Anyone trade full time?

havetheveryfun

I am also self employed while doing some trades do supplement my income.
Kind of agree with most of your views. Nice sharing. Some of them really true, especially the downturn part.
Trading full time really not simple, need strong trading skill to have decent return.
Actually I am looking forward to just dump all my fortune in one single counter then just collect dividend, but now capital not enough yet.

Most people in Sg , work to live , then spend all money and work again. I don want to follow the same cycle. :(' it is sad but true, most people devote a huge portion of their life working, but what is the point?

migrate to some place where can plant own food to eat.

very sad to see that if a person is willing to have plain bread for 3 meals a day, also need to work. study study study, work work work, date date date, marry marry marry, hdb hdb hdb, kids kids kids, work work work, retire retire retire, die. boring and pointless life

Sinkie

yeah man, I strongly feel the same.

I got friends who are in their 40s liao.. can never retire sia.. housing loan, car loan..kids still young.. credit card debts etc.. die die must work till 65+ .. always worry about paying bills, job very stressful but cannot quit... haizzz... typical singaporean life.. I ask them save up some $$ invest in stock but they say every month expenses too high cannot save.. gg.. like forever trapped in the rat race liao

like what you say, really no point if like this... that's why we must slowly build capital and hopefully one day our passive income is enough for us to choose whether we want to work or not

cheers

Sometime family like this usually marry young and money not enough begin when they started to service their hdb loan, and it become worst when they start having children too

Perisher

somehow they will still make it, and sometimes the struggle is worth it when they see their children grow up. sometimes people are happier with working, there is a aim, there is a purpose. sometimes some people just want to lead the rat race kind of normal 'boring' life because that's what makes them happy. of course, i'm not saying those that struggle every month to even feed themselves, I meant those mid-income who just about make it through life always worrying about money but rarely need it.

my parents hardly know how to manage their finance, but my family still make it in the end with a hdb fully paid, no debt, and now they can quit if they want since all the children making money, not much but can settle 3 meal no issue.

I see hm... from my experience..really very rare or few people making a living 100% from trading

those that I do know of, usually they have other sources of income too

some are self-employed, doing insurance, property or some small business while adding trading to supplement their income

for a trader, don't think its possible to make a profit every day.. from experience maybe out of 12 months.. 8 months make profit 4 months loss/break even is not bad already, but of course full year should should show profits and must always standby strong reserves (12-24 months living expenses in cash to tank the volatility of earnings)

being a trader is same as running a business, not different from running a chicken rice stall, if cash flow run out.. u die

sometimes will have rainy days when u don't generate income, need to manage reserves wisely

lastly like I mentioned before, to be successful you either have to generate high returns or have a large capital

if u have 100k capital, can generate 50% annual returns.. one year make 50k is about 4k a month, can survive

if u have 1 mil capital, even generate 5% annual returns also make same amount to live comfortably

cheers

well say.......

than how about you bro?
If not mistaken you do trade , invest Full time right from home?

felixleong

well say.......

than how about you bro?
If not mistaken you do trade , invest Full time right from home?

nowadays trading very very little, mostly just buy and hold, more toward value investing ba.. I aiming just 10-15% annual returns I happy liao, especially if can beat the STI

cheers

Perisher

Same same, just buy and hold. Do look out for red flag.

One can probably semi-retired if they invest during GFC for long term.
Especially the US counters with their long list of dividend aristocrats who have long years of increasing dividends. The 30% tax won't take such a big hit when your dividend yield starts from a high base like 6-7%. Sadly, Sg market doesn't have that incremental dividend culture yet.

havetheveryfun

Same same, just buy and hold. Do look out for red flag.

