Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Schools, flights off as haze thickens | The Jakarta Post

The Jambi administration has closed childhood education program (PAUD) centers and kindergartens, as haze from forest fires blanketing the city continues to worsen.

Jambi regional secretary Daru Pratomo said the parents of kindergarten and PAUD pupils had been told not to send their children to school on Tuesday and Wednesday.

“Based on instructions from Jambi Deputy Mayor Abdullah Sani, we have decided to give kindergarten and PAUD students a vacation. We have instructed the Education Agency to implement the order,” said Daru on Tuesday.

He added that it was probable that the administration would also close elementary schools if the haze worsened.

Jambi’s Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency’s (BMKG) head of data, Kurnia Ningsih, said that as of Tuesday, 25 separate fires had been detected across Jambi province: 17 in Sarolangun district, three in Muaro Jambi, two in Batanghari and one each in Merangin, East Tanjungjabung and West Tanjungjabung.

“The haze is mostly from South Sumatra province, to the southeast of Jambi. However, Jambi is still in the dry season, which could be contributing to the haze,” said Kurnia.

Yussvinoza, head of the pollution control division at the Jambi Environment Agency (BLHD), said the air pollution standards index (ISPU) level in Jambi City was recorded at a level of 115 on Tuesday.

“Air pollution in Jambi has been categorized as hazardous to health,” said Yussvinoza.

Elsewhere, dense haze has also covered Riau Islands province and Central Kalimantan province, causing wide-scale disruption to flights.

In Palangkaraya, Central Kalimantan, a Garuda Indonesia flight from Jakarta failed to land at Tjilik Riwut Airport on Tuesday due to haze.

“Visibility for landing was not of a high enough standard, so the flight was rerouted to the Syamsuddin Noor International Airport in South Kalimantan,” Yunus, the Garuda Indonesia branch manager in Palangkaraya, said as quoted by Antara news portal.

Central Kalimantan Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD) head Mochtar said the haze originated from forest and peatland fires, and was exacerbated by smoke from fire extinguishing efforts in razed areas.

In North Barito regency, Central Kalimantan, Susi Air airlines canceled all flights to and from Beringin Muara Teweh Airport on Tuesday.

“Flights from three cities in Kalimantan to Beringin Muara Teweh Airport had to be canceled today because there was dense haze from morning until afternoon,” said airport employee Asmadi.

Antara also reported that in Sampit, East Kotawaringin regency, also in Central Kalimantan, the haze restricted visibility to 30 meters, causing havoc to people’s daily lives.

“I was late to school because the haze was so dense, I was afraid to ride my motorcycle fast. Luckily, lessons were postponed until 8 a.m.,” said Ayu, a student at a vocational school in Sampit.

East Kotawaringin regency Communications and Informatics Office head Fadlian Noor urged motorists, including angkot (public minivan) drivers, to be extra careful.

Fadlian added that visibility on the Mentaya River was also very limited, the dense haze having blurred the view across the river, necessitating extra caution on the part of boat pilots.

tmkedmw

1hr pm2.5 for South side 10am to 1pm is
37 42 49 50 ug/m3 respectively.

For 4 hrs (10am to 1pm) all in the "unhealthy for sensitive groups" range. Haiz :(

chuanz

Just doing for fun... data loaded on the fly from haze.gov.sg site

Fuzzy SG

I'll see if I can add in the limit lines with the fixed color when I have the time...

WussRedXLi

1hr pm2.5 for South side 10am to 1pm is
37 42 49 50 ug/m3 respectively.

For 4 hrs (10am to 1pm) all in the "unhealthy for sensitive groups" range. Haiz :(

the only good thing about the PM2.5 here vs PM2.5 in China/HK or countries that kena the wind from CN like Taiwan/Japan/SK is that theirs contain heavy metals. Ours only PAH/Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons.
And even for PAHs in forest haze is several times lower than the PAHs in urban PM2.5 particles.

It's the same carcinogen (IARC Group 1 carcinogen) that you get in your BBQs and Lim Chee Guan. :D

Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs) in the Haze from Forest Fires in Indonesia 1997

List of IARC Group 1 carcinogens - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

But no worries, it's all about dosage as well + persons involved. So not fearmongering here. Of coz we know what that means in reality and it's v complex. (ie you @ age 45 may have no issues with Fuku rice but with adolescents that's a totally different ballgame)

This 2014 haze frigging sustained rubberband sia. Together with March 2014's Peninsula Malaysia 1 week's worth of sustained haze (quite high level, AQI slightly higher than current S Sumatra haze) i think our yearly limit over liao.

hyzhenry

I using Atmosphere from amway one. quite ex but very good. Help me with my sinus.

chuanz

Just doing for fun... data loaded on the fly from haze.gov.sg site

Fuzzy SG

I'll see if I can add in the limit lines with the fixed color when I have the time...

Doneded for limits line... next category limits will only show if max concentration crosses the halfway mark of the current band (otherwise you get extremely squished chart)

WussRedXLi

Below link is done by Chuanz.
Link here Fuzzy SG

157663510.bBc5jHsm.fuzzy.jpg

157663513.FWpl0C0w.fuzzya.jpg

tmkedmw

Smoke heading towards SG spotted (from South Western tip of Kalimantan)

When WussRedXLi predicts, we must sit up and listen...
Listen to what?

As smoke is heading towards SG, may I humbly suggest listening to the super duper oldie song "Smoke gets in your eyes" as smoke literally gets into your eyes.

Pardon my sense of humor.
Or maybe my brain after prolonged exposure to haze is now hallucinating.

WussRedXLi

When WussRedXLi predicts, we must sit up and listen...
Listen to what?

As smoke is heading towards SG, may I humbly suggest listening to the super duper oldie song "Smoke gets in your eyes" as smoke literally gets into your eyes.

Pardon my sense of humor.
Or maybe my brain after prolonged exposure to haze is now hallucinating.

I could be wrong lah! lol!

And the haze for the past 2 days is very very slight, though it has now spread over a large area to as far as Trengganu (east side of peninsula MY) and as far north as Penang.

Shouldn't be a problem even for the sensitive ppl.

tmkedmw

Well, u are humble lah...
On past 2 occasions, u had sighted incoming haze coming from the south and put out advanced warning mah.... and true enough, few hours later, south starts to get "smoke in your eyes" liao.
Thanks for your proactive and advance warnings.

WussRedXLi

Well, u are humble lah...
On past 2 occasions, u had sighted incoming haze coming from the south and put out advanced warning mah.... and true enough, few hours later, south starts to get "smoke in your eyes" liao.
Thanks for your proactive and advance warnings.

Actually the situation now (1400hrs) we "should not" have been hit by nearly 55ugm/3 PM2.5. Since the image was taken yesterday 4.45pm, the distance is some 700km. The wind speeds till about 6000ft is not that high, ie 700km/18hrs = 38.8kph windspeed.

Usually we get 10kph average "surface" winds, here (3rd Oct history) :
Weather History for Singapore, Singapore | Weather Underground

this is still S sumatran haze.

chuanz

Just travelled from north to south... sucking in all the Sumatran goodness...

tmkedmw

Lucky Kalimantan one haven't reach as per WussRedXLi analysis.

If not Sumatra + Kalimantan called what ah?
SuKa Haze :(

chuanz

East side readings gone bonkers... Anyway I had a good dose of haze today from travelling around (55km) :(

tremor

Anyone know where else can still find the bionaire air filter mentioned in the case report?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.