Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

beast

I dunno about you guys, but when riding a foldie, even those manhole covers or very low (e.g. 1-2") kerbs also feels damn terrible.

Don't even need to talk about trails :)

Not only that, the handlebar is too sensitive. But that said, people have been riding freestyle bike for years and going to all sort of places (except trail) with no complaint.

Sent from dunno where using GAGT

There are foldies just for trails. e.g. Montague paratrooper. The wheels are big and the tyres are meant to be used in trails. The frame has been reinforced to be very tough, rugged and strong.

But for smaller wheel foldies, of course these can't go trails.

Its not sensitive. Its because you are accustomed to the comfort of big wheels. Many people who use MTB always say that foldies are very "twitchy" because the wheels are small, creating constant vibration. Secondly, the small wheels are easy to steer and can cause unintentional steering.

Its all a matter of getting used to it.

What about birdy foldie with full suspension, they can handle some trails. They don't come cheap and the price of one can get you decent fs mtb

batuchka

Hi there hope some peeps can clear my assumption about mtbs:

Is it true that for say 29" wheels mtbs compared to 26" with the same type/quality/class of front fork the former would be a better/smoother ride on trails due to the bigger wheels taking the shock/impact?

Cryogenist

Is it true that for say 29" wheels mtbs compared to 26" with the same type/quality/class of front fork the former would be a better/smoother ride on trails due to the bigger wheels taking the shock/impact?

It probably also dependent on the width of your tires?

Gixxerfied

What about birdy foldie with full suspension, they can handle some trails. They don't come cheap and the price of one can get you decent fs mtb

dahon jetstream d8??

faltrad-20-zoll-8-gang-kettenschaltung-jetstream-d8-dahon-schwarz-13104877.jpg

rarenick

Smoother but harder to manoeuvre bigger wheels in tight space.

Sent from dunno where using GAGT

kevin301

hmm mind showing pictures of your mount ?

My mount is as shown in the first picture, onto the handlebar itself, next to the spot where the stem clamps the handlebar.
Am just trying to free up a bit more space on the handlebar for maybe GoPro or horn.
My stem (110mm) is currently empty.

IronMac

Just saw a large group of bicyclists wearing a white t-shirt with a slogan on the bag...some about "upright person and the city was then elevated". Anybody know who they are?

Broadwalk

Salary so low still wanna find fling, u penniless who the hell want to let u touch?

Fling should be free and I doubt fling needs any money. Salary in this context is irrelevant.

Anyway it's out of topic here. Let's keep the integrity of the topic intact. I am looking forward to great cycling experience!

tremor

Fling should be free and I doubt fling needs any money. Salary in this context is irrelevant.

Anyway it's out of topic here. Let's keep the integrity of the topic intact. I am looking forward to great cycling experience!

**** u lah, troll other thread then say keep integrity. As if u have any. Get lost from here, go back and troll your cheese pie. You're not welcome here. No money wanna buy bike and find fling. Knn ******* shameless.

iamlenon

aleoca sg50 foldie less than 100bucks!!
v suitable for a certain person in this thread :crazy:

erwinrommel

aleoca sg50 foldie less than 100bucks!!
v suitable for a certain person in this thread :crazy:

I rather walk than use the cheap Aleoca foldie.

May get injured or suffer from cramps. :s22:

I tried spinning a rear Aleoca foldie wheel and even with naked eye, I could see the wheel was un-true... wobbbling here and there. :s22:

erwinrommel

Birdy can handle some light trails, but definitely not the hardcore mountain and cross country trails. The wheels are too small, and the tyres need knobs to go over the trails.

Birdy is best for speed. Seen a few Birdy that easily cruise 30 kmh along changi coastal stretch. And it folds quite compact as well. Really decent bike.

Sadisticnoob

My mount is as shown in the first picture, onto the handlebar itself, next to the spot where the stem clamps the handlebar.
Am just trying to free up a bit more space on the handlebar for maybe GoPro or horn.
My stem (110mm) is currently empty.
For go pro can mount externally k edge makes a pretty good mount but they are expensive

The sony mount is much cheaper made of plastic ..

On my handlebars I usually have lights only.. computer is always on the stem or externally mounted

Sent from Asus ASUS_T00P using GAGT

Sadisticnoob

I rather walk than use the cheap Aleoca foldie.

May get injured or suffer from cramps. :s22:

I tried spinning a rear Aleoca foldie wheel and even with naked eye, I could see the wheel was un-true... wobbbling here and there. :s22:
Please even my mini velo wheels are not true but I don't mind. Cause the bike price is the price of the wheels on my road bike

Its all About marginal utility from getting the bike.. maybe he buy expensive stuff he don't feel shiok. Or he has a budget to work w. End of the day aleoca makes more people cycle and I'm thankful to them for that (when I started riding aleoca didn't exist used a urata)

To say that the bike is unsafe is an exaggeration ..

Learn to spend within the limit I see so many people buy 10~20 k bike don't dare to push it hard cause scared crash really wasted to see especially since those bikes are designed to go fast

beast

Please even my mini velo wheels are not true but I don't mind. Cause the bike price is the price of the wheels on my road bike

Its all About marginal utility from getting the bike.. maybe he buy expensive stuff he don't feel shiok. Or he has a budget to work w. End of the day aleoca makes more people cycle and I'm thankful to them for that (when I started riding aleoca didn't exist used a urata)

To say that the bike is unsafe is an exaggeration ..

Learn to spend within the limit I see so many people buy 10~20 k bike don't dare to push it hard cause scared crash really wasted to see especially since those bikes are designed to go fast

Those who dare not push their 10-20k bike are usually the ones who bought it on credit or pay by installment. Can't really afford but wana act rich.The wealthy ones will not hesitate to push it to the limit even if it breaks as a result since 10-20k loss is nothing to them:D

binary_0011

**** u lah, troll other thread then say keep integrity. As if u have any. Get lost from here, go back and troll your cheese pie. You're not welcome here. No money wanna buy bike and find fling. Knn ******* shameless.

yah, just ignore him.

Citiguy

Those who dare not push their 10-20k bike are usually the ones who bought it on credit or pay by installment. Can't really afford but wana act rich.The wealthy ones will not hesitate to push it to the limit even if it breaks as a result since 10-20k loss is nothing to them:D

Interesting comment. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.