Another car caught fire today (Tampines)

SecretAgent

At least you have the balls to step forward and admit that.

Most other just ignore what I say and don't dare to comment or respond when I call them out for being sh|tty car owners.
I really knows the importance of over-servicing for the car.. engine oil is the most important blood supply for the "heart". I got spare e.o in my factory to top up

@Evcats ... EV also got liquid coolant circulating to cool the batteries even when the car is offline. Just found out for myself. Then the BMS is working all time non-stop monitoring the system too.

Emperor_Hippo

Not too long ago SCDF advising motorists to install fire extinguisher in their cars...

So our SCDF able to foresee uptick in number of vehicle fires using their satki AI tools?
Ehhhhh.... ur own car, ur own responsibility, u ownself go find out.

if things like these need outside ppl to remind and remind, something really wrong

Evcats

I really knows the importance of over-servicing for the car.. engine oil is the most important blood supply for the "heart". I got spare e.o in my factory to top up

@Evcats ... EV also got liquid coolant circulating to cool the batteries even when the car is offline. Just found out for myself. Then the BMS is working all time non-stop monitoring the system too.
:ROFLMAO: Fire risk is not on my mind at all when I choose/switch to EV. More EV education 🤣

keenklee

Wah bro, you kancheong about getting stuck in an EV ah? Let me explain why this is not just an EV problem, and why your ICE car might be worse:

1. EV Crash Safety

• EV Design: No engine in front = more crumple zone to absorb impact. If kena crash, EV structure steady pom pi pi.
  • Battery Protection: EV battery pack armored like tank. Even if crash, battery won’t explode or leak.

2. ICE Crash Safety

• Engine Block: In front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.
  • Fuel Tank: If rupture, petrol/diesel can leak and ignite. Kaboom = not just stuck, but roasted.

3. How to Get Out

• EV:
    • Door Handles: Some EVs (e.g., Tesla) have electronic door handles. If power cut, manual release lever inside.
    • Windows: Use emergency hammer (keep one in car) to break glass. EV windows same as ICE – smash can liao.
  • ICE:
    • Manual Doors: Easier to open, but if fuel leak, better run fast fast.
    • Windows: Same as EV – use hammer or elbow (if you strong like Bruce Lee).

4. Your “Important Research”

• Bro, if you really worried about getting stuck, maybe take MRT better. At least train got emergency exits. 😂
  • But if you must drive, keep an emergency hammer in your car. EV or ICE, same same lah.

Conclusion

EV or ICE, crash is crash. But EV design confirm safer in most scenarios. Just keep an emergency hammer, drive safe, and don’t anyhow tekan until habis.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

P.S. If you still scared, maybe buy a tank. Confirm won’t get stuck. 😎
IMHO.
I guess you will never hear got people died in a tank trying to get out ? :ROFLMAO:

Emperor_Hippo

IMHO.
I guess you will never hear got people died in a tank trying to get out ? :ROFLMAO:
makes me wonder if that ChatGPT guy even served NS bo? :s13:

Until there's an auto extinguisher for EVs and the whole money grab shiet show from EV Makers ends and they start producing seriously good stuff, instead of clearly trying to dump shiet on the Singapore Market cos they know sinkies are suckers for cars, i'll consider.

anyway, at nearly 50% depreciation rate for EVs, I'd say, EV go suck balls. no need to say alot, just go sgcarmart look at the price of an EQC 2nd with a few thousand K on it vs a brand new one frm C&C.

keenklee

makes me wonder if that ChatGPT guy even served NS bo? :s13:

Until there's an auto extinguisher for EVs and the whole money grab shiet show from EV Makers ends and they start producing seriously good stuff, instead of clearly trying to dump shiet on the Singapore Market cos they know sinkies are suckers for cars, i'll consider.

anyway, at nearly 50% depreciation rate for EVs, I'd say, EV go suck balls. no need to say alot, just go sgcarmart look at the price of an EQC 2nd with a few thousand K on it vs a brand new one frm C&C.
IMHO.
ICE makes more economical sense, but cannot stop people people from buying a car they like.
Like getting out of the EV, I read the switch is at the back seat. If you trapped by seat belt in front, GG already.
Say use hammer, have one in the car. ICE and Hybrid I recall can use the headrest.
I like the part where crash, the ICE engine any how fly.
The fella just mouthpiece, gives people a false sense of security.

P.S. I am just entertaining him to make him do more work.

Emperor_Hippo

IMHO.
ICE makes more economical sense, but cannot stop people people from buying a car they like.
Like getting out of the EV, I read the switch is at the back seat. If you trapped by seat belt in front, GG already.
Say use hammer, have one in the car. ICE and Hybrid I recall can use the headrest.
I like the part where crash, the ICE engine any how fly.
The fella just mouthpiece, gives people a false sense of security.

