Australia PR

yodatan

then anyone heard of people who study all the way in singapore, work in singapore, but manage to get PR in australia or NZ after a few years of work in singapore? (perhaps if u work in one of the high demand industries?)

Inix

then anyone heard of people who study all the way in singapore, work in singapore, but manage to get PR in australia or NZ after a few years of work in singapore? (perhaps if u work in one of the high demand industries?)
Plenty. But most that I know work in IT and are probably considered to be pretty established in their careers.

Kyoji83

Haha, I never stay in australian for years so I am not sure if staying in australian for my life is what I want.

Right now I think I only want to get an australian PR first & hope to have the chance to stay there for years before making a desion if what I want is to settle down there after I RET.

This mean I will keep SG citizenship in the mean time since I am going to step down & MR soon which NS will not affect me anymore.

same.

i dun mind giving up SG citizenship for australian citizenship

yodatan

Plenty. But most that I know work in IT and are probably considered to be pretty established in their careers.

how about accountants and auditors, know any in similar situations??

fishbuff

im in IT and working in brisbane. it has been a long time since i last converse with a singaporean.

at least they dont discriminate me as extremely as those employers in sg and the whole environment of work is rather different from sg; when they work, they really work. no msn, no internet surfing, and the IT professionals that i worked with have 20 years of IT experience, very steep in their area of expertise.

man, i saw some shell scripts that they wrote and i was really surprised at their complexities. Nothing like what i used to see back in sg.

alvina87

how about accountants and auditors, know any in similar situations??

The last time i went to an 'immigration consultant' wif my bf (who's an ex-auditor), only Perth is taking in accountants now. So we're keeping our fingers crossed that the new list to be out on 1/7/2010 will still demand auditors/accountants

yodatan

The last time i went to an 'immigration consultant' wif my bf (who's an ex-auditor), only Perth is taking in accountants now. So we're keeping our fingers crossed that the new list to be out on 1/7/2010 will still demand auditors/accountants

lol wish us luck! shall see in july then...

i rem the news was saying that australia still dont have enough accountants who can speak english, still got hope then....

http://www.investordaily.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/id/style/859.htm?rdeCOQ=SID-0A3D9632-DE66A0AF

did u have to pay the immigration consultant btw?

Inix

Haha, I never stay in australian for years so I am not sure if staying in australian for my life is what I want.

Right now I think I only want to get an australian PR first & hope to have the chance to stay there for years before making a desion if what I want is to settle down there after I RET.

This mean I will keep SG citizenship in the mean time since I am going to step down & MR soon which NS will not affect me anymore.
I wouldn't give up my SG Citizenship. If you live in Australia, your PRship already give you most (if not all) the privileges that an average Aussie has except the right to vote.

Besides the fact that you can take out your CPF money, I see no value in removing my SG Citizenship. Especially considering SG's passport allows Visa free access to more countries than Aussie passport.

friendlyguy

over the two years, i've learnt:

1. how the billions of dollars pumped in every year simply cannot be justified, no matter how abstractly you look at it.
2. that i won't ever pay tax to support such useless regulars. i rather donate to tt durai to make golden tap at home
3. that summing up every possible lesson learnt, they could have been taught within a week. not by wasting my 2 years
4. not to EVER have a kid in singapore
5. that PRs are a bunch of wussies. from personal experience, i have PR friends who enjoy elite education, get into medicine overseas and renounce their citizenship. in short, they milked the system and left it to rot.

i'm pretty sure they're more. just can't think of them right now

lol..you wish urself to become poor. It's non sense if u are rich to have kids in singapore.

lycans

I just came back from Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast. Good Lord, the property prices is pretty cheap cf SG property. 3 bed room and 2 toilet and 1 car garage is only about 400k

Its very beautiful too, the view of the Pacific Ocean, major shopping centers, good food locations, great surfing and scuba diving there too

patryn33

over the two years, i've learnt:

