Air purifier?

chuanz

not huat big big but hot big big... :(

http://www.theweathernetwork.com/uk...nino-2015-aims-to-rewrite-heat-records/51530/
El Niño 2015 considered rare, aims to rewrite heat records

Even as experts declared an El Niño earlier this year, 2014 had already topped the list of hottest years (without El Niño's help), and 2015 was already setting global heat records.

So far, with only the weak El Niño Modoki declared as of March:

- Dec 2014 to Feb 2015 has come in as the warmest winter on record,
- January, February and March 2015 were all the warmest of their respective months on record,
- The period of Jan-March 2015 took the top spot as the warmest first quarter on record,
- April 2014-March 2015 ranked as the warmest 12-month periods on record, and
- The latest reports show that May 2014-April 2015 has followed up by tying that record.

Now, with the El Niño strengthening into a more classic pattern - with warmer sea surface temperatures in the eastern Pacific, near Peru and Ecuador - and with projections showing that it could be a fairly significant event this year, the risk of 2015 far surpassing 2014 on the list of hottest years on record is rising.

WussRedXLi

Quote :
Now, with the El Niño strengthening into a more classic pattern - with warmer sea surface temperatures in the eastern Pacific, near Peru and Ecuador - and with projections showing that it could be a fairly significant event this year, the risk of 2015 far surpassing 2014 on the list of hottest years on record is rising.
nino12.png

lightx

Hi may I know is the Korea Model Samsung AX40 and Local Model Samsung AX041
using the same filter, does the custom made Taobao filter fix the AX041 too? Thanks.:s22:

WussRedXLi

Hi may I know is the Korea Model Samsung AX40 and Local Model Samsung AX041
using the same filter, does the custom made Taobao filter fix the AX041 too? Thanks.:s22:

Customised dimension HEPA would fit any home-based air purifier out there, only limit is that it can go up to 60mm depth for that seller I recommended. Other sellers might even be able to customise filters that can have more depth. (but moot point for the usual air purifiers that we come across).

If you have the AX041, AX60, AX70 or AX9000, measure the filter and aliwangwang the seller on your requirements.

WussRedXLi

Air Pollution (one major factor is PM2.5 or even finer PM0.5, PM0.1 etc) affecting the cognitive performance of children is of particular and growing interest in the past few years.

Air Pollution and Academic Performance:
Evidence from California Schools

http://econweb.umd.edu/~ham/test scores submit.pdf

There are four mechanisms by which pollution could affect academic performance:
(i) school absenteeism due to illness caused by pollution; (ii) attention problems in school due to illness caused by pollution; (iii) fatigue when doing homework due to illness caused by pollution; and (iv) a direct negative effect of pollution on brain development.

Earlier research (Gilliland et al. 2001, Ransom and Pope 1992, and Currie et al. 2007) established a statistically significant relationship between pollution and school absenteeism and thus relate to mechanism (i) above. Furthermore, there is evidence that children with asthma tend to have more behavioral problems in school than
children who do not have asthma (Butz et al. 1995, Bussing et al. 1995, Halterman 2006), which provides support for mechanism ii) above. We do not know of any available evidence on mechanism iii) above. Recent neuropathological, epidemiological, and brain imaging literature suggests that air pollution may be harmful to the development of the brain and may affect cognitive ability (Calderón-Garcidueñas et al. 2008ab; Suglia et al. 2008; Wang et al. 2009), which supports mechanism (iv) above.

WussRedXLi

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2015/04/150429182438.htm

Toxic combination of air pollution and poverty lowers child IQ

Date: April 29, 2015
Source: Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health (New York)

Summary:
Children born to mothers experiencing economic hardship, who were also exposed during pregnancy to high levels of PAH (polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons), scored significantly lower on IQ tests at age 5 compared with children born to mothers with greater economic security and less exposure to the pollutants.

Note : PAH is found in haze. And also cigarette smoke, BBQ smoke, etc.

WussRedXLi

Australia is impacted a bit more differently than Indonesia, but just take it that a positive IOD also impacts Indonesia and reinforces the dry climate. But main driver is El Nino.

Positive IOD = cooler Indian Ocean near our end (Eastern side of Indian Ocean) and warmer Indian Ocean near Eastern coast of Africa.

Just take it that convection/rainfall follows the warmer waters.

http://www.smh.com.au/environment/w...set-to-reinforce-el-nino-20150526-gha1br.html

Australia's outlook turns drier as Indian Ocean set to reinforce El Nino

Prospects are firming that the latest El Nino event may leave much of Australia drier, with conditions in the Indian Ocean possibly reinforcing those in the Pacific, the Bureau of Meteorology says.

In its fortnightly update, the bureau said the El Nino continues to strengthen in the tropical Pacific and sea-surface temperatures are likely to remain "well above" the threshold for such events into the southern hemisphere spring.

