Are cinemas dead?

Amon86

now many ppl do home cinema at home as tv now can buy big big.....subscribe to streaming platform lay on sofa watch more song than watch in cinema as go toilet can also pause, watch movie no siao lang down there talk loud loud and laugh loudly moi see dune 2 IMAX ar the beside ah ne beside me talk loud loud eating popcorn...then popcorn fly over to my side damn irritating ....moi also kanna ppl kick dao my seat in cinema as the person scare during the jump scare....i turn back see him he pretend nothing happen.......moi one year go once only for local cinema no interesting movie nowadays wait one month plus i see HBO max and netflix have liao

Song Bro

Hope the cinema can dong pass the right correction.
Now still in the phase of dying woke.
Will only support cinema when free of propaganda nonsense.

BusteR

last movie i watch was project hail merry at tiong bahru plaza GV (now perm closed)
i used to heavily support gv 7-8 years ago, 2 movies a week when i sneak off work at 3.30pm to watch 4+pm show. then be home by 6.30pm for dinner.
that era i think weekday $6.50?

now cannt tahan already, married with 2 kids, family of 4 watch mario movie $50 ... still exclude popcorns.
i think the tix prices played a part in reducing the movie-goers

GreatPumpkin

Sometimes I bring my chewren to watch cartoons during the holidays.

Other than that, just wait for the movie to release on netflix or disney +

Spectre007

last movie i watch was project hail merry at tiong bahru plaza GV (now perm closed)
i used to heavily support gv 7-8 years ago, 2 movies a week when i sneak off work at 3.30pm to watch 4+pm show. then be home by 6.30pm for dinner.
that era i think weekday $6.50?

now cannt tahan already, married with 2 kids, family of 4 watch mario movie $50 ... still exclude popcorns.
i think the tix prices played a part in reducing the movie-goers

https://www.asiaone.com/lifestyle/movie-ticket-prices-singapore-2019-which-cinema-cheapest

pricing pre covid was sibeh song man, gv movie club $6.50 nia for 1 ticket. now......................................:sad:

mooseolly

You go at what time? That time I go Korea watch movie around 11pm Tom Cruise one only like 10 people.

Kitaro9202

rental is the killer and ticket is expensive.

idm paying to see but some place the sound system kind of suck

Roid Rage

says who. everytime my family and i tried to watch at golden village gold class also hard to buy ticket except for the very front row
Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?

trento

U buy cheap chips, popcorn, drinks, turn on aircon, lie on your sofa and watch more comfortably. Can pause and rewind or fast forward to your liking.

Dont need pay anything extra if suddenly you want to rewatch Mandalorian.
This Malaysia cinema boleh

batuchka

they keep churning out thrash that swap race n gender juz to avoid white males mostly and shove woke libtard rhetoric down audiences throats and wonder why cinemas are dying :s8:

fabianlau

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?
last thur i watch at sg quite many, jb watch 4dx full house

deve2545

If not cinemas, then what are some of the sites / apps that you all use to watch movies / series cheaply / free of charge ?

Joseph12

Dead

Firstly streaming of even the new films & old ones even if its illegal killed everyone especially when quality isn't that bad now for illegals

You can argue the old folks don't stream but they don't go cinemas either and at close to $20 with wages not increasing , they won't go and their kids won't bring them.

Next the average cinema goers don't really care about quality
You can argue about sound and IMAX and even 3D but to them its a ... meh

So even if its a top film like Maverick, people will just wait and watch later

And its a vicious cycle
As things get worse, cinemas aren't bringing more niche films which means people have to rely on other means to watch those films.

And hey after you watched Serbian Film online or get the physical copy, you are already plugged into the system.
You know what to do
So why not pay to get that Oscar winner film instead of watching in cinemas?

Joseph12

If not cinemas, then what are some of the sites / apps that you use to watch movies / series cheaply / free of charge ?
Ha

No one will tell you

But Think quite easy to search

Once on IG , don't know why but I was bombarded by account of a young Singapore guy. Polytechnic student

His account is all about pushing such sites.

I went to see.
Its all the current shows ripped from streaming sites

Clearly illegal
But Quite well done
Don't think its done by him

Didn't check the bona fides
But glanced through the movies etc
Can see its real cos they have the blockbusters and cult movies you'll only know if you are into it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.