Are cinemas dead?

kopi22

I watch at least 2 movies a mth.
I am supporting .

Nothing beats watching in theater.
The saying 12 15 bucks a tick is expensive are crap. U wanna compare to JB I nothing to say..everything is cheaper there

2hrs Aircon with entertainment is worthy
Now bbt also 5dollar

Everyone earning 5k but wanna compare to spending like 2k times
15bucks I can subscribe Amazon Prime for 3 months with lots of different movies to watch. Maybe is all about perspectives.

green72

Some say watch to support, while other say don't support becoz to them tix ex here.

I watch at the cinemas because of the experience that my 4K OLED TV and Home theater sound system cannot replicate in the confine of my home or the movie is not available on any of the livestream platform.

And like one post experienced, I watch the Mandalorian movie at GV Max Vivocity with only 20 other patrons on 1st day of screening last week.

Youngsters find it no point to go to the Cinemas when they can wait for it on livestream platform to watch on their phones, tablet or desktop pc.

Oldies like myself prefer both the content and experience. I can put up with the hassle and buying online is already a convenience unlike in the 70s to 90s, have to queue on the spot for tix, sometimes left hanging becoz tix sold out.

And the other plus point is can have a group gathering afterwards for dinner. Sort of social activities beyond chatting online.

Those who find going to cinema is a hassle I find are less social, living only within the confines of their cavern.

lampano

Some say watch to support, while other say don't support becoz to them tix ex here.

I watch at the cinemas because of the experience that my 4K OLED TV and Home theater sound system cannot replicate in the confine of my home or the movie is not available on any of the livestream platform.

And like one post experienced, I watch the Mandalorian movie at GV Max Vivocity with only 20 other patrons on 1st day of screening last week.

Youngsters find it no point to go to the Cinemas when they can wait for it on livestream platform to watch on their phones, tablet or desktop pc.

Oldies like myself prefer both the content and experience. I can put up with the hassle and buying online is already a convenience unlike in the 70s to 90s, have to queue on the spot for tix, sometimes left hanging becoz tix sold out.

And the other plus point is can have a group gathering afterwards for dinner. Sort of social activities beyond chatting online.

Those who find going to cinema is a hassle I find are less social, living only within the confines of their cavern.
i have 75" tv at home with setup , i also still go cinema to watch shows.
i get it some or major find paying for NF, AMZ YT is better worth is ok, up to them.
i just find those saying ticks ex i cannot relate when everything is ex now,
Food tidbits popcorn wise, u can have a choice.

upcoming shows i gg to watch - Colony

Yuripa

Just caught Project Hail Mary yesterday at balastier shaw

About 40+ people minimum

Was pretty surprise at the turn out -

There was around 5 to 6 older teenagers and 4 to 5 kids

Some older folks but mostly young to middle age adults

Gender ratio was probably 40% female 60% male

1 thing I noticed was the cinema halls at balastier shaw is smaller than the usual ones I've seen at GV Bishan, Yishun etc

Maybe the current trend is to have smaller halls?

Joseph12

15bucks I can subscribe Amazon Prime for 3 months with lots of different movies to watch. Maybe is all about perspectives.
Ha
And people here criticise Amazon cos nothing to watch there

North Tree

I wonder which territory is your Amazon Prime? Because the local one sucks big time.

yesman2978

Went to watch The Mandalorian and Grogu at GV yesterday afternoon, whole cinema only 8 patrons. Really no one watch movie at the cinema anymore?
GV tickets too expensive liao. They are pricing themselves out of the market

Shaw got more discounts

Red Ronin

Nobody watching but cinemas still damn stingy.

I won 2 free movie tickets for shaw. Went there and they tell me cannot use for new shows. Only old shows can use.

No wonder cinemas are dying

Monstruo^

i have 75" tv at home with setup , i also still go cinema to watch shows.
i get it some or major find paying for NF, AMZ YT is better worth is ok, up to them.
i just find those saying ticks ex i cannot relate when everything is ex now,
Food tidbits popcorn wise, u can have a choice.

upcoming shows i gg to watch - Colony

Or could it be only most EDMW guys here don’t go to cinema nia? Cannot just solely use the replies here to reflect real life. :o :s13:

PaprikaSG

Starwars is boomer movies.

Youngsters don't watch these.

They watch The Devil Wears Prada 2.

Monstruo^

Yes u r right. EDMW laofunker 20+ years nvr go cinema dy. just WebRip...
Wah… that’s very long leh :s13:

For me is Covid time those few years never go, at least 3 years. (As in SG movie theatres, I got went overseas de movie theatre post Covid, not JB).

Monstruo^

Starwars is boomer movies.

Youngsters don't watch these.

They watch The Devil Wears Prada 2.
Starwars… last time I tried to watch since it was like very popular. I watched first or until the second part then somehow I cannot continue riaos duno why. Duno is it my problem or the movie boring to me :o

Nuclear Boy

Oh… I didn’t watch that movie that time when it first came out. Heard many many positive reviews about it. :o
The cinematography and sound is really good, must watch in IMAX though. And also, that's if you can get past the usual jingoistic "USA, USA, USA~!" theme of such movies. (Like the 战狼 series from China)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.