Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

I am considering to get a purifier to aid in my sinus problem.

Any recommendation cheap cheap for small room? Definitely cannot be noisy.

Thanks!

Qoo10 Samsung AX40 or LG LA-Q379SB.

Paomi air purifier on taobao. If the El Nino/ haze outlook worsens from June/July (it becomes radically more zhun after June) then i may wanna get this to play.

spark7

Formaldehyde outgassing from sofas, esp wooden type of furnitures.

If you have new furnitures in the room, esp if you whole house is newly renovated......I'd recommend you not use an air purifier + aircon and keep the room sealed. Esp if you have babies.

Where to buy this type of liquid
I got a cabinet for many years but still have those chemical smell.

WussRedXLi

Nino 1+2 and Nino 4 zones already at strong El nino threshold.

Waiting for Nino 3 and 3.4 zones.....

wkxzteq_anm.gif

WussRedXLi

Figure F: March to May rainfall anomaly composite for El Niño years showing relatively strong dry anomaly conditions (brown shades) constrained mostly to the eastern Maritime Continent and to the north of the equator (image credit: IRI Data Library).

image017.jpg

Figure E: June to October rainfall anomaly composite for El Niño years showing drier than average conditions (brown shades) mostly in the southern half of the region (image credit: IRI Data Library).

image013.jpg

Philippines already suffering the effects, as above (tend to affect them Mar - May). They get it first before we and esp Indonesia does (> June period)
Google the crop losses here.

Already significant lower than average rainfall for 54 PH provinces.
http://cpap.org.ph/home/3-industry-news/1552-el-nino-spreads-to-54-provinces-says-pagasa

drifting

Normally when will el nino season end? Tot last year we have minor one then this year will kena jialat one?

WussRedXLi

Normally when will el nino season end? Tot last year we have minor one then this year will kena jialat one?

This year expected to peak oct and november months before the pacific would start to cool in late Nov and December. Need to be comfortably past Jan 2016 like 3-4 weeks after the new year then its below El nino threshold.

I'm guessing that it will delay the onset of NE monsoon rains here and Indoland, like what it dramatically did in 1997 where it delayed the first rains till well into December 97 and even then the rainfall was below normal.

Last year's forecast wasnt as bad as this year, was just near el nino conditions till May. Even then, the NE monsoon was delayed and v reduced in mid Nov-early Dec....thats why we had extended slight haze last year.

It's still a bit early to fully trust the forecast now, but it IS already moderate El Nino now liao in late Apr (not like last year), and it will become much clearer in 5 weeks time.

mikeeeey

I really suck at taobao purchase. Zzz. Wanna hoot cheal filters also obstacles many many

WussRedXLi

I really suck at taobao purchase. Zzz. Wanna hoot cheal filters also obstacles many many

Chiu can enlist the help of experts in the TB part 6 thread. The learning curve is worth overcoming coz you really can save a lot buying other things.

That time to verify my account before more purchases can proceed, i had to take pic of my passport and credit card statement and also DBS ibanking screen statement with address verification, coz i was buying a lot per day. I hit sgd1000 within 2 weeks.

Slightly more lehceh than paypal, which needed just 2 conditions when i hit abt 5k usd.

mikeeeey

Chiu can enlist the help of experts in the TB part 6 thread. The learning curve is worth overcoming coz you really can save a lot buying other things.

That time to verify my account before more purchases can proceed, i had to take pic of my passport and credit card statement and also DBS ibanking screen statement with address verification, coz i was buying a lot per day. I hit sgd1000 within 2 weeks.

Slightly more lehceh than paypal, which needed just 2 conditions when i hit abt 5k usd.

Wow. U high roller sia.

Thanks for the advices.

WussRedXLi

This year expected to peak oct and november months before the pacific would start to cool in late Nov and December. Need to be comfortably past Jan 2016 like 3-4 weeks after the new year then its below El nino threshold.