One can probably semi-retired if they invest during GFC for long term.
Especially the US counters with their long list of dividend aristocrats who have long years of increasing dividends. The 30% tax won't take such a big hit when your dividend yield starts from a high base like 6-7%. Sadly, Sg market doesn't have that incremental dividend culture yet.

nxt 2 yrs will have financial crisis maybe

Perisher

If got financial crisis also nobody dare to buy

True that. Although I don't mind having a financial crisis this early in my investment journey, when it really hits, it will still be painful.

I have 40% warchest still idling, collecting abit of interest from OCBC.
Nowadays, every saving goes, 60% investment, 40% warchest.
Why 40%? because when GFC comes, prices might be half, so 40% can buy double of what I can buy now, more than adequate.

Despite preparing for it... Wonder if I dare to deploy when GFC do come.
People can say what they will do if GFC comes again, but how many really dare to invest at that time?

alexchia01

If got financial crisis also nobody dare to buy

Next crisis, 2018 +/- 1 year.

That's the different between trader and investor.

Crisis... Investors stay out, Traders all in. This is where the most money are made.

Sinkie

Crisis... Investors stay out, Traders all in. This is where the most money are made.

U jsk siah, bear or bull market also can huat, no wonder 500% return

But usually when crisis come, I thought is traders are out (bcos tio wiped out) and investor in (bargain hunter in and they become new breed of traders)

alexchia01

True that. Although I don't mind having a financial crisis this early in my investment journey, when it really hits, it will still be painful.

I have 40% warchest still idling, collecting abit of interest from OCBC.
Nowadays, every saving goes, 60% investment, 40% warchest.
Why 40%? because when GFC comes, prices might be half, so 40% can buy double of what I can buy now, more than adequate.

Despite preparing for it... Wonder if I dare to deploy when GFC do come.
People can say what they will do if GFC comes again, but how many really dare to invest at that time?

If you are investing, should buy after the crisis, not during.

Drastic things happen during crisis because everyone's emotion are high. The bottom is difficult to predict.

After the crisis, when the dusts start to settle is the best time to deploy.

alexchia01

U jsk siah, bear or bull market also can huat, no wonder 500% return

But usually when crisis come, I thought is traders are out (bcos tio wiped out) and investor in (bargain hunter in and they become new breed of traders)

Yes, bull and bear I also make. The time i don't make is when market don't move, like 2009.

During crisis, I'll short from top all the way to the bottom. Whoever buy at that time are sure to be clobbered, not just by me, but all the short traders in the world.

Investor bargin hunting is after the crisis, when the dusts has settle and people are beginning to see a little light in the tunnel.

Whoever was around in 2009, will know that 2009 was the best year to invest. Whatever you buy makes money. That is the time a savvy investor is waiting for, not when the market was dropping like flies. However, 2009, traders don't make money that year.

Sinkie

If you are investing, should buy after the crisis, not during.

Drastic things happen during crisis become everyone's emotion are high. The bottom is difficult to predict.

After the crisis, when the dusts start to settle is the best time to deploy.

How to know crisis over le??

Perisher

Will only start investing after GFC started. When global recession follows along with GFC, wait for a year, start to dip in, after that every 6 month, will deploy much more.

felixleong

Dont be to bias on trader when u are one, investors also got many kinds, there are those holding lots of cash and waiting to buy on correction and those that mostly vested to collect dividends, no right no wrong ba

felixleong

Yes, bull and bear I also make. The time i don't make is when market don't move, like 2009.

During crisis, I'll short from top all the way to the bottom. Whoever buy at that time are sure to be clobbered, not just by me, but all the short traders in the world.

Investor bargin hunting is after the crisis, when the dusts has settle and people are beginning to see a little light in the tunnel.

Whoever was around in 2009, will know that 2009 was the best year to invest. Whatever you buy makes money. That is the time a savvy investor is waiting for, not when the market was dropping like flies. However, 2009, traders don't make money that year.

How many market cycles have u been through? 2003 SARS and 2007 GFC if both cycle u pass through and made money then can earn respect, if not need to wait for end of this cycle to tell who has been swimming naked hehe

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.