Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

I mean, last week Thur, my wife got sick due to the sudden spike and it was very bad.

Headache in office (coz she was running visits to customers outside, waiting for cab and running ard) then at home vomited due to the headache and was very unwell. Itchy throat etc. Spent close to 100 dollars with meds and jab at 24-hr central clinic coz buay lun liao.

Might as well save the trouble, get an AP. Keep a foldable N95 in the bag. Simple yet effective solutions and spare yourself the suffering.

networked

very informative thread from contributors like wuss.

decided to get sammy 40 from qoo.

When i check out, there are extra filters to purchase.
1) AX 30
2) AX 20 H
3) AX 40 H

All are $78, which to get as spare for sammy 40? or all are compatible?

makav31i

very informative thread from contributors like wuss.

decided to get sammy 40 from qoo.

When i check out, there are extra filters to purchase.
1) AX 30
2) AX 20 H
3) AX 40 H

All are $78, which to get as spare for sammy 40? or all are compatible?

the filters are specific to the AP you purchased..so should buy the Ax40 if your ap is Ax40...

WussRedXLi

Too preoccupied with work, no time, no energy, no interest, can't be bothered about other things.

That's the culture here.

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

2013 that time really hero. You see the PSI levels you know liao.

156135872.99QElCDn.1.jpg

Literally got ~ 1k orders on the waiting list at Best Denki. Can't collect deposit as well. After that after Saturday cleared, 326 to less than 100 in a matter of less than 2 hours, jitao cancel. :D (remember, the 3-hr PSI lags by 4 hours or more)

Mask also don't want to collect from phama when stocks come. heh......

Do biz also damn difficult.

But 2014 March that time they smart liao. Pre-order, need to pay deposit first. Best Denki stocks come that time, all are for collection..... I remember got a mountain of Sharp and Novita + FOC filter pack that time. :D Got a colleague who purchased the NAP501, she had Q number 358.

Too bad no pic.

kawatsu

I mean, last week Thur, my wife got sick due to the sudden spike and it was very bad.

Headache in office (coz she was running visits to customers outside, waiting for cab and running ard) then at home vomited due to the headache and was very unwell. Itchy throat etc. Spent close to 100 dollars with meds and jab at 24-hr central clinic coz buay lun liao.

Might as well save the trouble, get an AP. Keep a foldable N95 in the bag. Simple yet effective solutions and spare yourself the suffering.

Ya, my neighbour dog passed away on the same day where there's a spike in the haze level.

Not sure if its due to old age or high haze levels.

Very sad as the dog was perfectly healthy and a very sweet girl, and just suddenly dropped dead at the door.

gregtan

Enjoy the unit in good health! :)

A lot of people tell me that I am kee siao.

I find that funny in the context of Singapore? :s11: Instead the converse is true. How so?

People can choose to buy conti car like BMW, but scrimp and save and say that a $250 investment in an AP is expensive despite having an infant and also a toddle.
Another lady is into luxury bags (at least 10 Chanels I think). But finally just bought an AP, coz spent some $200+ on various GP and specialist last week. :D

:s11::s11::s11:

Thanks Bro WRX!

I am not really buying just for the haze this year.. been mulling over it for a while.. and with newborn coming soon, i think its better i stop sitting on my arse on this thing.. the biggest issue for me is balancing my small budget and getting an effective AP.. but now I am decided! Thanks to you and all other helpful bros here! :)

Ya, I couldnt agree more on SGrean mentality.. they have no qualms dinning out on restaurant every day, but scringe on personal health.. :(

Just last week, a couple with an infant saw me and Missus (we both wearing masks) walking towards them.. "suddenly" realised the haze is around.. and scramble to held the infant to their chest while literally running to the nearest shelter..

We really *facepalm*

Lucky177

Ya, my neighbour dog passed away on the same day where there's a spike in the haze level.

Very sad as the dog was perfectly healthy and a very sweet girl, and just suddenly dropped dead at the door.
So sad. Haze will affect everyone, including pets.

