Air purifier?

mikeeeey

Been using AX40 24hrs daily for the past 5mths in the master bedroom. Starting to have weird smell, especially when off to clean the prefilter and then turned it on again, got a mouldy smell coming out. Guess its time to change the filter

yanbros

Been using AX40 24hrs daily for the past 5mths in the master bedroom. Starting to have weird smell, especially when off to clean the prefilter and then turned it on again, got a mouldy smell coming out. Guess its time to change the filter

how long have you been on the current filter? Should change every 6 months. Can get taobao custom filters if you're on a budget. Works just as well as tested by our thread guru.

mikeeeey

how long have you been on the current filter? Should change every 6 months. Can get taobao custom filters if you're on a budget. Works just as well as tested by our thread guru.

24/7 for the past 5 months.

I still got an original filter from the qoo10 bundle so just changed it. No wonder I been waking up with irritated nose every morning for the past week. Hopefully tonight will see improvements

WussRedXLi

24/7 for the past 5 months.

I still got an original filter from the qoo10 bundle so just changed it. No wonder I been waking up with irritated nose every morning for the past week. Hopefully tonight will see improvements

Can just keep the filter for next time hazy period use. Coz sure got smell then. The HEPA actually is still filtering nicely, just that got smell from the particulates trapped inside. Some are bothered by this, some are not.

24/7 not recommended leh. You'd need to air the room a bit sometimes, to let out the VOCs (bought the VOC meter to play play, I am not expecting it to be anywhere very accurate though). Do not try to make the room "air-tight", not asking you to leave the door like 1/3rd open with the Aircon and AP switched on, but there must be some ventilation also.

Actually, I'd prefer to put it as "works just as well in real life, if you get the 45mm depth TB filter". Technically got small differences in performances, but not really appreciable in real life for our use. :)

You see, the issue with my argument previously with another guy is exactly demonstrated over here very clearly.
-> Recommending a $269 + $15 appliance ($479 retail) is fine. I am sure most Singaporeans can afford this, even one with a 2k + 2k combined income household with 1 baby. But $180 yearly on filter expenses is not just gonna cut it, even for those with infant twins, not for long. Heck, even if we push it to 12 months, $90 per year is a bit siong.

^^^^^
And that is just for 1 device. I have 5-6 devices operating nightly across the 3 households (filter expenses managed by me). I am mindful of the expenses for the broad range of users, else anyhow recommending is just gonna put people off and just give up on the usage of APs.

If one wins 2 million Toto, then that's great. I'm just a regular joe.

PS. Actually if also count my father in law who resides near Dumai, in Riau Province which is very close to the haze ground-zero, then that's 4 households. Used to get original Sharp filters for him, but now use RMB90 45mm thick customised ones, airflow is around the same level (original SHARP is 31mm thick)
But he kiang lah, 12 months also don't want to change the Sharp KC-A40 filter. CNY I go over force him change. :D

wizardundo

Good Afternoon! I guess the A28 works because I placed it very near me (on my bedside table), I wanted to run medium to high but the noise level is terrible. :o

I'm not sure how to purchase from Taobao, havent tried buying anything there before. If you could share the links, I'll probably try to join any taobao spree. :s13:

As for the PS-R459 ($250/-) seems to be pre-owned (Although not opened, but I'm worried about warranty issue). I've tried to search for the same model and found out that it is being sold for $319/- (1 yr warranty cash & carry below $400/-) at Mega Discount Store [Kallang Leisure Park]..

http://www.rakuten.com.sg/shop/megadiscountstore/product/PSR459/?l-id=sg_search_product_thumbnail_1

They are also selling Sharp original filter for A28 for $45/-..
http://www.rakuten.com.sg/shop/megadiscountstore/product/FZY28FE/?l-id=sg_product_recent_thumbnail_4

I think I'll temporary keep my A28 until I purchase the cheaper tao bao replacement filter :s12:

Should I get the Samsung AX40 instead? or the LG is better?:s11:

yanbros

Can just keep the filter for next time hazy period use. Coz sure got smell then. The HEPA actually is still filtering nicely, just that got smell from the particulates trapped inside. Some are bothered by this, some are not.

24/7 not recommended leh. You'd need to air the room a bit sometimes, to let out the VOCs (bought the VOC meter to play play, I am not expecting it to be anywhere very accurate though). Do not try to make the room "air-tight", not asking you to leave the door like 1/3rd open with the Aircon and AP switched on, but there must be some ventilation also.

