Any good renovation contractors to intro

mryang

Thanks for sharing. In reality most ID/ cobtractors contractual terms leave no room for negotiations.
Unless you change scope of work.
For me I only want simple no fantasy so I no need ID designer. With id designer your renovation cost will be more higher. Of cos also depends on seller like me my seller is pu boh kia. 😡😡😡 Last day hanging over unit key till add number lock and dented the window grill. Knn

Magnificent7

My payment schedule is
10% upon inking of contract.
40% start work.
35% a upon 80% completion of carpentry & other items
10% 2 days before delivery of carpentry work items
5% upon handover.

Plus given the schedule can do checking
BTW your contractor went to your house to take measurements to provide you with the quotation or went after your initial payment to take measurements to confirm quoted dimensions?

EJB

So good better than mine really knn. Maybe they sold to less than 5.6% of the last transaction that happens to be on the same floor and same size .😡😡 Then where does the owner stay ?🤔
The owners have already moved out, when I viewed the house it was already empty. There were quite a few around the area, all downsized and moved already. So I could get indemnity form to start work before completion.

mryang

The owners have already moved out, when I viewed the house it was already empty. There were quite a few around the area, all downsized and moved already. So I could get indemnity form to start work before completion.
Wow really very lucky for you

mryang

BTW your contractor went to your house to take measurements to provide you with the quotation or went after your initial payment to take measurements to confirm quoted dimensions?
For me I take video first and then ask what need to be done and do some research what Reno or scope of work involved then filter out what I want without id designer suggestions.
Next send it to a few Reno contractor and ask quotation. From there filter out again comparison between the information given before asking them down for site survey and assessment. Also take consideration that the cost will revive up. That is my plan but my pu boh seller keep deny the site survey until last minute then let me go down. Can only arrange two Reno contractor only.😡

Plus the quotation given make sure is clear and with details also.

That why from the start when you go viewing hse must start taking video liao

EJB

Wow really very lucky for you
Was just pure luck, some I viewed still haven't moved, this one happened to moved already and I could move in immediately. Just needed the keys.

VonDeVous

My payment schedule is
40% start work.
35% a upon 80% completion of carpentry & other items
10% 2 days before delivery of carpentry work items
5% upon handover.

Plus given the schedule can do checking
mine n mryang about same.

15-40-40-5

remaining stuffs eg. lights, taps, w.c are self buy / not include in contractor charges.

the bill will not be final, when u realise in midway u wana add this, change this or that. or u think not worth to make some parts, need to inform earlier to see can work out or not.
then add into the bill

mryang

mine n mryang about same.

15-40-40-5

remaining stuffs eg. lights, taps, w.c are self buy / not include in contractor charges.

the bill will not be final, when u realise in midway u wana add this, change this or that. or u think not worth to make some parts, need to inform earlier to see can work out or not.
then add into the bill
Consider as accessories liao tape , light and wash basin

baobei0429

My payment schedule is
45% start work.
40% upon completion of carpentry works.
5% upon handover.

I did try to negotiate the payment terms, but there isn't much to be discussed as they needed the cashflow to get the work done and order materials, it's one hand in, one hand out immediately. So much as I tried, most won't be willing to budge.

I had another one is
10% ink contract
20% upon start works
40% upon completion wet works
25% (1 week before carpentry works delivery)
5% upon handover.

This one is more 'after work complete' payment but their price is very high in the quotation.

Both contractors (and all I interviewed) were recommended and used by friends, so more or less still trustworthy. It's a hefty gamble to take depending on your renovation amount. Mine is about $108K (top ID) and $135K (bottom ID). I honestly am not comfortable also but they need the money to pay their subcons to start work. So...
Me too would be uncomfortable with such a payment term. Being a common industry standard is one thing, but being reasonable is another. At the end of the day, if flat-owner denies payment, reno company still knows where to spray red paint (figuratively speaking) the next 5 yrs (since cannot sell for new BTO). But if reno company ran, then? CASE? Useless.

EJB

Me too would be uncomfortable with such a payment term. Being a common industry standard is one thing, but being reasonable is another. At the end of the day, if flat-owner denies payment, reno company still knows where to spray red paint (figuratively speaking) the next 5 yrs (since cannot sell for new BTO). But if reno company ran, then? CASE? Useless.
Haha... IKR... if it's 20k reno, not so worried, mine is at $100K now, 55% upon ink + start work, that's 55K.

It's a risk lor, since all IDs are quoting me (nearly) the same milestones and being a PM myself, I find it's still reasonable milestones, and so far, since inking, they have been rather responsive and addresses my concerns duly. Hope it's a peace of mind.

knight27

Been contact with a few renov company. Keep asking me what design I prefer. I say I no need designer.
Mainly:
1. Painting and plastering
2. Electricity rewiring
3. plumbing work for sink area & baths
4. Aircon and water heater .
5. Change of doors and metal gate
6. Kitchen cabinets refurbished
can send me contact?

qhong61

They want payment. Not to spray red paint.

mryang

The secret to a successful renovation process: 6 ways to better manage expectations with your ID

Read more 📍 https://bit.ly/3SyNw1W

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates.

olddude

Any bros / sis, can share with me direct contractors contact please.
Thanks in advance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.