Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Ya old model good on W but lose out on air flow. Just found the spec for this FU425, it stated 25W for 150m3/h and 3.5W for 30m3/h only.

Think still ok if on MAX level. Only thing is that old model use a remote control for plasmacluster. If that die than cannot control ON/OFF for plasmacluster.

I dunno about other brand of air purifier but Sharp is really a work horse like some EDMWer said...... but now I am looking at the AX40 (recommended by WussRedXLi :D)

25W for 150m3/h is decent. The Novita 501 is 35W for 250m3/h....which works out to be the same.

LaoBuSiDe

Hi all,

I intend to get one air purifier for my mum, she only want those with HEPA-only (no plasmacluster ions, due to health concerns), the only small one for room I can think of is Philips AC4025. Do you all have any other suggestions? Hopefully price below $200. Even the AC4025 is already slightly over 200 liao

WussRedXLi

Hi all,

I intend to get one air purifier for my mum, she only want those with HEPA-only (no plasmacluster ions, due to health concerns), the only small one for room I can think of is Philips AC4025. Do you all have any other suggestions? Hopefully price below $200. Even the AC4025 is already slightly over 200 liao

Philips 4025 @ SGD199 (or is it 189?). Best Denki Taka got. Get it NOW.
It's a HEPA-11 filter...if i rem correctly. (95% at 0.3 microns maximum penetrating particle size)

Or go to qoo10 and get the Sharp A28. SGD99 for pink, SGD109 for black.
Self Collection at Liang Court "Audio House". It's listed under House Revolution on qoo10. Need to wait. It's HEPA-10, ~85% at 0.3 microns.

Can switch off the ions feature, no worries.

Again - this year's haze is really done deal. You are preparing for next year.

The Philips is damn noisy btw. 54dB. Better test before buying.

chompchomp

The Sharp A28?

Your son dropped a computer mouse onto the top grille and something dropped into the rotating centrifugal fan and destroyed part/whole of the fan?

Yup
The plastic part near the top is loose as I open up n see.. Thus it drop n killed the rotating wheel

WussRedXLi

Very interresting read.

Australian Air Quality: Comparison with the US EPA AQI scale.

FAQ entry originaly posted on September 6th 2014

The Air Quality data for Perth and Western Australia is finally available after a long waiting time: The department of Environmental Regulation (DER) from the governement of Western Australia, is now publishing the data on their site: der.wa.gov.au/your-environment/air. While the link to the DEC site is still not working, the feed can be accessed from this new page .

However, unlike the other territories in Australia, WA DER is not providing the readings in raw ppm and µg/m3, but directly in AQI. The AQI scale used by the WA DER is not the same as the one from the US EPA, which we are using for all the stations reported on aqicn.org. So this aim of the FAQ entry is to explain how the convertion between the two AQI scales is done.

oOo

The WA DER AQI scale is based on the "National Environment Protection (Ambient Air Quality) Measure standards and goals"(available form this link and this other link), which is defined in the table below. Based on this standard, it is possible to deduct the raw readings from the AQI, which is indicated by the last column in the table;

Actually, surprisingly enough, the WA DER AQI scale is much more strict than the US EPA when the AQI is above 50! Check for this comparitive tables for PM2.5:

Note : US EPA is already slightly stricter than NEA with EPA's inclusion of a group called "Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups", a level that corresponds with our NEA PSI range of 78 to PSI 100.

157890656.nqIFIGkB.DER.jpg

LaoBuSiDe

Philips 4025 @ SGD199 (or is it 189?). Best Denki Taka got. Get it NOW.
It's a HEPA-11 filter...if i rem correctly. (95% at 0.3 microns maximum penetrating particle size)

Or go to qoo10 and get the Sharp A28. SGD99 for pink, SGD109 for black.
Self Collection at Liang Court "Audio House". It's listed under House Revolution on qoo10. Need to wait. It's HEPA-10, ~85% at 0.3 microns.

Can switch off the ions feature, no worries.

Again - this year's haze is really done deal. You are preparing for next year.

The Philips is damn noisy btw. 54dB. Better test before buying.

Thanks for the info. I will go scout around the Best Denkis. :s12:

WussRedXLi

wife got a free gift from some CC

the F-PXJ30A is it any good?

This entry level model might not be using HEPA filters of any grade.
Perhaps you can take a picture of the internals.

The higher-end models do come equipped with HEPA, from what i see on taobao.

So not sure how it would handle the 0.15-0.4 microns range for PM2.5 particulate matter. (< 2.5 microns)

That said, i guess it can handle the coarser particles.

wizardundo

Latest update on the Qoo Sharp A28..

Dear Customers,

Please take note that SHARP FU-A28E-Black is out of stock. Please do not go to Liang Court to collect your items as there is no stock. We will notify you via E-Mails and Qoo10 Message when the item is ready for collection.

For deliveries, we will send to you once the items are here.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience.

Those who are going to order from here have to be patient, waiting time around 2 weeks :s13:

WussRedXLi

Latest update on the Qoo Sharp A28..

Dear Customers,

Please take note that SHARP FU-A28E-Black is out of stock. Please do not go to Liang Court to collect your items as there is no stock. We will notify you via E-Mails and Qoo10 Message when the item is ready for collection.

