Air purifier?

ralliart12

EMS is Speedpost for local leg. Go to PO to collect, faster. No re-delivery.

I thought can only collect from post office if a bounced delivery occurred, i.e. nobody at home to receive when the 1st delivery is attempted?

Does anybody know how the cool catalyst filter works on the Novita NAP 611? Is it similar to the ionizer? I dont suppose I can "turn it off" like the ionizer? Some reports say that using ionizer is not good for health due to the release of ozone.

No problem then, just switch off the ioniser. :) It's the third switch from the left.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51CfLxXZK7L._SL1500_.jpg

So, the ionizer thing is really bad for health? I thought ozone is a good thing sia? If it's unhealthy how come these air purifiers have the capability integrated?

...Actually 4 filters also can liao, then add a $6 filler item.
If you wanna get the activated charcoal filters from Fellowes, also can. (then can just get 4 x HF-230)...

Great idea.

...In my Sharp kc840....it coould last 6 to 7 weeks. 7th week we began to notice (literally) that its not working....This is the main difference between electrostatic media vs HEPA.

The HEPA filter holds a heck lot more dust during its useful life vs electrostatic filter.

How do I determine if the HEPA filter requires replacement? Do most models come with a warning LED or something?

It's Fellowes HF-230.

Don't think so..... of course use a good scotch tape that has minimal smell. Else it would smell a wee bit for the next 24 hours or so of operation. :o...

Actually I'm not concerned about the smell of the tape (that didn't even cross my mind); I'm more concerned that all this trimming & possibly-improper taping means there's a chance the unfiltered air will bypass the filter media (rendering the filtration efficiency moot)? Or I just "spam" tape at the edges until there's no gap? Use normal Scotch tape can already right?

The Samsung AX40 filter has a 2 inch depth. The HEPA is 1.5", AC part is 0.5".

You can use this. usd7.01. Same as the HEPA, gotta trim a bit. This big one the CF-300 is eligible for FSSG. The CF-230 is also eligible, it is smaller, but it is more expensive.

Amazon.com: Fellowes CF-300 Carbon Filter for the Fellowes AP-300PH Air Purifier (9372101): Office Products...

So regardless of getting the CF-300 or CF-230, I still have to get a separate layer of activated carbon filter (as shown by your link directly above? Or are CF-300/CF-230 the activated carbon filter? I thought they are the "main" HEPA filter.

...For me I get those aquarium activated charcoal and put them into laundry bags. I give them a good rinse (rinses the charcoal dust) and a thin layer would do. I put these at the air-conditioner's intake. It does not have to be at the air purifier. A usd15 container for 1.1kg's worth can last you 2 years easily. Get from AMZ, FSSG eligible.

Do you mean I can get activated carbon meant for aquarium, pack them in a mesh-bag, & slot this mesh-bag in the 0.5" gap of the Samsung AX40 to act as/replace the original activated carbon filter?

...The CF-230 is also eligible, it is smaller, but it is more expensive...

How come the smaller one is USD$12? How come more expensive than the big one?

WussRedXLi

@ralliart12, seriously those questions you posted....it really boils down to personal choice and you'd have to try it out.

With regards to the Fellowes HF-230 bypass w tape.... It ain't IQAir standard working to provide ultra clean air for a patient with immunity issues after a quad heart bypass, that's for sure.

If the very slight bypass bothers you, get the $76 original filter. I have posted before, CADR = efficiency times airflow.
If there is slight bypass, so be it. 96% and 99.98% no difference in CADR in HDB rooms in real life.

Look at the picture I posted to martin1973 1 page early of the 3M Elite Allergen filter (actually 1 post above yours). It's dirty, and it's scotched tape.

WussRedXLi

Smart Air NUS spend 10 months and don't know how many R&D + $$$ . this guy home made.

Ok, will find some big and wide rubber bands/nylon to tie my 3M Elite Allergen MPR2200 filters to my iFan nao! :crazy: Seriously, it'd be for my living room, which is without a purifier coz it's not air-coned, so doesn't make financial sense to get one esp with no prolonged haze.

SEA taobao can find a few. Actually selling for quite a while, think 1 or 2 years back. Youtube vids out a few years liao (6 years actually).

I have tried last year. HEPA would be ultra clean, but somewhat low airflow, unless you use a crazy powerful fan like "The Cannon" in the site you posted.

If use 3M filters like the MPR1000 with much lower pressure drop/resistance, the airflow would be ok and actually very decent with a 100W 18" propeller air-circulator. But filtration efficiency drops. This one bro bullfrog already verified with 3M Filtrete aircon filter and I also shared the graph earlier.

All would still help, just depends how loud a noise are you able to tahan, and if you are willing to waste so much energy to get that clean air. Try to drape a piece of cloth over your big 18" fan, I don't know about you guys but I will go nuts. My mum in law has already tried those huge 1cm safety nettings that prevents children fingers from reaching into the blades, noisy like fiak man.
100% cannot sleep.

