Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

kiatkiat

I'm looking to buy a bike to fetch my Girl-friend on weekend rides.

Does a Hybrid with rack work?

Would the rack be able to take the weight? 40kg..

Also is there a lady bike form with gears and rack on sale anywhere? Haha

http://store.rodalink.com.sg/2013-polygon-sierra-deluxe-3-700c/

Good?

Need gears though.

http://store.rodalink.com.sg/2015-polygon-sierra-lite-24/

It will advisable to those market bike rack use by those uncle and aunties. Don't use those touring racks. Their mounting is totally different.

Touring rack are mounted on pannier rack mounting holes using only tiny 5mm bolts. That one confirm break if you sit on it.

The rack on those market bike are mounted different. They are mounted on a solid steel skewer instead. And their skewer look more solid than those on mtb or road bike... But heaviler of course.

rarenick

First off, if all of you simply cycle on the PCN you will never develop road awareness skills.

Second, it gives non-cyclists a bad impression that cyclists belong only on PCNs. It's a huge disservice to the cycling community if we self-ghetto ourselves.

Third, PCNs are dangerous. You have cyclists who are going too fast - much too fast for their skill level. You have all sorts of other users on them. Terrible.

Fourth, roads with light traffic are actually more dangerous because drivers will tend to speed and not pay attention. Roads with heavy traffic are safer as far as I am concerned.

Maybe one day some of us more experienced riders should offer one on one rides in heavy traffic?
Not true for heavy traffic. They too eager to move. They will makan the cyclists.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 4I using GAGT

Shdwfalcon

First off, if all of you simply cycle on the PCN you will never develop road awareness skills.

Second, it gives non-cyclists a bad impression that cyclists belong only on PCNs. It's a huge disservice to the cycling community if we self-ghetto ourselves.

Third, PCNs are dangerous. You have cyclists who are going too fast - much too fast for their skill level. You have all sorts of other users on them. Terrible.

Fourth, roads with light traffic are actually more dangerous because drivers will tend to speed and not pay attention. Roads with heavy traffic are safer as far as I am concerned.

Maybe one day some of us more experienced riders should offer one on one rides in heavy traffic?
Hoh boy, your fourth point is VERY debatable. All my close encounters so far were during heavy traffic conditions.

Sent from a place where the sun don't shine without using GAGT

IronMac

Not true for heavy traffic. They too eager to move. They will makan the cyclists.

Of course they are eager to move but they can't move very fast and they can't be distracted or not pay attention.

Agreed, being stuck in heavy traffic will make them stressed and impatient to move.

Hoh boy, your fourth point is VERY debatable. All my close encounters so far were during heavy traffic conditions.

I used to play in heavy traffic. hehehe

As a driver, one has to pay more attention when there are other vehicles around. It's as simple as that.

As a cyclist, of course the vehicles will be close to you but I would rather that they are close and moving slowly than moving fast.

IronMac

Registered 11am. Anyone as well? How u get there, riding or what?

FYI, if anybody rides there:

A. Shimano should be able to provide you with free bike locks to lock up your bike to the racks they have out front. Limited number so first come first served. Don't quote me that they have the locks...they did have locks a couple of months ago when I was there.

B. The safest way is to use Old Airport Rd. which then turns into Stadium Blvd and then you take Stadium Dr. Safest and easiest way. I didn't do that and ended up on the third level of the stadium riding on the track. :s22:

kaledia

yeah right...with gokiso wheels. ...

binary...

Saw your PM. I havent been logging for super long dats why.

BTW, RCC is open to everyone. Its on Rapha website. one year about USD300. Renew is USD200 plus DHL express shipping is free for upgrade. Monthly newsletter from Rapha, members only exclusive discount. And free bike concierge for RCC members. Meaning, if you travel to anywhere in the world except Syria dat has Rapha Cycle Club, you get a free rental bike, just bring pedals and your Garmin and send them your bike fit size and its a Pinarello you get to ride with.

