Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Ok, then a Samsung AX40 should be more than enough for your dog.

But in my opinion, it may not make much of a difference. Coz meds also did not help.

For people like me, I try not to take medications as that'd mean taking it quite often and I don't like that.

WussRedXLi

Some have mentioned both in the "The burning smell in Tampines really Jialat to max!!!!" thread as well as ST Facebook thread that they smelled plastics burning.

https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/posts/10152570880402115

Joanna Cheng the smell has become a lot heavier at this hour- smells like a land of plastic dolls being burnt alive. what the f is that? -siglap
Like · Reply · 2 · February 12 at 11:10pm

Jo Frets Lee Yes in Siglap. Not haze kinda smell. More putrid like burning of plastic..
Like · Reply · 5 · February 12 at 10:55pm

Ah Soh · Top Commenter · Bartley Secondary School
So cannot be burning plastic trees. Correct?
Reply · Like
· Follow Post · February 16 at 11:40am

Dioxins are formed when plastics are burned, particularly PVC plastic.

WHO | Dioxins and their effects on human health

Sensitive groups

The developing fetus is most sensitive to dioxin exposure. Newborn, with rapidly developing organ systems, may also be more vulnerable to certain effects. Some people or groups of people may be exposed to higher levels of dioxins because of their diet (e.g., high consumers of fish in certain parts of the world) or their occupation (e.g., workers in the pulp and paper industry, in incineration plants and at hazardous waste sites).

WussRedXLi

Since this has happened, it may happen again. Would really recommend residents of the East and maybe even Central/South to be mindful if you have particularly susceptible persons.

This "smell" is not new. There have been complaints for many years already, just that it was not as severe as this time round and didn't persist for so long, hence the root cause was not found. Perhaps due to the narrow smoke column, the 1-hr readings didn't show up last time. In fact it also didn't show up that well this time round, hence the very extreme and intermittent spikes.

Stretches back to 2008. And this is just a simple search for "burning smell sengkang". Haven't tried other terms.

https://www.google.com.sg/search?si...dr...0...1c.1.62.hp..26.29.1894.0.wylezF7b8y4

BKsianZZ

hi, i have been having blocked nose at night recently, and i'm looking to invest in an air purifier.

i'm kind of new to air purifiers, and currently looking at 2 models (low budget):
- PHILIPS AIR PURIFIER AC4025 ($229 at courts)
- Panasonic F-PXJ30a ($179 at Mustafa)

Do you guys have any advice or recommendation?

WussRedXLi

hi, i have been having blocked nose at night recently, and i'm looking to invest in an air purifier.

i'm kind of new to air purifiers, and currently looking at 2 models (low budget):
- PHILIPS AIR PURIFIER AC4025 ($229 at courts)
- Panasonic F-PXJ30a ($179 at Mustafa)

Do you guys have any advice or recommendation?

Compared to the Sharp A28, the Philips 4025 has same specs for power consumption, noise is slightly higher (about 4dB higher), airflow is same.

If you are sleeping with a pair of ear plugs and you are gonna be switching it on daily due to your condition, then yes can consider the Sharp A28. It is currently $115 on qoo10. Self-collection @ Liang Court or delivery I think $10.

Panny F-PXJ30a does not come with a HEPA leh.

Samsung AX40 is only SGD259 now on qoo10, best price. Shipping is inclusive, via EMS from South Korea direct. 220V 60Hz appliance, but can work on our electrical grid, tried and stress tested daily-use for 12 months by multiple parties absolutely no issue at all.
Replacement filters are available on qoo.
Note : There are only 2 useful fan modes, High and Low. The others are not useful at all. There is no Med, and Low fan speed is only adequate for the NG very small HDB bedrooms. Masterbedroom or Living room need to use High speed.

LG LA-Q379SB is SGD278 shipped via FedEx.
Very much same specs as the Samsung AX40 but this has 4 manual fan speeds.Low, Med High, Turbo. And also Auto mode, Sleep mode, Timer mode.
Replacement filter availability is NONE. So need to customise make on Taobao. Filter quality there as measured by me = 95-97% @ 0.3 microns. There is a penalty in the form of airflow resistance.

Eg original Samsung HEPA portion = 37mm thick. I custom made a 44mm thick HEPA. End up airflow is still 20% lower than original. And original is really true HEPA, eg ambient 0.3 microns reading = say 27000. Filtered output = 30. The taobao filter maybe would read 900-1200.

I get my filters from this TB seller, have to IM him via aliwangwang (install the application from taobao webby). Converse in Chinese, so you'd need to install Microsoft IME to input hanyu pinyin.

ÏÄÆÕ¾»»¯»ú¹ýÂËÍø×¨Òµ¶¨×ö(ÊʺÏFZ-180HFS/FZ-240HFS/FZ-A420HF)-ÌÔ±¦Íø

T2j24uXwtXXXXXXXXX_!!812256264.jpg

WussRedXLi

Blocked nose (Allergic Rhinitis) is due to the feaces of household dust mite. You may or may not experience allergic relief with an air purfier.

I'd recommend buying Samsung AX40 or LG LAQ379SB if you are suffering for allergies.
You'd have to leave a fair bit of "performance headroom".

