Votes: 6 30.0%
  • Buy 3 bedder condo in you location

Votes: 11 55.0%
  • Rent

Votes: 1 5.0%

• Total voters

happydonkey

Buy pte freehold at further outskirts. Maybe like amk/yck area. My friend is agent. Think there's some Pty at affordable prices last I heard from her. Don't recall what it's called though. I rem she told me freehold and 2bd only 850-950 range. So my guess is a 3bed is abt 1.1-1.2. But u need to go find out Cox it's new pty not sure if still have any left.

She says the rest of the places can't get freehold at this price.

Eventually depends on where you stay. She told me got one in tampines super price like ec prices but Pte condo but I think is 99years type. But I don't stay that area so not very familiar. Think launching soon maybe u can go Facebook and have a look. Now they like to Mkt Pty on FB. If interested pass u her contact. But erm not sure if she's marketing that project. Haha only hear from her.

Any sandwich class couples here?
Exceed EC income ceiling but feel that condo too ex?:(
Instead of complaining what is gahmen doing to help us, let's share ideas?

Will you..
A) buy $1M resale flat in good locations (Duxton, Toa payoh, Tiong Bahru)
B) buy shoebox 2 bedder condo in good location (Orchard, River Valley, City Fringe)
C) buy bigger 3 bedder condo in ulu location (Pasir Ris, Pioneer, Yishun)
D) Rent

PostCountWarrior[+1]

None of the above. Buy a normal 3 bed room or 4 bed room resale flat which is between $300-$500k. Why do we need to stress ourselves
i did this, but then again i think its my background...

wife n my jobs are not stable type, dont dare to whack too much in property.... or maybe its just us being paranoid, my colleagues stay in condo or landed...

I grew up in a hdb and not familiar with condo... also feel maintenance fee abit high...

also grew up in a family without car, so I also dont own one... parking at my office is super expensive.... also not sure if it makes sense to not have a car but still live in a condo and pay maintenance fees.

end up i bought a resale near my parents, with 20k grant proximity grant and downtown line mrt below my house. 550k (before grant) house with less than 20yrs old. With the age and distance to mrt, i forecast I wont lose that much next time if I want to sell.

if unluckily, I get fired and below hdb income ceiling one day, I will apply BTO, maybe something around 300k and fully paid up, and be stress free.

if savings permit in the future, looking for a small condo in the outskirts (to experience condo life) and move there while renting the HDB unit. HDB rental yields is one of the highest in Singapore. I think everyone should own one HDB (just make sure you do your research before buying resale). Also looking at property developments around Malaysia. Hoping for a property correction there.

everyone is different... some grew up in central, want to stay central. some grew up in family with car so car is the norm. some grew up in condo also, will not look at hdb. so really depends...

labixiaoxin

Buy pte freehold at further outskirts. Maybe like amk/yck area. My friend is agent. Think there's some Pty at affordable prices last I heard from her. Don't recall what it's called though. I rem she told me freehold and 2bd only 850-950 range. So my guess is a 3bed is abt 1.1-1.2. But u need to go find out Cox it's new pty not sure if still have any left.

She says the rest of the places can't get freehold at this price.

Eventually depends on where you stay. She told me got one in tampines super price like ec prices but Pte condo but I think is 99years type. But I don't stay that area so not very familiar. Think launching soon maybe u can go Facebook and have a look. Now they like to Mkt Pty on FB. If interested pass u her contact. But erm not sure if she's marketing that project. Haha only hear from her.

someone ban this agent. can smell from a mile away

happydonkey

someone ban this agent. can smell from a mile away

hello, you all asking for feedback i cannot give feedback? if im an agent i will tell u right away what to buy and buy the most expensive one and i will also give contact immediately.
im answering to his qns, buy outskirts. Like i say i dont even know the pty names. i cannot be friends of successful agents who also help me with my investment and feel that they are reliable?

i like to to buy overseas pty because its cheap. Besides, the agents in this forum all come out clean. you go click on the forest wood, they just outrightly promote the property. why need to hide if im one?

this forum really full of weird people, in another thread i supported buying of insurance policies and want to recommend my agent, they say i agent. here say i property agent. I also commented on the Fixed deposit etc and overseas FD, so i banker?