I'm guessing that it will delay the onset of NE monsoon rains here and Indoland, like what it dramatically did in 1997 where it delayed the first rains till well into December 97 and even then the rainfall was below normal.

Last year's forecast wasnt as bad as this year, was just near el nino conditions till May. Even then, the NE monsoon was delayed and v reduced in mid Nov-early Dec....thats why we had extended slight haze last year.

It's still a bit early to fully trust the forecast now, but it IS already moderate El Nino now liao in late Apr (not like last year), and it will become much clearer in 5 weeks time.

Not sure if it's true or overstated. But just for your reading pleasure....
It was kickstarted by 3 cyclones (S hemisphere) and 1 cat 1 typhoon (N hemisphere on Mar 11 and Mar 13.

http://www.dailykos.com/story/2015/...-West-Coast-Extreme-Marine-Die-Off-Developing

Thu Apr 30, 2015 at 07:00 AM PDT.

Super El Nino Likely as Huge Warm Water Wave Hits West Coast, Extreme Marine Die Off Developing

threestorms_vir_2015070.jpg

Three tropical cyclones churned the waters around Australia on March 11, 2015, including Pam, which reached category 5 and devastated the south Pacific islands of Vanuatu.

cyclone-150316-670.jpg

Cyclone Pam (bottom right) and Tropical Depression 3, or Bavi (top right), are two of four cyclones spinning in the oceans around Australia. (Bavi later developed into a Cat 1 typhoon)

27AprilPacificKelvinWaveanm.gif

Last year the largest Kelvin wave ever seen in the Pacific ocean developed in February. After it came ashore and the surge of warm water moved up the Pacific coast, the upwelling of nutrient rich cold water dramatically slowed, and marine life began starving up and down the coast of north America. As the warm water moved north from the equator it merged with an enormous mass of warm stagnant water dubbed "the blob" which had built up in the central north Pacific ocean under the mound of high barometric pressure known as the Pacific high. Because the Pacific high had expanded north of its normal position, possibly because of climate change, warm, stagnant low nutrient water covered a large percentage of the surface of the north Pacific ocean. That stagnant water came ashore on the coast of the Pacific northwest and Alaska as the surge of warm water from the Kelvin wave moved up the California coast. The warm stagnant water lacked nutrients to support the growth of krill and copepods which are at the bottom of the food chain. Species that fed on krill and copepods had little to eat. Juvenile birds were the first to be affected by the lack of food. The west coast marine die off is already a crisis but it's likely to get much worse this summer and fall as the surge of warm water moves up the coast from the huge Kelvin wave now coming ashore.

NOAA's CFSv2 model is forecasting a strong El Nino event will develop this summer and continue through 2015. Warm water along the west coast, combined with weaker than normal winds caused by El Nino will prevent nutrient rich cold water from welling up along the coast. Species that depend on nutrient upwelling will face starvation. Australia's Bureau of Meteorology has an excellent El Nino forecasting model which is also predicting a strong El Nino. Because the jet stream has already gone into an El Nino pattern by moving south over the eastern Pacific ocean and Mexico and further north than normal over the eastern Atlantic ocean, the likelihood of El Nino failing to strengthen is small. Last year's Kelvin wave failed to bring on a strong El Nino because trade winds in the south Pacific didn't weaken but this year they have and waters along the west coast of south America have already warmed. The south Pacific has moved out of the cool mode it was in a year ago.

30April15PacSSTSeaadj.gif

NOAA forecast of the departure from normal of Pacific ocean sea surface temperatures. NOAA's CFSv2 model predicts a strong El Nino with much above normal sea surface temperatures along the west coasts of south and north America up to January, 2016.

http://www.geoengineeringwatch.org/...c-increasing-likelihood-for-record-warm-2015/

Climate Change Ratcheting Up: El Nino Strengthens in Equatorial Pacific Increasing Likelihood for Record Warm 2015
April 30, 2015

A powerful Kelvin Wave continued to ripple through the near-surface waters of the Equatorial Pacific this week — heightening sea surface temperatures, strengthening an ongoing El Nino, and pushing a wave of oceanic heat back into a human-warmed atmosphere that is hotter now than at any time in modern human reckoning.

