ASUS announced U36 model notebook

nuky8181

A new external USB DVD-RW ROM should be around $80. New laptop may have bundled this as free gift. If not, i am not too worry about it :)

Ya. My friend told me about the price but now still looking around so all these will be factor I am looking into. On budget. :D

MarineX

Ya. My friend told me about the price but now still looking around so all these will be factor I am looking into. On budget. :D

SLS is selling for $65 at some outlets.

same goes for the "market-price" @ Marketplace in HWZ

nuky8181

Yup. Found it at fullwell also. About 80. Haha.... can get back asus one. But I really hope there will be bundle for this.:D

Yo2020

definitely a nono.
what a suggestion
The iOS have 101 limitations. Not even worth a choice for work related.
iPad has its' own merits that we can't deny such as super long battery life, super lightweight, Apps, etc.
hence it really depends on the usage requirement.
if the requirement is mainly web based such as email, surfing, stock trading, HWZ foruming, y not?
Microsoft Office Web Apps can also b used on iPad??

nuky8181

Note sure if it is the same model. Seem like this model is out in Malaysia already. Price wise is near or a bit lesser then 999USD over is Malaysia. I found it at Malaysia IT forum.

Hope the price over here is just as great:D

MarineX

iPad has its' own merits that we can't deny such as super long battery life, super lightweight, Apps, etc.
hence it really depends on the usage requirement.
if the requirement is mainly web based such as email, surfing, stock trading, HWZ foruming, y not?
Microsoft Office Web Apps can also b used on iPad??

i rather have less battery life and a slightly heavier weight and get something that can do everything than to be handicapped by the limitations that the iPad offers for my work - honestly.

SimonLam

All,

Just happen to browse MC2 Price List and noticed ASUS U36 is on available now:

2 models:

1. U36JC-RX165V (SRP: S$1498)
- i5-480M (2.66Ghz Turbo to 2.93Ghz)
- 4GB DDR3-1066 RAM (2 slots SODIMM, max 4GB)
- Nvidia 310M 1GB DDR3 VRAM
- 500GB SATA 7200rpm Harddisk
- 13.3 HD (1366x768) Glare 16:9 LED
- Wifi 802.11b/g/n
- 10/100 LAN (Need to verify. ASUS website: 10/100/1000)
- No modem
- No optical drive
- 5-in-1 card reader
- 0.3MP webcam
- Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR
- 8 cell battery/1.6kg/Up to 10hours
- Optical Mouse
- 2-years intl warranty
- Need to verify if its 3x USB3.0 or 2x USB2.0

2. U36JC-RX192X (SRP: S$1598)
- i5-480M (2.66Ghz Turbo to 2.93Ghz)
- 2GB DDR3-1066 RAM (2 slots SODIMM, max 4GB)
- Nvidia 310M 1GB DDR3 VRAM
- 500GB SATA 7200rpm Harddisk
- 13.3 HD (1366x768) Glare 16:9 LED
- Wifi 802.11b/g/n
- 10/100 LAN (Need to verify. ASUS website: 10/100/1000)
- No modem
- No optical drive
- 5-in-1 card reader
- 0.3MP webcam
- Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR
- 8 cell battery/1.6kg/Up to 10hours
- Optical Mouse
- 3-years intl warranty, with free upgrade
- Need to verify if its 3x USB3.0 or 2x USB2.0

For info: http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=XrzH3yU3IVV4nMqL

nuky8181

Thanks for the infor SimonLam

Hai...... bust my budget......

Was hoping for 4GB ram with 3 year warranty yet at $1500.

I did a check on MC2. Another different with the 2nd one as stated by SimonLam come with Win7 Pro.
I saw optical mouse. Any idea what brand is it?

MarineX

Thanks for the infor SimonLam

Hai...... bust my budget......

Was hoping for 4GB ram with 3 year warranty yet at $1500.

I did a check on MC2. Another different with the 2nd one as stated by SimonLam come with Win7 Pro.
I saw optical mouse. Any idea what brand is it?

wait till the upcoming PC Show.. definitely wont bust.

