Another CPF supporter

lls0101

Tell that to
@crimsontactics
who has 34 years to go before the payout

There are also young folks who like CPF. But are they in the minority or majority? I have no statistics so I can't comment on that.

fortunecat

People always thought they can invest and get better returns than CPF. Sure there are many people who can do it but the vast majority of people will either just let the money sit in banks or lose money in "investment".

The fact is the govt has to formulate policies based on the majority of people, and not based on the few capable ones :o

yokine3a

Hoarding in CPF is a huge gamble. Most people will kenna health issues after 60. You cant travel that often, cant eat fancy that often, too old to do too much stuff also.
That's why cpflife is meant for daily expenses and medical bills, not for travel, fancy food or whatsoever. Wanna do it? Use spare cash.

Southern Lights

For future planning, I have to project for our retirement
You no kids and don't plan to have one, plus you can tahan renting out your rooms for passive income, your retirement should be ok lah.

Me is jialat. 1 infant, 1 toddler and renting out rooms is no no for my wife and I.

lls0101

Younger folks’s HDB is not that cheap like hers…. As they likely use a lot CPF saving for housing…and that is why they KPKB…
:ROFLMAO:

To be fair, her income during those time are also fairly low.

i wonder if there is a statistics that compared medium income and 4-room flats over the last 30-40 years. Having such ratio statistics will make our statements more factual.

I do feel the younger folks have it rougher than me who is in the early 40s, in term of CPF accumulation and retirement planning. But it's just a feel. Don't have the statistics to back it up.

1982-1994

You no kids and don't plan to have one, plus you can tahan renting out your rooms for passive income, your retirement should be ok lah.
If the jab is mandatory, I'm going to nua at home forever liao though my wife sure pro-PAP one
So rental for me alone is doable
Me is jialat. 1 infant, 1 toddler and renting out rooms is no no for my wife and I.
Like I said before ,at least you have your children to send two of you off someday
While my wife and I will have no good ending

yokine3a

ye si know, but it has been moving before she turned 55. Anyway she is single and is contributing to her accounts. So no issue for her.
It has been moving almost nonstop. With current high inflation rate, the yearly increment is going to be even higher in future, youngsters need to worry liao, $1M FRS may come sooner than expected.

kebinu

cannot always use the lowest and current point to compare imo. there can be people cannot keep up to such return even if they invest in S&P500 for past 10-20 years.

Very hard to say for USA market also, past 50 years is so good, next 50 years, if still grow at 10% a year, can imagine DJI need to hit 50k points liao. If it goes sideway like STI, then also bo return.

CPF is guaranteed 4.08% now +1% +1% for first $x.

Withdraw age can be pushed back with retirement age, but it won't be too overboard till 70ish also imo.

Knightoftheblackrose

cannot always use the lowest and current point to compare imo. there can be people cannot keep up to such return even if they invest in S&P500 for past 10-20 years.

Very hard to say for USA market also, past 50 years is so good, next 50 years, if still grow at 10% a year, can imagine DJI need to hit 50k points liao. If it goes sideway like STI, then also bo return.

CPF is guaranteed 4.08% now +1% +1% for first $x.

Withdraw age can be pushed back with retirement age, but it won't be too overboard till 70ish also imo.

From the same statistics link, even short 5 years return is 10.5%

Years Averaged
(as of the end of
September 2023)
Stock Market Average Return per Year
(Dividends Reinvested)
Average Return with
Dividends Reinvested &
Inflation Adjusted
150 Years9.199%6.895%
100 Years10.53%7.389%
50 Years10.757%6.59%
30 Years9.862%7.146%
20 Years9.66%6.915%
10 Years12.078%9.066%
5 Years10.495%6.221%

Southern Lights

If the jab is mandatory, I'm going to nua at home forever liao though my wife sure pro-PAP one
So rental for me alone is doable

Like I said before ,at least you have your children to send two of you off someday
While my wife and I will have no good ending
I also worry about the jab. Because I experienced shyt on my very first P jab. In the end, I settled for Sino for my 2nd and 3rd.

On the child thing, no right or wrong one. As long as you find that you live your life meaningfully, that's most important. But hor, don't say too early. There's always something call accident 😂. Dakota Breeze and Pine Vista fengshui very good for breeding hor. There are so many newborns in these 2 years. I know because Im in those parent groups.

lifeafter41

Should invest in tbills minimally. Bless her retirement, hope she doesn't set such low standards for herself in money management...

OA - should consider T-bills, or FD. Better interest rate….. :ROFLMAO:
I think got put in T bill, remember he was telling moi will go buyed the Jan 2023 T bill.
Not sure how much was bought though……

GuiGuZi

I'm also a supporter of CPF. If there isn't CPF, I would have spent a lot more (or lost more in investments) during my younger days and much poorer now.

JAson1980

It has been moving almost nonstop. With current high inflation rate, the yearly increment is going to be even higher in future, youngsters need to worry liao, $1M FRS may come sooner than expected.
yeah i worry for my son.

wutawa

Colleague is >55yo and she projected her payout to be $2+k
She said the CPF system is very good and she doesn't understand why are there so many naysayers
She does top up but never said how often she does it

She's confident gahmen would never change the policy or extend the withdrawal age for fear of citizens changing votes

Anyway she doesn't have much savings, but she felt happy upon looking at her CPF

View attachment 44368

I'm surprised she is savvy about CPF
She felt shiok every end of the year to receive the interests

But don't think she's an edmwer

Oh she mentioned the new cap limit of MA is $71500
Cpf is supposed to give back at 55yo, not for just looking at the balance after 55yo.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.