High temperature anomalies in the Kelvin Wave plug have spread out across the ocean surface. Readings in the range of +1 to +2 C above average stretch along surface waters all the way from the Date Line through 120 West Longitude. East of the 120 line, surface waters have now hit readings of 2 to 4 degrees Celsius above average. And lurking just below the surface along thousands of miles of ocean is a dense zone of 5-6 degree above average water. A zone of extreme heat at the heart of the current intense Kelvin Wave:

noaa-kelvin-wave-april-23.gif

(A strong Kelvin Wave shuts down atmospheric heat transfer into the Equatorial Pacific setting up conditions for an extended El Nino and possible new record heat for 2015. Image Source: NOAA’s Climate Prediction Center.)

Heat that could well make 2015 yet another worsening of the human warming and extreme weather twilight zone we now find ourselves in.

Pushing into Moderate El Nino Range

According to NOAA’s weekly El Nino report, sea surface temperatures in the critical Nino 3.4 region hit a range of 1 degree C above average last week. A jump from the previous week’s measure of +0.7 C and a new push toward moderately strong El Nino levels off the back of the current warm Kelvin Wave. Atmospheric teleconnections that are signatures of a moderate El Nino also began to emerge over past weeks — with a strengthening of the subtropical Jet and related storm track setting off powerful tornadoes, thunderstorms and heavy rain events in states bordering the Gulf of Mexico over the past ten days.

Heat content from the current Kelvin Wave is enough to continue to keep Equatorial Pacific sea surface temperatures in present ranges or to push for further warming over at least the next 1-2 months. A set of factors that will almost certainly lock near moderate El Nino conditions in through Summer and general El Nino conditions through early Autumn. The result is that the extra heat bleed off the Pacific Ocean will combine with the impressive human forcing to generate a high risk that 2015 atmospheric temperatures will beat out all-time record highs set in 2014.

nino-3-4-monthly-anomalies.gif

(Unweighted model ensemble runs show the current El Nino peaking out at extreme intensity. Long range model runs can be quite uncertain, but these are very high values. Image source: NOAA Seasonal and Monthly SST Anomalies.)

NOAA model runs also show a potential for El Nino strengthening through the end of 2015. Probability weighted CFS model ensembles (PDF) point toward a seasonal anomaly for Nino 3.4 in the range of 1998 Super El Nino values at 2.1 degrees Celsius above average by the end of 2015. Mean model runs (non-weighted) push the long range forecast heat values even higher at 2.6 C above seasonal averages or 2.75 C above monthly averages.

These unweighted long range forecasts are well outside the strength of even the monster event of nearly two decades ago. A new super El Nino that would have very serious consequences for global temperatures and result in far-reaching climate impacts should it emerge. Atmospheric temperatures that are now in the range of +0.7 C above 20th Century averages and +0.9 C above 1880s values could well push into a new range at +0.8 C and +1 C, or higher, respectively.

super-el-nino-late-2015.gif

(Long range models show Equatorial Pacific has potential to hit near Super El Nino status by late 2015. At this time, such model runs are low certainty. Image source: NOAA Seasonal and Monthly SST Anomalies.)

Cranking up the Human Hothouse

Entering the range of 1-2 C above 1880s values is a zone of heat anomaly that will amplify already apparent ice sheet melt, sea level rise, droughts, wildfires, water stress, and ocean health impacts. At temperatures around +1.5 C we begin to enter a period of strong glacial outflows, weather instability, geophysical changes, and record related storm events in a ‘Storms of My Grandchildren‘ type scenario. At +2 C these very dangerous impacts will likely be in full swing.