"We've had some weak El Ninos in recent years but this one looks like being quite significant," David Jones, head of climate prediction services at the bureau, said, adding that the event looks likely to exceed the intensity of the previous three in 2002, 2006 and 2009.

El Ninos form when the equatorial central and eastern Pacific waters warm relative to western regions, resulting in a weakening or reversal in the easterly trade winds. Rainfall tends to shift eastwards away from Australia and south-east Asia, while countries on the Pacific's eastern fringe tend to have wet years.

Whether Australia has a particularly dry period during an El Nino year depends largely on how the Indian Ocean counters or reinforces the Pacific influence.

The latest readings suggest the Indian Ocean off north-western Australia is starting to cool, a shift that would tend to reduce moisture flows over the continent.

A survey of international models suggests the shift to a so-called positive Indian Ocean Dipole favouring drier than usual conditions over central and southern Australia will take place later this year:

"You've got both [the El Nino and the Indian Ocean Dipole] likely to work in the same direction for rainfall intensity," Dr Jones said. "Basically the Indian Ocean will tend to work with the Pacific and dry the Australian climate."

Temperature anomalies in the Pacific, meanwhile, have increased further in recent weeks, reaching 1-2 degrees at the surface, resembling "a classic El Nino pattern", the bureau said.

A survey by the bureau of major climate models points to further warming in the central Pacific in coming months.

The consistency of the models "indicates a low likelihood of the current event breaking down rapidly", the bureau said.

WussRedXLi

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/enso/

El Niño strengthens

Issued on 26 May 2015 | Product Code IDCKGEWW00

The El Niño in the tropical Pacific continues to strengthen. International climate models surveyed by the Bureau indicate sea surface temperatures will remain well above El Niño thresholds at least into the southern hemisphere spring.

Oceanic and atmospheric indicators show a clear El Niño signal. Sea surface temperatures in the tropical Pacific Ocean have exceeded El Niño thresholds for nearly two months, supported by warmer-than-average waters below the surface. Trade winds have remained consistently weaker than average since the start of the year, cloudiness at the Date Line has increased, and the 90-day average Southern Oscillation Index (SOI) is now below −10.

El Niño is often associated with below-average winter and spring rainfall over eastern Australia, and above-average daytime temperatures over the southern half of the country. However, the strength of El Niño doesn't directly relate to the strength of its effects on Australia's climate.

The Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) is currently neutral, with the majority of the Indian Ocean being warmer than average. Of the five international models that monitor the IOD, three suggest a positive IOD event is likely later in 2015. A positive IOD is typically associated with reduced winter and spring rainfall over parts of southern and central Australia

Personal note :
>>The Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) is currently neutral,

While being below 0.5 deg C for IOD is still technically in the neutral zone, the current weekly IOD is +0.46 deg C. ie just 0.04 deg shy nia.

iod1.png

WussRedXLi

Pinoyland already starting to lose it.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-05-...e-philippines-under-state-of-calamity/6497096
26 May 2015

The Philippines has placed eight provinces under a state of calamity due to a drought caused by the El Nino weather phenomenon.

Meteorologists say more than 50 provinces were beginning to suffer from the effects of the El Nino phenomenon.

They said the onset of the rainy season next month may not alleviate the impact of the drought.

6497100-3x2-700x467.jpg

WussRedXLi

FFMC - Fine Fuel Moisture Code. Indicates the very recent rainfall affecting the top surface layer of the soil. Waiting for the DC - Drought Code to turn dry (need another few weeks or so).

160192695.sjZwa7nK.1.jpg

plasticpistola

Wah lao, the seller used the grand-daddy of all the china couriers. I think tomorrow early morning 8AM will reach liao. This one is like DHL.

Edit - indeed, reached 4PX @ 0838hr. Overnight delivery. :D

物流公司:顺丰速运

卖家已发货

2015-05-22 22:07:00顺丰速运 已收取快件

2015-05-22 22:37:00快件在 【深圳华丰服务点】, 正转运至 【深圳坂田集散中心】

2015-05-23 01:51:00快件在 【深圳坂田集散中心】, 正转运至 【深圳航城服务点】

2015-05-23 07:12:00正在派送途中,请您准备签收(派件人:李经国,电话:13631601096)

2015-05-23 08:38:48您的包裹已被递四方集运仓签收

2015-05-23 09:59:00在官网"运单资料&签收图",可查看签收人信息

2015-05-23 09:59:00已签收,感谢使用顺丰,期待再次为您服务

2015-05-23 10:01:18淘宝订单号1063715xxxxxx547已入库,请及时登录淘宝账户支付国际转运费

信息来源:顺丰速运运单号:9121xxxxxx63

wrx bro, you mean got a taobao seller can customize hepa filters for AX40?

