Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

personal use as i am allergic to dustmites. to be used daily. can recommend for both bedroom and living room? thought of buying one to put in office as well. most importantly the filters can be changed with ease.

Unfortunately, office spaces are usually not so effective due to larger volumes involved + due to central air conditioning.

Since you have allergic rhinitis due to your upper respiratory tract reacting to the dustmite droppings :
(1) First you'd need to clean your bedsheet regularly coz when you sleep and turn, that's the place where your nose would be closest to.

(2) After taking care of that, then you'd turn to an air purifier. You'd need a pretty powerful one for allergic rhinitis.

(3) Thirdly, you'd need to vacuum the floor conscientiously coz whenever you walk in the aircon room, you'd stir up dust (and the droppings).
The dustmite droppings are quite big, 10-40 microns in size. You do not really need a HEPA filtered vacuum, but anyway just get one which is as they are not ex.

(4) You would spend a lot of time in the bedroom, this is where you would want to control the dust mite population. No dust mite, no faeces. Keep RH under 60% and temperature below 25 deg C. Easily kill 50% of them.
Invest in a digital thermo and hygro.

You mentioned local sources only + filters availability, but still I'd ask you to check out qoo10.sg. I don't reckon you'd like to deal with taobao.
qoo10 has the Samsung AX40 which has powerful airflow and is the quietest machine that most of us have come across. It's just S$285 shipped, replacement filters are $78 if you tag on to the order. Get maybe 1 additional replacement filter. But don't exceed $400, else will kena GST.

Locally, it'd be the Sharp A80. Price is about $470 or so at Goh Ah Bee (google it). Check it out at Best Denki....replacement filters are also there. If that runs out, you can get from Taobao also, no need to customise, but there will be a slight reduction in airflow of maybe 30% (filters would be at 1/4th the price only though).
This is a powerful air purifier, you can run at medium speed and it'd be fairly more silent than the Samsung AX40 at high speed while having the same airflow.

6-12 months is the duration to change your filters, depending on how ngeow you are on the smell of the airflow. (the longer you change, the stronger the smell of the dust and particulate matter that's captured by the filter)

WussRedXLi

Kungfoo, unfortunately as you can see after you make a shopping trip to check out things out there, SG retail is expensive. If you wanna see if an air purifier helps your condition or not, you can get the much cheaper 3M Filtrete as it's been proven without doubt that it does filter PM2.5 from the air nicely. The droppings are 10-40 microns.

Ensure that the aircon FCU is cleaned with excellent airflow and switch it to high speed. Ensure sufficient airflow present after installing the 3M Filtrete.
You can add-on a fan and put 3M Filtrete at the intake area also. As I have tested, an aircon FCU + fan is approx. the cleaning ability of a small Sharp A28 operating in high speed mode, sufficient for a typical HDB room.

3M Filtrete can get from local retail (NTUC Xtra, Homefix) or Amazon or Taobao. See recent posts.

WussRedXLi

Or you can get second hand from bro Akai Ryu here, he is selling his Sharp A50. Sharp A50 filters are widely available at Best Denki, many many years liao.

winorlose

Dear RussRedxli 大哥,can u advise a good air purifier for single room use? My newborn is due in 2days time and im looking around for a solid one.. I saw that you recommended sharp.. How are other brands like Novita? Since this one is constantly being marketed in shops like courts, harvey norman etc.

We are looking at budget around 400-600.

Where is a good location to place the air purifier? Under the aircon? We do on the aircon everynight and have no allergy issues. Thanks very much for your advice.

This thread is over 4.2k pages.. Very difficult to read all of it haha

WussRedXLi

winorlose,

Best to get an AP now, since your newborn would need it for this year as well as next (next year will be 13 months till 18 months for 2016 season).

Just do a keyword search.