Never assume they will be haze prone free. Wrong mentality.

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

swastikas

Got my ax40 today, ordered last Sunday night.

Anyone notice the air outlet at the left side of the fins, the pressure of purified air feel stronger than the right side of the fins? It's similar as my nap501. Normal?

On full blast now

WussRedXLi

For humans, its cardiac arrest or stroke. Both possible with haze. See the article i posted 1 page back.

WussRedXLi

Just last week, a couple with an infant saw me and Missus (we both wearing masks) walking towards them.. "suddenly" realised the haze is around.. and scramble to held the infant to their chest while literally running to the nearest shelter..

We really *facepalm*

Saturday morning... Ard 7.45am....also saw a couple with infant and pram pushing. South side 1hr 131ug/m3. 1hr PSI 180/AQI 190.

It's damn scary. Coz gahment said 24hr PSI 300 then N95.
We never hit above PSI 300 24hr-mean in 2013 even.

gregtan

Saturday morning... Ard 7.45am....also saw a couple with infant and pram pushing. South side 1hr 131ug/m3. 1hr PSI 180/AQI 190.

It's damn scary. Coz gahment said 24hr PSI 300 then N95.
We never hit above PSI 300 24hr-mean in 2013 even.

I am totally perplexed.

While I am not trying to sound paranoid, it is obvious at times you can smell burn in the air.. Why parents are bringing out kids un-masked and pple still jogging is sometimes beyond me.. Even if there is no burnt smell, i think the 1-hr PM2.5 is a good enough indication of potential hazard..

:(

john hanley

WussRedXLi

What do you fine ladies and gentlemen think of this?
I finally decided to get one...was dry coughing and hacking plus wheezing till I put on my 995 and poof.....felt better...thought an air purifier was now a necessity :(

Thinking of getting 3 of these......for some friends as well
Vornado AC500 True HEPA Air Purifier

The CADR is about the same as the Samsung AX40 and LG LA-Q379SB.

Vornado is too expensive and needs a voltage transformer, which is totally inadvisable. Been through that in the 2013 AP thread.

john hanley

The CADR is about the same as the Samsung AX40 and LG LA-Q379SB.

Vornado is too expensive and needs a voltage transformer, which is totally inadvisable. Been through that in the 2013 AP thread.

Ok thank you friend. :s12::s12::s12:

I'll go hoot samsung AX40/LG LA-Q379SB

Thank you again :s12::s12::s12::s12:

WussRedXLi

Really can drop dead on the spot.

Tabel Konsentrasi Partikulat di Palangkaraya, Tanggal : 20 September 2015

PALANGKARAYA, Jam 0 : 575.91
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 1 : 696.55
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 2 : 773.32
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 3 : 837.64
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 4 : 879.93
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 5 : 831.29
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 6 : 846.65
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 7 : 1001.29
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 8 : 1140.30
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 9 : 1269.65
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 10 : 1345.26
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 12 : 816.20
PALANGKARAYA, Jam 13 : 572.53

LYRVAHD.gif

WussRedXLi

I am totally perplexed.

While I am not trying to sound paranoid, it is obvious at times you can smell burn in the air.. Why parents are bringing out kids un-masked and pple still jogging is sometimes beyond me.. Even if there is no burnt smell, i think the 1-hr PM2.5 is a good enough indication of potential hazard..

:(

I have posted within the last 5-10 pages in this thread the 2015 Haze and El Nino thread. For kids, you can multiply the effects by times the current concentration ug/m3 by 1.5X to 2X.

So 131 ug/m3 to them is like about 200-260 ug/m3 to us. A wee bit better than super spike we experienced on Monday, 6-7.30ish dense haze.

WussRedXLi

Some scientists did measurements before in 1997 for a research. They measured approx. 4000 ug/m3 before.

This video shows 5 metre visibility.
4000+ ug/m3 is legit.

15 Sep 2015

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.