fan_zps5489213e.jpg

chuanz

I think selling in China will be a joke... As the Chinese saying goes 班门弄斧

WussRedXLi

Tabao got those round shaped hepa filter and cover for fan?

BTW, do be advised that such a contraption would be very much louder than the Samsung AX40 that I have been recommending (it's really very quiet in the air purifier world). Centrifugal fans do have an advantage in the air pressure exerted (pascals) and noise and also "shaping" the airflow.
Smartfilters did say that it's quite loud, they did some testing on their site.
I can confirm for you right here that you won't be able to sleep with that much white noise.

The NUS - AiRazor "system" I think does not have a pre-filter. Correct me if I am wrong.

That said, it might not be using HEPA. HEPA is MERV16-MERV18 grade.
The 3M Filterete Elite Allergen filters I posted and used before in my Sharp KC-840 is MERV-13. They do let through quite a bit more air, at the expense of a wee bit drop in filtration power.

The taobao ones have prefilter, either comes as a set with the HEPA or you get it separate for like $1 or so.

I posted a few times liao. Here it is :
Various diameters, 25mm thickness. But more expensive than others.
Ô²ÐÎDIY·çÉÈÓøßЧHEPA¹ýÂËÍø£ü´øÄÚ¿×HEPAÔ²ÐιýÂËÍø£ü³§¼ÒÖ±¹©-ÌÔ±¦Íø

29cm, 20mm thickness. Cheaper.
Ô²ÐÎHEPA¹ýÂËÍø DIYÖÆ×÷HEPA¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷PM2.5¹ýÂËÍø HEPA¹ýÂËÍø-ÌÔ±¦Íø

Just go to ABC shop (not sure if Japan home got or not) and buy for S$2.
You want small medium big size, all got. Actually my mother in law bought like 3 of them, not sure where I chucked them coz this netting disrupted the airflow (mainly the intake side) and made quite a lot of noise.

T1NTAHFx8cXXXXXXXX_!!2-item_pic.png_400x400.jpg

Free-Shipping-Electric-Fan-Protection-Cover-Finger-Safe-Net-Nylon-Mesh-Protect-Children-Kids-Baby-Safety.jpg

airazor-1c.jpg

1ffbe9_da7ed71cf66e423e87dca2199401ce15.jpg_srz_300_250_85_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

:s22::s22::vijayadmin:
T20lJyXDpaXXXXXXXX_!!831893606.jpg_400x400.jpg

WussRedXLi

Any comment on Rowenta PU2120 at SGD459 nett with additional free filters?

ROWENTA AIR PURIFIER PU2120 Air Purifiers - Courts Online Shopping

Sucks too much power leh. The Samsung AX40 on qoo10 or local retail version AX041 does the same airflow @ half the power.

If you are operating daily and 10-12hrs a day, the savings is significant, IIRC 40W diff would be close to $50 a year.

And Rowenta confirm extremely difficult to get replacement filter. At least you can stock up on the Samsung filter from qoo10, perhaps 1 or 2 additional filters first.

WussRedXLi

i'm considering buying the samsung AX40 from qoo10 too... does this slight difference in the voltage ratings really matter that much?? :o

regards,
wacky

Voltage no issue. Cycles also no issue. The electronics in the SMPS can handle. Been using > 1 month also.

The motor is a 310 Vdc brushless, brand New Motec. There is no Hz/cycles with DC motors.

155853808.vqi5nXmb.ax40.jpg

WussRedXLi

I think selling in China will be a joke... As the Chinese saying goes 班门弄斧

I Remember last year, shokabc bro was the first guy to post his box fan with 3M Filterete aircon filter. Too bad everything was OOS.
After that then I posted the 3M Filterete Elite Allergen filter MERV13 furnace filter and recommended doing up a DIY plenum so that you can attach 2 filters, this way the resistance goes down a lot.

