Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Just bought Samsung AX40.

I was wondering what is it I need to change every few months? Is it the Filter? If it is the filter, then how long in actual do I need to replace it? Where can I buy the filter?

I mentioned before that you could buy the filter from the same qoo10 seller, tag along 1 filter only coz if > 1 then you'd be charged GST. And with Speedpost/FedEX, they definitely will collect from you on behalf of ICA (coz they paid first). $78 for the filter if tag along. Alone is $88 inclusive of EMS.

Filter, personal experience is that after 6 months it would start to smell a wee bit (due to the particulate matter stuck inside). HEPA cannot be washed, pls don't bother. 9 months would definitely be slightly noticeable. Still can be used, of coz. 12 months is the very max I would push.

Assuming 12hrs daily usage. And my place is definitely nowhere near any main road or expressway. High floor anyway.

If not, just buy from taobao, I shared before a seller who can make customised filters at 110RMB a piece. Each piece is about 500g (with box), ie 12RMB shipping from forwarding warehouse to SIN.

Don't bother with activated charcoal unless yours is an ultra new house new furniture. HEPA size that the AX40 can take is 311mm x 282mm x 45mm. Don't settle for less depth. Airflow speed vs original Samsung is about 5% lower from my measurement, overall system efficiency is 97% at the output with sides stuffed to prevent air bypass. ie You won't notice any diff at all in real life even if you are very particular.
Then stuff the sides up with cling wrap or tissue paper to prevent bypass.
Done.

Want to save even more, but at slight expense of airflow speed? Get the ubiquitous sized HEPAs in Taobao, 305mm x 305mm x 25mm. Cut to size, the gap can squeeze with plastic cling wrap and/or tissue. RMB25-30 thereabouts. Airflow speed drop is about 20% vs original.

WussRedXLi

One more side effect about using a thinner depth HEPA on the AX40, is that while the airflow drops, the measured current draw at the socket also drops. With the 25mm thick HEPA, the AX40 only consumes 19W (80mA at the socket).

That is why I made a 60mm thick HEPA (RMB180), for usage during hazy periods. Other days use the cheap 25mm enough liao at RMB30 a piece.
I can even afford to change every 4 months. :D

WussRedXLi

Any reason why most people getting the Samsung over the LG? :s22:

I got 2 LGs (PS-R459 and PS-S209) and 1 AX40 leh.

But the Samsung AX40 is really quieter at high speed while delivering the same airflow as the LG 459 (though the LG is not as noisy as say even a Sharp A50).

But AX40 has no "middle gear", while the LG has middle gear. In middle gear, the LG 459 is quite a fair bit quieter than the AX40.

In real life on normal air quality days like these few days, you can kui turbo on the LG 459 for 10 mins and the PM2.5 would drop to negligible levels, ie less than 5 ug/m3. Then turn down the fan. The PM2.5 would maintain, same as the AX40. That is to say, you do not need that 300+ m3/hr airflow to maintain like 0.xx or 1 ug/m3 in the room. But no low fan speed or sleep mode pls, you won't be able t maintain that 0 to 1 ug/m3 low PM2.5 levels. Esp for allergic rhinitis sufferers, that would not work in terms of dust mite feces clearance, as you want it to be well below the triggering threshold.

But during those few hazy days esp over 100 ug/m3, that extended low-noise operation capability of the Samsung AX40 would be very welcome. You need that strong airflow capability....every opening/closing of the door in the aircon room would spike the air quality noticeably.

WussRedXLi

One more additional reason. LG 459 got no original filter support. Even if here is, it costs SGD145 as quoted.

same goes for the LG 209.

WussRedXLi

wrx bro, wat's the likelihood of us tio-ing the haze @ the 400 region?

Still very low lah.

We have 2 scenarios :

(1) Similar to 2013 PSI 401. Riau province huge fires only 200km away from SG, SSW and SW winds induced by Low pressure areas in the South China Sea or typhoon ard Philippines moving towards China.

img_2

nasa_haze_news_featured.jpg

WussRedXLi

Second Scenario
Extremely huge fires from Southern Sumatra/Jambi provinces. Jambi is about 400-500km away, S Sumatra 700km away. West Kalimantan some 1000km away.

Need to be like at least 4X the size/intensity of Riau 2013 to attain similar PM2.5 levels.

1997 super El nino of PSI 226 was due to extremely huge peat fires in S Sumatra and Kalimantan.

There is no direct correlation between the strength of El nino and haze though. Eg 2014, Indonesia was very dry due to some El Nino effects, but technically there was no El Nino declared as the levels did not sustain enough above the threshold for 3-month period etc.

157747000.LTL9DWCj.8octwinda.jpg

plasticpistola

Still very low lah.

We have 2 scenarios :

(1) Similar to 2013 PSI 401. Riau province huge fires only 200km away from SG, SSW and SW winds induced by Low pressure areas in the South China Sea or typhoon ard Philippines moving towards China.

img_2

nasa_haze_news_featured.jpg

Second Scenario
Extremely huge fires from Southern Sumatra/Jambi provinces. Jambi is about 400-500km away, S Sumatra 700km away. West Kalimantan some 1000km away.

Need to be like at least 4X the size/intensity of Riau 2013 to attain similar PM2.5 levels.

1997 super El nino of PSI 226 was due to extremely huge peat fires in S Sumatra and Kalimantan.

