Air purifier?

audiovideo

I know what you are thinking, the prices of $199 and $299 for the 2 models that you commonly see in Best Denki and OG is quite tempting, coz it is Panasonic brand (nevermind the country of manufacturer). The airflow specs is decent for the price.

However, i can't seem to see any mention of the words "HEPA". Never mind if it's H10 or H13. They just say composite filter.

yes... kua lai kua kee also no HEPA mentioned
more to promote their own NANOE
no sure is it comparable to HEPA 95% or 99.97% :s8:

WussRedXLi

Isetan sells AC4025 cheaper than Philips WHS~

Sellers on taobao has a lot of replacement filters (3rd party and supposedly Original).

China's testing is in volume, 30 metre cube. (not area)
The advert got typo as it says 30 metre square
Performance is close to A28.

Noise level: 36 (Sleep) - 54 (Highest speed) dB
Wattage (Hong Kong): 36 W
Performance
CADR (cigarette smoke): 127 m³/h*Filters out PM2.5: >99% **

http://www.philips.com.sg/c/air-purifier/air-purifier-ac4025_00/prd/

* * Tested by Shanghai Institute of Measurement and Testing Technology (SIMT) in 30m3 chamber according to GB/T18801-2008, cigarrette smoke used as the particle pollutants

* ** Tested by SIMT in 30m3 chamber according to GB/T18801-2008 and GB/T18883-2002, inhalable particles of size smaller than 2.5um as particles pollutants sampled in mass concentration, initial concentration 5.0¡À0.5mg/m3, testing time 1hr

* *** Tested by Shanghai Institute of Measurement and Testing Technology (SIMT) in 30m3 chamber according to GB21551.3-2010, (Staphylococcus albsp) 8032 as testing bacteria

yes... kua lai kua kee also no HEPA mentioned
more to promote their own NANOE
no sure is it comparable to HEPA 95% or 99.97% :s8:

Don't think it's comparable. Nanoe is not a filter element, the fine matter also has to be collected and disposed of.

Nano-sized electrostatic atomized water particles,nanoe™, that improve air quality | Technology | About Panasonic | Panasonic Global

audiovideo

looks like the only true HEPA 99.97% purifier under $300 ish Novita 501?

Akai Ryu

Nobita-Doraemon4.jpg

WussRedXLi

looks like the only true HEPA 99.97% purifier under $300 ish Novita 501?

And Samsung AX40 on qoo10. The 501 has the benefit of 1 additional filter. But now the "expensive replacement HEPA filter" problem has been solved with Amazon/Taobao. Just need to DIY size it down a bit to fit as it's not a direct replacement but it's definitely worth it as you do it once a year.

audiovideo

din see 501 stock at megacourts last sat
tampines mall courts don't even have dispaly
and century square BD suddenly close shop

WussRedXLi

seems like the haze is still not coming?

It really depends, last year was not El Nino and luck played a huge part then.

Every year, we have until end Sep-Oct till the NE monsoon starts proper. They tend to burn until then.

For 3 times from 1997 till now, actually the haze from Indonesia happened in Aug till end Oct.

It should start getting rainer from Sept onwards, but this year the El nino could push it back till end Oct, which it did in 2006 and 1997. 2006 was a weak-moderate El nino, 1997 was an extremely strong El Nino. 1997 was when we got PSI 226 for an extended period, a good few weeks IIRC. Last year, seriously we kena jialuck jialuck for 4 days nia.

2014 - It was predicted that the El Nino would be very strong from Feb till about May, but from June it started to subside a bit. The lucky thing is that a strong El Nino is ruled out. But the risk for a weak to moderate one remains. But also bo bao one, the probability of a weak-moderate one happening is about 70%.

1997 Indonesian forest fires Sep and Oct
2005 Malaysian haze - Aug
2006 Southeast Asian haze - Oct
2009 Southeast Asian haze - June and July
2013 Southeast Asian haze - June

We had a slight episode this year in March 2014, worst air quality reading here in Singapore was then 159.
It originated from Peninsula MAlaysia.

Most don't know about the 2005 Malaysian haze, we were spared due to the wind direction.

Port Klang 424
Kuala Selangor 418
Shah Alam 349
Putrajaya 337
Petaling Jaya 304
Kuala Lumpur 276
Tanjung Malim 205
Gombak 200
Country Heights, Kajang 185
Nilai 174
Seremban 137
Jerantut 131
Bukit Rambai, Malacca 107

300px-Malaysian_Haze_2005_Aerosol_Index.jpg

stonefish35

Actually anything above 100 can start to use already. > 150, sure can use. > 200, better use. :D

Actually, I started using in my baby room when it exceed 50.... and since I had found a source to custom make HEPA...

My ready made filters arrived, impressed that they are individually sealed. And quality looks good from outside the sealed bag... Weekend then I open to zhng my cornell box fan... Custom made filter awaiting my other items before shipping over...

Actually last yr when PSI hit over 400, i really scramble through my contacts for tanks of Enriched Air , called Nitrox , and ready to hook my dive gears to the nitrox tanks to breathe

audiovideo

Need experts advise =:p

re-shortlist again...

must be true HEPA 99.97% 0.3um capable

1. Novita 501 $299 (low stock liao)
2. Sharp A40 $4xx ... is this old model still good? new model +$100
3. Samsung Ax022 $3xx ... not planning to get from korea..can pay a bit of premium.
4. LG??

a bit of "negative" feedback for AX022 from this review, not sure how true or relevant
http://www.chinaconsumerreport.org/web/news/2222.html

thanks

WussRedXLi

Actually, I started using in my baby room when it exceed 50.... and since I had found a source to custom make HEPA...

