AK120 appreciation thread

Taeyeonie

Cheaper. Got the whole package for for the price less than the ones quoted in Singapore and that includes shipping and taxes. That includes things that I wouldn't normally buy but they are a good addition anyways. :s22:

Which is how much?

BlurRhino

This is from the recent promo package from custom cables uk? That is a gd deal and i suppose with the release of the latest ak120ii, we should expect local dealers to dump their old stocks as well.. i hope.

delrosa81

Haiz, I just got my AK120 at 1399 2 weeks ago. I see now one of the local vendors are lelonging the ak120 at very low prices.....v sad.....

widget

Haiz, I just got my AK120 at 1399 2 weeks ago. I see now one of the local vendors are lelonging the ak120 at very low prices.....v sad.....

Care to share or PM me how much the local vendor is selling the AK120?
Cheers!

delrosa81

sinus123

Price...

Can PM me too the price for AK120... and where to get...

AK240 outta my budget...

AK120 or AK100II for that matter? Which one should i go for... :)

weng

Can PM me too the price for AK120... and where to get...

AK240 outta my budget...

AK120 or AK100II for that matter? Which one should i go for... :)
Ak120 and ak100ii sound very different from each other. Best is go test both to see which one you like. UI wise i prefer ak100ii. E1 would be a good place, they have both.

delrosa81

Ak120 and ak100ii sound very different from each other. Best is go test both to see which one you like. UI wise i prefer ak100ii. E1 would be a good place, they have both.

Have you tried both the Ak120 + AK100II??? I am very curious how the new AK100II compares to the AK100 or even AK120? The price differential between the AK100II and AK120II is 1k+ abit, AK100II being single dac where the AK120II is dual dac.

If the AK100II sounds better than the AK120 then AK100II is a better buy as it is even cheaper than the AK120. Hmmmm

weng

Have you tried both the Ak120 + AK100II??? I am very curious how the new AK100II compares to the AK100 or even AK120? The price differential between the AK100II and AK120II is 1k+ abit, AK100II being single dac where the AK120II is dual dac.

If the AK100II sounds better than the AK120 then AK100II is a better buy as it is even cheaper than the AK120. Hmmmm

yup went for 3 rounds of deliberations that lasted for maybe ~6hrs in total... cycling through ak120, ak100ii, ak120ii, ak240, x5 and zx1 (different combo on different occasions, not all daps each time).

long forgotten how the ak100 sounds.

ak100ii, 120ii and 240 are in the same signature family, with each model having better refinement and maybe separation/layering. i'm not really concerned about the single/dual dac thingy. for me i think the ak120ii is a rather pointless model that serves little purpose. the difference between the 3 is like.... ak100ii though not cheap, its built and aesthetics kinda made up for it, or at least most of it (and the rest is some extra carrot if you wanna think of it that way). still quite an accomplished player at that price point. not a heaven and earth difference from the 120ii, which makes it kinda boliao at double the price, where if you can afford the 120ii, imo should just bite the bullet go straight for the 240.

ak120 is still in a world of its own. the newer trio has the typical neutralish and slight brightish and airy sig. ak120 is warmer, darker and sounds more "studio". in some ways the trio may sound abit "digital" and the ak120 more "analogue". specifically between ak100ii and ak120 (which is my main interest), i think it's not a matter of which sounds better but rather down to sig preference. frankly i can live with either sig. detail wise i think they are pretty close. ak120's bass has more impact, but ak100ii's is slightly tighter and has better layering though leaner. since you have the 240, maybe can imagine the 100ii as a more blunt and loose 240 :s13:

for me i would like to have the ak100ii as an alternative to ak120. size is not bad (lesser head tumor compared to the 120ii :D), better looking casing (i dun like the croc-like skin of the 120ii), and sounds good enough to make the double-priced 120ii abit pointless.

as for zx1, i finally got to listen to my own songs. brought laptop to transfer. overall not bad but the bottom felt somewhat loose. can be a good bargain against the 100ii. however i don't really like the UI and the functions itself. many pple will like it la but what i'm looking for is a music player and that's it. the zx1 is too full featured lol. for simple and direct, the ak UI is still preferred.