The main idea is just to stay prepared as the haze can hit this year, next year, etc. Stock up 1 or 2 HEPA rectangular or circular filters, your pick. The fan net covers, the stretchable nylon ties, cardboard, scissors and masking tape is easy peasy. Taobao domestic courier + 4PX is quite a bit faster than Amazon FSSG, but still the haze hits even faster.

Better Box Fan Air Purifier

BeterBoxFanAirPurifier.jpg

FiltreteFiltersOnBackOfFan.jpg

BoxFanFilterTopCover.jpg

Akai Ryu

BTW, do be advised that such a contraption would be very much louder than the Samsung AX40 that I have been recommending (it's really very quiet in the air purifier world). Centrifugal fans do have an advantage in the air pressure exerted (pascals) and noise and also "shaping" the airflow.
I can confirm for you right here that you won't be able to sleep with that much white noise.

The NUS - AiRazor "system" I think does not have a pre-filter. Correct me if I am wrong.

The 3M Filterete Elite Allergen filters I posted and used before in my Sharp KC-840 is MERV-13. They do let through quite a bit more air, at the expense of a wee bit drop in filtration power.

The taobao ones have prefilter, either comes as a set with the HEPA or you get it separate for like $1 or so.

You want small medium big size, all got. Actually my mother in law bought like 3 of them, not sure where I chucked them coz this netting disrupted the airflow (mainly the intake side) and made quite a lot of noise.

Free-Shipping-Electric-Fan-Protection-Cover-Finger-Safe-Net-Nylon-Mesh-Protect-Children-Kids-Baby-Safety.jpg

airazor-1c.jpg

1ffbe9_da7ed71cf66e423e87dca2199401ce15.jpg_srz_300_250_85_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

Thanks...happened to have those circulator fan in living room and thinking of buying some rounded hepa for haze prepping...not too worried abt noise as my living room not ac, just wanna have a cheap fan filter and circulate with ceiling fan when I half close window. Room I go with normal air purifier

WussRedXLi

Thanks...happened to have those circulator fan in living room and thinking of buying some rounded hepa for haze prepping...not too worried abt noise as my living room not ac, just wanna have a cheap fan filter and circulate with ceiling fan when I half close window. Room I go with normal air purifier

Understand...coz thats what im doing also . Or if you cannot tahan taobao's rawness...just get 2pcs of 3M Filtrete from Amazon, just paste to the backside.
Or there is a much bigger piece of 3M filtrete aircon filter on Amazon, usd42 + usd11 shipping. Enough for 10pcs of 18 inch fans i believe. Price per 38cm by 60cm piece works out to be about usd2.70 shipped vs sgd17.90 local retail.

WussRedXLi

Omegawatch...Sharp A28 and Z31 has HEPA10 filter.

The Smartfilter shop selling "shop certified w laser particle counter" HEPA13 for rmb80 freeship in china. Shd be ard 400g in wt, so that's max rmb12 if one consolidates.

Then you cut and scotchtape and use foam to eliminatr bypass.

WussRedXLi

BTW, i remember one bro mentioned that he flips the HEPA around to try to "rotate the usage". I noticed before that there are really different textures on both sides, but didn't think much of it coz i just follow the arrows. Now i know that you must not do that.

什么是HEPA的正反面?

HEPA上有贴正面的标记,但因理解上会误差在此给大家一个判断的标准,您可以摸一下HEPA的两面,一面相对粗糙,一面相对光滑。粗糙面是对着您的那面。光滑面是贴风扇出风口的那面。

Akai Ryu

BTW, i remember one bro mentioned that he flips the HEPA around to try to "rotate the usage". I noticed before that there are really different textures on both sides, but didn't think much of it coz i just follow the arrows. Now i know that you must not do that.

什么是HEPA的正反面?

HEPA上有贴正面的标记,但因理解上会误差在此给大家一个判断的标准,您可以摸一下HEPA的两面,一面相对粗糙,一面相对光滑。粗糙面是对着您的那面。光滑面是贴风扇出风口的那面。

I appreciate the blue mesh on sharp hepa. Only rotate the charcoal filter after wash

thewiseone

My Chaolu CL101A Air Purifier has arrived from China!