It is worth noting that it took 10,000 years to warm the world 4 degrees Celsius at the end of the last ice age. Under current human fossil fuel burning scenarios, it is likely that we reach half that threshold in just 150 to 170 years — from 1880 to 2030-2050. A rapid reduction in fossil fuel emissions along a progression to a net carbon negative human society over the next few decades is absolutely necessary to prevent these outcomes. And while model forecasts indicating the potential for a Super El Nino type event for late 2015 may be somewhat uncertain, there is a much higher certainty that very dangerous climate impacts starting at the current level of human warming will ramp up here on out — with the 1.5 C threshold looking very bad and the 2.0 C threshold looking terrible.

As such, we should do all we can to prevent hitting those marks.

WussRedXLi

Buy 1 to standby use with your air purifier or fan. Then no need to get those DIY HEPA + fasteners. Either way works.

With the DIY HEPA, you don't get enough airflow to blow yourself. With this, at least still got airflow to blow yourself during the hot months, so at least you don't "lose" a fan.

83RMB

38 x 220cm

3.5X the size of Singapore's version

I think the purple one has a higher "Microparticle rating" (3M speak for its furnance filters).

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm...577&pvid=8b786b42-8a88-4aad-b3cf-df81c108b9c5

T2_YjtXn0XXXXXXXXX_!!92274803.jpg

WussRedXLi

May not be the same...but the Green furnance filter has a MPR of 600

Filtrete-Dust-Reduction6pk-Filter.jpg

Red is MPR 1000

81S95YWS35L._SL1500_.jpg

Purple is MPR 1500

711uUvFoa-L._SL1500_.jpg

chuanz

I'm using the purple one for my FCU. Friend brought it over from Taiwan. The size may be a concern if go by air (volumetric weight)

WussRedXLi

I'm using the purple one for my FCU. Friend brought it over from Taiwan. The size may be a concern if go by air (volumetric weight)

4PX is go by actual wait via DHL from HKG-SIN. That's the interesting thing.

Sea shipping such as 65daigou is go by volumetric + 7% GST. (I think may have waiver/absorbed by 65daigou).

Taobao sea and air ship is totally roti prata one.

WussRedXLi

Very low cost option for all your relatives esp grandfather grandmother protection.

Cut into pieces + double sided tape for convenience. Fits our 9000/12000 BTU/hr FCUs nicely. 6pcs, so can use 3X. 3 months. Easily cope with 1 season of haze per FCU.

Not sure about performance, might be weaker than the purple one but this one is cheap. The purple one's size of 39cm x 180cm, the 39cm dimension means that you would have some wastage if you are adamant about covering the whole filter area. Either that or you split into 2 meaning 39cm/2 = 19.5cm.

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?sp...=44761608110&ns=1&_u=11u0hcibbff8&abbucket=10

TB24GzPbXXXXXcrXXXXXXXXXXXX-1070416438.gif
[/IMG]

TB2x70UcpXXXXaPXpXXXXXXXXXX_!!1070416438.jpg_430x430q90.jpg

Performance test data. 20 mins drop 50%.
Do be mindful if compare with my previous test done by myself coz I am using the red one with full coverage of the FCU + my room is small at about 12 sqm. But I believe China's standard test room is 30 m3, which is about the same. Go to the video at the last, 3:00 min. 30 立方米
Edit - confim that it's 30 m3 test condition as written at the footnotes area. 23-26 deg C. 50% RH.

The 9600 RMB AP that was tested is the Amway Atmosphere.
The RMB 800 one is a 亚都。亚都 KJG1201S @ 120 m3/hr @ 40W
But nowadays I think lelong at 499 liao (coz haze season over for NE China???? Now is more of yellow desert dust :D )

TB2nL2ObXXXXXatXpXXXXXXXXXX-1070416438.jpg

TB2KBwGcpXXXXbDXpXXXXXXXXXX_!!1778355479.gif

chuanz

4PX is go by actual wait via DHL from HKG-SIN. That's the interesting thing.

Sea shipping such as 65daigou is go by volumetric + 7% GST. (I think may have waiver/absorbed by 65daigou).

Taobao sea and air ship is totally roti prata one.

My recent 4PX kena volumetric. Maybe heng sui.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.