Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Haonan

auction ended at ¥211,000

:s13::s13:

Already forewarned you that it will end around the same as that previous 220k yen auction bid of the W2002 liaos. Classic W-series vintages are just simply out of my league...very hard for me to even step near them.

Oh well, I will just be satisfied with my upcoming W5000 and A900Ti Limited that will be arriving pretty soon, shd be a pretty interesting aural experience with my current DAC setup. Though I have also been recently considering on whether to make a trip down to Stereo and buy that W3000ANV off the shelfs, i have been checking japanese store prices for the W3K for the last couple mths and the domestic prices there are just plain plain ridiculous.
:vijayadmin:

Coupled with the upcoming rumours of a possible ATH-W7000 release for this yr (which ATH should be making some announcements anytime soon within Oct-Nov), looks like some of our wallets will be in for a hard beating again.
:D:D

Haonan

will be bringing along W3000ANV, W1000 and ESW11 when I go down to E1 :)

Bro was there supposed to be some sort of mini ATH-meet this week? Never received any updates from u leh. :sad::sad:

Anyway I will probably be E1 this Sat afternoon, if you have nothing on feel free to ring me up, can prob meet up together or something. :o

So currently what are the plans so far for November's meet? Postphoned indefinitely?

shsh91

:s13::s13:

Already forewarned you that it will end around the same as that previous 220k yen auction bid of the W2002 liaos. Classic W-series vintages are just simply out of my league...very hard for me to even step near them.

Oh well, I will just be satisfied with my upcoming W5000 and A900Ti Limited that will be arriving pretty soon, shd be a pretty interesting aural experience with my current DAC setup. Though I have also been recently considering on whether to make a trip down to Stereo and buy that W3000ANV off the shelfs, i have been checking japanese store prices for the W3K for the last couple mths and the domestic prices there are just plain plain ridiculous.
:vijayadmin:

Coupled with the upcoming rumours of a possible ATH-W7000 release for this yr (which ATH should be making some announcements anytime soon within Oct-Nov), looks like some of our wallets will be in for a hard beating again.
:D:D

i hope they really released a full size which sounds very very euphonic compared to the W3000ANV which pple keep describing as euphonic while to me its not so.

I will be bringing my Heaven VI. Performing really really well now.

Haonan

I remember comparing the W3000ANV with the A2000X and AD2000X. If I remember correctly I felt that the W3000ANV was more all-rounded, quite coloured but with a sweet sound. The A2000X was the mother of clarity. The AD2000X was the mother of female vocals :s13:

From my personal listening experience all these yrs, my own words is that if you're not well acquainted with the W-series sound, W3000ANV can still sound quite coloured to you with a relatively sweet, lushed sound/tonality to it. However when you start comparing their previous earlier W-series lineups, such as the W10LTD/VTG, W100 and W2002/W11JPN (these 2 i have no personal experience with, but are generally raved and concured by many fellow ATH owners to be the mother of female vocals, at least for Asian vocal rendition wise) against the W3K, there is no questions asked that W3000ANV doesn't even sound that euphonic or lushed at all, in terms of the tonal signature and is just another pair of ATH wooden cans that has a relatively good bass weight (when compared to other foreign TOTL makers), nice midrange presence and a well-controlled and refined treble quality.

W3000ANV doesn't sound very coloured to me at all, in fact the colouration when compared to some of the previous older W-series are already consideredly pretty mild in pure comparison. W3K personally to me is more focused on the lower-mids, has very good well-rounded bass texture/definition and does very well in terms of PRaT, at least when compared to W5000. Full-sized headphones like A2000X in comparison to W3K sounds relatively dry and harsh with no tonal color at all, but in a relatively much more neutral and colder tone in terms of the overall sound so I can definitely understand where you are coming frm when you mentioned that you seemed to adore the sound sig of the A2000X Art monitors, yet you found the overall sound of the W3000ANV to be coloured in a way.