Actually, I'd prefer to put it as "works just as well in real life, if you get the 45mm depth TB filter". Technically got small differences in performances, but not really appreciable in real life for our use. :)

You see, the issue with my argument previously with another guy is exactly demonstrated over here very clearly.
-> Recommending a $269 + $15 appliance ($479 retail) is fine. I am sure most Singaporeans can afford this, even one with a 2k + 2k combined income household with 1 baby. But $180 yearly on filter expenses is not just gonna cut it, even for those with infant twins, not for long. Heck, even if we push it to 12 months, $90 per year is a bit siong.

^^^^^
And that is just for 1 device. I have 5-6 devices operating nightly across the 3 households (filter expenses managed by me). I am mindful of the expenses for the broad range of users, else anyhow recommending is just gonna put people off and just give up on the usage of APs.

If one wins 2 million Toto, then that's great. I'm just a regular joe.

PS. Actually if also count my father in law who resides near Dumai, in Riau Province which is very close to the haze ground-zero, then that's 4 households. Used to get original Sharp filters for him, but now use RMB90 45mm thick customised ones, airflow is around the same level (original SHARP is 31mm thick)
But he kiang lah, 12 months also don't want to change the Sharp KC-A40 filter. CNY I go over force him change. :D

I appreciate the work you are doing. Providing us with useful info and good lobangs that have been tested by yourself. Kudos and great effort there. Thanks once again.

WussRedXLi

Good Afternoon! I guess the A28 works because I placed it very near me (on my bedside table), I wanted to run medium to high but the noise level is terrible. :o

I'm not sure how to purchase from Taobao, havent tried buying anything there before. If you could share the links, I'll probably try to join any taobao spree. :s13:

As for the PS-R459 ($250/-) seems to be pre-owned (Although not opened, but I'm worried about warranty issue). I've tried to search for the same model and found out that it is being sold for $319/- (1 yr warranty cash & carry below $400/-) at Mega Discount Store [Kallang Leisure Park]..

http://www.rakuten.com.sg/shop/megadiscountstore/product/PSR459/?l-id=sg_search_product_thumbnail_1

They are also selling Sharp original filter for A28 for $45/-..
http://www.rakuten.com.sg/shop/megadiscountstore/product/FZY28FE/?l-id=sg_product_recent_thumbnail_4

I think I'll temporary keep my A28 until I purchase the cheaper tao bao replacement filter :s12:

Should I get the Samsung AX40 instead? or the LG is better?:s11:

This is the seller's shop. Have to Aliwangwang him (TB IM chat program). Have to setup PC to type in hanyu pinyin though, Microsoft pinyin. Google on how to set that up and type in your sentences in notepad beforehand. :s13:
http://store.taobao.com/shop/view_shop.htm?spm=a312a.7700846.9.280.J5U8Cs&user_number_id=812256264

Don't worry about the so-called pre-owned Sharps, Samsung, LG etc. The motors are good, circuitry are good, can last very long. If worried about warranty, offer a lower price like $220 ba. :D

With that said, I'd 100% not recommend Samsung/LG aircons/regfrigeration appliances 5-10 years ago. Confirm uplorry. Nowadays, not sure, no experience.

Samsung AX40 is very good too. Only issue is the lack of speed control, the only useful speed mode is max speed. But at max speed for both (~ same airflow), the Samsung is slightly but noticeably less noisy than the LG. However, the LG can throttle down in speed, and at 1 stage less than max speed, the LG is damn quiet, no issue even with it right beside your sleeping position. Note : Airflow for LG is 318 m3/hr max on paper, medium is 200 m3/hr as measured vs max mode.

PS. The Sharp original filter for the A28 performs worse than the Taobao. It's H10, approx. 85% efficient.

WussRedXLi

One mth old PS-R459. 170. (not mine)

https://carousell.com/p/9515053/

Within 45 mins, you will be able to open up the internals that are within the airflow and scrub/wipe clean/disinect with alcohol. At Sinchong People's park centre, $7.80 buys you one big 1L bottle to be used for anything and everything./

wizardundo

The order sequences from Taobao seems complicated, guess I'll need to do some research before purchasing it via a Taobao MO Thread =:p

In the end, I've decided to settle for a Samsung A40 from the Qoo10 site

SamsungA40.jpg

Hope it will arrive soon. :s12:

PS. I think you're the main contributor for the sale at the Qoo10 site, they should pay you commission for it! :s13:

mikeeeey

I do leave the door open sometimes. But the AP still on. My room at the end of the house and the living room got A80 to clear the main house area first.