x5 was one of the dap in all sessions. i would think its sig is closer to the cirrus-ed AKs than to the others. when i switched from ak100ii/120ii to x5, i always get the facepalm feeling. knn spend thousands on an ak but actually a sub 500 x5 would do the job so damn well. of cos certain aspects are still not there but it wasn't a win-all for the AKs either.

same goes for the zx1. the only gripe i have with x5 is the wheel.

ok abit disorganised impressions.... but agar agar get the idea i hope. conclusion is... status quo with ak120. again, it's in a world of its own :D. when warranty expires end of the year and if up lorry after that, i might consider the ak100ii. x5 remains possible but always holding back due to UI. looking forward to x7 though.

disclaimer: above are all my imo and are quite disorganised due to the number of daps heard over a short time. any disagreement pls feel free. just dun shoot me.

weng

Something to rejoice about for the AK120 owners, 2 well-respected reviewers graded the AK240 1st and AK120 2nd placing it ahead of even the AK100II and AK120II. Surprise surprise :)

Brand Spanking New A&K AK120II and AK100II - Page 37
Perhaps partly because it carries a rather different sig and hence has a good chance to appeal. Compared to the 100ii and 120ii, they will always feel like living in the shadows of the 240.

Questor

Since all the models are available for auditioning, best to hear for oneself. Everyone hears and thinks differently, although I feel we are describing similar things. :)

Here's my take:
- I don't feel AK100/AK120 is that much a step up above other DAPs in performance, but it has a smooth and darker signature which some may like. I find my ipod more engaging despite the poorer performance, no offense.

- AK240 then came out, and it has good performance - the best I have heard on a DAP. Signature-wise, although it is not dark sounding anymore and has nice balance in the low/mid/highs, it keeps with the smooth and relaxed sound character.

- AK100II I haven't heard, but AK120II I have used for months now and assume based on what has been said, it has similarities. The low/mid/high balance of the AK120II follows what you heard with AK240, but with lower performance. When I say performance, I mean things like sound-stage, imaging, refinement. However, character is different than the AK240 - it is more neutral and some might describe it as 'analytical'.

If you listen to things like electronic music or classical, you will probably appreciate the AK120II (and I assume AK100II). If you only listen to vocals, jazz, etc.. I feel the AK240 is the way to go.

As I listen to a very wide variety of genres, I find the AK240 not acceptable to me even though performance is better and the price difference is negligible to me.

If the AK100II is similar sounding to the AK120II, then it's a legitimate concern that one might feel it's not worth the price difference. However, it still doesn't displace the AK120II in my mind as the better performer for those looking for that sound character, like myself.. at least until something like a AK480 comes out. haha

The above of course depends on what headphone/earphones you listen to as the combinations will vary.

delrosa81

yup went for 3 rounds of deliberations that lasted for maybe ~6hrs in total... cycling through ak120, ak100ii, ak120ii, ak240, x5 and zx1 (different combo on different occasions, not all daps each time).

long forgotten how the ak100 sounds.

ak100ii, 120ii and 240 are in the same signature family, with each model having better refinement and maybe separation/layering. i'm not really concerned about the single/dual dac thingy. for me i think the ak120ii is a rather pointless model that serves little purpose. the difference between the 3 is like.... ak100ii though not cheap, its built and aesthetics kinda made up for it, or at least most of it (and the rest is some extra carrot if you wanna think of it that way). still quite an accomplished player at that price point. not a heaven and earth difference from the 120ii, which makes it kinda boliao at double the price, where if you can afford the 120ii, imo should just bite the bullet go straight for the 240.

ak120 is still in a world of its own. the newer trio has the typical neutralish and slight brightish and airy sig. ak120 is warmer, darker and sounds more "studio". in some ways the trio may sound abit "digital" and the ak120 more "analogue". specifically between ak100ii and ak120 (which is my main interest), i think it's not a matter of which sounds better but rather down to sig preference. frankly i can live with either sig. detail wise i think they are pretty close. ak120's bass has more impact, but ak100ii's is slightly tighter and has better layering though leaner. since you have the 240, maybe can imagine the 100ii as a more blunt and loose 240 :s13:

for me i would like to have the ak100ii as an alternative to ak120. size is not bad (lesser head tumor compared to the 120ii :D), better looking casing (i dun like the croc-like skin of the 120ii), and sounds good enough to make the double-priced 120ii abit pointless.

