Australia PR

KeKeLaRz

just to add, as long as u meet the point system sooner or later ull get ur PR.

its a clear cut case of whether u make it or you dont, as well as medical :)

KeKeLaRz

saintsu said:
Hi all, I had just lodged my PR application about 1 month ago.
I was rushing to get the application lodged before 1st Sep because as of then, graduates won't be able to get PR directly. Graduates will require a graduate work visa for 2 years but provided you have a sponsor (employer) to give you that. It won't be easy because personally I had tried looking for a decent job without PR, its quite a bitch.

I had a confrontation with the immigration officer about this issue, not a violent one but just a commenting on the change. The officer claimed that the change is good for us as it allows us to blend into the work culture, tax and pay system in Aust but I slapped him with the fact that I, being a BachIT(Hon I), was having difficulty to find a job. How is it helping us when we can't find a sponsor? He kept quiet and told me to try harder and lower my expectation. How low can I get when I applied for graduate entry position? It was kinda sucky feeling. I got turned down my companies because of having no PR.

With a work visa, worker has to pay at least 30% tax upfront. And on top of that, there will be super contribution (CPF). That will amount up to 40%. I definitely won't be too glad with that.

I can see where you are coming from, but with experience at Uni. Many asian students cant speak properly english nor share the "Australian" way of life.

Shrugging off all "Ang Moh" values and sometimes do not wish to join a group with an ang moh.

Australia has started to be harsher on potential immigrants who do not share the way of life or values in the Australian culture.

Sad to hear that you are harshly affected by this BUT it is better for the Australian nation. Guess the company's you applied at can choose another graduate as it has less hassle for them to sponser you.

seianko

Min 2 year deg course
60pointer occupation
3 out of 4 years in the related field
Gurantor
Ielts min 6 out of 9 points

That is the abv latest MIN req.

I wanted to apply for their PR once i reach 2.7 mths of working in related field. not that ireally like to work there but i preffer to retire there plus my mum likes it there.

1.5 years master is not a issue as long as it is master.

If u have been working in the same field after ur deg for 3 years it should help.

seianko

It will not be much prob for me to apply since my occup is always the 60 pointer and high in demand. but the only prob is i may need to apply for IEEE Aust and i dun have a good feeling abt that. :(

Chervelle

seianko said:
Min 2 year deg course
60pointer occupation
Gurantor

I wanted to apply for their PR once i reach 2.7 mths of working in related field. not that ireally like to work there but i preffer to retire there plus my mum likes it there.

If u have been working in the same field after ur deg for 3 years it should help.

so this the latest requirements after 1sep? woah... so tough arh

dilphinus

seianko said:
Min 2 year deg course
60pointer occupation
Gurantor

read page 13 of booklet 6

if you have applied within 6 months of your graduation (which you have missed), the student won't have to fulfill the recent work requirement

with the new changes in sep, 50 pointers can apply as well, but most likely will have insufficient points where new grads have to apply for the new temporary work visa for graduates (http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/changes/index.htm)

seianko

Temp work visa thing is not worth. It is not easy to get a related job in OZ even for temp.

I dunno about other industry in aust. I know for sure electrical eng n media (tv) u need to have related work exp.

For elec eng u need to have exp in HV or LV, motors, transformer, plant design n adequte knowledge in Hazardous area.

with that, u need min 2-3 years exp. These are the things one is expected to know if u want a job there. they hardly take in power fresh grads, if they do u must be either crop of cream or u hv prof reccomendation letter. else do the hard way, get some exp first.

silviachef

seianko said:
Temp if u want a job there. they hardly take in power fresh grads, if they do u must be either crop of cream or u hv prof reccomendation letter. else do the hard way, get some exp first.
If you are from UQ, try and see if you can get a letter of recomd from tthat Dr sasa lobang. The indian guy who teaches power. Cannot rem his name.

luckyboi

brainbird said:
now the aus PR thingy is a bit tricky...