There is no direct correlation between the strength of El nino and haze though. Eg 2014, Indonesia was very dry due to some El Nino effects, but technically there was no El Nino declared as the levels did not sustain enough above the threshold for 3-month period etc.

157747000.LTL9DWCj.8octwinda.jpg

hmmm ok in that case the 2014 haze is quite a freak episode?

kendoarts

Anyone has the English version of the manual for AX40?
Don't mind can email me at kendoarts@hotmail.com?

I mentioned before that you could buy the filter from the same qoo10 seller, tag along 1 filter only coz if > 1 then you'd be charged GST. And with Speedpost/FedEX, they definitely will collect from you on behalf of ICA (coz they paid first). $78 for the filter if tag along. Alone is $88 inclusive of EMS.

Filter, personal experience is that after 6 months it would start to smell a wee bit (due to the particulate matter stuck inside). HEPA cannot be washed, pls don't bother. 9 months would definitely be slightly noticeable. Still can be used, of coz. 12 months is the very max I would push.

Assuming 12hrs daily usage. And my place is definitely nowhere near any main road or expressway. High floor anyway.

If not, just buy from taobao, I shared before a seller who can make customised filters at 110RMB a piece. Each piece is about 500g (with box), ie 12RMB shipping from forwarding warehouse to SIN.

Don't bother with activated charcoal unless yours is an ultra new house new furniture. HEPA size that the AX40 can take is 311mm x 282mm x 45mm. Don't settle for less depth. Airflow speed vs original Samsung is about 5% lower from my measurement, overall system efficiency is 97% at the output with sides stuffed to prevent air bypass. ie You won't notice any diff at all in real life even if you are very particular.
Then stuff the sides up with cling wrap or tissue paper to prevent bypass.
Done.

Want to save even more, but at slight expense of airflow speed? Get the ubiquitous sized HEPAs in Taobao, 305mm x 305mm x 25mm. Cut to size, the gap can squeeze with plastic cling wrap and/or tissue. RMB25-30 thereabouts. Airflow speed drop is about 20% vs original.

Thanks for the information. Very helpful and informative indeed, as always. Appreciate that.

faithl3ss

Just do anti microbial coating at your house will do! no need air purifier.

Prevention:
-Germs, bacterial 7 virus
-Mold & fungus
-Influenza virus

Protection:
-Self sterilizing
-Self sanitizing
-Self deodorant
-Self Air purifying

Experiment at your area to prove with test meter.

contact me @ 96892044 if you want to know more.

WussRedXLi

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/enso/

Ocean temperatures continue to rise in the tropical Pacific

Issued on 9 June 2015 | Product Code IDCKGEWW00

The 2015 El Niño continues to develop. International climate models surveyed by the Bureau of Meteorology suggest further warming of the tropical Pacific is likely, with sea surface temperatures forecast to remain above El Niño thresholds for the remainder of the year.

Most oceanic and atmospheric indicators are consistent with El Niño. Sea surface temperatures in the tropical Pacific have continued to warm, and trade winds have been consistently weaker than average. However, the Southern Oscillation Index (SOI) is currently rising, with this due to local weather, not climate factors. In the past three months the SOI has averaged −9.7, exceeding El Niño thresholds. Cloudiness near the Date Line has also eased towards more normal levels, but this shift may only be short-lived.

El Niño is often associated with below-average winter and spring rainfall over eastern Australia, and above-average daytime temperatures over the southern half of the country. The strength of El Niño doesn't directly relate to the strength of its effects on Australia's climate.

The Indian Ocean Dipole (IOD) is currently neutral. Of the five international models that provide IOD outlooks, two suggest a positive IOD is likely later in 2015, with a third model just shy of thresholds. A positive IOD is typically associated with reduced winter and spring rainfall over parts of southern and central Australia.

WussRedXLi

The areas just west of Sumatra and north of Australia/Irian Jaya needs to get cooler also (we need this gradient/temperature difference between Western and Eastern Pacific). The eastern pacific is heating up nicely.

cdas-sflux_ssta_global_1.png

We need more Westerly Wind Bursts (WWBs) to really ramp it up to a strong El Nino. It should happen, IF this forecast happens. By that time, the forecast should get pretty accurate as well (as we get out of this spring predictability barrier)

uV05oDL.gif

bakerqbal

Just do anti microbial coating at your house will do! no need air purifier.

Prevention:
-Germs, bacterial 7 virus
-Mold & fungus
-Influenza virus

Protection:
-Self sterilizing
-Self sanitizing
-Self deodorant
-Self Air purifying

Experiment at your area to prove with test meter.

contact me @ 96892044 if you want to know more.

How you can test the anti microbial effects? I thought u need a lab analysis for it?

WussRedXLi

I think the 3M 9211, 9210, 8511, UVEX 3320 FFP2 masks soon can take out and dust away to use liao. Not for haze though. :(

PS. The Amazon batch bought in 2013 has expiry date of 2018 march.

Those "free" ones gotten from qoo10, they are already expired. Don't bother for anything other than haze. :(

faithl3ss

How you can test the anti microbial effects? I thought u need a lab analysis for it?

We have a test meter able to show what's the RLU reading.

nevertheless, we also have local reports setsco proven that it had a reduction of 99.99% after apply.

if you like to know more about it, you may drop me an email to jackson@nanomimizu.com or contact me at 96892044

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.