WussRedXLi

wah jialat must convo in mandarin :(:(

Install Microsoft IME Pinyin, which is built into Win 7 or XP and just needs to be configured under regional settings only (google). Actually need to use that few phrases only nia. It took me like 3-5 days before I was able to convo and 2 weeks then I became pretty proficient in a sense that I could do anything I want. :)

The recurring cost of an AP is probably the thing that is keeping folks from buying an AP or worse, APs.

chuanz

Install Microsoft IME Pinyin, which is built into Win 7 or XP and just needs to be configured under regional settings only (google). Actually need to use that few phrases only nia. It took me like 3-5 days before I was able to convo and 2 weeks then I became pretty proficient in a sense that I could do anything I want. :)

The recurring cost of an AP is probably the thing that is keeping folks from buying an AP or worse, APs.

This I agree... sometimes the terms they use is pretty alien to us, although we can read them pretty fine :s13: I still remember asking one seller what is 顺丰到付, searching what is it to 拍 a 宝贝, 不拍不送, etc. :s22::s13: But once you have a hang of it, it's a piece of cake.

chuanz

Right side is the 3M purple grade filter after 2 months (26 Mar-27 May). Left side is new roll for comparison. I didn't on AC everyday also, maybe 50%-75% of the days.

1yp832Y.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ok, finally I think Amazon refreshed their 30" x 60" 3M filtrete.

Now is FSSG with usd125!! (Last time wasn't eligible)
Throw it into your next purchase from Amazon!

30" x 60", or 76cm x 152cm.
Red colour grade, good enough, see my tests above.

It would be a fair bit cheaper than Taobao (taking taobao to be 0.5kg weight = 12 RMB, cheapest is 109 RMB, total = 109 + 12 = 111 RMB, add 3% TB fee and 2.5% CC charge). Easier to use, since your regular Aircon 9000 btu/hr is 30cm x 30cm filter. So slices into 3 x 5 pcs (25cm by 30cm) = 15pcs. 2 packs = 30 pieces.

Taobao size of 38cm x 180 is difficult to utilise. Unless you slice into 19 x 30cm pieces (2 x 6 = 12), which the Amazon size also can slice to ( 4 x 5 = 20)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009H78OK/

719mVNnxVYL._SY355_.jpg

WussRedXLi

SG retail selling S$17.90 for a 38cm x 60cm size for the red 3M Filtrete.

NB, last time I cheong Amazon that time never put FSSG. Else I'd have stocked up real good.

Anyway, Amazon would be US$3.50 instead of S$17.90 for the same size.

If you buy Amazon FSSG, it's good as a filler item as well.

WussRedXLi

Someone PMed and asked if the 3M Filtrete solution would be better than a AP. He has 3 kids so space is a premium, but is willing to clear things out and get 2 or 3 APs if needed.

Ans :
Not really, a proper AP like a Samsung AX40 or even Sharp A28 would work faster in terms of lowering the PM2.5. Higher "CADR".

But a 3M Filtrete is a very decent solution since it makes use of your current Aircon FCU or even fan should there be a need. Just take it that 2 pieces of say 22cm x 30cm Filtrete in a typical sized HDB room can half the PM2.5 every 10 minutes at the very least.

Eg, take this year's February 2015 peak for the East and NE of Singapore, 155 ug/m3 or 1hr PSI 201.
0 mins = 155ug/m3
10 mins = 77ug/m3
20 mins = 39 ug/m3
30 mins = 19 ug/m3
40 mins = 10 ug/m3

As you can see, after 30 mins it's already at a level that would not pose transient issues even for those with asthma/rhinitis/COPD etc.

4 x 2pcs = 8pcs of 22cm x 30cm 3M Filtrete takes care of the whole house (ok, maybe add 2 more pieces for the living room and use a fan). Your kids can continue to run around the whole house and not stay cooped up in their bedrooms.

That usd17.55/SGD24 solution from Amazon with free ship to SG provides you with 20pcs of 19cm x 30cm.

For regular use, you can expect to change out each set once every 3-4 weeks. During hazy periods, once every week.

If you have only a small air purifier, you can also upgrade your horsepower instantly and no sweat with the 3M Filtrete.

One good +ve point about 3M Filtrete is that it rides on your aircon FCU and as we all know, aircon FCUs are very very silent compared to the typical air purifiers unless if we are talking about the Samsung AX40.

But do note that the 3M Filtrete solution is ONLY for those with clean Aircon FCUs. Maintain a Medium or high fan speed, or Turbo mode is good also.

Try to DIY clean if you can. Do not try it on a dirty aircon FCU which has a very much blocked fan with low airflow. It will damage your aircon FCU and possibly compressor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.