Asus UX305 - users' comments & feedback

pronxs

Anyone has ux305ua bought locally? How much did you buy it for and what price?

chengsun

Saw MS US store selling the 2015 model at $599, 8gb ram 256gb ssd, sibeh gian leh

skyangel91

Just got my ux305ua...however the bottom left laptop leg is not straight so when i press on my keyboard my laptop will press bottom left downwards...

superzheny

User Update: I am the first confirmed user of this laptop (checkout the first page of this thread), so Im gonna give a brief update after using it for almost 10 months.

My specs: UX305fa, updated to w10, 4gb ram, 128gb ssd, 5y10, purchased early march 2015

Pros:
-Screen is perfect for me. Good size, good resolution (sharp but no need for ridiculous scaling or battery consumption), Matt
-Battery life: amazing battery life on idle and low power usage (typing word docs etc). Can get over 10 hours. It had never entered hibernate due to low batt before.
-Keyboard: Good spacing, rather shallow key travel but has a springy feel when u type feels quite shiock
-SSD: Fast enough for everyday use (reads:450mbps)
-USB ports: 3 of them (i use all of them)

Cons:
- The main con I have is that the screen does not open wide enough. It opens up to 130 degrees, and I often have to open it to the max which can not be enough. But the IPS viewing angles are good at least
- Battery life: Battery life is average under load. Watching a 480p video off my ext hdd, screen life is stated at around 5 hours according to the battery meter
- Processor is not fast enough: I say this with caution, because IT IS fast enough for my everyday use. It only shows its weakness under wanton multitasking, which then again the 4gb ram might be to blame
-Laptop body is unable to cope with extensive load due to overheating: The UX305 is passively cooled. Under 100% CPU usage at 30c ambient temp, CPU begins to thermal throttle below 2ghz frequency after around 10 minutes. CPU temps drop from 70c to 60c due to throttling. Frequency hovers around the 1.3-1.5ghz mark.
- Laptop is very thin. I notice theres a very slight bend on the base after using for 10 months. Probably because I frequently carry it around with one hand holding the edge. Estimate the bend to be 1 degree, not visually noticable, but when placed on a surface, can push the side down by a little bit to make it flat.
- The laptop props itself onto 2 little metal feet when the screen is opened. I think thats a design flaw as they couldnt fit the screen within the thin body. I personally dont like that as I feel uncomfortable pushing the laptop down onto its screen hinges.
- speakers are weak

Other thoughts:
- No need for asus customer service so far
- w10 works perfectly fine

Conclusion:
I am listing down alot of cons because this is a long term usage review. Any pros would have already been mentioned by other reviewers and they all stand.

I would not give this laptop up for anything else, except perhaps the new core m3 version.

Wish mine had 8gb of ram, but back then singapore dint sell it.

Once you go passive cooling, its hard to go back. It just feels to right to have a laptop that is completely quiet and still.

This review was typed on this laptop.

Cheers :s12:

superzheny

Another important thing I forgot to add..

The track pad has reasonable tracking, 2 finger scrolling and zooming. However the buttons are horrendous.

Because its made of a single piece of metal, when press right button, sometimes left button activate and vice versa. Only way to avoid that is to intentionally press on the extreme edges of the buttons, very trouble some.

Teo Ming Ern

Thanks for the review... good job! I love this laptop too... it's everything a laptop should be, thin, light, long battery life, not too expensive.

jeffrey745

Is the UX305 worth buying? Read some gd and bad comments abt it. U guys buy from microsoft USA store or Amazon? Use frieght forwarder? Im planning to buy the USD$599 version from microsoft store, is of good?
https://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msusa/en_US/pdp/ASUS-ZenBook-UX305FA-USM1-Signature-Edition-Laptop/productID.320751400&ved=0ahUKEwjwxILgyNjKAhXBao4KHWe3DoYQFggZMAA&usg=AFQjCNGqOdcq9y5AQOYD__lL49erbFi_5Q&sig2=lOTuyf8PioNrerUlpyBLiA

skyangel91

any idea why my UX305 base keeps sliding around when i push the monitor all the way to the back..

alyssax

Just bit the bullet.... Bought UX305-UA at Best @ 1298. Free canned abalones and some other freebies.

Kenshin79

for those who are keen, found following selling by AddOn @ Funan
ASUS UX305CA
Core m3-6Y30, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Windows 10, 2 Year Warranty
$1188 (UP $1298)

jeffrey745

I agree. The total costs plus shipping and taxes adds up to $1k.

But is the warranty valid in singapore ? I tried contacting the ms chatline personnel,the person told me they dun offer international warranty,only warranty valid in USA?

Planning to ship through freight forwarder too and save some $$. This is similar to macbook pro retina specs mid ranged which costs $1.7k....

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
I agree. The total costs plus shipping and taxes adds up to $1k.

But is the warranty valid in singapore ? I tried contacting the ms chatline personnel,the person told me they dun offer international warranty,only warranty valid in USA?

Planning to ship through freight forwarder too and save some $$. This is similar to macbook pro retina specs mid ranged which costs $1.7k....

Thanks bro. Will check it out! :)

chengsun

Challenger has the base model (4GB, 128GB) at $999 now. Saw that there is 2 years international warranty.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.