Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Ok, come across this one which looks better than the D70, D90, D120. At least they claim to be.

PF75 electrostatic media. Looks good, 90% and 1.1 Pa resistance.
Not sure if zhun bo....need to buy and test out.

I suspect these types have a slightly higher resistance than 3M Filtrete, but can hold more particulate matter (lasts longer) and hopefully higher end filtering effect (CADR).
I know 2 of my aircon FCUs are very powerful as measured by the anemometer, the one in the MBR is somewhat 30% less airflow despite cleaning it to the best of my ability. (the MBR is system 1 while the other 2 rooms with higher airflow FCUs are system 2....all from Panasonic same family). Edit - noted that it's only at 5.3cm/s windspeed passing through the media then you'd get those results. I just measured my aircon intake and it's still about 100cm/s in low speed. So will need to test it in real life.

新升级PF75进口针刺静电滤网,非市面上卖的D70,D90和D120普通静电滤网

PF75进口针刺静电滤网相比普通针刺滤网,具有过滤效率更高、过滤精度更高、阻力更小、容尘量更大、寿命更长的优点。它可以有效过滤花粉粒径百分之一的微粒,能捕获相当于一根发丝直径四十分之一的粒子。

本商品规格:

小米滤芯使用:70*30厘米 宽70厘米 长30厘米

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.1-c.w4004-10730907110.2.JQIjcL&id=44354836244

TB2loACcFXXXXbfXXXXXXXXXXXX-783868859.jpg

Rknight

Hi Bros some questions please help, I have allergies to dust mites

1) Is there a handheld digital air quality sensing device for haze and dust mites ? Where do I get it ?
2) I will be getting the Samsung AX40, but why are 2 models on ebay ? Naming AX40H5000UWD and AX40H5000GMD , what are the differences ? And which I should get for dust mites ?
3) Where do I get the filter from and do I need to cut it to fit the AX40 ?
4)Why is the AX037FCVAUWD (37㎡) more expensive than the newer AX40H5000GMD (41㎡) ?
5) Lastly is it recommended to get from Qoo or Ebay ?

Thanks for the time

WussRedXLi

Hi Bros some questions please help, I have allergies to dust mites

1) Is there a handheld digital air quality sensing device for haze and dust mites ? Where do I get it ?
2) I will be getting the Samsung AX40, but why are 2 models on ebay ? Naming AX40H5000UWD and AX40H5000GMD , what are the differences ? And which I should get for dust mites ?
3) Where do I get the filter from and do I need to cut it to fit the AX40 ?
4)Why is the AX037FCVAUWD (37㎡) more expensive than the newer AX40H5000GMD (41㎡) ?
5) Lastly is it recommended to get from Qoo or Ebay ?

Thanks for the time

(1) Yes there is, here is a laser particle counter.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.62.a7DDxk&id=43721215547&_u=11u0hcib691f

(2) Hmm not sure. All HEPA air purifiers can easily handle dust mite droppings. Even the cheapest china HEPA ones. piece of cake
- read page 281

(3) Filter, need to IM the seller via the taobao aliwangwang IM application and customise the dimensions. He knows lah, few of us customised many from him. Basically it's 311mm 281mm x 45mm. The gap should be very small already, if you want you can plug up the gap all round with some tissue or cling wrap
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.101.onWpqD&id=20676620186&_u=11u0hciba543
The filter should be rmb110 each, but I bought 4 1 shot so likely a wee bit cheaper for me.
Or you can find other sellers.
qoo10 also sells the filters, Daiso and Happy Mall. Get only 1 original Samsung filter @ $78 as that'd still be below GST. Buying filter alone is $88

(4) Disregard AX037

(5) Qoo10, lots of SG buyers liao.

Taobao buying queries need to direct to the Taobao part 6 thread, or google on how to use TB via international forwarding.

WussRedXLi

Models are still not extremely accurate in pinpointing the intensity of the El Nino right now, but as we inch towards mid and end June, we'll have a much better picture.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/natio...b35b38-047b-11e5-8bda-c7b4e9a8f7ac_story.html

By New Scientist June 1 at 1:25 PM

Severe storms may be signs of El Niño

Wild weather in Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma and Alaska could be signs of the havoc that El Niño is likely to wreak this year.

A five-year drought in parts of Texas and Oklahoma has dramatically broken with torrential rains — and with floods that have busted dams, washed away houses and taken at least 24 lives.

In Mexico, a tornado killed at least 13 people in Ciudad Acuna last week. In Alaska, temperatures pushed above 80 degrees in some places, causing snowmelt and flooding.

El Niño occurs when warm water wells up from the depths of the Pacific Ocean and spreads east. It warms the globe and drags rain away from parts of Asia and Australia, often dumping it on much of the West Coast.

