Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

The above is the cheapest high performance vacuum that you can get on the cheap.
Key is the H10 main bag and H13 exhaust. I have measured with the laser particle counter, basically is around 0 particles at the exhaust. For floor and bed vacuuming, is a piece of cake for the dual "HEPA" filters.

Been using my Philips for many years, no issue one.
(though I don't like quite a few other Philips products)

plasticpistola

The above is the cheapest high performance vacuum that you can get on the cheap.
Key is the H10 main bag and H13 exhaust. I have measured with the laser particle counter, basically is around 0 particles at the exhaust. For floor and bed vacuuming, is a piece of cake for the dual "HEPA" filters.

Been using my Philips for many years, no issue one.
(though I don't like quite a few other Philips products)

Actually what do those HEPA things on the vacuum do? Literally clean your air while you vacuum?

WussRedXLi

Can share e link? I Need to custom make one I think.. Hepa+charcoal.. Can it be made until 35mm?

The best way of removing smells is to remove the source, eg washing your bedsheets regularly. Cleaning your aircon FCU is also key, quite a fair bit of smell could be from there. So learn to DIY clean.

The activated charcoal does not adsorb a lot of the smells one, if the room is even a wee bit smelly to begin with. Not much use. Not unless you have several kilograms of AC.

WussRedXLi

Actually what do those HEPA things on the vacuum do? Literally clean your air while you vacuum?

No lah....coz some bugger intends to make money out of these things mah. :vijayadmin:

Dust mite droppings are actually quite big. In this link, it mentions 10-40 microns. The floating ones go down to 5 microns.
http://housedustmite.com/all-about-mite-droppings

So your regular synthetic bag filter (not those paper ones) can handle ba.

But if can afford, just get it. With Amazon, it really becomes affordable, coz the Philips H13 exhaust filter = SGD49 local retail and 9-10usd on Amazon (3M Filtrete brand). Every 6 - 12 months need to change once.

BTW, the 2 Philips vacuum have nice little things like HEPA sealing at the exhuaust. This one cannot really easily DIY.

Lucky177

My Karcher DS 6.000 Waterfilter vacuum cleaner also got mini hepa filter inside. It does turns "greyish" (not yet total black). I guess is meant to just filters those "escape/uncaptured" particles during vacuuming.

Don't think is that essential. Not really meant to purify the air as per se. Just my own feel.

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

plasticpistola

No lah....coz some bugger intends to make money out of these things mah. :vijayadmin:

Dust mite droppings are actually quite big. In this link, it mentions 10-40 microns. The floating ones go down to 5 microns.
http://housedustmite.com/all-about-mite-droppings

So your regular synthetic bag filter (not those paper ones) can handle ba.

But if can afford, just get it. With Amazon, it really becomes affordable, coz the Philips H13 exhaust filter = SGD49 local retail and 9-10usd on Amazon (3M Filtrete brand). Every 6 - 12 months need to change once.

BTW, the 2 Philips vacuum have nice little things like HEPA sealing at the exhuaust. This one cannot really easily DIY.

My place using the rowenta silence force n the upright stick version. The upright stick one gives out a musky sng smell when I used it the other day - reminds me of the same smell my cousin's AP gives out when he turns it on.

Must be the HEPA lol

chuanz

No no no... it's not meant to do that, but more of preventing the vacuum from spraying dust particles (that were sucked up) all over the place...

WussRedXLi

My place using the rowenta silence force n the upright stick version. The upright stick one gives out a musky sng smell when I used it the other day - reminds me of the same smell my cousin's AP gives out when he turns it on.

Must be the HEPA lol

HEPA filter must change one. Aircon FCU must wash. Water filters especially must change after 6 months or so coz it's always immersed in water. Etc etc

It's due to the factors of both time and usage. Sure will smell one way or another.

Maybe @ 6 mths, you would not noticed it much. That's ok. But for some who are more ngeow and have sensitive noses, the slight smell might be somewhat offensive to them liao.

WussRedXLi

so the air that comes out from vacuum after sucking ur floor is filtered. but then again.........its just gimmicks.

