ASUS announced U36 model notebook

ahbard

just collected the lappy from starhub.....hmm this laptop can support 8gb ram...Me went sls hoot 1 4GB...plus the default 2GB..total got 6GB.....if ask the ppl there to upgrade ram for u is cut throat price sia... Btw any1 went to the asus service center and buy the 8 cell bat???how much was it?

leongws

I collected the laptop on Monday from starhub promo. Same as ahbard, I also self installed additional 4gb ram. Was looking to get the extended warranty but are quoted $160+ for 2nd and 3rd year. Wondering can we buy the extended warranty at any other places and is it the same charges?

temptemp

just collected the lappy from starhub.....hmm this laptop can support 8gb ram...Me went sls hoot 1 4GB...plus the default 2GB..total got 6GB.....if ask the ppl there to upgrade ram for u is cut throat price sia... Btw any1 went to the asus service center and buy the 8 cell bat???how much was it?

my fren was quoted SGD80 for a 8 cells OEM, yet to check the price of the orig battery.

-----
This message is sent from HWZ forums iPhone app

ahbard

my fren was quoted SGD80 for a 8 cells OEM, yet to check the price of the orig battery.

-----
This message is sent from HWZ forums iPhone app

From the service center or where he got the quote from? 1 more thing...will warranty void if we are to change the HDD? i find the lappy quite slow haha...maybe too used to my i7 desktop liao.:s12:

And again not sure how long the oem batt will last.

ahbard

I collected the laptop on Monday from starhub promo. Same as ahbard, I also self installed additional 4gb ram. Was looking to get the extended warranty but are quoted $160+ for 2nd and 3rd year. Wondering can we buy the extended warranty at any other places and is it the same charges?

Was thinking on the extended warranty..but decided against it as not worth on 1st gen cpu and can use the $$ to invest a laptop of my choice ,unless can find much cheaper than $160+. How come monday can collect liao???got vip access ar??/haha:s22:

leongws

Was thinking on the extended warranty..but decided against it as not worth on 1st gen cpu and can use the $$ to invest a laptop of my choice ,unless can find much cheaper than $160+. How come monday can collect liao???got vip access ar??/haha:s22:

Thinking of extended warranty cause normally the charging port for laptop quite fragile and usually the first to damage. I called on Monday to ask for availability and immediately go down when they say stock have arrive.

ahbard

haha nice. To think that i spent 2hrs+ queueing ytd. Sian the 4 cell batt quite sucky..only gave me 2hrs+ on full charge nia. Any1 tried 8 cell oem??how is the batt life?

But then again...2hrs+ cause i use with a external hdd???maybe better batt life w/o it bah..will monitor again tonite.

temptemp

From the service center or where he got the quote from? 1 more thing...will warranty void if we are to change the HDD? i find the lappy quite slow haha...maybe too used to my i7 desktop liao.:s12:

Nope, quote from outside source.

hwzbee

Called the service hotline. Was told "as long as warranty seals are not broken, it will not affect the warranty".

I'm not so sure though. I'm thinking of changing to SSD but have to unscrew the mainboard n unplug the keyboard to get to the HDD.

Anyone can double confirm change HDD will for U36JC will not void warranty?

hwzbee

just collected the lappy from starhub.....hmm this laptop can support 8gb ram...Me went sls hoot 1 4GB...plus the default 2GB..total got 6GB.....

Bro, can run msinfo32.exe n see how much RAM installed n available physical mem reported?

Which 4GB RAM ur bought? 1066 or 1333mhz? No need to match existing 2GB RAM?

leongws

Before ahbard reply, the 4gb ram i bought is Kingston 1333mhz. The 2gb that comes with the laptop is also 1333mhz. However it is 'downgraded' to run at only 1066mhz due to i5 support max 1066mhz only.

ahbard

yes. mine is 2gb +4gb. ram installed is 5.79gb..available is 4.5gb(with softwares running in the background)

leongws, can check whether ur ram is running @ wat latency?

leongws

yes. mine is 2gb +4gb. ram installed is 5.79gb..available is 4.5gb(with softwares running in the background)

leongws, can check whether ur ram is running @ wat latency?

For mine is Installed physical memory=6.00gb. Total physical memory=5.79gb. Available physical memory=4.36gb

As for latency, i got this using cpuz : 7,7,7,20

ahbard

i see..maybe i shd get the 1333mhz also haha...any idea wat brand is the 2gb from??from cpuz only state is from asus. Ramm installed and physical memory is same as urs..available is dependent on what softwares u running in the background bah...

Did u get a 8 cell batt? The 4 cell lifespan quite short. The laptop got haywire when i tried to install some software..In the end fresh install a new OS haha....

leongws

ur 4gb is 1066mhz ram? did not get the 8 cell battery. Fresh install? u mean recovery from the recovery partition by pressing F9?

ahbard

install from my own OS cd. I can't do anything after the window load....So just install a fresh win7 ultimate into it.

Ya..my 4gb is 1066Mhz ram

Can I get some feedback~?

Is the laptop hot~? If so, after how long of usage~?

How long can the laptop last~? Just pure surfing and programming~!

Does it crash often~?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.