NB, the Cannon is quite impressive for the price. Note, it's just a 15 sqm room. Take careful note on the rate of decrease.

http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/post/67515725113/harder-better-faster-stronger-diy

tumblr_inline_mwj26bXs6k1s4lgm1.png

tumblr_inline_mxiv60LyM81s4lgm1.png

tumblr_inline_mxivixII511s4lgm1.png

WussRedXLi

Sharp A28 only S$128 at Parisilk just now till 1900h, qoo10 time deal. Now sold out liao.

ralliart12

Just get Samsung AX40, now dropped to S$285 incld EMS shipping...

Reading a bit on its Qoo10 item description: the AX40 cannot filter particles smaller than 0.3?! Then it means it's useless for removing PM2.5 class of pollutants?

Or am I reading the product description wrongly?

WussRedXLi

Reading a bit on its Qoo10 item description: the AX40 cannot filter particles smaller than 0.3?! Then it means it's useless for removing PM2.5 class of pollutants?

Or am I reading the product description wrongly?

PM2.5 means anything below 2.5 microns.

You can read what is HEPA here : HEPA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

To qualify as HEPA by US government standards, an air filter must remove (from the air that passes through) 99.97% of 0.3 µm particles.[2] This size constitutes the Most Penetrating Particle Size (MPPS), which is the most difficult size of particle to filter. Smaller and larger particles are filtered at even greater efficiency.[3

HEPA can do 0.1 microns.
This is a test specifically done for the Samsung.

T2skxMXI8XXXXXXXXX-63371835.jpg

T2TOlGXNdaXXXXXXXX-63371835.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ace Filtration "Air Filter Cross Reference Chart"

General Filter Filter Test Reference and Classification Filter Test Operating
Type Type Characteristics

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eurovent 4/5 average BS EN779 average
arrestance arrestance
Coarse dust or
primary filter EU1 <65 G1 <65 Average value for
arrestance of large
particles using
synthetic dust Low efficiency
EU2 65<80 G2 65<80
Low static pressure drop
EU3 80<90 G3 80<90
EU4 >90 G4 >90
1m2 media area in typical filter unit

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eurovent 4/5 average BS EN779 average
efficiency % efficiency %
Fine dust or
secondary filter
EU5 40<60 F5 40<60 Average percentage
value for atmospheric
dust spot efficiency
using atmospheric air Medium and higher
efficiencies
EU6 60<80 F6 60<80
EU7 80<90 F7 80<90
Higher Static
pressure drop
EU8 90<95 F8 90<95
EU9 >95 F9 >95
6m2 + media area in
typical filter unit

Eurovent 4/4 average BS EN779 average
efficiency minimum MPPS%
High efficiency range
of filters
Higher efficiency
particulate air filter
semi HEPA &
HEPA EU10 95<99.9 H10 85 Eurovent 4/4
Sodium chloride test
0.6 micron
EU11 99.9<99.97 H11 95
EU12 99.97<99.99 H12 99.5
EU13 99.99<99.999 H13 99.95
High static pressure
drop
H14 99.995
EN 1822
Oil mist
aerosol MPPS
300mm filter unit up
to 15m2 media area

Ultra Low
penetration air filter U15 99.9995 EN 1822 Highest range of
particulate filters
U16 99.99995
U17 99.999995 Oil mist
aerosol MPPS
High static pressure drop
ULPA
Various designs to suit
specific applications

MPPS - Most Penetrating Particle Size

plasticpistola

I have played before with the 3M Elite Allergen MPR2100 filter. It is one of the most efficient electrostatic media filter, MERV13.

In my Sharp kc840....it coould last 6 to 7 weeks. 7th week we began to notice (literally) that its not working. My allergic rhinitis came back amd my wife (healthy) was sneezing more and more often. This is in a small MBR with 2 pax and clear skies. Price is usd54 shipped....i get to cut into 8 pieces (2pcs of 20x30x1 inch media). Output airflow is maintained v well.

It seems that the 3M Elite Allergen MPR2100 filter is full and leaking more and more dust + very fine particulate matter as the they build up. As if you have a v dirty aircon FCU, which similarly causes me to have allergic rhinitis.

We immediately changed back to our partially used HEPA 10 filter and the improvement was immediate.

By contrast, a HEPA filter easily lasts 12 months and maintains that > 99% clean output. Only performance drop qould be that the airflow gets cut gradually. This is the main difference between electrostatic media vs HEPA.

The HEPA filter holds a heck lot more dust during its useful life vs electrostatic filter.

bro, do u mean this one?

91Jl%2BYgHPtL._SL1500_.jpg

it's like one hard piece? how do you use it exactly?

plasticpistola

Cannot DIY refill, too leh cheh.

The best is to place it on top of the air-con fan coil unit. Assuming that the fan coil unit's air intake is at the top. Any location that has good airflow is good.

My PAnasonic aircon FCU is like that. Every room i have a bag of activated charcoal but the layer has to be thin for max exposed surface area.

Remember to rinse it properly, if you are afraid of fine charcoal dust. But no worries, it works in real life and you won't have a layer of charcoal dust in the room...i tested many times before.