It's not really gimmicks, I guess it's whether or not you want that kinda performance, if one is sensitive to dust mite droppings. They get down to 5 microns, or PM5.

I did a more detailed test. Pics below.

WussRedXLi

Main bag filters (normal synthetic ones and H10 ones). And H12/H13 3M Filterete HEPAs.

160853170.aPjgK9xn.9.jpg

Seems like the H10 "Allergy" ones heavier. 37.4g for the Philips. Electrolux "HEPA" one is 38.6g
160853167.xVQ1ufyr.8.jpg

160853165.w1Usbgna.7.jpg

Ambient. 9660 counts per L (it's not v accurate, but take it as a relative number)
160853143.HZZ7nXhW.6.jpg

At 50% power/airflow
First picture is HEPA H10 allergy main bag. Second pic is normal white colour synthetic bag

160853142.pi9tOUdN.5.jpg

160853141.zBCzMAee.4.jpg

Now, at full power, both dropped to 12 and 18 ug/m3 for PM2.5. It's overloading the bags. Note, these are clean bags, ie max airflow. As it clogs up, the airflow drops and it's likely to improve in efficiency.

Above is a drop of about 92% for the H10 allergy filter and 70% for the synthetic one. 5 microns performance would be better. However at full power, I believe even the H10 allergy main bag would not be able to drop PM5 dust mite dropping allergens down to an acceptable level for the allergic rhinitis suffers.

I am talking about vacuuming the bed and vacuuming the floor/surfaces. Wet wiping helps but I think it's best to vacuum and then wipe if you want.

Bonus pics, one side blackish and the other side is like brand new. You can see the HEPA seal on the vacuum, now when I switch it on without the cover and the HEPA fiter is not pressed down firmly, there is a hiss sound indicating a leakage. With the cover, there is no hiss. Sealing seems to be excellent

160853138.fMaygA4v.1.jpg

160853139.geX2eqZt.2.jpg

WussRedXLi

Post H12/H13 exhaust filter (3M Filtrete HEPA), @ max power.

160853140.UrHIqKUE.3.jpg

So yes, it does filter like a good air purifier. The performance is excellent.

Question : (1) Do you need this kind of performance?
(2) Can you afford the vacuum cleaner, and after that can you afford the yearly costs?
ie 3M Filtrete = usd 9 per year. usd 8.99 main bags (3 mths change, 3X weekly vacuums)

WussRedXLi

So can see that the main work is really down by the H12/H13 pleated filter at the exhaust.

There are S-bag "normal" Philips vacuum that accepts S-bag, but the exhaust filter is not replaceable coz it's just a normal synthetic pad. It is very unlikely that such a system gets the 5 microns dust mite droppings down to an acceptable level.
Probably you'd do a better job by wet wiping the TV console, TV, set-top box, bed headboard top and of coz the floors and washing the curtains.

I have seen some Philips vacuums with Philips H12 filters, think those are only at S$13.90, so that's still ok in annual cost @ 1pc per year.

Of course, with the H10 allergy main bag vs a regular synthetic bag, you'd filter more stuff and relieve the H12 or H13 exhaust filter and ensure that it has a longer lifespan.
As the measurements have proved, I think it's not very significant @ max power, but there is still a difference. Note, my vacuum is quite powerful, 500W suction (2.2kW motor). Detailed specs is 47L per second and 34 kPa vacuum

Asakura

nice test

but i think my purifiers are doing very well so far..i get lesser problems with my nose when i vacuum now.

so for me, hepa vacuum are just gonna suck more money from me. lol

for those who are even more sensitive to dust mites when they are thrown back into the air by vacuum can consider

WussRedXLi

nice test

but i think my purifiers are doing very well so far..i get lesser problems with my nose when i vacuum now.

so for me, hepa vacuum are just gonna suck more money from me. lol

for those who are even more sensitive to dust mites when they are thrown back into the air by vacuum can consider

The whole idea is to get the exposure to dust mite dropping allergens significantly below your trigger threshold. After a period of time, your respiration tract would have "healed" and not be inflammed, hence that trigger threshold would be much higher. You'd still have that allergic rhinitis issue, but much more manageable without medications coz it's at a much higher level so not so sensitive.