The weather we’re seeing is consistent with El Niño, says Wenju Cai of the CSIRO, Australia’s national science agency. He says this event looks set to be an extreme one. Jeff Knight from the UK Met Office, Britain’s national weather service, says it’s hard to pin all the wild weather on El Niño, but it is probably a factor.

Also exacerbating the problem is a weird blob of Pacific water that is warming the air off the West Coast. And global warming isn’t helping, either, Knight says. “Global warming is a background tide that is rising, and we get all these features like El Niño on top of it,” he says.

El Niño is also probably playing a role in a heat wave in India that has claimed the lives of more than 1,100 people, mostly in the southern state of Andhra Pradesh. Cai says El Niño can stop or delay the monsoon rains in India. “As such, El Niño could be partially responsible for the heat waves there, as it makes the air dry and therefore easier to heat up,” he says.

— New Scientist

Rknight

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.62.a7DDxk&id=43721215547&_u=11u0hcib691f

(2) Hmm not sure. All HEPA air purifiers can easily handle dust mite droppings. Even the cheapest china HEPA ones. piece of cake
- read page 281

(3) Filter, need to IM the seller via the taobao aliwangwang IM application and customise the dimensions. He knows lah, few of us customised many from him. Basically it's 311mm 281mm x 45mm. The gap should be very small already, if you want you can plug up the gap all round with some tissue or cling wrap
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.101.onWpqD&id=20676620186&_u=11u0hciba543
The filter should be rmb110 each, but I bought 4 1 shot so likely a wee bit cheaper for me.
qoo10 also sells the filters, Daiso and Happy Mall. Get only 1 original Samsung filter @ $78 as that'd still be below GST. Buying filter alone is $88

(4) Disregard AX037

Taobao buying queries need to direct to the Taobao part 6 thread, or google on how to use TB via international forwarding.

Thanks bro for the great help, in regards to the hand held laser particle counter I read it can detect even dust mites. Just to confirm with you is it true ?

WussRedXLi

Thanks bro for the great help, in regards to the hand held laser particle counter I read it can detect even dust mites. Just to confirm with you is it true ?

It would be sensitive to haze particle ranges and pollen etc, but not sensitive to dust mites (300 microns). It would be just somewhat sensitive to dust mite droppings in the air (ranges from 5 - 40 microns). So not a useful tool for dust mite detection.

But if you are having this to test the effectiveness of the HEPA air purifier in your room, then yes....based on the finer particle counts due to pollution/haze etc, you can have a very good guage on how the dust mites/dust mite droppings are being filtered as well.

edward.t

- read page 281

(4) Disregard AX037

I'am interested in the laser counter, are you doing a group buy? Count me in!

WussRedXLi

I'am interested in the laser counter, are you doing a group buy? Count me in!

Nope, not earning from all these. Just interest nia + helping those who appreciate and need good quality air at the lowest possible price coz life in SG nowadays is not easy. :)

WussRedXLi

BTW, I tested my new Taobao filters. You really need to stuff some tissue papers at the sides. Even those sellers selling the cheap generic size 305x305x25 ones can attain 98-99% efficiency on my meter as measured.

I was testing the customised filters, if don't stuff, the efficiency drops from 97%-ish to only 90% due to leakage bypass at the sides. That bad.
That said, the airflow before stuffing is measured to be about 5-ish% higher than after stuffing. So in reality there is not much difference in the CADR

That said, even the Sharp original filters need to stuff at the sides, coz there is no gasket.

mikeeeey

Opened up my,AX40 filter to check after 2 months of usage.

The prefilter mesh part already gave me a shock of my life. How the heck got so much dust in my room when I hardly open the windows?!

My living room sharp A80, jitao changed the filter. Too scary. Also 2 mths since last filter change

chuanz

Did an experiment with slight open windows but air purifier also on (~20m2, AX40).

Under ambient conditions, the "green" sensor would typically give slightly higher, if not the same, readings as the "red" sensor.

vYA4QP7.png

WussRedXLi

Opened up my,AX40 filter to check after 2 months of usage.

The prefilter mesh part already gave me a shock of my life. How the heck got so much dust in my room when I hardly open the windows?!

My living room sharp A80, jitao changed the filter. Too scary. Also 2 mths since last filter change

I was playing with the Samsung AX40 original filter (which i changed out in Dec 2014) last nite to measure the airflow speed. There was a noticeable musky smell, though it was not very strong. If one uses the appliance daily, do watch out for this smell thingy. My Sharp KC-840's honeywell DIYed filter also has this musky smell, used in another room.

My rooms do not really smell much anyway, its the dust/particulate matter kinda smell and not the "room smell".

What? You changed the HEPA filter after 2 months? :eek: I think even with Taobao cheap filters, that would be quite hard on the wallet. :D

Places that are right beside sliproads, expressways, main roads have quite high Particulate matter levels.

mikeeeey

I was playing with the Samsung AX40 original filter (which i changed out in Dec 2014) last nite to measure the airflow speed. There was a noticeable musky smell, though it was not very strong. If one uses the appliance daily, do watch out for this smell thingy. My Sharp KC-840's honeywell DIYed filter also has this musky smell, used in another room.

