Air purifier?

audiovideo

The washable mesh filter is just the prefilter. NAP has prefilter.

The 501 filter is integrated. The HEPA layer is 0.75 inches and catalyst layer + AC layer both make up the other 0.75 inches, giving a total of 1.5 inches.

the price is $109 and has a 24 months life span
consider high maintenance cost? :s8:

WussRedXLi

the price is $109 and has a 24 months life span
consider high maintenance cost? :s8:

It has a 10 x 11" x 0.75 thick HEPA. The other 0.75 portion is taken up by the AC and catalyst. In a typical HDB room with normal levels of particulates and take 1 slight-moderate haze episode of 1 week and 10-12hrs daily usage, it definitely won't make it past 12 months before you finding it being clogged significantly..

So yeah, very very high maintainence.

WussRedXLi

Better don't sic first as level not stated, scully not true HEPA :s11:

Those customised ones from the OEM builders of filters are probably ok. There are H13-H14 grade, so definitely over 99% one lah (99.5% is H12) even if you allow for some degradation. They make filters for ISO clean rooms, even the lousiest and failed audit grade also more satki than the typical DIY HEPA webby that you can find like 5000 sellers. :s13:

If you DIY with an even thicker/more depth filter, try ULPA U15 for an approx. 20% price premium. Good for those more powerful grade air coolers (> 400m3/hr specced so that you can buffer a bit down) and stuff like your Cornell fans. :D
No need 2.5k SGD IQAir liao esp if you don't dig the gas control. (actually as shared earlier, you can DIY those also, other than the activated charcoal)

stonefish35

Those customised ones from the OEM builders of filters are probably ok. There are H13-H14 grade, so definitely over 99% one lah (99.5% is H11) even if you allow for some degradation. They make filters for ISO clean rooms, even the lousiest and failed audit grade also more satki than the typical DIY HEPA webby that you can find like 5000 sellers. :s13:

If you DIY with an even thicker/more depth filter, try ULPA U15 for an approx. 20% price premium. Good for those more powerful grade air coolers (> 400m3/hr specced so that you can buffer a bit down) and stuff like your Cornell fans. :D
No need 2.5k SGD IQAir liao esp if you don't dig the gas control. (actually as shared earlier, you can DIY those also, other than the activated charcoal)

I see, thanks for your expert view, enjoyed reading your posts and learnt alot. :s12:

Better that I get hold of the filter first before I sic, in case lousy stuff. If good, will sic here.

WussRedXLi

any suggestions for below $150 budget purifier?

Sharp A28E or that one from Taobao.

BTW, if you folks are interested, go google the somewhat possible link between super typhoon neoguri and the developing El Nino.

It is very rare that a typhoon this powerful is seen this year for the western pacific.

News - 'Once-in-decades' Super Typhoon Neoguri makes an early impact on Japan - The Weather Network

Neoguri super-typhoon in Japan is El Niño harbinger - environment - 09 July 2014 - New Scientist

WussRedXLi

Past few days of rain and especially this morning's widespread Sumatran Squaal thunderstorm spreading up north nearly 100km should have doused everything. That's what I read here and overheard people saying.

I'm afraid it's still there....just doused a bit nia.

Just waiting for El Nino.

12MN
156495874.hu4IUaVZ.haze1.jpg

This morning

156489947.upMAhpHS.22.jpg

audiovideo

It has a 10 x 11" x 0.75 thick HEPA. The other 0.75 portion is taken up by the AC and catalyst. In a typical HDB room with normal levels of particulates and take 1 slight-moderate haze episode of 1 week and 10-12hrs daily usage, it definitely won't make it past 12 months before you finding it being clogged significantly..

So yeah, very very high maintainence.

According to Best Denki, the FOC filter for 101 or 501 will be an additional one. So maybe cheapo a bit can last for 2/2.5 or even 3 years, before geting new filters :s13:. Hopefully can get bargain replacement before that or by then ....

Is like buying printer :s8:, hardware cheap but consumable expensive ...

WussRedXLi

According to Best Denki, the FOC filter for 101 or 501 will be an additional one. So maybe cheapo a bit can last for 2/2.5 or even 3 years, before geting new filters :s13:. Hopefully can get bargain replacement before that or by then ....

Is like buying printer :s8:, hardware cheap but consumable expensive ...

Yeah ...consumables expensive. But luckily got "3rd party" ink. And in this case, low quality high quality and EXTREME QUALITY all also got. :)
Your pick.

Asakura

Err, I just placed a order to custom make the HEPA filter 320mm x 260mm x 20mm @ RMB100 excl shipping.

and got a 402 mm x 217 x 20mm hepa filter to zhng my cornell box fan into a purifier.

Can custom make active carbon filter too.

that will be even better
so....waiting for ur review :)

Asakura

past few days i see a lot ppl buying sharp A80 (i think is this model?)

on train, on bus...or walking to their car. all carrying this model.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.