anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

chemz

kazuki666 said:
But u think lah. If u are the employer, there are 3 applicants for the 1 job offer u have. A rmit-sim, a unisim and an uol graduate. All 3 have almost the same working exp level, which one will u choose to hire?

Lets face it lah. Close 1 eye also know liaoz.
Branded means branded. I myself am doing a rmit-sim, but i am not going to be bias say they are all as gd. facts are facts, its reality.

yes if they're respectively top of their cohort, then i very well know who to pick. but then again such a comparison wouldn't be fair.

there're so many variables in play, are you hiring someone to fill your mkting/sales position? hr? cs?

don't tell me you're hiring your prospective staff w/o interviewing them?

and prior to the interview, im sure the first thing you'd look out for would be their grades/gpa/hons classification. would you risk not giving other applicants(with distinctions, non hons) a chance just because you have a 1st cls hons cv in your in-tray?

fact is reality being reality, even if you did graduate with a 2nd upper or 1st, it will not guarantee that you will beat a fellow competitor who's armed with a basic degree with impressive gpa.

that's precisely what interviews are for. your paper can only take you to an interview, nothing more.

kazuki666

of course i know how impt interviews are lah, thats my ricebowl now! :s13:

but prob is results are still the top piority from the employers, this is what employers tell my org. 1st time real fact. ;)

The only reason why i used those senerios coz i know cfm will have ppl doubting the comparison, coz its not fair for a start.

If u dun fare too badly in uol, i guess a 2nd lower is no way not possible.
Correct me if i am wrong, does rmit issue their cert with gpa scores on it? If they dun, then it doesnt matter if u score damn high as well. But then, they do issue some distinction degree cert though.

and then, rather then just the sales, marketing position, i would actually foresee the level of the position of the position and not just the dept/sect.

But then some do explain that graduates from uol and rmit besides the honours part, they are different in the sense that uol are more theory based and rmit are more application based.

In civil service, a degree holder will start off as an AO, some give titles like asst mgr or if u are lucky, mgr.
whereas for dip holders, they only give u MSO, or executive. Only if u are damn lucky then asst mgr.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
of course i know how impt interviews are lah, thats my ricebowl now! :s13:

but prob is results are still the top piority from the employers, this is what employers tell my org. 1st time real fact. ;)

The only reason why i used those senerios coz i know cfm will have ppl doubting the comparison, coz its not fair for a start.

If u dun fare too badly in uol, i guess a 2nd lower is no way not possible.
Correct me if i am wrong, does rmit issue their cert with gpa scores on it? If they dun, then it doesnt matter if u score damn high as well. But then, they do issue some distinction degree cert though.

and then, rather then just the sales, marketing position, i would actually foresee the level of the position of the position and not just the dept/sect.

But then some do explain that graduates from uol and rmit besides the honours part, they are different in the sense that uol are more theory based and rmit are more application based.

In civil service, a degree holder will start off as an AO, some give titles like asst mgr or if u are lucky, mgr.
whereas for dip holders, they only give u MSO, or executive. Only if u are damn lucky then asst mgr.

hmmm i think next time even got all this part time degree liao........

go out work i think also apply diploma job nia haha......

casue if apply degree job must fight with local uni abit hard....

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
hmmm i think next time even got all this part time degree liao........

go out work i think also apply diploma job nia haha......

casue if apply degree job must fight with local uni abit hard....

i remember u have a dip and currently doing ns now right?

If your ns time now is quite 8-6 work, my advice is to try to gain as much exp as possible. Be it in work, a cert in any aspects or take up a course. Language, accounting, driving or whatever. Trust me. If u gonna study a part time degree and work at the same time, u will curse yourself for not doing well to get into a fulltime uni... at least thats what i am experiencing...

I wont say dip graduate hard to get a job lah. I have friends they have positive working attitudes, hardworking and know how to spot opportunities. Now abt 4yrs in working world, they are still on dip, some still studying part time degree. But they are pretty much receiving a not bad pay for a dip level.
If u are ready to work hard, pte sector is a gd place.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
i remember u have a dip and currently doing ns now right?

If your ns time now is quite 8-6 work, my advice is to try to gain as much exp as possible. Be it in work, a cert in any aspects or take up a course. Language, accounting, driving or whatever. Trust me. If u gonna study a part time degree and work at the same time, u will curse yourself for not doing well to get into a fulltime uni... at least thats what i am experiencing...

