Anyone here staying in 2 room BTO?

Should we move it to HomeSeekers and HomeMakers?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Ms Huzzy

if you free can recall the jb price of stuff you buy often only. do feel free to post. dont have also nvm

me lazy to go JB. so i have no idea JB price
Most of my trips must consist Famous Amos choc chips cookies
In Sg, 100gm is $6.00, in JB 300gm is RM32.90 - roughly less than $10
Pezzo pizza whole pan is RM45 compared to $5-6 per slice over here
Roti boy RM15.20 for 5 buns, over here is $1.60 per bun
My next trip to JB, I'll let you know all your listed items
The best part is I bought a non stick pan at Mr DIY that's cost me about RM75, the same one I saw at Mr DIY westgate is $53. I don't think twice and carry that pan back to Choa Chu Kang :ROFLMAO:

wongminmin

the stuff i buy NTUC is the last on my list

NTUC: Dettol Anti-Bacterial Bar Soap - Original $6.50
i get for $2.70 (Swanston or value shop)

NTUC brand FairPrice Macadamia (150gram) from AUST $8.92 = 1kg = $59.47
i get for $39 per 1kg from AUST (4 horse road)

NTUC : Atlantic Salmon Fillet 1kg $30
i get for $19.95. Atlantic Salmon Fillet 1kg. i buy 8 pack = $159.60 - shoppe $10 voucher = $149.60 or $18.70 for 1kg (ecom)

NTUC: toothpaste colgate total (normal) 2 X150gram = $10.10
i get for $6.90 (Swanston)

NTUC: toothpaste Colgate Triple Action Toothpaste = $3.90
i get it for $1.50 (value shop)

now you all know why my original idea is 2 chest freezer then change to fridge and chest freezer combo

haiz me is uncle who hunt for stuff i buy often, so i know my math, i know my price, i know the game.
there no way ntuc can smoke me. i say expensive TUC. mean expensive.
🤦‍♀️ i am saying supermarket to supermarket comparison.....
i hunt for the cheapest... u think i dunnoe meh. i dunnoe how long i never go supermarket buy toothpaste liao.

u can't compare apple with orange :cautious:
u know how much supermarket paid for their rental, electricity, employees?
i won't even use this to compare with supermarket. because business model is diff.
if u want to insist, then go jb buy also cheap cheap what. time is also money.
5yn145B.png

DLWwHYi.png

Ms Huzzy

Most Singaporeans are not political saavy.

You need to support the underdog more to leverage against the incumbent even if they are doing ok. So that your life will progress even better when they work cheeper, better and faster for you.

As for DFI Group they better consolidate and close all Giant outlets and focus on Cold Storage.

Should open more 24 hours "Makmak" shop with 1 staff under older HDB void decks. Surely many people buy snacks, beer and cigarettes late at night. Not all estates have a 24 hours supermarket within 2min walk.
But Cold Storage is kinda atas. Even though I like the ambience better than Finest

The_King

🤦‍♀️ i am saying supermarket to supermarket comparison.....
i hunt for the cheapest... u think i dunnoe meh. i dunnoe how long i never go supermarket buy toothpaste liao.

u can't compare apple with orange :cautious:
u know how much supermarket paid for their rental, electricity, employees?
i won't even use this to compare with supermarket. because business model is diff.
if u want to insist, then go jb buy also cheap cheap what. time is also money.
5yn145B.png

DLWwHYi.png
me comparing green with green

my green is color blind, it does not discriminate. it only seeking the cheapest.

me only care about the green, who give me the cheapest, who win

Mr.Canberra

But Cold Storage is kinda atas. Even though I like the ambience better than Finest

Cold Storage caters to the higher end market. Most heartlanders will not patronise.

Last time I always go JB and buy groceries from Kapitan Grocer (Galleria @ Kotaraya). Too bad this outlet closed some time back. Now the remaining ones are the smaller outlets in City Square and Komtar JBCC.

At one point in my life I was quite broke. Thank goodness there is JB where I can eat KFC and buy stuff on a budget without breaking the bank!

wongminmin

me comparing green with green

my green is color blind, it does not discriminate. it only seeking the cheapest.

me only care about the green, who give me the cheapest, who win
my bad.. i dunnoe u hate ntuc so much.

my logic is simple.
ur place is ntuc.... so when u said expensive..... i thought u're referring to all the supermarket e.g giant ss cold storage ustar etc. not online, valueshop etc.

my place is giant, their items are 10c to $1 more expensive than ntuc. i don't hate any supermarket, just neutral whoever cheapest... i like.

boh_liao

the stuff i buy NTUC is the last on my list

NTUC: Dettol Anti-Bacterial Bar Soap - Original $6.50
i get for $2.70 (Swanston or value shop)