For deliveries, we will send to you once the items are here.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience.

Those who are going to order from here have to be patient, waiting time around 2 weeks :s13:

So for us it's the original 23rd Oct/24th Oct date? (Or at most drag to next week).

Not that i am in a hurry to get it.

NWT1978

Ya lor my house the kdk fan more than 20 yrs old liao and still going strong machiam typhoon.

the one with metal blades? using that for 2 years...got oil and blow dust out and clean them every month or so...so expecting it to last at least 5 years... if can last 20 years I be their fan supporter :s12:

sky00sky

the one with metal blades? using that for 2 years...got oil and blow dust out and clean them every month or so...so expecting it to last at least 5 years... if can last 20 years I be their fan supporter :s12:

Can de kdk
I was there replacing a faulty remote got one auntie bring one of those machiam 20-30 yr ago fan go there for repairs say creaking sound this and that

wizardundo

So for us it's the original 23rd Oct/24th Oct date? (Or at most drag to next week).

Not that i am in a hurry to get it.

Mine is via delivery, so it says 27/10 onward (can be anytime :s13:)

Hopefully the set is fully functional, I still haven decided where to put the purifier. On the ground at the corner of the room? or on the table near to where I sleep :s11:

tradey

Hi guys i need to get an air purifier. From this thread it seems the Sharp ones and Samsung ax40 are the more recommended ones. Which one of them should i get and why. Any other recommendations ?

Thanks in advance.

WussRedXLi

Hopefully the set is fully functional, I still haven decided where to put the purifier. On the ground at the corner of the room? or on the table near to where I sleep :s11:

Anywhere as long as it's convenient for you. The aircon (or even fan) would assist to mix up the air in the room for ya.

Hi guys i need to get an air purifier. From this thread it seems the Sharp ones and Samsung ax40 are the more recommended ones. Which one of them should i get and why. Any other recommendations ?

Thanks in advance.

Both are great, I can't recommend much one over the other coz they both have their pros and cons. But if you ask me for pure performance : $$ stand point, it's the Samsung AX40. It's the cheapest, lowest powered for 323 m3/hr, enough airflow for HDB living rooms, least noisy and looks great esp in white and white usually matches your decor.

I mean, check out the following pics

nap_101i_7.png

2526552_4.jpg

tradey

Anywhere as long as it's convenient for you. The aircon (or even fan) would assist to mix up the air in the room for ya.

Both are great, I can't recommend much one over the other coz they both have their pros and cons. But if you ask me for pure performance : $$ stand point, it's the Samsung AX40. It's the cheapest, lowest powered for 323 m3/hr, enough airflow for HDB living rooms, least noisy and looks great esp in white and white usually matches your decor.

I mean, check out the following pics

So which is the Sharp model i should be considering ? Theres like so many mentioned in this thread. Any particular shop that i can just go to tomorrow and grab it or its all thru only Qoo10 ? My kid is sick and kinda need it urgently....

WussRedXLi

So which is the Sharp model i should be considering ? Theres like so many mentioned in this thread. Any particular shop that i can just go to tomorrow and grab it or its all thru only Qoo10 ? My kid is sick and kinda need it urgently....

>>
How sick is he? If he is already wheezing, you'd need to go to a GP at least. And if it looks serious or suddenly turns bad, if I may offer my personal experiences, go to Mount E A&E and they'd hook you up with the correct specialists. Won't be cheap though. I wouldn't go KK under such dire circumstances, tried before not only by me but several sis-in-laws and sis also. << Serious advice

IF you like Sharp, so you shall have Sharp. Tomorrow 11AM, drive down, take a cab or MRT down to Taka Best Denki. Look for Sharp A40, A50 or the newer D40 or D50. They have a slight promo, $399 for the 40-series and up to $5xx for the 50 series. Since your child sounds to be quite visibly affected, get the A50 or D50, which is the bigger model. All are true HEPA, ie HEPA13 grade. or 99.97% @ 0.3 micron maximum penetrating particle size. Airflow spec is 396m3/hr max. That's plenty for the biggest bedroom.
This line has got humidifying function, which IMO you probably would not need. It's not very effective in humidification also, it's not the same as those humidifying machines that spews out fine mist (those work much quicker).

Best Denki is also selling the Sharp A80 at $499. It's a true HEPA model as well. Airflow spec is 480m3/hr max.

If you are near Kovan, you can call Goh Ah Bee. They sell a wee bit cheaper, for eg the A80 I think is about $475.

Best Denki carries the replacement filters, they have been doing that for quite a long time for the Sharp brand. You can "DIY" as well. This is a separate topic by itself.

Note that if you kid is suffering from asthma, an air purifier may or may not help. It's not even close to 100% effective. But for sinusitis/rhinitis aka hay fever, which may actually cause malaise/feverish symptoms in acute attacks (I kena before), then yes air purifier usually would help.

Also, do clean the aircon fan coil unit. :) Learn to DIY clean with aircon foam cleaning that you can buy from NTUC Finest or DIY shops, coz you need to do that every 3 months. Removing all sources of "pollution" in the room is also key.

davpiyo

Any replacement HEPA filiter can buy online for Sharp FU-A28E?
30.5CM x 28.5CM x 2.5CM

:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.