I wont say dip graduate hard to get a job lah. I have friends they have positive working attitudes, hardworking and know how to spot opportunities. Now abt 4yrs in working world, they are still on dip, some still studying part time degree. But they are pretty much receiving a not bad pay for a dip level.
If u are ready to work hard, pte sector is a gd place.

but then hor govt sector due to our NS they pay a few hundred bucks higher leh haha dunno is it good or not....or private sector better........

i going in NS soon..................if i can get 8 to 6 job i go study part time loh.........i scare is later tio those cannot go home camp then sian liao...

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
but then hor govt sector due to our NS they pay a few hundred bucks higher leh haha dunno is it good or not....or private sector better........

i going in NS soon..................if i can get 8 to 6 job i go study part time loh.........i scare is later tio those cannot go home camp then sian liao...
alamak! u havent even do ns already think so much.
I still tot u are relaxing on a nsf 8-6 le...

Till now i am still very curious why u so confident u are going to hit a 8-6 with nsf lor. Basically the highest possibility is to be a clerk, and to be one probably u are a pes E le. And if suay kana tekong clerk, dun need to think go home lor. :s13:

back to topic:p
yes, civil service side does give a abit more, not a few hundred that much lah. I think abt 100-200. But seriously, i do not think its fair in return for the 2.5yrs of time.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
alamak! u havent even do ns already think so much.
I still tot u are relaxing on a nsf 8-6 le...

Till now i am still very curious why u so confident u are going to hit a 8-6 with nsf lor. Basically the highest possibility is to be a clerk, and to be one probably u are a pes E le. And if suay kana tekong clerk, dun need to think go home lor. :s13:

back to topic:p
yes, civil service side does give a abit more, not a few hundred that much lah. I think abt 100-200. But seriously, i do not think its fair in return for the 2.5yrs of time.

99.999% sure clerk one lah. this one u dun worry lol.......

must plan ahead first mah..........

ok lah back to topic..............

yah i think its not fair in return for 2.5 years of NS. but what to do? we are singaporean right......so just LL loh hahah

anyway why u so scare of your results? u no study ah? working too busy to study le?

kazuki666

jacqqq said:

yah i think its not fair in return for 2.5 years of NS. but what to do? we are singaporean right......so just LL loh hahah

anyway why u so scare of your results? u no study ah? working too busy to study le?

wah seh! so confident. So far the only confident cases i know is got to do with blood lor.

K, coz very lazily i took for almost 4wks of leave+exam leave, but only did serious studying in 1wk... :(

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
wah seh! so confident. So far the only confident cases i know is got to do with blood lor.

K, coz very lazily i took for almost 4wks of leave+exam leave, but only did serious studying in 1wk... :(

confident? not only cases got to do with blood then become clerk what.

u know some people heart got hole auto go become clerk. dun even need to go tekong loh...there are so many examples around one lah aiyoo....

anyway this one not important casue more or less 99% sure clerk de...

back to the topic :

u study 1 week nia? then the3 week stay at home play games ah? lol haha

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
confident? not only cases got to do with blood then become clerk what.

u know some people heart got hole auto go become clerk. dun even need to go tekong loh...there are so many examples around one lah aiyoo....

anyway this one not important casue more or less 99% sure clerk de...

back to the topic :

u study 1 week nia? then the3 week stay at home play games ah? lol haha

basically i was "recuperating".:D hehehehe
Like wake up 10+am, laze ard, go for lunch. come back studied 1 chap then take a nap and then wake up watch abit of tv and time of dinner le!!!

Then when its really near near the D day, then i freaked out... :(

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
basically i was "recuperating".:D hehehehe
Like wake up 10+am, laze ard, go for lunch. come back studied 1 chap then take a nap and then wake up watch abit of tv and time of dinner le!!!

Then when its really near near the D day, then i freaked out... :(

wah i think u slack too much. better jia you this sem and study hard liao haha....

guess maybe u too long never study that why like this.........

btw whats the gpa poly results required to go into rmit part time ah? i think they dun care one right? as long as u got the diploma from local poly can go in liao right?

