasonic, and they dun have that.

Motherboard choice also not many. :sick:
For me the same brands are reliable for decades PSU Seasonic
MB Asus
GPU Asus
RAM G.Skill
SSD Samsung
CPU Intel or AMD (say like never say) haha

testerjp

The most value custom performance PC is from armageddon. They are the authorised supplier for inno3d gfc afaik meaning you can get the best price and support directly.
https://armaggeddonpc.com/

I bought from someone and the hdd kaput in a month, they helped fixed it in 3 days.

My preferred gfc is msi or Asus for the quieter range though.

GenXYZ

Nowdays people so lazy to go SLS to build ah? So easy. Just select your parts, do a bit of research on compatibility... choose motherboard also see how many USB ports u need.

understand the OP frustration having to go back and forth especially after paying. this is why i'd rather just order individual components myself even though my previous PC took a month for me to assemble due to too tired during weekends, spend time with family and after coming home from work. worst-case just rma the single component.

BlackWing1977

Had a Seasonic explode on me(>5years) with flame recently, luckily it never took out other components inside the case.

Quite an expensive psu too, $300++ 80plus titanium model, has a long warranty so rma-ed.
Factory defects ar?

lalalalalala

For me the same brands are reliable for decades PSU Seasonic
MB Asus
GPU Asus
RAM G.Skill
SSD Samsung
CPU Intel or AMD (say like never say) haha
For me i prefer superflower psu. Haven't really kept up with the latest PSU tech but from memory seasonic usually premium price and had friend that kana lemon set before

Also wattage get minimum 750w or ideally in today power hungry gpu world 850 or 1000w

Reason is i feel manufacturer will always design optimize for their largest demand range. Lower wattage psu likely reuse the design but slap on lower spec components

flashbug

My first Aftershock experience was during Covid. Motherboard issue where the casing front USB ports not working properly. However, it was covid and onsite exchange, so I just lived with it and manage.

My 2nd and definitely last Aftershock experience is a year ago. Find their CPU to be very noisy and not sure if software or hardware issue but it doesnt run as smoothly even though I hardly game or push graphics.

Will be more fair to them when I switch to a different assembler for my next PC refresh in 2-3 years time.

Tetsuconek

The bosses of Prism + are related to aftershock. Infact aftershock boss started Prism+

1.koln

these are called shadey biz. it is especially so in electronics. certain brands are prefered over another due to variety of reasons. price, popularity, QC, ease of RMA etc. these brands also have vastly diff prices even though they have similar specs. biz cannot simply give u alternative components. its like saying u bought a samsung fridge but inside all prism+ OEM parts. but u paid for the full price of a samsung fridge. just a lawsuit waiting to happen
Quite hard to win in sg, too much trouble for the authorities, will label consumer as problematic person instead

aarontansp

Give up AF after laptop repaired 4 times. Went for dreamcore desktop, no issues 3 years liao. Latest rig is Invader. So far so good.

rEe_TaN

Finally they have solved my issue on the spot, they literally changed the psu and waived off the charges.

Though i still need to send back to check fan cables as rgb is not working and corsair link hub is not detecting it.

But I have to say they have good after sales service!

justln

Finally they have solved my issue on the spot, they literally changed the psu and waived off the charges.

Though i still need to send back to check fan cables as rgb is not working and corsair link hub is not detecting it.

But I have to say they have good after sales service!
Good service is only when things are bad. I rather not use it.

pushtopen

I was researching on prebuilt PCs and ultimately decided on Mansa, they deliver all the boxes of PSU/GPU/Motherboard with your PC.
Bought Super Flower PSU 1000 even tho it's overkill.
PSU really no joke, a good one should last until you change PC, not pop pop randomly.

super flower sucks

I built 2 pcs using it both died within 3 years

bring back to distro rma no problem there but go home plug in cannot on at all, change power point/mobo wire also cannot

both got same problem

even my previous pc from 10 years also used super flower and it had the same problem

changed to seasonic and fsp no such problems after 5 years

yes I know super flower is seasonic OEM but I dunno why

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.