SG cannot have pty agent as insurance agent at the same time? also i dont think banker can do part time for either property or insurance.

Im confused, so which identity should i hold? If you all cannot take actual feedback then why bother posting?

happydonkey

to add on to your post
1) HDB resale, do you know u dont own HDB as property, you are just a lessee when you buy from HDB. Its known as a lease term.Also, do u think u can sell at 1.2mil after paying 1mil for it? if buy hdb resale, buy somewhere that is less than 600K.
2) Buying central location pty - go read up about rental yield and capital gain. Then observe and tell me if you think its worth it. You got to think abt future, what if u need to sell because someone lost a job etc?
3) Rent - thats even more ridiculous. why rent? the rental is higher than paying for a property you can own.

4) i am asking you to buy freehold in fringe, you think easy to find? if cannot find it make sense if you can find a bigger pte pty in outskirts. Why? if you watch National Day rally, they are so many talks about regional centre. Do you know jurong price as sky rocketed?

Perhaps its good if you keep up with current affairs before bashing someone who is trying to give you some honest opinions.

happydonkey

Your statements 2 and 3 don't tally

Sent from LGE LG-H818 using GAGT

statement 2 is refer to orchard condo he is asking abt. do u know now rental yield in central is terrible, or rather not much rental happening.

statement 3 i seriously dont think anyone in SG will rent a pty if they can afford one. buying pty actually hedges against inflation.

Uncle A bought hdb at $30K in 1960s
Uncle B put $30K in bank in 1960s
Uncle C hide $30K under pillow in 1960s.

in 2000, Uncle A if he sell his flat, then he rent to retire. he will still have a sum of money. Pty prices caught up with inflation.
in 2000, uncle B take out his $30K + interest, barely enough to survie or cannot survive but still have excess. at least theres some growth
in 2000, uncle C hide $30k, it remain as $30K. Renting is worse. U pay $30k for rent over the years, u end up spending the $30k, not having any interest, definitely cannot hedge against inflation.

so either he save the money and buy a cheaper resale or get a outskirt condo.

Broadwalk

Broadwalk spotted

Come on lah! :o I aim landed or Principal garden one. :o Else just go for slumest HDB. :o Rule of game either LOW to bottom else PEAK to the sky. :o I am also want be atas one. :o Btw I earn 3800 and single so I dare to go for it. :o As for your future wife to be don't count your eggs too soon. :o She might cheat behind you. :o

lee_tired_sheep

statement 2 is refer to orchard condo he is asking abt. do u know now rental yield in central is terrible, or rather not much rental happening.

statement 3 i seriously dont think anyone in SG will rent a pty if they can afford one. buying pty actually hedges against inflation.

Uncle A bought hdb at $30K in 1960s
Uncle B put $30K in bank in 1960s
Uncle C hide $30K under pillow in 1960s.

in 2000, Uncle A if he sell his flat, then he rent to retire. he will still have a sum of money. Pty prices caught up with inflation.
in 2000, uncle B take out his $30K + interest, barely enough to survie or cannot survive but still have excess. at least theres some growth
in 2000, uncle C hide $30k, it remain as $30K. Renting is worse. U pay $30k for rent over the years, u end up spending the $30k, not having any interest, definitely cannot hedge against inflation.

so either he save the money and buy a cheaper resale or get a outskirt condo.
Again, 2 and 3 don't tally. In 2 you're talking about what people should do, in 3, you're talking about what people actually do (or refrain from doing, as the case may be).

Logically, either rental yield is low and renting is therefore the better deal, or rental yield is high and buying is therefore worth the better deal.

Lss

Again, 2 and 3 don't tally. In 2 you're talking about what people should do, in 3, you're talking about what people actually do (or refrain from doing, as the case may be).

Logically, either rental yield is low and renting is therefore the better deal, or rental yield is high and buying is therefore worth the better deal.