You may experience noticeable relief with the use of a powerful air purifier in your room. To get the full benefit, you'd till have to take care of the source. ie bedsheets, DIY clean your aircon FCU every month to 2 months once. Your curtains. Use a HEPA exhaust filtered vacuum cleaner (not expensive).
Household dust mites thrive on dust.
6 months is definitely not enough.

I mentioned DIY coz that saves. Use a painter's brush. Use an aircon foam spray. Trust me, they work nicely.
I use this.

20120222_99f355.jpg

WussRedXLi

I use Philips vacuum cleaner, cheap and decent enough.

It uses the S-bag standard for dust bag. PHilips got HEPA 10 (85% efficient) ones.
Amazon can get S-bag H10 standard.
http://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Elect...d=1424918489&sr=8-2&keywords=Electrolux+S-bag

41I2RRl8ehL._SY355_.jpg

Or you can also get from Amazon (USD125 free ship liao, you pay nothing for shipping).

The exhuaust H13 True HEPA filter is this one. Sometimes it goes down to $9. Philips original = SGD49.90. You will change this every year.
http://www.amazon.com/3M-Filtrete-Electrolux-Eureka-Vacuum/dp/B002WJI98M/

81ul9YuRFdL._SX425_.jpg

mikeeeey

Bro. Mind sharing which link to get the AX40? I see like got different sellers. Can recommend?

BKsianZZ

Compared to the Sharp A28, the Philips 4025 has same specs for power consumption, noise is slightly higher (about 4dB higher), airflow is same.

If you are sleeping with a pair of ear plugs and you are gonna be switching it on daily due to your condition, then yes can consider the Sharp A28. It is currently $115 on qoo10. Self-collection @ Liang Court or delivery I think $10.

Panny F-PXJ30a does not come with a HEPA leh.

Samsung AX40 is only SGD259 now on qoo10, best price. Shipping is inclusive, via EMS from South Korea direct. 220V 60Hz appliance, but can work on our electrical grid, tried and stress tested daily-use for 12 months by multiple parties absolutely no issue at all.
Replacement filters are available on qoo.
Note : There are only 2 useful fan modes, High and Low. The others are not useful at all. There is no Med, and Low fan speed is only adequate for the NG very small HDB bedrooms. Masterbedroom or Living room need to use High speed.

LG LA-Q379SB is SGD278 shipped via FedEx.
Very much same specs as the Samsung AX40 but this has 4 manual fan speeds.Low, Med High, Turbo. And also Auto mode, Sleep mode, Timer mode.
Replacement filter availability is NONE. So need to customise make on Taobao. Filter quality there as measured by me = 95-97% @ 0.3 microns. There is a penalty in the form of airflow resistance.

Eg original Samsung HEPA portion = 37mm thick. I custom made a 44mm thick HEPA. End up airflow is still 20% lower than original. And original is really true HEPA, eg ambient 0.3 microns reading = say 27000. Filtered output = 30. The taobao filter maybe would read 900-1200.

I get my filters from this TB seller, have to IM him via aliwangwang (install the application from taobao webby). Converse in Chinese, so you'd need to install Microsoft IME to input hanyu pinyin.

ÏÄÆÕ¾»»¯»ú¹ýÂËÍø×¨Òµ¶¨×ö(ÊʺÏFZ-180HFS/FZ-240HFS/FZ-A420HF)-ÌÔ±¦Íø

T2j24uXwtXXXXXXXXX_!!812256264.jpg

wow, thanks for your effort in writing out all the points...
for Sharp A28, it doesnt seem to perform well in this review

i'll consider the other models u mentioned, really appreciate your help :)

WussRedXLi

Bro. Mind sharing which link to get the AX40? I see like got different sellers. Can recommend?
I think SGD259 offer no more liao. 2 days ago still have.
It used to go for $268 also. Don't see it also.

Cheapest now is like $300.

You can try the LG LA-Q379SB?

WussRedXLi

Yes, Sharp A80 also more reputable. But now also expensive, it was $459 at Best Denki in Dec - early Jan. Now $529 I think.

mikeeeey

Yes, Sharp A80 also more reputable. But now also expensive, it was $459 at Best Denki in Dec - early Jan. Now $529 I think.
its still $450 at GAB. so compare with Samsung or LG, its about $150 more. Worth the extra moolah?

WussRedXLi

Oh ok, if it's still 450 then it's great. Replacement filter can find on taobao, the exact one. Check for FZ-420. Keyword is 420, double confirm the dimensions. Always stuff the sides with tissue. :D

mikeeeey

Oh ok, if it's still 450 then it's great. Replacement filter can find on taobao, the exact one. Check for FZ-420. Keyword is 420, double confirm the dimensions. Always stuff the sides with tissue. :D

U mean the filter for A80 is FZ420?

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

Anyone using honeywell. Which model. How come seems like pp using sharp to retrofit

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

Trying to lower cost. Coz it's not cheap per year with multiple units running in several homes. If used daily, it's recommended to change every 6-9 months (push to 12 months max) as it captures everything from mold spores to bacteria and viruses on aerosols.

Marketing literature tells you otherwise, of coz.

linusz

Trying to lower cost. Coz it's not cheap per year with multiple units running in several homes. If used daily, it's recommended to change every 6-9 months (push to 12 months max) as it captures everything from mold spores to bacteria and viruses on aerosols.

Marketing literature tells you otherwise, of coz.
Hi which are the non honeywell models to choose from

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.