anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
hi there. what about the class people? all working adults? easy to mix around?

My class i see most of them are working adults. But prob is that u get ppl from all walks. As long as u can pay for the sch fees and u had a decent tertiary paper (dip or As), can get in liaoz.
So it can be quite disturbing to see those hokkien shooting ah bengs in the class lor. Then u also have ladies who can chat chat non stop thru out the 3hrs lesson all the time! I almost want to turn ard and blast them all the time, but shy lah... :p

But of course u see alot of serious ppl as well. Well, there are always black sheeps among a grp wan lor. :)

radioshack

kazuki666 said:
My class i see most of them are working adults. But prob is that u get ppl from all walks. As long as u can pay for the sch fees and u had a decent tertiary paper (dip or As), can get in liaoz.
So it can be quite disturbing to see those hokkien shooting ah bengs in the class lor. Then u also have ladies who can chat chat non stop thru out the 3hrs lesson all the time! I almost want to turn ard and blast them all the time, but shy lah... :p

But of course u see alot of serious ppl as well. Well, there are always black sheeps among a grp wan lor. :)
oh..but those working ppl is mostly part time? full time should be around 21-22 like that?

kazuki666

radioshack said:
oh..but those working ppl is mostly part time? full time should be around 21-22 like that?

fulltime i think should be younger bah. Gals directly from jc and poly? And foreigners as well.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:

wah got hokkien shooting ah bengs? lol omg...what they doing there? ahahaha i cannot imagine doing projects with them hahaha

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
wah got hokkien shooting ah bengs? lol omg...what they doing there? ahahaha i cannot imagine doing projects with them hahaha

dun like this lah. nowadays also have ah bengs who can study wan mah.:p
Whatsmore now poly floodgates so low, as low as u dun do any stunts, getting into a eng dip shouldnt be hard...

chemz

eh you guys nvr meet before financial bengs ah? ala loansharks.

the 'bengs' in my class top of cohort one leh.

psychedelic2

anyone has any idea whether there are opportunities to take honours at other australian universities after getting a basic degree from the RMIT-SIM programme? anybody who has been there or knows people who have done that, care to comment?

chemz

psychedelic2 said:
anyone has any idea whether there are opportunities to take honours at other australian universities after getting a basic degree from the RMIT-SIM programme? anybody who has been there or knows people who have done that, care to comment?

yes its possible, for the honours bit, it's only possible if u continue on campus @ rmit.

with your basic degree, you can apply to other unis for masters too.

psychedelic2

i checked the rmit website and apparently honours is not offered in this course and thats the reason why they accord distinction and high distinction to the basic degree.

to take an MBA would require 4-5 years of working experience at least so that's probably out of the question..

however other australian universities like USyd and UWA do offer honours to people from other universities..has anyone tried that option? or has any info on the likelihood of the option since i'm assuming they would rather attract their own students to do honours instead and the course curriculum in RMIT and in their institution might differ..?

chemz

no i did not bother applying to their hons programme, wht's the pt if i can undertake a masters programme for 1.5-2yrs? it doesnt make sense to spend roughly the same amt of $$ for a hons degree if i can go ahead and complete with a masters.
btw i applied to finance masters(not mbas) @ rmit, unimelb, anu.

psychedelic2

oh yes i get your point. but thats if you know what you want right.

sorry for being ignorant, but what would the difference be in doing a masters in marketing/finance etc compared to an mba? apart from one being more specialised and the other generalist?

chemz

mbas tend to suit top execs dealing with management as an overall objective. you can either see it as generalist or rather a specialisation in management issues itself. and to some, it's just networking with the right people.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
dun like this lah. nowadays also have ah bengs who can study wan mah.:p
Whatsmore now poly floodgates so low, as low as u dun do any stunts, getting into a eng dip shouldnt be hard...

haha ah beng can study one still ok

but those ah beng cannot study then act pro one is ji tao sian 1/2 haha

kazuki666

psychedelic2 said:

But if u are doing part time and had spent probably 3yrs for the bachelor degree. U think its still worth doing 1 more yr for the honours? Coz as compared to the peers at uol, they only need to spend 3yrs for their honours and their uni is definitely more "valuable" than a rmit...
So actually all the time and money very precious lor.

Thats all my opinion lah. :)

chemz

imo, you can use ur sim-rmit degree as a stepping stone for entry into the postgrad programmes of the top few aust unis, apparently it's not THAT tough to gain entry..

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
But if u are doing part time and had spent probably 3yrs for the bachelor degree. U think its still worth doing 1 more yr for the honours? Coz as compared to the peers at uol, they only need to spend 3yrs for their honours and their uni is definitely more "valuable" than a rmit...
So actually all the time and money very precious lor.

Thats all my opinion lah. :)

i think get the degree then go out work liao lah....

still think go there do honours for what right?

job exp are important as well....

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
i think get the degree then go out work liao lah....

still think go there do honours for what right?

job exp are important as well....

hmm...

see individuals lor. IF i can make it thru the 2.5yrs safely, i intend to try mba after that.

But then to be eligible to do mba, the criteria quite high. I think u need to have a certain no of mgt exp. And of course its not cheap...

a MBA is crucial if u intend to climb the corporate ladder lor. It is faster lah.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
hmm...

see individuals lor. IF i can make it thru the 2.5yrs safely, i intend to try mba after that.

But then to be eligible to do mba, the criteria quite high. I think u need to have a certain no of mgt exp. And of course its not cheap...

a MBA is crucial if u intend to climb the corporate ladder lor. It is faster lah.

haha i not that ambitious. i finish degree then go out work liao.......dun care whether MBA or not......

cause u must think there are also local grads completing with us also......

chemz

and on that basis, local grads already have an edge over DL-grads. which is why all the more you should grab every opportunity to further your value. unless of course you've got a good job offer waiting.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.