The outer box arrived with a damaged hole

The inner box, damaged as well! :(

Fortunately, the air purifier was not damaged by whatever that has punctured through the boxes as there was quite a big gap in between.

I did not find any installation manual or a user guide in the packaging. Instead, the installation guide was printed on the back of the cover, which was held in place to the main unit by magnets. :s8: Unlike other air purifiers such as the Samsung AX series, this one comes with a separate pre-filter, a charcoal filter and a 2.5cm thick HEPA filter.

Rated power consumption

Air purifier in operation

Fit and finish of the unit is nowhere as good as the Samsung AX40. There's no uneven gaps or panels but the finishing and quality of plastic is not as refined. Air intake is from the front of the unit, through the gaps at the sides between the cover and the main unit. The filtered air comes out through the vent located at the top behind the unit. Turning on the mains AC power will put the unit in standby mode, with the front Power button blinking red. A push of the Power button turns on the air purifier in Auto fan speed mode. The middle flashing display indicates the quality of air, with blue being the best. The rest of the buttons around the display are:

1) Timer (1hr, 2hr, etc.)

2) Ioniser On/Off

3) Filter change reset

4) Fan speed control (low->med->high->auto).

At low speed, it is quiet enough to be used at night in the bedroom. From med speed onwards, it gets noticeably louder. I have also noticed the vibration increases as well. Its not so bad that the entire unit shakes but when you place your hand on the unit, the vibration can be felt. At the max fan speed, the airflow is quite strong, though it still cant match the performance of the Samsung AX40.

The only thing i didnt really like about this unit is the need to press and hold the power button for a few secs to turn it off. Other than that, its hard to fault this product costing only S$100 shipped. Hopefully, it will not break down prematurely like some other crappy products from China. I'll be keeping my fingers crossed!

Asure7

Sharp purifiers now no longer made in Japan.
Just spoke to HN sales... seems that its now made in Malaysia/Thailand. No wonder its a lot cheaper compared to the last time I bought it 7-8 yrs ago when it was MIJ.

Not that it matters to me, but I do know some people no MIJ no talk.

Took a look again at the Hitachi A7000 (MIJ)...recommended for use up to 50m^2 room. Really overkill for hdb ... I think most hdb 5-room flat's masterbedroom is 28m^2 at most.
For those who like to splurge, A8000 is almost the same as A7000, except the washable pre-filter is stainless steel + it has a flap that covers the air outlet when not in use :)

alpha29

How much is shipping for the taobao purifier? Go through agent?

thewiseone

Shipping within China is usually free, just need to pay a forwarder for the service. 4PX is one of the recommended forwarder for Taobao. They charged 35RMB for the 1st KG, followed by a certain sum for every additional 500g. All in, i paid about S$40 to ship the air purifier (7.X kg) via 4PX.

How much is shipping for the taobao purifier? Go through agent?

WussRedXLi

At low speed, it is quiet enough to be used at night in the bedroom. From med speed onwards, it gets noticeably louder. I have also noticed the vibration increases as well. Its not so bad that the entire unit shakes but when you place your hand on the unit, the vibration can be felt. At the max fan speed, the airflow is quite strong, though it still cant match the performance of the Samsung AX40.

Most of such products including the cheaper ones sold on Amazon (including Holmes, Honeywell) got slight to moderate vibration issues. Coz of the centrifugal fan and/or motor shaft/bearings balancing. It directly corresponds to the manufacturing precision.

As long as no sound can already for cheap products.

Sounds like it's really doing ~ 250m3/hr as described in the seller's page as being "tested" by a testing body.

So I guess the loudness on medium speed for this unit = high speed on the Samsung AX40?

PS. It won't break down for several years if you relegate for haze emergency use only. All in all, the purchase seems quite good. :D

Asakura

airazor-1c.jpg

u nv send this post to NUS so they no need to research so long to develop identical products to try sell in china for 150$ haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.