Kyoji83

During my NSF time, I work with both combat & service vocation personnal.

When I work with combat vocation personnal, I do look down on clerk. 8-5pm & book out. No combat BMT & other combat training. Do admin work in air con room.

After working with clerk, I do not look down on them. Siao On Officer give them alot of jobs to do. Even 8-5pm, they still have to work until very late like 11++pm. Some even take home to do their admin work. At the end, some have mentally stress, break down & cry. So, don't 100% confirm clerk is 8-5pm job. But alot is 8-5pm job. Worse still, their unit got nothing much to do but alot of clerk. WTF!!! Easy Life!! Life is never fair!!!

jacqqq said:

jacqqq

chemz said:
kazuki, 10char

oic....................

haha i see the unisim course structure see and see like more good leh....looks like our local uni course structure seems not bad...but then need 3 years to complete even on a part time basis haizz..........

rainyjerk

jacqqq said:
oic....................

haha i see the unisim course structure see and see like more good leh....looks like our local uni course structure seems not bad...but then need 3 years to complete even on a part time basis haizz..........

i guess most importantly is what interests you and what the employers looking for with the modules you take. guess it sums up what course and uni you wish to enrol in.

vincentchean

rainyjerk said:
i guess most importantly is what interests you and what the employers looking for with the modules you take. guess it sums up what course and uni you wish to enrol in.

my fren was working with kpmg last time.
when he interview ppl. he nv care much which uni as long as not ulu ulu onces.
and where got ppl look at module ones.

onli see whether biz degree a not then see if got honours then job exp blah blah...........

no body in the world can study everything
but everybody who finish study go work also start from 0

hence why they want see u study wat module in uni
doesn't make sense

jacqqq

vincentchean said:

onli see whether biz degree a not then see if got honours then job exp blah blah...........

doesn't make sense

yah i dun think they will look at what modules u study one. at most just see and scan through your results slip and ask u what things u study in the course only i guess...

they mostly see what is your degree / got honours or not / and from which uni i guess.....

but of course on the other hand , for learning and knowledge wise , how much u really learn from your own degree course , depends on how much modules u take and the course structure liao...

rainyjerk

vincentchean said:

doesn't make sense
-------------------------------------------------------------
hmmm sad to say, there are really ppl looking at the modules.

take a good instance, SMA

The Bachelor of Commerce comprises of 11 units delivered over duration of 16 months. Students are provided with options to graduate with a single or double major by completing the following modules:

Double major in Management & Human Resource Management
BUS223 Organisational Theory and Behaviour
BUS228 Workplace Law
BUS240 Organisation and Management Development
BUS320 Management of Human Resources
BUS317 Strategic Management

BUS275 Human Resource Economics
BUS320 Management of Human Resources
BUS222 Employee Relations
BUS378 Knowledge and Organisational Learning

Specified Electives (select one from the following)
BUS323 International Management
BUS222 Employee Relations
BUS378 Knowledge and Organisational Learning
BUS223 Organisational Theory and Behaviour

Plus 1 General Electives

Total 11 modules
cited from http://www.sma.edu.sg/programmes-p017.asp
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
another simliar prog Bachelor of Commerce offered by another insitution, 16 modules

Management & HRM
· Legal Framework 100
· HRM (Performance Management) 202
· HRM (Introduction) 200
· Law Industrial (Singapore) 304
· International Management 375
· Organisational Strategy and Change 300
· Business Capstone 301
· HRM (Selecting & Promoting Staff) 211
··HRM (Training & Development) 212
· HRM (Evaluation of Programmes) 308
· Management of Workplace Conflict 303
· Industrial Relations (Singapore) 201
· HRM (Compensation) 301
· Entrepreneurship 300
· Strategic Management 313
· Organisational Behaviour 200

cited from http://www.shri.org.sg/_acadprog_bcom.asp
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if your r the boss, would u hire someone with more knowledge in the industry. given that the uni of the candidates that grad are from the same range. having similar range of GPA

what would be the tie breaker ?
No of subject taken ?
indepth knowledge that the interviewee know?
or the period of time taken to complete the coz?
how the sujects you took relates to the scope of work

i m sure you can see the spectrum of modules that's needed to go thru b4 grad. a total of extra 5 modules.

so...does it make sense now?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.