Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

And of coz, looking at the complete picture, that includes unit cost + electrical running costs as well. Plus other points like running noise in dBA vs Clean Air Delivery Rate (CADR) etc.

I calculated that my Sharp running at the same fan speed (X CARD) at same watts vs the Honeywell 50250 gave me some $300+ savings in electricity over 6 years+ now with say 12 hrs usage daily. Posted that before. That is about $4 per month in terms of $$ advantage. You can use that for filter replacements.

But then the Honeywell gives pretty high CADR, slightly higher than even the big Sharp A50E/850. But this is at the expense of noise. It is about 10dB louder than the Sharp A50 and the likes, both units maxed out in fan speed. To put it into perspective, that is like 7-8 units of Sharp A50 = 1 unit of Honeywell 50250 in terms of operating noise.

A Sharp A50 operating in high fan speed is quite noisy in a quiet air-con room if your bed is 3 metres away, yes. But a Honeywell 50250 would drive you crazy within 30 minutes. :D

WussRedXLi

A simple query, let's say if I buy a sharp A40e air purifier or any sharp model and I am able to change the filter that is true hepa or hepa13?

KC-A40E, A50E and there is a new successor to these 2 (KC-D40, saw it @ BEST) all use True HEPA/HEPA 13 liao.

The story is that the KC-840/850 use E10. You can find this info on the website. I use the 840. This 840 has the same filter dimensions as the A40. 850 has the same filter dimensions as the A50. So can use.

The 840 replacement filter (E10) is S$79. The A40 replacement filter (HEPA-13, True HEPA) is S$99
I believe the KC-D40 is the same, I was checking that out just yesterday as I was buying the A40 replacement filter. But there were quite a few folks there so I did not manage to try slotting the A40 filter into the D40.

The Sharp is a workhorse (my KC-840 used for 6 years+, no funny noise no nothing), and here in Singapore I am sure BEST will carry the brand for a very long time. Same thing for Honeywell. The filter will be supported and sold for a very long time.

Same goes for Philips vacuum cleaner bags....etc.

So yeah, that automatically upgrades my KC-840 into a True HEPA machine. Remember to try taping up the sides of the filter to the plastic body for every True HEPA cleaner. This is to eliminate the bypass, like your N95 masks like that.

The other models like Z31, A80 etc...I don't think got HEPA-13 equivalents. Those are the cheaper models. The A28 E10 filter does not even have a replacement filter produced. The webby does not state the replacement filter model. But it's cheap and performance is great for the price.

There are 2 distinct lines in the Sharp lineup.

https://sharp.com.sg/web/products/ProdList.asp?Catid=70

https://sharp.com.sg/web/products/ProdList.asp?Catid=69

Veron4

KC-A40E, A50E and there is a new successor to these 2 (I think KC-D40 or 50E something like that, saw it @ BEST) all use True HEPA/HEPA 13 liao.

The story is that the KC-840/850 use E10. You can find this info on the website. I use the 840. This 840 has the same filter dimensions as the A40. 850 has the same filter dimensions as the A50. So can use.

The 840 replacement filter (E10) is S$79. The A40 replacement filter (HEPA-13, True HEPA) is S$99
I believe the KC-D40/50 is the same, I was checking that out just yesterday as I was buying the A40 replacement filter. But there were quite a few folks there so I did not manage to try slotting the A40 filter into the D40.

The Sharp is a workhorse (my KC-840 used for 6 years+, no funny noise no nothing), and here in Singapore I am sure BEST will carry the brand for a very long time. Same thing for Honeywell. The filter will be supported and sold for a very long time.

Same goes for Philips vacuum cleaner bags....etc.

So yeah, that automatically upgrades my KC-840 into a True HEPA machine. Remember to try taping up the sides of the filter to the plastic body for every True HEPA cleaner. This is to eliminate the bypass, like your N95 masks like that.

Thank you for your prompt reply. Btw is sharp A40e currently in stock and what is the current price?

sky00sky

You can't really say you can sleep with a. Honeywell at high
But trade off is the pricing and cadr

So usually i on it a high 30 min before my kids sleep turn to low till next morning wake up

WussRedXLi

BTW, despite whatever they claim, HEPA filters be it E10 or HEPA-13 cannot be washed. Though they are made of plastic (PP).... I tried before.

Just vacuum them and the pre-filter.

1.5 years thereabouts change here in SG context + typical HDB room. You probably can push to 2 years or whatever. Up to you.

I mean, I change my Instapure water filter every 4 months. Already bought v cheap at usd 17.50/S$22.75 per piece @ Amazon with FSSG. That's S$120 every 1.5 years. Locally is S$44 per piece!

WussRedXLi

Thank you for your prompt reply. Btw is sharp A40e currently in stock and what is the current price?

Bro, everything no stock. We are in Singapore leh. :D

PApers already wrote last Sat Vivo BEST no stock.

Stocks coming in April, not sure early or late April. I believe I read something like 22 Apr.