i wonder for this case:
studied in brisbane, degree for 1yr8mths.
came back to work for a while
now going to melbourne for a 1.5yrs masters course...

qualified for PR based on study points?
meaning adding the 1.5yrs to 1yr8mths... although in between a break.

if so, when can start applying and usually how long it takes to qualify?.. in order to have lower tuition fees and able to start working over there...?
TS may i know which line are u in? and how long is your break in between?

fishbuff

here's my blog on the emigration experience from singapore to brisbane australia; fishbuff.blogspot.com
pardon me that i had to squeeze everything of past 6 months into afew chapters. learn from my mistakes.

Zetta83

Thanks fish, will take a look.

Didn't know you do IT too. I'll be graduating soon with a Bachelor in IT (System Development / Network Technology) But still dunno should I specialize in Network security (Crypto, CCNP) or programming (Advance I guess) for my Masters. The only reason I'm taking Masters is becos my grades sux. Any advice on the market demands since you are in this field? I fine with any field actually.

patryn33

Zetta83 said:
Didn't know you do IT too. I'll be graduating soon with a Bachelor in IT (System Development / Network Technology) But still dunno should I specialize in Network security (Crypto, CCNP) or programming (Advance I guess) for my Masters. The only reason I'm taking Masters is becos my grades sux. Any advice on the market demands since you are in this field? I fine with any field actually.
Can you really continue on masters if you Bach degree grades sux? I thought even for Aussie it require a good honours/postgrad Diploma. Good isn't 2nd upper or better?

Zetta83

I'm going QUT, it's a direct Masters from Bachelors and I only need a 4.5 of 7. For Hons or Masters research it's a 5 of 7. I'm going for a coursework masters with semi research components in it. So was wondering what to specialize since I'm fine with Network security (Crypto, CCNP) and programming (Advance I guess).

Read your blog fish, will take your advices. (Seems like you gonna through some rough times.)

fishbuff

Zetta83 said:
I'm going QUT, it's a direct Masters from Bachelors and I only need a 4.5 of 7. For Hons or Masters research it's a 5 of 7. I'm going for a coursework masters with semi research components in it. So was wondering what to specialize since I'm fine with Network security (Crypto, CCNP) and programming (Advance I guess).

Read your blog fish, will take your advices. (Seems like you gonna through some rough times.)

I cant really say what is suitable for u. u need to figure out which field u have the most passion and then pursue it. I used to be a novell netware system administrator startout but as time goes by and business needs changes, i move away to be an oracle database administrator.

so it depends on your interest and market. im not sure but the locals here doesnt seem to be that interested in IT. most are taking up arts, psyhiotherapy, other discipline of engineering and finance. probably the pay for IT workers here are the same if not lower than those non-IT workers.

saintsu

fishbuff said:
I cant really say what is suitable for u. u need to figure out which field u have the most passion and then pursue it. I used to be a novell netware system administrator startout but as time goes by and business needs changes, i move away to be an oracle database administrator.

so it depends on your interest and market. im not sure but the locals here doesnt seem to be that interested in IT. most are taking up arts, psyhiotherapy, other discipline of engineering and finance. probably the pay for IT workers here are the same if not lower than those non-IT workers.

Agree.

To Zetta83
Pursue your interest. Thats the most important thing. In anycase, having sucky under grad results isn't the end. Do well for your masters and get good grades for it. Just my observation, I may be a bit bias but I see a trend for enterprise development.

Zetta83

Thanks all.

saintsu, that’s what I thought too, that’s why I'm pursuing my masters.

Enterprise development is very much dominated by India Indians and China Chinese in SG, wonder if it's the same in Aust. I used to major in multimedia programming in my dip, but did network security in uni and felt that I'm ok too. So in a dilemma. Heard that network security is very hot in brissy, always in demand, is that true? If I'm doing networks, will be going QUT, their masters modules seems to cover alot on security and lesser of programming.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.