If everyday also got ah-choo, sure everyday inflamed one and be extremely sensitised to these allergens.

My guess is that different people have different thresholds, unfortunately for those with allergic rhinitis unmanaged at all (running nose, extremely itchiness) that threshold level is often extremely low, versus those with allergic rhinitis but with a good level of management which would enjoy a significantly higher threshold.

Just yesterday on Sunday, when I woke up with a wee bit of stuffy nose...quite long never kena liao (a good couple of weeks). Didn't want to take anti-histamines, it improved quite a bit and 1hr later I went down to buy porridge breakfast. Walked past a burning bin with smoke, within 1 second of exposure I felt as if a brick wall hit my upper face and it was both itchy but also a wee bit of itchy painful sensation, eg extreme allergy. 10 seconds later, had a uncontrollable sneezing fit of about 20-30 sneezes. Reached home, felt a bit of malaise maciam fever wanna come kinda feeling. Had to take Fedac, took my porridge, bathed and went to sleep for 30 mins.
After that rest of the day ok.

Funny thing is - haze has never triggered allergic rhinitis symptoms in me. Not even 2013. I get headaches from haze though, every single time.
So I need to whack paracetamol.

WussRedXLi

I'm 40 liao, and it took me slightly more than 30 years to realise this and control my symptoms without much use of meds.

Last time aircon FCU also bo chup one. If happy 6 months clean once. Not happy, 12-15 mths then clean. Die lor.....

A few occasions, it gets so bad that I had to pop panadol coz I have that malaise feverish feeling, other than running and blocked nose. Trigger fever sensation. Doctor said it's like a sibling of hay fever.

WussRedXLi

This one more for your children (allergic rhinitis and relationship with asthma).
It's very common.

Remember, it's been proven that there is no such thing as la sup jiak la sup dua. You don't develop a tolerance to such things, in fact it's the exact opposite.
However, the prevalence of children playing/having their activities in aircon rooms is higher nowadays compared to last time (airconditioning without decent filtration or properly maintained filtration), so......

http://www.worldallergy.org/public/allergic_diseases_center/caras/

http://www.healthxchange.com.sg/hea...rhinitis-common-in-children-in-singapore.aspx

WussRedXLi

Above article in detail

KKH-logo.jpg

Allergic rhinitis affects up to 50 per cent of children in Singapore aged 4 to 17 years

Runny nose, blocked nose, itchiness, sneezing…these are symptoms typical of the common cold as well as allergic rhinitis, a chronic medical condition especially prevalent among children in Singapore.

But the similarity between the two ends at the symptoms. Unlike the common cold, allergic rhinitis is not caused by a viral infection. Nor does it get resolved in a few days. Allergic rhinitis is due to an allergy and will persist for as long as the allergen is present.

Allergic rhinitis occurs when you breathe in something from your environment, indoors or outdoors, that you are allergic to. This allergen, which could be house dust mites, cigarette smoke, plant pollen or haze, causes the mucous lining in the nose to get inflamed. This in turns leads to symptoms such as sneezing and a runny nose.

Is allergic rhinitis another name for hay fever?

Allergic rhinitis triggered by pollen is called hay fever. Hay fever is particularly prevalent in temperate climates where there are high seasonal levels of pollen.

Allergic rhinitis is very common in Singapore, affecting 24 per cent of the population. While it affects both adults and children, it is particularly prevalent in children aged 4 - 17 years.

In 2010, the prevalence rate for children of this age was estimated to be as high as 50 per cent, according to Associate Professor Anne Goh, Head and Senior Consultant, Allergy Service, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH), a member of the SingHealth group.

Can dairy products and eggs cause allergic rhinitis?

Dairy products and eggs do not usually trigger allergic rhinitis, says A/Prof Goh.

“Allergic rhinitis is less commonly caused by food allergies, so there is no real need to avoid foods essential for children’s growth,” she says. “The commonest trigger for allergic rhinitis in Singapore is exposure to the house dust mites. The other common trigger is exposure to cigarette smoke.”

