Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

At least this one is just forest particulate and not some landfill toxic particles? Not so bad right

I will be activating my AX40 tonight as well :/

Yep not as bad.

West side still continue to get smoked for the susceptible grps , 6pm.

spark7

Hi wuss, I just measured the ifan dimension. 31cm x31cm. The filter u use what dimension?

WussRedXLi

Past 7 days.

159814762.QHkenHwH.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

Hi wuss, I just measured the ifan dimension. 31cm x31cm. The filter u use what dimension?

Same ifan mah, I have seen yours before. 300mm x 300mm. Can use lah.

BTW, I think I'd need to keep 2. So can let go of 4 only. Give you 4pc of the fasteners ba.

WussRedXLi

Just did a check of my filters. Found that I don't need the following. PM if interested.
I know this is not a sales thread, hope you guys don't mind, just clearing.

1pc of Novita H13 True HEPA 99.97% replacement filter or NAP 501.
Selling cheap at $40 (original $109). New in box with sealed original plastic packing for the filter.
Novita-Air-purifier-Model-No-NAP501_1.jpg

2pcs of H12 (measured is 97% efficient @ 0.3 microns) HEPA. 400mm x 250mm x 30mm, Sharp KC-850 or Sharp A50 replacement. Please measure yours to confirm.
1 side is built-in finer type of pre-filter of about 50 microns, same as Sharp's construction. Selling cheaper than what you can get at TB after factoring in 4PX shipping, at S$30 for 2pcs of filter.
Sharp A50 original filter would cost ya SGD218, but of coz that's H13 99.9%

159815432.5FIw3Tdr.2.jpg
159815431.jwjoQ7BI.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

Got a PM from a new member asking me to stop recommending stuff from taobao and qoo10 coz China/Korean stuff will not work for such high technology HEPA that's used in hospitals and cleanrooms.

Toy companies in Korea/China will never be able to do such high-tech high grade work and is far away from actual Indoor Air Quality specialist companies in USA, Sweden or Switzerland like Austin Air, Blueair, IQAir. :(

It's dangerous of me to do this simply because the persons using this would be for yo know the usual elderly, people after op, infants/toddlers (either op or have respiratory issues), heart issues, chronic allergies etc. I am giving a false sense of hope, and that's dangerous esp in a dense haze situation. :(

Or is it? So this morning took the trouble to wake up early and prove it.

China HEPA in front of iFAN.
41000 and 120 after. 99.7% clean. That's like H12.
I don't have a $2000 ultra-precision laser particulate counter like the Met Ones (the cheapest Met One GT-321 single channel is 1.4k usd), but neither is this rocket science that requires absolute precision. You just have to show a relative relationship before and after.

159819233.PzFxQqoB.1.jpg

159819234.fLdKNXzy.2.jpg

BrOwnTeddy

If you want to replicate clean room scenario in HDB with online filters and fans or just normal air purifiers, I would say its impossible.

Also, its not exactly healthy to raise a child in a clean room environment. :s13:

But a slightly higher air quality IN COMPARISON to outdoors? Yah, thats what home air purifiers are meant to do.

Anyway, going to the extent of proving it with a particle counter? Wah lao, you really spare no effort. I can't even be bothered...

WussRedXLi

If you want to replicate clean room scenario in HDB with online filters and fans or just normal air purifiers, I would say its impossible.

Also, its not exactly healthy to raise a child in a clean room environment. :s13:

But a slightly higher air quality IN COMPARISON to outdoors? Yah, thats what home air purifiers are meant to do.

Anyway, going to the extent of proving it with a particle counter? Wah lao, you really spare no effort. I can't even be bothered...

Cleanrooms need source control and take care of laminar or turbulent airflows.

Not say bothered, 5-10 mins job nia. Coz tio suan buay song. :(

Yureak

guys can consider the honeywell hepa purifiers.. the cost is similar... $100 usd odd for the set only shipping is a killer. But the same set in Singapore costs around 700-100 :s13:

Dont use those makeshift ones la so gross

WussRedXLi

I know exactly what you are trying to say. Not meant as a direct reply over here, been discussed before here as well....just wanna bring up that "la sup jiak la sup dua" kind of thinking does not hold up.

Check out 13:50 for the explanation from a Professor specialising in air quality and area of related medical scient in S California.

chuanz

guys can consider the honeywell hepa purifiers.. the cost is similar... $100 usd odd for the set only shipping is a killer. But the same set in Singapore costs around 700-100 :s13:

Yea but Honeywell isn't really power efficient, and you need a transformer to operate it, making the power consumption even higher (runs off 110VAC motor, so no chance unless u do a core rewinding of the motor). The noise (for 50250), maybe similar to a makeshift "cannon", but it's far far away from the Korean ones.

If you ask me, I'd recommend a Qoo10 Korean set (S or LG) over US Honeywell set anytime.