My ready made filters arrived, impressed that they are individually sealed. And quality looks good from outside the sealed bag... Weekend then I open to zhng my cornell box fan... Custom made filter awaiting my other items before shipping over...

Actually last yr when PSI hit over 400, i really scramble through my contacts for tanks of Enriched Air , called Nitrox , and ready to hook my dive gears to the nitrox tanks to breathe

Jin satki. :crazy:

My china H13/H14 cleanroom use 610x610x50mm also getting ready to leave 4PX liao.

They need to seal it coz to protect against pollen/mold contamination. Scared too wet, grow mold. truestory.

If you have a H10, you can compare and see the difference between H12/H13. I would have H13/H14 coming soon.

But not getting U15.

WussRedXLi

Need experts advise =:p

re-shortlist again...

must be true HEPA 99.97% 0.3um capable

1. Novita 501 $299 (low stock liao)
2. Sharp A40 $4xx ... is this old model still good? new model +$100
3. Samsung Ax022 $3xx ... not planning to get from korea..can pay a bit of premium.
4. LG??

a bit of "negative" feedback for AX022 from this review, not sure how true or relevant
Top Air Purifier Review - ????? chinaconsumerreport.org

thanks

Thanks for digging out the source. So AX022 is 192m3/hr, as tested (and not quoted/claimed by manufacturer). Actually the rated fig is 175m3/hr, surprisingly.

The AX20 is 188m3/hr. AX40 is 323m3/hr.

Seriously i don't see any issue. If the 72% formaldehyde removal rate in 1hr in a 30m3 (metre cube) room bothers you, don't worry. In our houses with older furniture, usually no issue with VOCs and formaldehyde. Unless your wife uses nail polish removal in the room. :)

Actually in that test, it's the highest liao.

2222b_640.jpg

WussRedXLi

>> Yang, the engineer involved this test gave an analysis based on formaldehyderemoval result. “Activated carbon is the material used to filter formaldehyde. However, layer of activated carbon in Philip AC4001/00 is quite thin, which leads to a result of poor formaldehyde removal rate.” He said.

In this part of air purifier test, Samsung and Sharp did better. However, all six samples’ results were much lower than that the manufacturer has promised in advertisements. He Xin, PR in Sharp said, if consumers set an air purifier working for 6 hours, then 99% of formaldehyde can be removed. <<

Just go Amazon and buy the activated charcoal by the kilogram, problem solved. Those are a bit different (used in aquarium), bituminous coal. But just go by pure brute force. ie shove a 320bhp V12 prime mover 8-litre turbo diesel into a Sonata i40 taxi. :crazy:

If you are aiming to get from Taobao, China's type of activated charcoal also a wee bit different (geographical location source is China). Too long to type in this thread, would take me 1hr to dig the info again. :D

Just to give you an eg, the amt of AC found in the Samsung AX40 stock filter is probably about 50g nia.

I have about 6kg of AC bought from Amazon. :crazy:

WussRedXLi

Got my H13/H14 filter from taobao.

Fiak, 5.4kg weight!!! 610x610x50mm size. The aluminium sides quite heavy I think, followed by the packing. The thing is that for these cleanroom HEPAs, they need to pack it securely for transportation as long as it leaves the factory, else any degradation = fail during the DOP test.

5.4kg = S$27 shipping.
Unit cost = S$43.
Total to SG = S$70 shipped, or usd54.4 if wanna compare with Amazon.

The only good thing is that it'd fit as 4pcs for the Samsung AX40. Or SGD17.5 per piece or RMB 88 per piece, everything in.

Still ok for a 50mm or 2-inch filter. ie Compared with say a Novita NAP501 (0.75 inch HEPA portion, 10 x 11 inch size), this is 2.66X in thickness, will hold 2.66X more particulates, while presenting less resistance + more air flow capability.

If specially order a HEPA without the aluminium sides, I guess they'd charge extra for this customisation. So also LPPL. :D

铝框无隔板高效过滤器|H13高效过滤器|H14无隔板高效空气过滤器
ÂÁ¿òÎÞ¸ô°å¸ßЧ¹ýÂËÆ÷|H13¸ßЧ¹ýÂËÆ÷|H14ÎÞ¸ô°å¸ßЧ¿ÕÆø¹ýÂËÆ÷-ÌÔ±¦Íø

As quoted :
0.1 microns efficiency = 85%
0.2 microns efficiency = 99.9999%

铝框无隔板高效过滤器结构:
外框:铝型材,表面阳极处理
过滤效率:99.97%-99.999%(H13、H14) MPPS
滤料分隔: 热熔胶
出厂前逐台激光计数扫描检测
滤料:玻璃纤维滤纸 MPPS=最易穿透粒径
密封胶:聚氨酯连续运行温度:≤ 80°C
密封垫:聚氨脂/闭孔氯丁橡胶压条
耐湿性:≤100% RH
保护网:钢网喷塑,白色RAL9016,
进出风面均有金属护网。 .
专业制造技术保证气流均匀、阻力低、寿命长;
铝型材外框、表面阳极处理;
进/出风面带金属护网;
可提供69mm、80mm、90mm、96mm、110mm等多种厚度;
可提供垫片干式密封,刀口液槽密封等结构型式;
逐台激光扫描计数MPPS(0.1-0.2um)效率:85%-99.9999%(EN1822);

T2yGLLXCtXXXXXXXXX_!!2009736500.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.