However, if any specific food is suspected to cause an allergic reaction, the child should be evaluated properly before being put on a food elimination diet.

Allergic rhinitis can affect a child’s schoolwork and sports

A prominent symptom of allergic rhinitis in children, especially younger children, is coughing rather than sneezing. Nasal congestion can also be severe, affecting the child’s ability to perform in school and in sports.

“The nasal congestion can affect the child's sleep and can lead to snoring and a dry mouth if the child
mouth-breathes frequently,” says A/Prof Goh. “Children who don’t sleep well will have a poor concentration span the following day and this can affect their ability to perform well in school.”

The nasal congestion, when severe, can also affect the child’s ability to exercise and participate in sports.

Can allergic rhinitis in children lead to more severe allergic conditions such as asthma?

Allergic rhinitis can be associated with other allergic conditions such as asthma, eczema and allergic conjunctivitis, says A/Prof Goh. “About 40 per cent of children with allergic rhinitis will have associated asthma. Conversely, about 80-90 per cent of asthmatic children will have associated allergic rhinitis,” she explains.

In children who have allergic rhinitis and asthma, both conditions will need to be treated separately to control the symptoms.

Allergic rhinitis can be controlled by minimising the child's exposure to allergens

Treatment for allergic rhinitis is long-drawn as symptoms can recur when the allergen is present. Treatment involves identifying and avoiding allergens such as the house dust mite, and managing the symptoms with medication.

Children with mild allergic rhinitis can be treated with oral antihistamines. In more severe cases, nasal steroid sprays can be used.

“The newer non-sedating antihistamines are preferred for the treatment of allergic rhinitis as they do not cause drowsiness the following day, and are safer for longer term use,” says Associate Professor Anne Goh, Head and Senior Consultant, Allergy Service, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH), a member of the SingHealth group.

Other treatment options include:
•Leukotriene receptor antagonists: This is a non-steroidal oral medication commonly used in the treatment of asthma
•Immunotherapy: This can help induce tolerance to allergens like the house dust mite.

Can children outgrow allergic rhinitis?

Children do not outgrow allergic rhinitis but symptoms can vary depending on exposure to triggers and allergens, says A/Prof Goh. Some children may find that their symptoms improve as they get older, especially when they become teenagers.

Tips for parents of children suffering from allergic rhinitis

Parents can help keep the child’s symptoms under control with medication and by minimising exposure to allergens. Parents can take the following steps to allergy-proof their house against the most common allergen – the house dust mite:
•Keep the child's bedroom meticulously clean to reduce exposure to dust mites
•Wash bed linen in hot water (> 60 deg. C) and change the sheets every week
•Reduce the number of soft toys in the child's bed
•Avoid having carpets in the bedroom
•Clean curtains regularly – for hygiene purposes, window blinds are a better option than curtains.

Reducing the child’s exposure to the house dust mite and other indoor allergens, as well as regular use of medications, will help control allergic rhinitis symptoms, says A/Prof Goh. The medications can be stopped when the child's symptoms are well managed, and restarted if symptoms recur.

WussRedXLi

http://www.bmkg.go.id/BMKG_Pusat/Kualitas_Udara/Informasi_Partikulat.bmkg

PM10.

But in my experience of checking our PM10 and PM2.5, for Indonesian haze and at this distance, PM2.5 and PM10 are around the same level. Perhaps for Pekanbaru, PM10 is at a slightly higher level than PM2.5

PEKANBARU, Jam 5 : 302.15
PEKANBARU, Jam 6 : 379.83
PEKANBARU, Jam 7 : 327.73
PEKANBARU, Jam 8 : 270.00

Read more: http://www.bmkg.go.id/BMKG_Pusat/Kualitas_Udara/Informasi_Partikulat.bmkg#ixzz3h5aSGrNd

AQI of 236 (based on PM10)
160855325.px61SA8A.2.jpg

400 ug/m3 of PM10
160855312.vO9q1AuB.1.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.