Air purifier? - Part 2

WussRedXLi

See this? This is what I am talking about man. This is why I can recommend this for long hours daily use for years (weekends even longer hours for kids day time sleep etc).

Not sure if 31W spec is for 330 m3/hr or 388 m3/hr.

19b203c1bf9847eaa8a590768fc39867.jpg

WussRedXLi

44W of difference in electrical consumption. Works out to be about SGD230 difference in electrical cost after 5 years (daily 12hrs usage pattern avg)

People can't gun the Mi1 AP in highest mode, obviously. Lets take 30W of difference in electrical consumption then. (Mi 2 shift down to next highest speed also). Just enough ACH for a MBR. That'd be $156 after 5 years.

That's enough to buy you 4 more pieces of filter during those 5 years.

NWT1978

The massive mass order just came in today!

Ordered separately for the power cables too... coming in next week!

12289657_10153795876353653_3182026783163872246_n.jpg

total of 7 new (friends asked me to tongpang), 2 refurbished sets (for myself + gf)... 13 sets of filters. and the refurbished APs come with new filters too!

wah so many... u use cbm? or the shipping fees going to be expensive...

starkarat

Any 3 in 1 units to recommend?

Went to a skin doctor yesterday. He recommended that I use a hepa air filter, humidifier and ionizer as I have hypersensitive skin. Of course ideally I want to buy a unit that can do all three. Seems like novita (002H) is the only one that does this. Are there any others?

sehsuan

75W -> 31W. Drop of 58%.

1 - (31W/75W) = 0.58

515c8e05-f43a-4de1-af2c-9711a94eb1b8.jpeg

5c87f4a9-396a-4da0-aa67-83aafd8dcd06.jpeg

6c40a799-46a6-4edd-a71f-74fc7a229cfc.jpeg

44W of difference in electrical consumption. Works out to be about SGD230 difference in electrical cost after 5 years (daily 12hrs usage pattern avg)

People can't gun the Mi1 AP in highest mode, obviously. Lets take 30W of difference in electrical consumption then. (Mi 2 shift down to next highest speed also). Just enough ACH for a MBR. That'd be $156 after 5 years.

That's enough to buy you 4 more pieces of filter during those 5 years.

bro, i tested my unit with a power meter - about 73W in jet mode indeed. but where was the 31W mentioned... is that for the Jet/Turbo mode?

for my refurbished Xiaomi AP, i'm getting about these readings
3W Standby
8W Low
13W Medium
30W High
73W Turbo

if Xiaomi AP2 can hit CADR 388 at only 31W, that's awfully fantastic!

wah so many... u use cbm? or the shipping fees going to be expensive...

yup, by cubic meter. organizing another Mass... wait, group buy. hahaha :s13:

WussRedXLi

Any 3 in 1 units to recommend?

Went to a skin doctor yesterday. He recommended that I use a hepa air filter, humidifier and ionizer as I have hypersensitive skin. Of course ideally I want to buy a unit that can do.all three. Seems like novita (002H) is the only one that does this. Are there any others?

Hi

Maybe i am wrong or missing some info, but ioniser does not really help with your medical condition.

RH in SG is relatively high, only thing is the initial phase when you switched on AC for the first hour or two. Invest in a cheap thermo/hygrometer, you will know what i mean.
Maintain the thermostat at 26, RH wont go too low.

Get any of the APs mentioned here, from Sharp to Samsung to LG to Xiaomi.

Get a cheap ultrasonic humidifier from qoo10, but do use filtered water. Tap water would raise some pollutants level as there are stuff in tap water (proven, do a google) but not a biggie if your HEPA filtration is solid ie > 5 Air Changes per hour

There are all-in-one units from Sharp also if you mind the trouble. Not as cheap though. Do calculate the filter costs too.

mindgamey

bro, i tested my unit with a power meter - about 73W in jet mode indeed. but where was the 31W mentioned... is that for the Jet/Turbo mode?

3W Standby
8W Low
13W Medium
30W High
73W Turbo

yup, by cubic meter. organizing another Mass... wait, group buy. hahaha :s13:

finally someone with the power consumption for the xiaomi.

based on your readings the xiaomi is more efficient than my sharp a50.

sehsuan

finally someone with the power consumption for the xiaomi.

based on your readings the xiaomi is more efficient than my sharp a50.

good to know! (the toes very shiok, but stomach still hungry :s13😊

could you share where you found out about the 33W for the XM AP2? if it's really efficient, it might be possible of course.... but 33W for Turbo?... feels like quite a challenge leh...