WussRedXLi

Yeah it does look a bit gross. Honeywell APs like the 17000, 50150 got freeship on Amazon even. But 110v has some drawbacks in power transformer usage esp so that the HW APs are extremely power inefficient....it does show up on the electrical bill after 2 years of daily use.

Those DIY methods just shared, that's the only way in which one can just keep in the storeroom compactly for many years, and bring out in a jiffy within 5 min to protect your relatives in case a > PSI 200 episode hits. (actually > 200 is already somewhat jialuck for the healthy folks, % population affected-wise)...not need 401).

And also cost-effective. I have a Sharp A28 for my grandma (92 years old), and they are also meant to supplement the living room in my parents house looking after my 2 kids (only 1 AP there).

Many multiple units, even Sharp A28, not that cheap.

Besides, income inequality is high in SG nowadays. $259 for a LG is cheap for me, but it may not be cheap to a single mum like my colleague or 3k total income family. Check out just 1-2 pages before this, Cash Convertors and $35 Hitachi A3000 / Philips AC4024.

So just helping out.... :)

Does such sudden transient episodes happen? Yes it does. 2013 June Riau, 2015 Feb Tg Langsat affecting E and NE SG with AQI 205.

159120637.XVyYhm5r.13febab.gif

Thousands of comments on forums and FB complaining of needing neubilizers due to asthma kicking in, sore throat tearing eyes etc.
https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/posts/10152570880402115

159819648.cYP0o8dB.3.jpg

159138595.mmheDDx7.jpg

159162508.IFW3jNys.17febaa.jpg

WussRedXLi

Yea but Honeywell isn't really power efficient, and you need a transformer to operate it, making the power consumption even higher (runs off 110VAC motor, so no chance unless u do a core rewinding of the motor). The noise (for 50250), maybe similar to a makeshift "cannon", but it's far far away from the Korean ones.

If you ask me, I'd recommend a Qoo10 Korean set (S or LG) over US Honeywell set anytime.

Been using AP since mid 2000s, so yeah I think I need quiet ones else the ears pecah. :D

chuanz

Been using AP since mid 2000s, so yeah I think I need quiet ones else the ears pecah. :D

I only started from 2012 haze episode. That time EVERYTHING sold out locally. So no choice shipped the Amazon 50250 on expedited over. Small APs just wouldn't cut it as I needed it for living room.

WussRedXLi

Some more bo liao stories before I need to leave the house for work. :D

Why storeroom bare HEPAs + fasteners might be a good idea esp for lower income families.

"Ah lao, outsai v blur leh, kids oso coughing...why ah?"

"Ok, I check NEA dot gov dot sg. Ok lah, Peesai onli 120, I read forum and MOH websai saying 200 then kancheong, 安 lah".

"But ah boy ah girl coughing leh..."

"安 lah, if Peesai over 200 then say".

PSI esp PM2.5 raw concentration spikes for certain regions in Singapore.

"Ah Lao!! Now not only blur, I insai house also can smell leh!!!".

*checks NEA.gov.sg PSI page*

"Wah lao, yesterday only 120 leh....nebermind, I heard qoo10 people say got $99 cheep cheep stock" Hey, Audiohouse ah, I got reservist buddy working there...I call him fast fast get one".

*Rings* "Siao eh.....your Zharp A28 HEPA got stock anot, no need good one, cheap can liao".

"Brudder, nice to hear from you man! But solly, Sharp A28 3 days ago sold out liao leh....you know lah, Singaporeans very kiasu esp for cheap goods".

"Ok ok....nebermind, limpeh just won Group 2 Toto lah. But pleez don't tell my bor, I buying air purifier for kids lah, they sao until buay lin chu coz of stupid smoke from Indoland lah. Limpeh go buy best of the best".

*Runs to BEST and tries to buy Honeywell or Blueair*

"Boss, which is the best of the best? Limpeh got marney, my kids sao lah...haze outsai jialuck".

Sorry boss, Honeywell and Blueair all sold out, anyway we don't keep much stocks of these big ticket items. :D

158286087.XjhECiD8.2822l1w.jpg

WussRedXLi

I only started from 2012 haze episode. That time EVERYTHING sold out locally. So no choice shipped the Amazon 50250 on expedited over. Small APs just wouldn't cut it as I needed it for living room.

EXACTLY.

See my reply above. :D

WussRedXLi

Figure F: March to May rainfall anomaly composite for El Niño years showing relatively strong dry anomaly conditions (brown shades) constrained mostly to the eastern Maritime Continent and to the north of the equator (image credit: IRI Data Library).

image017.jpg

Figure E: June to October rainfall anomaly composite for El Niño years showing drier than average conditions (brown shades) mostly in the southern half of the region (image credit: IRI Data Library).

image013.jpg

Need to look at both Nino 3 and 3.4 regions. (3 tends to affect Sumatra/Kalimantan areas more)

nino3.png

nino34.png

Forecast, still considered to be low confidence as of now, improving as time goes by into May. You can see the plume spread statistically tightening up as time goes by.
nino34Mon.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.