SimonLam

Ha. If wait till march, I think I will increase my budget and compare this against Samsung ZX310.:s13:

That's expensive, MSRP of £1,399 for these specs:
* CPU: Second Generation Intel® CoreTM i5 Processor 2537M (1.40 GHz, 3MB; turbo up to 2.3 GHz)
* Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium (64 bit) / Windows® 7 Professional (64 bit)
* Memory: 4GB DDR3
* Storage (max): 128GB Solid State Drive (SSD)
* Screen: 13.3-inch HD LED-backlit SuperBright Plus display (400 nit)
* Resolution: 1366x768
* Graphics: Intel HD GT2 Integrated Graphics
* Speakers: 3 watt (1.5W x 2) stereo speakers and 1.5 watt sub-woofer
* Battery: Lithium Polymer; up to 6.5 hours
* Wireless: 802.11b/g/n; WiMaxi
* Weight: 2.89 lbs. (abt 1.31kg)

References:
http://www.zx310.com/
http://www.trustedreviews.com/laptops/review/2011/01/11/Samsung-ZX310-9-Series-Hands-On/p1

SimonLam

Based on my research, the current most balanced performance-to-costs 13" laptop under 1.8kg should be Acer TimelineX 3820TG-624g64n i7-620M model with HD 5650, although it is on a slightly heavier side (1.8kg as compared to 1.6kg (Asus U36), 1.44kg (Sony Z13), 1.31kg (ZX310))

Of cos, "balance" here refer to light mobility, high performance, good gaming, as well as good battery life >6hrs.

Note that Z13 and U36 have a slightly lower end graphics (GT 330M and 310M respectively)

U36 model is good for ppl who like ASUS brand, USB3.0, 1.6kg with up to 10hr* battery and not into much gaming.
Sony models are Sony...

Also note that its seems that most manufacturers are not coming out with new 13" under 1.8kg sandy bridge i7 processors models. Min is 14" which means likely more than 2kg or extremely expensive.

Also read somewhere that i7-640m or i7-620m processors beats all i5 mobile processors (1st n 2nd generations) due to better on-die cache.

Just sharing my thoughts.

nuky8181

Ya. The Samsung 9 Series is expensive. Dun use the UK price. It is about 1599USD. So around 2k plus. Taking into consideration it is using SSD, and sandy-bridge processor, it seem rather alright. The LCD panel is also different this time. Do some search and you will start to find out more. Dun really want to mess up this thread with Samsung.

Yeah, The samsung and Asus are not really mean for gamer. But, we are looking at ultra potable so that is understandable.

I did consider Acer for a moment, but still dun really trust the reliability from what I see personally. Also, I did a search for their reliability ranking, Asus is the top few notch while Acer is average.

Samsung is average as well, but in term of potability, design, spec (other then GPU), it is better then Acer. And for that, need to pay a price.

Currently this two are what I have in mind, but in term of pricing, and battery life, chances are, if I am really getting one, most properly it will be Asus.

Zanter

Also note that its seems that most manufacturers are not coming out with new 13" under 1.8kg sandy bridge i7 processors models. Min is 14" which means likely more than 2kg or extremely expensive.

Also read somewhere that i7-640m or i7-620m processors beats all i5 mobile processors (1st n 2nd generations) due to better on-die cache.

The i3 & i5 2nd gen processors will be out in Feb. If the manufacturers announce they will releasing/revamping the existing lappies with these great new processors with much better graphics & lower power consumption, how will they sell their existing stock? I think middle of the year will be a good time to upgrade/buy new lappy with 3.0 USB & Sandy bridge based lappy.

nuky8181

I was told by MC2 staff that the item would only be available, around 2nd or 3rd week of feb.

lippi74

Intel announced recall of the Sandy bridge due to a chipset design flaw. Samsung ZX310 most probably wont be available until May.

SimonLam

Just saw 1 unit of U36Jc on display at Nex's Newstead store. Its matt metal finish and damn slim...chio..

nuky8181

The local retail price seem rather high compare to Malaysia. Anyone going Malaysia to get? Can lobang? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.