Like this.
fixed_speed_fcu_dai.jpg

once my daikin pai, i will also get the panasonic a/c, although the salesman seem to want to push ME starmex....

so far how do you like your panasonic?

jinhenglo

I have "The Cannon", the EuropAce local version, 55W. Cost $155. Very powerful wind and very loud as well, even on low. Watch tv also got problem.

Drav03

Samsung AX40 (2014 model)

Looking at getting the new Samsung AX40 model. Is there anywhere I can purchase it locally instead of buying it from Qoo? Just worried abt the warranty if purchase online. It will be troublesome if they deliver and you find that it dosent work well after a few days. Any comments ? Thanks.

ralliart12

@ralliart12, seriously those questions you posted....it really boils down to personal choice and you'd have to try it out...

Understood, i.e. I will try to ask the seller if can directly send to the post office.

...With regards to the Fellowes HF-230 bypass w tape.... It ain't IQAir standard working to provide ultra clean air for a patient with immunity issues after a quad heart bypass, that's for sure...

Understood; will manage my expectations.

...Look at the picture I posted to martin1973 1 page early of the 3M Elite Allergen filter (actually 1 post above yours). It's dirty, and it's scotched tape.

So, in other words, the filter (media) will do its (decent) job of trapping the pollutants even if its perimeter is sealed via taping?

PM2.5 means anything below 2.5 microns.

You can read what is HEPA here : HEPA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia...
HEPA can do 0.1 microns.

Anyway, this is what I saw on the AX40 Qoo10SG site:

WiIQnBs.jpg

I think I may have gotten micrometer confused with micron.

...To qualify as HEPA by US government standards, an air filter must remove (from the air that passes through) 99.97% of 0.3 µm particles.[2] This size constitutes the Most Penetrating Particle Size (MPPS), which is the most difficult size of particle to filter. Smaller and larger particles are filtered at even greater efficiency...

Isn't this very weird? Smaller (than 0.3µm) & larger (than 0.3µm) are easier to filter than 0.3µm? Doesn't seem to make sense...

chuanz

Looking at getting the new Samsung AX40 model. Is there anywhere I can purchase it locally instead of buying it from Qoo? Just worried abt the warranty if purchase online. It will be troublesome if they deliver and you find that it dosent work well after a few days. Any comments ? Thanks.

Local equivalent model is AX41.

WussRedXLi

So, in other words, the filter (media) will do its (decent) job of trapping the pollutants even if its perimeter is sealed via taping?

Isn't this very weird? Smaller (than 0.3µm) & larger (than 0.3µm) are easier to filter than 0.3µm? Doesn't seem to make sense...

Sealing with tape is among the best you can do. Some air purifiers like the Sharp ones don't even have foam sealing in stock form. There is some bypass. Air-purifier-power.com recommends you to DIY seal the stock filters even.

Use tape, then feel with your fingers. That's the best you can do.

My Philips vacuum cleaner has a very solid seal for its H13 exhaust filter, utilizing a piece of rubber gasket.

-------------------------

HEPA - first you must get rid of the common misconception that HEPA operates like a physical sieve, like sifting flour through a strainer where bigger particles get caught and finer particles still goes through.

ie it DOES NOT operate as pictured below
siftingflour425a.jpg

Xinxiang North Filter Co., Ltd.

HEPA filters provide a very high level of filtration efficiency for the smallest as well as the largest particulate contaminants. As defined by the Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology, IEST-RP-CC001.3 and MIL-STD-282 Method 102.9.1, a HEPA filter must capture a minimum of 99.97% of contaminants at 0.3 microns in size. The 0.3 micron benchmark is used in efficiency ratings, because it approximates the most difficult particle size for a filter to capture. HEPA filters are even more efficient in removing particles that are smaller than 0.3 microns and larger than 0.3 microns. The fact that a HEPA filter’s removal efficiency increases as particle size decreases below 0.3 microns is counter intuitive. However, this is a proven and accepted fact in the filtration sciences.

http://www.abatement.com/pdf/anthraxandhepa_filters.pdf

3. HEPA filters capture particles by a combination of several means: diffusion, interception, and inertial impaction. A 0.3-micron particle size was selected for HEPA filter ratings primarily for two reasons. First, it is a particle size that can be uniformly generated by thermal equipment. Second, studies have shown that this size particle is very close to the “most penetrating particle size” (MPPS). HEPA filters are actually more efficient against particles between 0.1 and 0.3 microns or particles larger than 0.3
microns according to the studies.

WussRedXLi

I have "The Cannon", the EuropAce local version, 55W. Cost $155. Very powerful wind and very loud as well, even on low. Watch tv also got problem.

Wah...wattage so low ah. I guess i am right about the noise level. It'd be even louder when you stuff it at the front with a HEPA and a prefilter at the back. :D

Buying The Cannon nao!! :eek:

Opps...saw the SGD155 price tag. :(

chuanz

In addition to what WRXL posted, go to the wiki link, click the referenced footnote, download the PDF and read it, especially page 11.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.