IIRC the KC-D40 is 499 or 529. Of coz now is $$ lah. The A40 went as low as 429 or something. But I remember they were selling the KC-840 at 539 or something many year ago......and 6 years ago the money is not the same as today's. :D

So ard there ba.

sky00sky

Stocks coming in April, not sure early or late April. I believe I read something like 22 Apr.

IIRC the KC-D40 is 499 or 529. Of coz now is $$ lah. The A40 went as low as 429 or something. But I remember they were selling the KC-840 at 539 or something many year ago......and 6 years ago the money is not the same as today's. :D

So ard there ba.
Should have bought the a40
For back up the other day I saw a Parisilk when collecting fax machine

WussRedXLi

Should have bought the a40
For back up the other day I saw a Parisilk when collecting fax machine

I guess can try Parisilk. Yeah forgot about that.

But basically for Blueair (Massmark), the usual 3 of HN/Courts/BEST....all don't have stock liao. I suspect Gaincity and the likes also no stock.

WussRedXLi

You can't really say you can sleep with a. Honeywell at high
But trade off is the pricing and cadr

So usually i on it a high 30 min before my kids sleep turn to low till next morning wake up

Yep, agree....a good way to make use of the HIGH on the big cylindrical honeywells is to zhua them in HIGH with nobody in the room for a short period of time. The performance CADR vs price ratio is great (Amazon price which includes shipping and factor in $70-$80 for a good 750W voltage convertor) and one of the best out there. Just can't get past the voltage convertor thingy, occupies quite a bit of space as well.

This "turbo" mode, which is too loud for sleeping for most models out there, ensures that the room is cleaned very fast and completely. Air-purifier-power.com mentioned that before, 1 hr in HIGH/turbo is better than 12 hours in low or perhaps even medium.

I like the Honeywell QuietAir Airgenius that a bro posted earlier in the thread, nice design and very slim footprint with decent performance. Just can't get past the voltage converter thingy, must really really get a very good convertor to reduce the fire risk.

Really scared liao, my downstairs neighbour reno repair for his fire incident last month is 50k. Till now still renovating.

HFD310_ProductCOMBO.jpg

sky00sky

Yep, agree....a good way to make use of the HIGH on the big cylindrical honeywells is to zhua them in HIGH with nobody in the room for a short period of time. The performance CADR vs price ratio is great (Amazon price which includes shipping and factor in $70-$80 for a good 750W voltage convertor) and one of the best out there. Just can't get past the voltage convertor thingy, occupies quite a bit of space as well.

This "turbo" mode, which is too loud for sleeping for most models out there, ensures that the room is cleaned very fast and completely. Air-purifier-power.com mentioned that before, 1 hr in HIGH/turbo is better than 12 hours in low or perhaps even medium.

I like the Honeywell QuietAir Airgenius that a bro posted earlier in the thread, nice design and very slim footprint with decent performance. Just can't get past the voltage converter thingy.

HFD310_ProductCOMBO.jpg

haha..I had a Step Down from SLT . Locally approved one with sticker.

For my Scooba, Toothbrush, Shaver, Ice Cream Maker...
Where I need I just move it..

:p

So it was a natural progression I got a 110v set.
:s13::s13:

but actually the vertical type I am pretty skeptical cos of the usually way of generating wind (aka fans) it is never close to the normal rotary methods

slowstatic

but actually the vertical type I am pretty skeptical cos of the usually way of generating wind (aka fans) it is never close to the normal rotary methods

How much you paid for the transformer from SLT?

I got mine (power bright 500watts) from Amazon for almost S$100 :(

Been using it daily (9pm-8am) since last year haze. TBH, no issue.
It's not even hot (warm only) after many hours of use.

I only have issue with the price

NWT1978

for those wanting to get Sharp ones and willing to pay around 1K plus...

Lion city have 5 left for KIA60E at $1197...

estimate next stock update be May 2014... :(

sky00sky

50-60 bucks only...I gpgt at night bah

ouch for such bulky and heavy things should try luck at SLT

Veron4

So ard there ba.

Btw I just called GOH AH BEE, they mentioned all sharp air purifier no stock till end of April

Also, the A40e costs sgd455 as quoted by them.

shokbakgoc

and the humming of the transformer :crazy:

no lah, my powerbright 500W bought for usd24 around same time as u. where got sgd100?

WussRedXLi

With the PSB safety sticker is cool, also advocated that in the air purifier thread last year. For those who has no option but to get an air purifier from AMZ, go for this. Just that, you know we locals are usually v price sensitive and so go for much cheaper options coz the good voltage convertors are not that low in cost. There were a few with burnt purifiers here (50150 also, some using 200W convertor for that) due to this also when the cheap 300W voltage convertors go poof despite the 50250 drawing 50W/120W/170W in L/M/H.

Bo bian lah, i know the tower fans not that efficient....but really for the looks to fit the decor. My Sharp is nice in design IMO but my wife already wanted to kill me when i got it. Even the Blueair can forget about it, i showed her the 650E long time ago coz i wanted to buy, due to the large footprint. With a big 500 or 750W convertor sure forget it one....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.