My rooms do not really smell much anyway, its the dust/particulate matter kinda smell and not the "room smell".

What? You changed the HEPA filter after 2 months? :eek: I think even with Taobao cheap filters, that would be quite hard on the wallet. :D

Places that are right beside sliproads, expressways, main roads have quite high Particulate matter levels.

Mine is just directly beside the main road. Sigh.

For the A80, now most likely i will vacuum the pre-filter (the charcoal beads part). Try to prolong the usage lifespan

For the AX40, washing the prefilter seems to be ok, for now. Also trying ways to prolong

WussRedXLi

Mine is just directly beside the main road. Sigh.

For the A80, now most likely i will vacuum the pre-filter (the charcoal beads part). Try to prolong the usage lifespan

For the AX40, washing the prefilter seems to be ok, for now. Also trying ways to prolong

Better dont wash the AX40 black part, risky in damaging the
HEPA portion.

You need a good additional prefilter after the net prefilter then. Why not try the PF75 electrostatic ones i just mentioned the page before.

Either that or you try the taobao filters.

wadsad

大师s. my place is getting dusty due to construction works below my flat. air purifier can eat all these dust particleS? if i dont open window will feel stuffy. any setup can advice? im able to buy from amazon, taobao, no need local only. but if local is better, then definitely get locally. thanks :D

WussRedXLi

大师s. my place is getting dusty due to construction works below my flat. air purifier can eat all these dust particleS? if i dont open window will feel stuffy. any setup can advice? im able to buy from amazon, taobao, no need local only. but if local is better, then definitely get locally. thanks :D

It's a piece of cake for these construction dust. Taobao HEPA included, very very close to 100% efficiency for those dust sizes.

Nope, you can't open the windows, in fact if your room is "leaky" due to MBR toilet window, ie strong wind blows from MBR toilet window past toilet door below and then past MBR door, you'd need to reduce that first. If you have airconditioning, you can feel the cold air very easily.

So yes, you'd need air conditioning.

WussRedXLi

Some of you may remember me squeezing 3pcs of this Honeywell H13 HEPA filter into my KC-840. This is an upgrade over the stock 1.25" 31mm Sharp H13 HEPA (I am using the Sharp A40 filter, both same size).

This Honeywell is a outer casing 1.6" thick filter (actual HEPA media is about 1.4 inch thick), or 35mm.

It's usd9.99 now, I bought it for usd8.5 last time and USD was lower then at 1.25 or so.
http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Pur...433342868&sr=8-1&keywords=Honeywell+H1+filter

After 7 months of usage, as I mentioned in a few post earlier, the output is beginning to smell. Also recently, I said that I customised a 371mm x 228mm x 45mm filter from that TB seller. Original size is 235mm width but I made it slightly smaller coz the KC-840 prefilter casing curves in so I was afraid that it may not fit, so made it smaller.

End up that you don't really need to make it 228mm, the 45mm thickness will clear.
ie 371mm x 235mm x 45mm would fit, the prefilter can close properly but it's a tight fit.
If you are afraid, 371mm x 233mm x 45mm fits perfectly.

Not sure about A40, you'd see if the depth would present any issues or not.

Measurements. Honeywell H1 true HEPA filter (3pcs). 35mm Windspeed = 26.5kph (I put 1pc of that Activated charcoal bag blocking half the output to reduce the noise). But used for 6 months.

Taobao HEPA 45mm thick = 27kph.

So for this particular KC-840 unit, the Taobao HEPA filter would easily match, if not out-perform in CADR vs the original Sharp filter.

Not bad for RMB95 vs SGD99.

hrf-h1-honeywell-true-hepa-replacement-filter.jpg

WussRedXLi

Really too much work lah. Just customise from TB is good, good fit, spend 5 mins to stuff up the sides with tissue or cling wrap to eliminate bypass can liao. I needed to use a cutter and strong pair of scissors to snip out one end of the Honeywell H1 filter (the top one)

158266050.GoQLcfid.20141117_212616.jpg

158266051.UyLTRkl6.20141117_213909.jpg

edward.t

Nope, not earning from all these. Just interest nia + helping those who appreciate and need good quality air at the lowest possible price coz life in SG nowadays is not easy. :)

Oh I see, I'am not really proficient in mandarin hence I thought if you're buying I can tag my order along

WussRedXLi

Oh I see, I'am not really proficient in mandarin hence I thought if you're buying I can tag my order along

Not buying lah, I already have one, another model.

Alright, since it seems that you may have a need for it. PMed ya.

The model draws power via a mini USB cable for power. So just plug in a power bank or PC or notebook or adapter. The mini USB cable is included.

Helped another bro to buy before....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.