P.S. I am just entertaining him to make him do more work.
imo, the goon's too hopped up and high on positive psychology instead of having a dose of realism about the state of EVs.

yah, EV proponents keep saying that EV is the future. How about flying cars like the Jetsons? it doesn't seem to need any fuel, or the stone age car like Fred Flintstone, lagi greener.

and lets face it, our COE system is world renowned and car makers know jolly well how much suckers Sinkies are for cars. EV makers costs are $x to produce, but they jolly well know they can inflate the prices up 10 times to sell here as long as the price bracket for certain segments, inclusive of COE is capped at a price range of abt $160k to 195k for a Cat A car; and $220k to no-limit for a Cat B car.

knowing this math allows manufacturers to come screw us all. nuff said.

keenklee

imo, the goon's too hopped up and high on positive psychology instead of having a dose of realism about the state of EVs.

yah, EV proponents keep saying that EV is the future. How about flying cars like the Jetsons? it doesn't seem to need any fuel, or the stone age car like Fred Flintstone, lagi greener.

and lets face it, our COE system is world renowned and car makers know jolly well how much suckers Sinkies are for cars. EV makers costs are $x to produce, but they jolly well know they can inflate the prices up 10 times to sell here as long as the price bracket for certain segments, inclusive of COE is capped at a price range of abt $160k to 195k for a Cat A car; and $220k to no-limit for a Cat B car.

IMHO.
That is how the new generation will survive.
When we get a car, we kena screw left right centre by insurance, COE, road tax, petrol. :ROFLMAO:
The winners are those who know how to get discount.
We also let the distributor screw.... camry is 1/4 million. :ROFLMAO:
The, we get screwed by limited information, e.g. EV no need to pump petrol, just charge it over night. :ROFLMAO:

The system is working against us. No choice one.

Emperor_Hippo

IMHO.
When we get a car, we kena screw left right centre by insurance, COE, road tax, petrol. :ROFLMAO:
The, we get screwed by limited information, e.g. EV no need to pump petrol, just charge it over night. :ROFLMAO:

我命由我不由天

Evcats

Wah bro, you really kancheong about EVs ah? Let me address your points with facts and humor:

**1. NS and EV Knowledge

• You: “ChatGPT guy even served NS bo?”
  • Me: “Bro, whether serve NS or not, EV facts don’t change. Even Ah Beng workshop uncle know EV safer than ICE.” 😂. Just look at the number of ICE fires this week

**2. Auto Extinguisher for EVs

• EV Safety: EVs already have thermal management systems and battery monitoring to prevent fires. Auto extinguisher? Maybe in the future, but for now, SCDF got it covered.
  • ICE Fires: More common and harder to put out. You want auto extinguisher for ICE cars first?

**3. EV Makers “Dumping Shiet”

• SG Market: BYD, Tesla, Hyundai all selling EVs here because SG is a key market for green tech. Not because we suckers, but because we smart enough to see the benefits.
  • Quality: EVs like BYD Atto 3 and Tesla Model 3 are damn solid. You think LTA anyhow approve shiet cars meh?

**4. Depreciation Rates

• EQC Example: Yes, luxury EVs depreciate fast because early adopters pay premium. But mainstream EVs (e.g., BYD, Hyundai) hold value better.
  • ICE Depreciation: Petrol cars also depreciate like crazy, especially with rising COE and petrol prices.

**5. Humor Break

• You: “EV go suck balls!”
  • Me: “Bro, your ICE car also sucking your wallet dry with petrol and maintenance. EV at least cheaper to run and greener.”

Conclusion

EVs are the future, whether you like it or not. If you reallywant to stick to ICE, go ahead – but don’t anyhow bash EVs without facts.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...e-charging-private-homes-condominiums-4977941

The extension comes amid a significant rise in EV adoption. In 2024, EVs accounted for about one-third of all new cars registered, up from 18 per cent in 2023. About half of new light goods vehicle registrations were also EVs.

As of end-2024, electric cars and light goods vehicles made up 4 per cent and 4.7 per cent of their respective total vehicle populations.

The EV charging network has also continued to expand, said Dr Khor, with more than 19,000 charging points islandwide, close to half of which are publicly accessible.

More than 60 per cent of HDB car parks are equipped with EV chargers, she added.

"We have made good progress, and will ensure all HDB residents who own or wish to own an EV have convenient access to a charger near their homes," she said.

the future of EV is more than real in SG :ROFLMAO:

kyokoto

Actually a lot of people have misconception. Hybrid, vs full gasoline powered vs EV cars when it comes to fire incidents. We must understand, Frequency vs Severity.

- Hybrid cars catch fire more often due to a combination of gasoline + batteries and it's electrical system

- Full gasoline comes next

- EV is lowest likely.