Same reply to kungfoo. Get the Samsung AX40 from qoo10, replacement filters from there as well. Get 1 unit + 1 replacement filter along with the order, can cover this year and next year liao. Switch on in HIGH speed, energy consumption is very low at only about 28W as measured. Among the quietest units around. (most other units sound like jet fans)

http://list.qoo10.sg/s/SAMSUNG-AX40?keyword=Samsung+AX40&keyword_auto_change=

If you are proficient in buying from taobao (or gonna be learning it), you can consider the LG LA-Q379SB as well. You can customise replacement HEPA filters from Taobao, they perform great as measured by me with a laser particle counter.
Replacement filters are not available (I read that they cost S$145, so nah...)
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/LG-ELECTRONICS-2015-NEW-LG-LA-Q379SB-39-HEPA-FILTER/415064427

Location is not a problem, just place it away from your bed so that it doesn't disturb your sleep. The aircon assists to "mix" the air in the room up, it's good. If the light is too bright, slice 5 slim pieces of masking tape and paste over it. :D

Since you have a baby, you probably would be buying lots of Fisher Price/Avent/MAM/baby stuff from Amazon as well. Tag on the free ship order with the 3M Filtrete filter for filtration for the whole house since you would have an infant and toddler in time to come. Enough for 2 years.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009H78OK/ref=ox_sc_act_title_6?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

For the benefit of kungfoo as well...
http://list.qoo10.sg/s/SAMSUNG-AX40?keyword=Samsung+AX40&keyword_auto_change=

winorlose

Solid advice!! Wah all angle attack! Even know we buy alot of amazon.. Really sia sg retail chop carrot.. For a fisher price toy, sg selling 3x in their stores.

Thanks very much! Time to shop!

WussRedXLi

Just got a LG PS-S209WC from HWZ Marketplace for $80. 9.95/10 mint, the HEPA filter still got that new smell and brand new white. Just rub some alcohol on the chassis, good as new with no scratches. Gonna save the H13 for denser haze periods. :D

18W (measured 20W on my DMM), airflow is 160 m3/hr. V quiet, in turbo mode it's just 43dB. I compared with the Sharp A28 and the LG managed to clean the air a wee bit faster ( as measured X ug/m3 between the 2 after 10 mins duration). Fan speed modes are only Auto (nearly useless), Turbo (useful) and Sleep (totally useless)

The only smal thing that's bad about my 2 LGs is that the parasitic current draw is a bit high. The PS-S209WC draws 8.2W and the bigger LA-Q379SB/PS-R459 draws 7.3W even if the unit is switched off. You'd need to switch it off on the wall socket. The good thing is that if you switch on the wall socket, the unit would turn on as it remembers the last state. The electronic circuitry is consuming the power even though the AP is in the off state.

Samsung AX40 (3W)
Sharp KC-840, Sharp A28, FU-Z31....all 2W

7-8W = about $1 per month 24/7.

HEPA size 325x285x22mm. Cavity, you'd need to customise for 322x282x32mm. I think that TB seller cannot customise for 32mm, only 35mm. So you might need to DIY your own prefilter as previously dicussed before.

I think I am not going to customise liao, just cut and fit in with the 305x305x25 or 35mm filters that I have. The plastic or bubble wrap can roll up to plug the gap. Much cheaper, can even afford to change every 3 months.

eca86bd9da7c1581e25961.jpg

eca86bd9da7c1581e25962.jpg

WussRedXLi

Solid advice!! Wah all angle attack! Even know we buy alot of amazon.. Really sia sg retail chop carrot.. For a fisher price toy, sg selling 3x in their stores.

Thanks very much! Time to shop!

Standard for parents with kids coming lah.

WussRedXLi

Locked and loaded. Just need a LPA or typhoon/tropical storm to be at Philippines to change the winds from SE to S or SSW/SW. Then we'll have our first taste of light haze for 2015 season.

rghz.gif

kungfoo

Unfortunately, office spaces are usually not so effective due to larger volumes involved + due to central air conditioning.

Since you have allergic rhinitis due to your upper respiratory tract reacting to the dustmite droppings :
(1) First you'd need to clean your bedsheet regularly coz when you sleep and turn, that's the place where your nose would be closest to.

(2) After taking care of that, then you'd turn to an air purifier. You'd need a pretty powerful one for allergic rhinitis.