And sometimes i will open the toilet window to air also

WussRedXLi

The order sequences from Taobao seems complicated, guess I'll need to do some research before purchasing it via a Taobao MO Thread =:p

In the end, I've decided to settle for a Samsung A40 from the Qoo10 site

PS. I think you're the main contributor for the sale at the Qoo10 site, they should pay you commission for it! :s13:

There is a taobao thread here. Ask all questions regarding TB here.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...taobao-buying-guide-part-6-a-4981870-214.html

Here's a summary on how to order and do international forwarding from taobao. There is a learning curve, but not impossible to do for those who scored at least a B4 in O level Chinese.
https://jennyteo.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/taobao-shopping-singapore/

Just order something simple and cheap first, then forward it over. 1st kg international forwarding is 43RMB only, subsequent 0.5kg 12RMB. Do try to choose 4PX as it's the least problematic of them all.

No lah, I think the traffic on this thread is not that high.

Niaoson

There is a taobao thread here. Ask all questions regarding TB here.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...taobao-buying-guide-part-6-a-4981870-214.html

Here's a summary on how to order and do international forwarding from taobao. There is a learning curve, but not impossible to do for those who scored at least a B4 in O level Chinese.
https://jennyteo.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/taobao-shopping-singapore/

Just order something simple and cheap first, then forward it over. 1st kg international forwarding is 43RMB only, subsequent 0.5kg 12RMB. Do try to choose 4PX as it's the least problematic of them all.

No lah, I think the traffic on this thread is not that high.

Bro WRXL, can trouble you to post the Taobao link to the Samsung A40 filter again? What do we need to mention to the seller for him to custom-make for the A40? And what is the cost per piece eventually?

I will be ordering soon so may be able to help tompang those who cannot order from Taobao! Although it is definitely easier to DIY if you can because DIY can get shipping to your doorstep! :o

WussRedXLi

Bro WRXL, can trouble you to post the Taobao link to the Samsung A40 filter again? What do we need to mention to the seller for him to custom-make for the A40? And what is the cost per piece eventually?

I will be ordering soon so may be able to help tompang those who cannot order from Taobao! Although it is definitely easier to DIY if you can because DIY can get shipping to your doorstep! :o

Just mention to him that you need to 订制 白色HEPA网。 Samsung AX40, 310mm x 281mm x 45mm. 4pcs I got RMB110 price each, inclusive of shipping to 4PX. He uses 顺丰快递。
That's it, really. Don't have to talk much. Just order any item so that it will show in the order summary, he will change the total price to whatever price for whatever pieces you want, and then you pay.

Don't have to post the link, there is no such link. He will give you the link to make a transaction.
Probably this one : http://world.taobao.com/item/206766...pm=a312a.7700846.9.273.CTrtio&_u=21u0hcib1650

Won't go wrong one lah.

Niaoson

Just mention to him that you need to 订制 白色HEPA网。 Samsung AX40, 310mm x 281mm x 45mm. 4pcs I got RMB110 price each, inclusive of shipping to 4PX. He uses 顺丰快递。
That's it, really. Don't have to talk much. Just order any item so that it will show in the order summary, he will change the total price to whatever price for whatever pieces you want, and then you pay.

Don't have to post the link, there is no such link. He will give you the link to make a transaction.
Probably this one : http://world.taobao.com/item/206766...pm=a312a.7700846.9.273.CTrtio&_u=21u0hcib1650

Won't go wrong one lah.

That link is to his store hor?

So I just go there and click the ALWW button to talk to him? :o

mikeeeey

But taobao ax40 filter is just the hepa filter without the deodourising filter and charcoal layer rite?

WussRedXLi

But taobao ax40 filter is just the hepa filter without the deodourising filter and charcoal layer rite?

Correct, only the HEPA as the extra depth takes up the space of the AC filter. The HEPA efficiency is up there, 97% 98% as measured in the said actual devices (so dont worry about over-powering the HEPAs).

Airflow will suffer a bit. So need to spec 45mm for the TB while original is 37mm, which brings the airflow at the outlet to be 15.0 and 15.5kph respectively.
I also used 45mm TB for my LG PS-R459 and Sharp KC-840 (original 31mm depth), airflow is a wee bit higher, eg 21.5kph original filter and 22kph Taobao.

Overall, very minute differences in the CADR that only the meters can show. They are all workable, more importantly sustainable in the long run.

P.S.
Anyway, dont worry too much about AC and VOCs.
Some testing here.
http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/post/105818344169/does-carbon-really-work

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.