2 makes sense if the people renting are either not locals, not savvy, or are willing to pay a premium to stay in the location for a short duration.

renting is and will never be cheaper than purchasing if you are able to buy.

happydonkey

okay fine, so if you all got all these concepts right are u an agent?

anyway i duno how to compare when its rental vs purchase apple to apple. i dun get what you are trying to say honestly? im just giving my opinion it doesnt need to be right? So in my point of view my personal statement 1 is the best, because to me doesnt make sense buying a central property with low potential capital gain and low rental yield. Unless u can get it wayyyyy below mkt rate. So i cannot have my point of view to buy outskirts? if im agent encourage u to buy central, what makes u think the agent dont have stock on hand?

so shd he rent now since rental yield is low, means cheap rental.

the way he asked the qns, it sounds long term more than short term.

whats your take on this mr right?

lee_tired_sheep

2 makes sense if the people renting are either not locals, not savvy, or are willing to pay a premium to stay in the location for a short duration.

renting is and will never be cheaper than purchasing if you are able to buy.
False. Thought experiment... Would you rent a 800k shoebox for 5k/month? Would you rent a 30m GCB for 5k/month? Clearly there exists a spectrum where on one end renting is a no brainer, and on the other end buying is a no brainer, and somewhere in the middle, depending on individual cost of capital and time value of money-making, lies a typing point.

lee_tired_sheep

okay fine, so if you all got all these concepts right are u an agent?

anyway i duno how to compare when its rental vs purchase apple to apple. i dun get what you are trying to say honestly? im just giving my opinion it doesnt need to be right? So in my point of view my personal statement 1 is the best, because to me doesnt make sense buying a central property with low potential capital gain and low rental yield. Unless u can get it wayyyyy below mkt rate. So i cannot have my point of view to buy outskirts? if im agent encourage u to buy central, what makes u think the agent dont have stock on hand?

so shd he rent now since rental yield is low, means cheap rental.

the way he asked the qns, it sounds long term more than short term.

whats your take on this mr right?
No, I am an investment analyst on the buy side. What that means is that my job is to allocate capital in the pursuit of highest risk adjusted returns. In this world, the carry trade is probably the most well known capital allocation play, in which you take capital away from low yields, and allocate them into high yield. Reducing this down to the property market, if the environment is low yield, you don't allocate capital there. If it's high yield you do.

kyteo79

I'm more trapped. Wife to be earns 5x more than me and owns a small private apt. Her salary alone enough to hit the ceiling. So bto or maybe resales is out of question. And her current private also too small for a family.

So with my miser low salary, I'm forced to look at 3 br private or should I wait for when I'm 35 to buy a resale before marriage. Dilemma

if you want the bigger size & cheaper deal, go for resale ...

if you want new, then go for new condos

Sinkie

if you want the bigger size & cheaper deal, go for resale ...

if you want new, then go for new condos

Looking at resales condo now bcos I scare once I bought a resales hdb first and rom immediately, then they change rule and I'm forced to sell my resales nia

kyteo79

i did this, but then again i think its my background...

wife n my jobs are not stable type, dont dare to whack too much in property.... or maybe its just us being paranoid, my colleagues stay in condo or landed...

I grew up in a hdb and not familiar with condo... also feel maintenance fee abit high...

also grew up in a family without car, so I also dont own one... parking at my office is super expensive.... also not sure if it makes sense to not have a car but still live in a condo and pay maintenance fees.

end up i bought a resale near my parents, with 20k grant proximity grant and downtown line mrt below my house. 550k (before grant) house with less than 20yrs old. With the age and distance to mrt, i forecast I wont lose that much next time if I want to sell.

if unluckily, I get fired and below hdb income ceiling one day, I will apply BTO, maybe something around 300k and fully paid up, and be stress free.

if savings permit in the future, looking for a small condo in the outskirts (to experience condo life) and move there while renting the HDB unit. HDB rental yields is one of the highest in Singapore. I think everyone should own one HDB (just make sure you do your research before buying resale). Also looking at property developments around Malaysia. Hoping for a property correction there.

everyone is different... some grew up in central, want to stay central. some grew up in family with car so car is the norm. some grew up in condo also, will not look at hdb. so really depends...