(3) Thirdly, you'd need to vacuum the floor conscientiously coz whenever you walk in the aircon room, you'd stir up dust (and the droppings).
The dustmite droppings are quite big, 10-40 microns in size. You do not really need a HEPA filtered vacuum, but anyway just get one which is as they are not ex.

(4) You would spend a lot of time in the bedroom, this is where you would want to control the dust mite population. No dust mite, no faeces. Keep RH under 60% and temperature below 25 deg C. Easily kill 50% of them.
Invest in a digital thermo and hygro.

You mentioned local sources only + filters availability, but still I'd ask you to check out qoo10.sg. I don't reckon you'd like to deal with taobao.
qoo10 has the Samsung AX40 which has powerful airflow and is the quietest machine that most of us have come across. It's just S$285 shipped, replacement filters are $78 if you tag on to the order. Get maybe 1 additional replacement filter. But don't exceed $400, else will kena GST.

Locally, it'd be the Sharp A80. Price is about $470 or so at Goh Ah Bee (google it). Check it out at Best Denki....replacement filters are also there. If that runs out, you can get from Taobao also, no need to customise, but there will be a slight reduction in airflow of maybe 30% (filters would be at 1/4th the price only though).
This is a powerful air purifier, you can run at medium speed and it'd be fairly more silent than the Samsung AX40 at high speed while having the same airflow.

6-12 months is the duration to change your filters, depending on how ngeow you are on the smell of the airflow. (the longer you change, the stronger the smell of the dust and particulate matter that's captured by the filter)

Thanks, Bro! Very informative and thanks for sharing. For the Samsung AX40 and Sharp A80, are they ION generating? Heard that it is not good for the environment.

Thanks again!

WussRedXLi

Thanks, Bro! Very informative and thanks for sharing. For the Samsung AX40 and Sharp A80, are they ION generating? Heard that it is not good for the environment.

Thanks again!

Is that the samsung ax40? They printed ax04?

From qoo10 its about 300+ But from korea will hv warranty issues? Or is it intl warranty?

Samsung AX40 has been used and tested by quite a few of us (and a lot on qoo10), I think 2 of us have been using for 1 years 3 months already, 12 hrs daily. No issue despite the appliance being 220V and 60Hz. It has a SMPS/Switched mode power supply (ie like your notebook power adaptor), I opened it up. The motor is a 310Vdc motor. The motor is not affected by 50Hz or 60Hz operation. It is very safe.

Korean model is Samsung AX40. Singapore model is AX041. They are basically the same, specs and size etc.

Warranty is ship back on the seller's expense. Don't worry, stress tested by us. DOA 1-1 first 7 days or is it 30 days. After that is 1 year repair in Korea.

All units can switch off the the ION feature.

WussRedXLi

PS. Forgot to mention, do not look at the floor coverage area spec.
Look at the airflow spec, that is very indicative of the performance.

The Samsung AX40 is a 323 m3/hr machine @ 34W (spec) and 27W (measured) @ 45dB.

Sharp A80 is a 480 m3/hr machine @ 75W (spec). The medium speed is 300 m3/hr @ 20W @ 41dB.
https://sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?prodId=451

They are hyping models such as the Tefal and the Rowenta as 80 sqm coverage machines, but basically the airflow are all in the same ballpark.

Dew36

Hi Bro WRX, Can I ask you if you've any ideas if the Samsung AX40 and AX041 shared the same filter parts?
I've an unused AX40 reserved for serious haze situation and info like these may come in handy during emergency times.:o

Anyway, really appreciate the great infos you've posted as always. Thank you!;)

WussRedXLi

Hi Bro WRX, Can I ask you if you've any ideas if the Samsung AX40 and AX041 shared the same filter parts?
I've an unused AX40 reserved for serious haze situation and info like these may come in handy during emergency times.:o

Anyway, really appreciate the great infos you've posted as always. Thank you!;)

I am not 100% sure but I think it is very likely to be the same.
The physical size and weight are the same.

Serious haze is not likely though. It always seems that Peninsula Malaysia always kena more than us due to the wind dir and location of hotspots in Riau, Jambi regions.

WussRedXLi

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.