AK120 appreciation thread

Jeremy1

Just wondering is there any DAP in the current market which is better than the AK120/DX100/HM901.

:s8:

spectral

The 24bits sure is better than the 16bits if ripping from the same source but DSD is still the best...................:s12:

I can't really hear the difference between AIFF and WAV format...........................:o

Think uncle getting old liao...................:(

At least u better than me, can't really hear the differences however hard I tried.
maybe ears spoilt by the many years of loud music

Jeremy1

At least u better than me, can't really hear the differences however hard I tried.

My ear also bad already after working in the Air Force during my NS time.....................:s22:

I think the difference between the 24bits, 16bits and DSD is quite obvious. But again, the source from where it's ripped is very important. If not, a 24bits is not better off than a 16bits.

Taeyeonie

I believe some people exaggerate on what they hear. I once did a blind test with my brother and let him guess is the song 16bit flac or 24bit flac. But I played an mp3 version. He guessed it was 24bit.

Sometimes It's your mind playing tricks with you. :)

Jeremy1

I believe some people exaggerate on what they hear. I once did a blind test with my brother and let him guess is the song 16bit flac or 24bit flac. But I played an mp3 version. He guessed it was 24bit.

Sometimes It's your mind playing tricks with you. :)

I am not surprise some MP3 files do sound excellent.

I think it's all about the source and how was it's ripped ( some software do let u play around with some sound tuning to suit one taste ).

But MP3 in 192K and 320K sound difference is not really great.

Jeremy1

Yes there is.

Red Wine Audio AK120-S and AK120-B.

:D

Can't really recalled that player brand mentioned by bro sidrpm here.................:o

I think it's from a Swiss company which is specialized on recording equipments..........................:s8:

Are u the brother who I asked question in Cathay Gramaphone ? :s8:

kenz

Can't really recalled that player brand mentioned by bro sidrpm here.................:o

I think it's from a Swiss company which is specialized on recording equipments..........................:s8:

Are u the brother who I asked question in Cathay Gramaphone ? :s8:

Err.. nope. Didn't manage to go to gramophone due to appointment. :(

It's actually a modification of the iRiver AK120 by Red Wine Audio. Said to be the best sounding portable player comparable to desktop class (price wise also comparable USD $1,995).

Jeremy1

Err.. nope. Didn't manage to go to gramophone due to appointment. :(

It's actually a modification of the iRiver AK120 by Red Wine Audio. Said to be the best sounding portable player comparable to desktop class (price wise also comparable USD $1,995).

Heard about it.

Think the AK120 got 2 mods. One, they changed the DACs and the other one they changed the player with a line out thus required a amp to listen.

sidrpm

Portable player from Swiss firm called Nagra. Out of production now, but highly sought after.

Sony digital recorders are also well regarded. They have just launched a new recorder which is dsd capable. Similarly Korg is another respected recorder/player.

fengwei

Sold the IE800 for these K3003i, don't know if I've made the right decision though:

AK120_K3003_zpsb9870aa0.jpg

The detail and soundstage w/ this K3003 are better, and its cable isn't making as much noise as the IE800's stiff cable, but I kinda miss the IE800's mid, although its bass can be overwhelming sometimes. For classical music (which I start to enjoy more lately), this AKG certainly has advantage over the Senn. IE800 I'd say :)

The other good match to the player is the Alessandro MS Pro which I'm very fond of lately, especially for strings and pianos, great for vocals too.

Taeyeonie

Sold the IE800 for these K3003i, don't know if I've made the right decision though:

AK120_K3003_zpsb9870aa0.jpg

The detail and soundstage w/ this K3003 are better, and its cable isn't making as much noise as the IE800's stiff cable, but I kinda miss the IE800's mid, although its bass can be overwhelming sometimes. For classical music (which I start to enjoy more lately), this AKG certainly has advantage over the Senn. IE800 I'd say :)

The other good match to the player is the MS Pro which I'm very fond of lately, especially for strings and pianos, great for vocals too.

Jin Satki sia!!! :eek: $1.6k earphones :s22::s22::s22: Stereo have demo for them right? :D I should try it soon. IMO all high end earphones that are $1000< should have detachable cables. It will be more attractive to buyers.

fengwei

Jin Satki sia!!! :eek: $1.6k earphones :s22::s22::s22: Stereo have demo for them right? :D I should try it soon. IMO all high end earphones that are $1000< should have detachable cables. It will be more attractive to buyers.

Yeah, I agree w/ you on the cable thing. But somehow most headphones/earphones I have left have fixed cables: T5p, MR Pro, K3003i. OMX980, MX985 ... The PFE 232 does have removable cables, but it's pretty hard to get third party or customized cables for it due to lack of users I guess.

Anyway, if used with care, those cables should last longer than the speakers/drives inside the housings :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.