Are cinemas dead?

lampano

I need you to emphasize and clarify the "everyone is earning 5k part"

as far as i am concern, my dad is still earning 2.2k and my mum is earning 1.8k , sorry they is BTC , primary school drop out. so please dont mix them with some PMET.

and many others i know cannot even hit 4k salary.
oh sorry my bad , clearly they are not part of everyone.

Uncle Lorger

Foreigners will likely find the cinema ticket too expensive if they come from countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, China, India, Bangladesh, Myanmar. So they are not a big market, if at all.
but then why does GV show so many Indian movies 😂

Elfblade

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?
With weekend and PH prices hitting a peak of $16, I would rather pay for Netflix subscriptions. Cinemas will be dead in SG, it's a matter of time, not just Eng Wah and Cathay biting the Dust. GV and Shaw will reduce the number of Cinemas operating in due time.

Milich

Couple of factors ba.

Price - cinemas tickets and the snacks more and more expensive.

Movies - last time no Netflix Disney + Chinese Bukit timah side. Not much choice .

Content - maybe down to my preference.. movies used to offer better stories. Now. Hong Kong/tiong show become propaganda for their government strict rules like "no supernatural, government always win"
Angmoh show full of social justice Diversity LGBT+ thing. So look forward to Odyssey till the weird casting choice.

CanIsayNo

Couple of factors ba.

Price - cinemas tickets and the snacks more and more expensive.

Movies - last time no Netflix Disney + Chinese Bukit timah side. Not much choice .

Content - maybe down to my preference.. movies used to offer better stories. Now. Hong Kong/tiong show become propaganda for their government strict rules like "no supernatural, government always win"
Angmoh show full of social justice Diversity LGBT+ thing. So look forward to Odyssey till the weird casting choice.
yea i miss the days when the hollywood blockbusters were filled with jewish propaganda. schindler's list, pianist, even french film life is beautiful also can win oscar

MizunoVolley

More or less

Mainly cos nowadays very hard to have movies worth the price to go watch compare to last time

Yuripa

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?
Star wars hype is dead

Even angmo countries minimal queue for it

Come back and post again when avengers doomsday gets released

Mclairs83

smelly and dirty seats..sometimes u might even bring bedbugs back.
expensive tickets and popcorns.

i go JB watch, SGD$20+ for 4 pax. PU leather seats.. some theatre can recline seats.. cheap popcorn and drinks.

sibei song..

either that watch on my home 65" OLED and soundbar is more than sufficient.

Chalkycliffs

no one ever tried screening world cup in cinemas before right? at least in singapore.

Not sure how the screening rights will be classified, but didn't CCs screen the matches previously? Open air, no air conditioning.

zensushi

The particular cinema hall that you were in, you mean? Otherwise, a bit bo liao to go check out all the other halls to do a headcount. :s13:

rider83

Cinema is dead for me as I only go there for the fresh, hot popcorn and instead of targeting a movie.

But what to do? Hollywood protesting that if audience doesn't want woke stuffs, they refuse to make good movies...

North Tree

The particular cinema hall that you were in, you mean? Otherwise, a bit bo liao to go check out all the other halls to do a headcount. :s13:
Yeah must I furnish the cinema address, hall number and time for you to vet as well, Sir?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.