BUT! When it comes to the severity of the fire, EV is most jialat.

Evcats

IMHO.

Wah bro, you really kancheong about getting screwed by the system ah? Let me break it down for you with facts and humor:

**1. ICE Car Costs

• COE: $100k+ for a piece of paper. Confirm kena chop carrot.
  • Petrol: 2.50/Landrising.Everymonth2.50/Landrising.Everymonth300–$500 just to pump.
  • Maintenance: Engine oil, spark plugs, timing belt – all wallet cry father cry mother.

**2. EV Costs

• Charging: 0.28/kWhathome= 0.28/kWhathome= 50/month. Public charging? Still cheaper than petrol.
  • Maintenance: No engine, no gearbox, no oil changes. Just tyres, brakes, and air-con.
  • Road Tax: Yes, higher now, but gahmen confirm adjust once EV adoption increases.

**3. Distributor Markups

• Camry $250k: Yes, distributors anyhow markup, but EVs like BYD Atto 3 offer better value at similar prices.
  • Limited Info: EV no need pump petrol = fact, not screwing. Charge at home overnight = convenient, not scam.

**4. Humor Break

• You: “The system is working against us!”
  • Me: “Bro, if you think ICE car screwing you, wait until you see ERP 3.0. EV at least can avoid some costs.” 😂

Conclusion

Yes, the system screws everyone – but EVs are less painfulin the long run. Cheaper to run, less maintenance, and greener for the environment.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

keenklee

Wah bro, you really kancheong about getting screwed by the system ah? Let me break it down for you with facts and humor:

**1. ICE Car Costs

• COE: $100k+ for a piece of paper. Confirm kena chop carrot.
  • Petrol: 2.50/Landrising.Everymonth2.50/Landrising.Everymonth300–$500 just to pump.
  • Maintenance: Engine oil, spark plugs, timing belt – all wallet cry father cry mother.

**2. EV Costs

• Charging: 0.28/kWhathome= 0.28/kWhathome= 50/month. Public charging? Still cheaper than petrol.
  • Maintenance: No engine, no gearbox, no oil changes. Just tyres, brakes, and air-con.
  • Road Tax: Yes, higher now, but gahmen confirm adjust once EV adoption increases.

**3. Distributor Markups

• Camry $250k: Yes, distributors anyhow markup, but EVs like BYD Atto 3 offer better value at similar prices.
  • Limited Info: EV no need pump petrol = fact, not screwing. Charge at home overnight = convenient, not scam.

**4. Humor Break

• You: “The system is working against us!”
  • Me: “Bro, if you think ICE car screwing you, wait until you see ERP 3.0. EV at least can avoid some costs.” 😂

Conclusion

Yes, the system screws everyone – but EVs are less painfulin the long run. Cheaper to run, less maintenance, and greener for the environment.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡
IMHO.
In here, only you kancheong to say I kancheong.
I buy car also not kancheong one. Just go there once and place order.

Evcats

Wah bro, you anyhow hantam with Jetsons and Flintstonesah? Let me bring you back to reality with facts and humor:

**1. EVs vs Flying Cars

• EVs: Exist today, with real tech cutting emissions and saving you petrol $$$.
  • Flying Cars: Still in Marvel movies. Even if they exist, COE for flying car confirm $1M+, and ERP in the sky wallet cry father cry mother.

**2. COE System

• World-Renowned Screwage: Yes, COE is a golden ticket to debt. But EVs at least save you fuel and maintenance costs long-term.
  • Price Inflation: EV makers anyhow markup? BYD Atto 3 (150k)vsToyotaCamryHybrid(150k)vsToyotaCamryHybrid(200k). Which one chop carrot more?

**3. EV Realism

• Not Perfect: EVs have issues (charging time, battery life), but they’re improving fast.
  • Greener: Even if powered by natural gas, EVs are 3x more efficient than ICE.

Conclusion

The system screws everyone, but EVs screw you less over time. If you really want to kancheong, fight for COE reform – but until then, EVs are the lesser evil.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

IMHO.
In 2024, EVs accounted for about one-third of all new cars registered, up from 18 per cent in 2023. About half of new light goods vehicle registrations were also EVs.

(y)

Emperor_Hippo

IMHO.
amen brother, amen.

those who jjww the most prob don't own jackshiet or have the least real world experience, cos they'll put textbook facts as real world facts.

kinda reminds me of my 10yr old whenever my kid reads something off magazines or books and comes to me to fact check and to do research.

other 10yr old simply rattle off textbook theory.

ProLogic

IMHO.
There is one important research you need to do. If you get stuck inside a particular EV, how to get out.
Looking for EV with eject feature nao!:o

iAYnWu.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.