as for zx1, i finally got to listen to my own songs. brought laptop to transfer. overall not bad but the bottom felt somewhat loose. can be a good bargain against the 100ii. however i don't really like the UI and the functions itself. many pple will like it la but what i'm looking for is a music player and that's it. the zx1 is too full featured lol. for simple and direct, the ak UI is still preferred.

x5 was one of the dap in all sessions. i would think its sig is closer to the cirrus-ed AKs than to the others. when i switched from ak100ii/120ii to x5, i always get the facepalm feeling. knn spend thousands on an ak but actually a sub 500 x5 would do the job so damn well. of cos certain aspects are still not there but it wasn't a win-all for the AKs either.

same goes for the zx1. the only gripe i have with x5 is the wheel.

ok abit disorganised impressions.... but agar agar get the idea i hope. conclusion is... status quo with ak120. again, it's in a world of its own :D. when warranty expires end of the year and if up lorry after that, i might consider the ak100ii. x5 remains possible but always holding back due to UI. looking forward to x7 though.

disclaimer: above are all my imo and are quite disorganised due to the number of daps heard over a short time. any disagreement pls feel free. just dun shoot me.

Thanks for sharing, so detailed :)

Perhaps partly because it carries a rather different sig and hence has a good chance to appeal. Compared to the 100ii and 120ii, they will always feel like living in the shadows of the 240.

I would say that the AK120 is on its own but the AK100II and AK120II is developed with the mindset that it cannot outshine the AK240 due to product categorisation within the brand itself.

Since all the models are available for auditioning, best to hear for oneself. Everyone hears and thinks differently, although I feel we are describing similar things. :)

Here's my take:
- I don't feel AK100/AK120 is that much a step up above other DAPs in performance, but it has a smooth and darker signature which some may like. I find my ipod more engaging despite the poorer performance, no offense.

- AK240 then came out, and it has good performance - the best I have heard on a DAP. Signature-wise, although it is not dark sounding anymore and has nice balance in the low/mid/highs, it keeps with the smooth and relaxed sound character.

- AK100II I haven't heard, but AK120II I have used for months now and assume based on what has been said, it has similarities. The low/mid/high balance of the AK120II follows what you heard with AK240, but with lower performance. When I say performance, I mean things like sound-stage, imaging, refinement. However, character is different than the AK240 - it is more neutral and some might describe it as 'analytical'.

If you listen to things like electronic music or classical, you will probably appreciate the AK120II (and I assume AK100II). If you only listen to vocals, jazz, etc.. I feel the AK240 is the way to go.

As I listen to a very wide variety of genres, I find the AK240 not acceptable to me even though performance is better and the price difference is negligible to me.

If the AK100II is similar sounding to the AK120II, then it's a legitimate concern that one might feel it's not worth the price difference. However, it still doesn't displace the AK120II in my mind as the better performer for those looking for that sound character, like myself.. at least until something like a AK480 comes out. haha

The above of course depends on what headphone/earphones you listen to as the combinations will vary.

None taken, I for one feels the ZX-1 + PHA-2 outshines the AK120 by itself or when coupled with the E12DIY. Sound is subjective I would say though.

Questor

None taken, I for one feels the ZX-1 + PHA-2 outshines the AK120 by itself or when coupled with the E12DIY. Sound is subjective I would say though.

Very much a different category. :) I do like the ZX-1 + PHA-2 combination as well, had it for a short while. The ZX-1 by itself isn't as great though. Just IMO.

delrosa81

Very much a different category. :) I do like the ZX-1 + PHA-2 combination as well, had it for a short while. The ZX-1 by itself isn't as great though. Just IMO.

Hmmm ok. Yeah I always thought the zx-1 by itself is good but after comparing with and without pha-2 then I noticed the difference.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.