And I would just like to share in my own words, from my brief demo listening experiences of both AD2000/AD2000X, compared to my own AD1KPRM there is one area that the former series loses quite apparently to the PRMs according to my ears. Female vocals rendition. No fight at all.

I supposed some of the things that some Taiwanese fans said back then were quite true, usually in terms of ATH's limited edition stuff they do have something special abt them when it comes down to tonal color/signature, compared to their mass-produced models.

At least according to the reviews/impressions I have read over at Mobile01 from Azureimf's and Kasanagi0702's mouth, I have my beliefs that in terms of female vocals strictly, at the moment the AD1000PRM reigns over AD2000X for sure. (and it also helps to boost my ego by several fold, to know that I managed to acquire my own pair for only less than 600sgd only, compared to what a AD2000KX costs currently)
:D

Randius

Orz, hardly anyone at E1 now though Haonan and myself brought more AT earphones/headphones to share :)

sidrpm

Orz, hardly anyone at E1 now though Haonan and myself brought more AT earphones/headphones to share :)

Thanks a lot to you, Haonan and shsh... for allowing me the opportunity to try so many AT gems this evening.

Haonan

Thanks a lot to you, Haonan and shsh... for allowing me the opportunity to try so many AT gems this evening.

No worries u're welcomed sidrpm. It was my pleasure meeting u as well, am especially glad to see another fellow forumer out there who knows how to appreciate gd ATH stuffs.
:)

haha thx waiting for you to get my vorzuge amp :X

Tiagong heard someone is gonna hoot Bakoon HPA-21 and Lynx Hilo after selling off Vorzuge Pure sia, that is sho holy wangtangfang can, like srsly sho satki! Respect wor!
:eek::eek: :crazy::crazy:

Haonan

damn it, couldn't go due to work. would have wanna tried your kaede! :s13:

Kan sad. Just msged Kenny actually earlier today then heard frm him he just sold off his HM-901 last mth. May have to look for u sometime soon to make arrangements to try to compare HM-901 against AK120 liao, since im still pretty curious how the latest HifiMan flagship DAP measures up to iRiver's current offerings.

destrozer

Kan sad. Just msged Kenny actually earlier today then heard frm him he just sold off his HM-901 last mth. May have to look for u sometime soon to make arrangements to try to compare HM-901 against AK120 liao, since im still pretty curious how the latest HifiMan flagship DAP measures up to iRiver's current offerings.

No problem. I work around town area, so pretty convenient to meet at E1/Jaben/usual haunts.

Yeah, he sold it off quite some time back. He has love affairs with DAPs and cables, especially cables. Cable hoarder. :s13:

Oh, and I'm sure you'd be pretty amazed at what the HM-901 puts out. Alot of AK120 owners think so too. Awesome DAP to have, if you don't mind the heft and the looks, that is. :D

shsh91

No worries u're welcomed sidrpm. It was my pleasure meeting u as well, am especially glad to see another fellow forumer out there who knows how to appreciate gd ATH stuffs.
:)

Tiagong heard someone is gonna hoot Bakoon HPA-21 and Lynx Hilo after selling off Vorzuge Pure sia, that is sho holy wangtangfang can, like srsly sho satki! Respect wor!
:eek::eek: :crazy::crazy:

in my dream can.. haha wan me exposed u a not? hahaha
wa now come stir ****

Haonan

in my dream can.. haha wan me exposed u a not? hahaha
wa now come stir ****

*acts blur* Where got stir? I go koon and dream abt ATH liaos. Who knows next sat if I tio 4D, perhaps I can buy ya a used ESW10jpn/W2002 back from JP wor.
:crazy::crazy:

Anywhere update me agn when u collecting yr ALO preorder. Might need to head back soon cause didn't get to hear alot of ALO stuffs tday, spent some serious time tday with some external poison instead from Fitear and the Tube Amp TA-1.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.