WussRedXLi

3W Standby
8W Low
13W Medium
30W High
73W Turbo

:

I believe it should be 31W for 388m3/hr for the XM2 AP, same as how the XM1 and mfresh M8088A spec.

I wonder what's the airflow for the XM1 is in High. I think mindgamey got post before?

WussRedXLi

Seshuan, i posted the picture of the back panel of the Xiaomi 2 AP. It is 31W.

XM1 spec it as 75W (CADR 406m3/h) . Mfresh M8088A is 70W (CADR 580)

Back in office, here's the pic

WussRedXLi

Managed to successfully searched for mindgamey's numbers (took a while lol!)

Xiaomi 1, Jet, High, Med, Low, Sleep.
Noise (dbA): 61, 54, 46, 44, 43
Flowrate m3/h: 406, 271*, 174*, 93*, 68*
Seshuan's numbers (watts) 73W, 30W, 13W, 8W ....
* estimated

30W for 271 m3/hr (250-300m3/hr league) is actually good and is sufficient for a BTO MBR. Originally i believe it was much worse.

For what it's worth - If you see the next level...XM1 174m3/hr is 13W. Samsung AX40 with RMB25 DIY cut from 300x300x25mm HEPA is 19W @ 240m3/hr thereabouts.

Only data missing is the XM2 noise levels, the top and top fastest speeds are the ones that we really are interested in, guess need someone to buy liao.

For me, the data that i can provide as an easier reference point is 45dB for Samsung AX40 (323 m3/hr) @ 27/28W measured and slightly less noisy for the MFresh M8088A (guesstimate 0.5 to 1dB less noisy in real life. On a uncalibrated phone SPL meter, the raw data does show the M8088A to be less noisy and from my somewhat "Hifi-hobbyist" ears it does register as slightly less noisy than the AX40.
M8088A is 27W measured @ 326 m3/hr and is 45W @ 520 m3/hr.

XM2 AP is a GO, it should turn in slightly better SPL figures than the XM1, as claimed. How much, not sure.

starkarat

Hi

Maybe i am wrong or missing some info, but ioniser does not really help with your medical condition.

RH in SG is relatively high, only thing is the initial phase when you switched on AC for the first hour or two. Invest in a cheap thermo/hygrometer, you will know what i mean.
Maintain the thermostat at 26, RH wont go too low.

Get any of the APs mentioned here, from Sharp to Samsung to LG to Xiaomi.

Get a cheap ultrasonic humidifier from qoo10, but do use filtered water. Tap water would raise some pollutants level as there are stuff in tap water (proven, do a google) but not a biggie if your HEPA filtration is solid ie > 5 Air Changes per hour

There are all-in-one units from Sharp also if you mind the trouble. Not as cheap though. Do calculate the filter costs too.

Great, thanks for your input. Doctor mentioned that ionizer helps to reduce air borne bacteria. My skin reacts to these bacteria, so I'll just follow his advice.

Sharp is mentioned alot on here, but very difficult to tell from their website the difference between the models. I'll look around.

WussRedXLi

Great, thanks for your input. Doctor mentioned that ionizer helps to reduce air borne bacteria. My skin reacts to these bacteria, so I'll just follow his advice.

Sharp is mentioned alot on here, but very difficult to tell from their website the difference between the models. I'll look around.

I see, the HEPA filter reduces the air's bacteria count, no worries at all. It's way more effective than the ioniser (which your aircon probably would have this function too).
Just aim for ~8 air changes per hour (or more), i guarantee that is good enough.

A samsung ax40 is very cost effective and is sized nicely for your MBR. It has its ionisation function called VirusDoctor, from what i see from its aircons range the O3 emission is extremely low, way lower than typical occupational PEL. Purchase from qoo10 now, its 318 with 1 extra filter before coupons.

If you dont mind the higher cost, aim for the Sharp A50. It has the 3 features. But if your aircon is not set below 26, i do not think the RH plays a huge part. (I do not know if lower RH excerbates your condition)

If you feel that it does help in your condition, you can even step up the game later and go for the Xiaomi 2 AP that we are currently raving as the flavour of the month now, in the room. I mean, you would have spent more money in medical costs alone than that 200 odd dollars. Not to mention the suffering.