Other than that, no Rapha dont provide EXPENSIVE rear racks. They dont do dat crap.

erwinrommel

I tend to disagree.

It doesn't matter who is right or who is wrong when an accident happens. The person who gets injured is always the cyclist.

PCN is as danderous as cycling on roads, for there are ignorant cyclists and pedestrians. I fractured my wrist before cuz two kids were playing and suddenly whacked into me despite leaving a 1.5m gap away from hem.

Jay Bee

actually heavy or light traffic got different types of dangers.

but its obvious that heavier traffic will have higher chance to meet cbk drivers. ( when the traffic is heavy enough that i am able to match the vehicle in front, i will cycle center lane )

my personal experience riding on road, faster feel safer. under 16kmh stick on pcn. and dunce speed on pcn (>.<)

i ride 99% on roads.

patcheon

It will advisable to those market bike rack use by those uncle and aunties. Don't use those touring racks. Their mounting is totally different.

Touring rack are mounted on pannier rack mounting holes using only tiny 5mm bolts. That one confirm break if you sit on it.

The rack on those market bike are mounted different. They are mounted on a solid steel skewer instead. And their skewer look more solid than those on mtb or road bike... But heaviler of course.

Interesting...didn't know that those market bike racks uses a different, stronger mounting. Thought touring bikes racks are strong as I see pic of tourers putting on lots of stuff onto their touring bikes. :o Learn something today. :)

Which leads me to take at look at the Surly Big Dummy...the webpage says it can carry up to ard 200lb of cargo. :p

http://surlybikes.com/bikes/big_dummy

rarenick

Of course they are eager to move but they can't move very fast and they can't be distracted or not pay attention.

I used to play in heavy traffic. hehehe

As a driver, one has to pay more attention when there are other vehicles around. It's as simple as that.

As a cyclist, of course the vehicles will be close to you but I would rather that they are close and moving slowly than moving fast.
Likelihood of getting hit during heavy traffic is higher, but for light traffic it might be more fatal maybe? There's a difference between frequency and severity.

Jay Bee

Likelihood of getting hit during heavy traffic is higher, but for light traffic it might be more fatal maybe? There's a difference between frequency and severity.

yup yup. and in heavy traffic, driver cant run away, too many witness/in car cam. and help would come quite swiftly.

i would recommend cyclist to take the lane at heavy traffic to prevent kum chiong drivers trying to squeeze u out.

Sadisticnoob

binary...

Saw your PM. I havent been logging for super long dats why.

BTW, RCC is open to everyone. Its on Rapha website. one year about USD300. Renew is USD200 plus DHL express shipping is free for upgrade. Monthly newsletter from Rapha, members only exclusive discount. And free bike concierge for RCC members. Meaning, if you travel to anywhere in the world except Syria dat has Rapha Cycle Club, you get a free rental bike, just bring pedals and your Garmin and send them your bike fit size and its a Pinarello you get to ride with.

Other than that, no Rapha dont provide EXPENSIVE rear racks. They dont do dat crap.

seems like a completely reasonable price to pay for a made in china jersey,
and for being able to exlcusively rent a "high end" canyon race bike at 11 locations around the world namely in
amsterdam
manchester x2
london x2
new york
sydney
tokyo
San Fran
Osaka
Kilver town

Sadisticnoob

i used to help out at a neighbourhood bike shop the kind with a single uncle kind.

i see all the tiong and bangla they ferry their kakis around in the bike, come back say wheel got problem, i see the whole axle of the rear whhel is like inverted sad face one, cant repair at all, those wheels are the market bike kind one, strong heavy 36 spokes kind.

basically the frame can take it but the wheel will give way because the weight is imbalance
Mai kong jiao wei la. smlj is he cannot afford. I see all your post is all about how u wanna brag and brag den bring ppl down.

another *****.

ppl share strong opinion nia why so fierce, forum is to share opinion lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.