NTUC brand FairPrice Macadamia (150gram) from AUST $8.92 = 1kg = $59.47
i get for $39 per 1kg from AUST (4 horse road)

NTUC : Atlantic Salmon Fillet 1kg $30
i get for $19.95. Atlantic Salmon Fillet 1kg. i buy 8 pack = $159.60 - shoppe $10 voucher = $149.60 or $18.70 for 1kg (ecom)

NTUC: toothpaste colgate total (normal) 2 X150gram = $10.10
i get for $6.90 (Swanston)

NTUC: toothpaste Colgate Triple Action Toothpaste = $3.90
i get it for $1.50 (value shop)

now you all know why my original idea is 2 chest freezer then change to fridge and chest freezer combo

haiz me is uncle who hunt for stuff i buy often, so i know my math, i know my price, i know the game.
there no way ntuc can smoke me. i say expensive TUC. mean expensive.
farmed salmon suggest to give it a miss

The_King

my bad.. i dunnoe u hate ntuc so much.

my logic is simple.
ur place is ntuc.... so when u said expensive..... i thought u're referring to all the supermarket e.g giant ss cold storage ustar etc. not online, valueshop etc.

my place is giant, their items are 10c to $1 more expensive than ntuc. i don't hate any supermarket, just neutral whoever cheapest... i like.
share where you get the cheapest le

me say expensive cause they charge more then the other?

i dont think you hear of the Carrefour selling cheaper Knife brand oil (as in below the MSRP) and guess who threatened the oil company?

https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/newspapers/digitised/article/biztimes19971217-1.2.9.3

wongminmin

share where you get the cheapest le

me say expensive cause they charge more then the other?

i dont think you hear of the Carrefour selling cheaper Knife brand oil (as in below the MSRP) and guess who threatened the oil company?

https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/newspapers/digitised/article/biztimes19971217-1.2.9.3
it doesn't matter black or white cat, as long as it is able to catch mice. :(

yeah, ntuc expensive!!! :(

With high rental etc, then fierce online competitors then rts.... hopefully the physical supermarket able to survive. :(

lcsvince

With high rental etc, then fierce online competitors then rts.... hopefully the physical supermarket able to survive. :(
ntuc has economy of scale lor. They can even price war to shut down physical stores competition indefinitely (my assumption) but will kena Competition Act

wongminmin

ntuc has economy of scale lor. They can even price war to shut down physical stores competition indefinitely (my assumption) but will kena Competition Act
i doubt so. A lot of people think groceries make a lot of money, but the profit margin is really really small.
If anyone did price war, they are digging their own grave. If there is such thing, sheng siong able to expand till today. then prime etc.

But they able to win bids.... maybe they bid high high ba. i observe sengkang a lot of ntuc. lol

The_King

physical supermarket is dead

now is ecom (local ecom or oversea ecom) or go direct to wholesaler. d

when iherb last time use to be cheap. i always stockup a lot, fast forward a few yr later, it become expensive (but if storewire discount like 20% then worth it) but now is mostly amazon, Vitacost for Supplements

pc hardware, always wait for black friday either amazon or newegg.

dont even need to compare with SG, it always most expensive no matter who selling

SG Competition is with the world not local

The_King

Top. :flash:
M7AdV3k.jpeg

Bottom. :spin::spin: Nothing much yet.
1P1kLC8.jpeg
bro

your samsung, the rubber seal cant seal properly, (leaking cool air) there water condensation on the top left and right and the door top shelf

also check the temp, if it set to normal range

sam39sg

bro

your samsung, the rubber seal cant seal properly, (leaking cool air) there water condensation on the top left and right and the door top shelf

also check the temp, if it set to normal range
haha, cos i open the door too long. no cool air leakage.

yokine3a

physical supermarket is dead

now is ecom (local ecom or oversea ecom) or go direct to wholesaler. d

when iherb last time use to be cheap. i always stockup a lot, fast forward a few yr later, it become expensive (but if storewire discount like 20% then worth it) but now is mostly amazon, Vitacost for Supplements

pc hardware, always wait for black friday either amazon or newegg.

dont even need to compare with SG, it always most expensive no matter who selling

SG Competition is with the world not local
Do you know how is amazon grocery biz doing in sg? Can fight with redmart in lazada?

lcsvince

i doubt so. A lot of people think groceries make a lot of money, but the profit margin is really really small.
If anyone did price war, they are digging their own grave. If there is such thing, sheng siong able to expand till today. then prime etc.

But they able to win bids.... maybe they bid high high ba. i observe sengkang a lot of ntuc. lol
Competitions have to be allowed to come in, just like in the any industries eg telecom and banking etc.

numbers of outlets and the size of their operations speak alot how much advantages one has over the other.

rumor was the latter is affliated.

Ultimately, it can still benefit them in certain arrangements.

period.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.