PS. Good grade office env have F7 grade plus minus filters. They do help.

mindgamey

good to know! (the toes very shiok, but stomach still hungry :s13😊

could you share where you found out about the 33W for the XM AP2? if it's really efficient, it might be possible of course.... but 33W for Turbo?... feels like quite a challenge leh...

it is actually possible, they can spec a motor with 90%+ efficiency at that speed which means that efficiency drop for lower speeds.

you see how other manufacturers did you can see the efficiency is at medium speed, sharp a50 , 306 @ 42w, 240 @ 18w , 60 @ 4.3.

you see medium speed 240 @ 18w is the most efficient.

roz_sid

Seshuan, i posted the picture of the back panel of the Xiaomi 2 AP. It is 31W.

XM1 spec it as 75W (CADR 406m3/h) . Mfresh M8088A is 70W (CADR 580)

Back in office, here's the pic
Hey bro expert, need ur advice. My fren ask me. sld he buy ax40 Samsung at 318 w 2 purifier or Xiaomi air 1 at 240. I ask him get ax40. Am I right? :(

cnotsniw

Hey bro expert, need ur advice. My fren ask me. sld he buy ax40 Samsung at 318 w 2 purifier or Xiaomi air 1 at 240. I ask him get ax40. Am I right? :(

there is no right or wrong.

consumer choice is subjective and depends on what is your consideration and what you intend to achieve.:s13:

WussRedXLi

I can say from experience that since 2014 and after so many pages /replies and user feedback, the AX40 works for most coz its pretty silent at 300+ m3/h. I'm simply more comfortable recommending it simply coz the lighter sleepers feedback that it still bothers them but it can be gotten used to (ie means that noisier models are out)
The better offers are already gone though, used to be time sale at 289 w 1 extra filter and spare filter only at 49.

Or ask him to aim for the XM Air purifier ver 2. It is simply just that much better than the ver 1. No haze nowadays and the next possible window for Singapore is only during the start of the intermonsoon season (starting end march, where winds get variable) with haze from Sumatra, so I think he can definitely wait.

Then the M8088A is usable for BR/MBR but it'd be a bit bulky though extremely silent (by sheer physics bah), it's probably more useful gunning in the living room or bigger spaces plus denser haze levels. More scenario specific.

WussRedXLi

Heh........

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech...rifier-2-small-and-quiet-air-filter-your-home

Xiaomi’s Mi Air Purifier 2 is a small and quiet air filter for your home
By Koh Wanzi on 24 Nov 2015, 5:16pm

Mi_Air_Purifier_2-1.jpg

Despite its fairly sleek looks, the first Mi Air Purifier still stood at 735mm tall, making it a bit too large and intrusive for the choosy home owner. Now, Xiaomi has rectified things with the Mi Air Purifier 2, a more efficient and quieter device that also takes up considerably less space.

How much less? Well, it stands at 520mm tall now and its base takes up less space than a single sheet of A4 paper. The Mi Air Purifier 2 is still no midget, but it is definitely a lot easier on the eyes, and the home décor, now.

Mi_Air_Purifier_2.jpg

Despite its fairly sleek looks, the first Mi Air Purifier still stood at 735mm tall, making it a bit too large and intrusive for the choosy home owner. Now, Xiaomi has rectified things with the Mi Air Purifier 2, a more efficient and quieter device that also takes up considerably less space.

Xiaomi says the more compact design is made possible by a new single-motor, dual-fan design, which has enabled it to shrink its dimensions by up to 40% over its predecessor. However, its smaller size means that the Mi Air Purifier 2 has had to take a slight performance hit compared to the predecessor's dual-motor design. Its Clean Air Delivery Rate (CADR), or the amount of air it cleans per minute, is now 330m3/h in standard mode, compared to the 406m3/h on the larger model.

Still, this can go up to 388m3/h in active mode and Xiaomi says it can filter the air in a 23m2 room in only 10 minutes.

In addition, the Mi Air Purifier 2 is reportedly quieter, operating at a whisper-quiet 30dB in night mode, and is also 58% more efficient than the original purifier.

Its price has also come down, and it retails for just RMB699 (~S$155), compared to the RMB899 (~S$199) of the Mi Air Purifier. The filters are also sold separately, with the standard one costing RMB149 (~S$33) and an enhanced version costing RMB169 (~S$37). The Mi Air Purifier 2 will be available to buy from 10am onward on 27 November on Xiaomi's website.

All set on buying a new air purifier? Don't forget the 5 key things to consider when shopping for one.

WussRedXLi

Maybe part of the reason that it's so efficient this time round is that they really did some R&D with the a new dual bladed-fan design.

hat7029_1_1186_580af3758e9a70c53b080196e067cfe2.JPG

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.