Thanks for your contribution. I am thinking alone the same line as you b4 that last year dec. Buy the same blok with my parent place and keep it vacant 5 room at 400k. maybe a reno 100k and it will be solid. even with 200k down from cpf plus cash, easy life shake leg use cpf to pay the house.
But end of the day i ask myself will i get lazy in future with this style ?

i ask myself do i like HDB ? i love HDB house but not the personnel whom runs the carparks in my estate. Is my MP taking care of us ? Is my conservancy charges put into good use ? is there mosquitoes here and will my MP fog the place if there is a complaint ?

i realized as much as i love HDB and my estate there is a deficiency. There is always badminton. There is fingerpointing and also smoke and silence when they cannot answer you.

In the same estate i check the 5 rooms, excutive and private condos, there prices is very big difference. Will make sense to get a 5 room.

However in another estate nearby, 850k for a executive (no grant), a five room condo is 1 mil mark. and this make sense to go for a private. I have just got my keys and paid my taxes and building and maintenance and sinking funds. Make very very very small difference, maybe a taxi fare difference from west to airport only per month. these money is for maintaining facilities & carpark charges etc ..

Is it better to do so rather than give it to XXX and end of the day every day i need to drive up 5 levels to park ? is it better that i tell the security " boss i need to unload my bowling balls or cny goodies so i use the loading /unloading bay for 1 hour ... if anything pls call me ?

if you kana HDB carpark, they are hungry, they just slap you with a summon and ask you pay the fine. even you are a season parking holder.
MSCP show you the signage to wash at loading and unloading while they allow blangla to wash there in the lots. bring water up and down in the lift wetting the floors ... damaging the lifts...

then again tell you they need more money more money ...

i am sick with their smoke and stories ...

kyteo79

Looking at resales condo now bcos I scare once I bought a resales hdb first and rom immediately, then they change rule and I'm forced to sell my resales nia

dun understand why u need to sell yr resale when u rom ...

kyteo79

Like to add ...

I meant several ID over these couple of weeks and they are surprised i am buying this as single...

End of the day as i mentioned ...

1) Supply and demand of HDB
2) Population of Singapore forthcoming
3) Locations at keypoints of Singapore
4) Rental possibility ? Yes no tenants for my flat for 1 months (so what?)
5) Purpose ? (hedge against inflation - and risk that i cant afford a property in
future)
6) Individual ego ? Individual needs ? Individual risk
7) jobless tomorrow ? (can i afford to keep for next 4 years ?) Losses ? (yah - maybe how much losses ? 100k 150k ?)

Sinkie

Thanks for your contribution. I am thinking alone the same line as you b4 that last year dec. Buy the same blok with my parent place and keep it vacant 5 room at 400k. maybe a reno 100k and it will be solid. even with 200k down from cpf plus cash, easy life shake leg use cpf to pay the house.
But end of the day i ask myself will i get lazy in future with this style ?

i ask myself do i like HDB ? i love HDB house but not the personnel whom runs the carparks in my estate. Is my MP taking care of us ? Is my conservancy charges put into good use ? is there mosquitoes here and will my MP fog the place if there is a complaint ?

i realized as much as i love HDB and my estate there is a deficiency. There is always badminton. There is fingerpointing and also smoke and silence when they cannot answer you.

In the same estate i check the 5 rooms, excutive and private condos, there prices is very big difference. Will make sense to get a 5 room.

However in another estate nearby, 850k for a executive (no grant), a five room condo is 1 mil mark. and this make sense to go for a private. I have just got my keys and paid my taxes and building and maintenance and sinking funds. Make very very very small difference, maybe a taxi fare difference from west to airport only per month. these money is for maintaining facilities & carpark charges etc ..

Is it better to do so rather than give it to XXX and end of the day every day i need to drive up 5 levels to park ? is it better that i tell the security " boss i need to unload my bowling balls or cny goodies so i use the loading /unloading bay for 1 hour ... if anything pls call me ?

if you kana HDB carpark, they are hungry, they just slap you with a summon and ask you pay the fine. even you are a season parking holder.
MSCP show you the signage to wash at loading and unloading while they allow blangla to wash there in the lots. bring water up and down in the lift wetting the floors ... damaging the lifts...

then again tell you they need more money more money ...

i am sick with their smoke and stories ...

Wah which region you live in? My area resales for 4 rooms is closed to $600,000

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.