1. how the billions of dollars pumped in every year simply cannot be justified, no matter how abstractly you look at it.
2. that i won't ever pay tax to support such useless regulars. i rather donate to tt durai to make golden tap at home
3. that summing up every possible lesson learnt, they could have been taught within a week. not by wasting my 2 years
4. not to EVER have a kid in singapore
5. that PRs are a bunch of wussies. from personal experience, i have PR friends who enjoy elite education, get into medicine overseas and renounce their citizenship. in short, they milked the system and left it to rot.

i'm pretty sure they're more. just can't think of them right now

1. U sure OZ not doing the same?
2. the higher tax there, not welfare for those useless ppl who don't work?
3. No NS there, ppl volunteer for what? if ppl think like U all don't volunteer rules may change.. Germany also have NS in the past 2yrs, today 1 yr.
4. why so? have KID SG give U $$$, there are subsidy in OZ but not as much.
5. PR in OZ not a bunch of wussies? U dare say will contribute and let all your kids joint army? PR in OZ don't milk the system there? but they contribute to it?

patryn33

I just came back from Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast. Good Lord, the property prices is pretty cheap cf SG property. 3 bed room and 2 toilet and 1 car garage is only about 400k

Its very beautiful too, the view of the Pacific Ocean, major shopping centers, good food locations, great surfing and scuba diving there too

big country what.
I am sure U could find similar kinda things in other countries with big land/coast and population density not as high.
only mortage rate is high ~6%. but is landed right?
http://www.yourmortgage.com.au/

any listing for the place?

this listing is showing any where from AUD$275k to AUD$4.5M
http://www.realestate.com.au/realestate/qld/gold+coast/surfers+paradise/homes+for+sale
http://www.goldcoastproperty.com.au...urb,Surfers Paradise/latest,1/listing_type,1/

patryn33

never give up sg citizenship , cannot take out CPF money leh

Really? CPF is lying???
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm
Leaving Singapore

You have made an important decision to leave Singapore permanently and migrate to another country. Or you may have stopped working in Singapore and will be returning to your home country to be reunited with your family.

What happens to your CPF then?

You can withdraw your CPF ...
II) If you are leaving Singapore and West Malaysia permanently with no intention of returning to either country for employment or residence:

lycans

big country what.
I am sure U could find similar kinda things in other countries with big land/coast and population density not as high.
only mortage rate is high ~6%. but is landed right?
http://www.yourmortgage.com.au/

any listing for the place?

this listing is showing any where from AUD$275k to AUD$4.5M
http://www.realestate.com.au/realestate/qld/gold+coast/surfers+paradise/homes+for+sale
http://www.goldcoastproperty.com.au...urb,Surfers Paradise/latest,1/listing_type,1/

Dun have...I saw it while walking around Surfers...one of those real estate company advertising on the window...got quite alot...some are houses some are apartments..

I wonder though if they are leasehold or freehold.

Inix

400K sounds all nice until you factor in the interest rates. It is currently horvering around 6% and during 2008, it was at one point of time, around 10%.

Also, Gold Coast is all nice to visit and have fun, but I have no idea what work the average Singaporean can find there ah.. Migratin isn't a joke. When we move, we need to factor in multiple things, most of all, work and moolah.

Inix

never give up sg citizenship , cannot take out CPF money leh
I prefer to monetize my CPF in other ways than giving it up. I've already got a home, so I can rent it out. My mortage is low, so it will in many sense, subsidise my Australian home (if I choose to go).

SG's interest rates are also very low. so if I do go, keeping my citizenship allows me access to borrowing in SG banks to fund my Australian venture.

lycans

400K sounds all nice until you factor in the interest rates. It is currently horvering around 6% and during 2008, it was at one point of time, around 10%.

Also, Gold Coast is all nice to visit and have fun, but I have no idea what work the average Singaporean can find there ah.. Migratin isn't a joke. When we move, we need to factor in multiple things, most of all, work and moolah.

I think someone needs to open a thread and put all the details of a buying a house in Australia in there

For me I am quite certain I can find a job with my degree. GC is like a mini Japan/Korea....alot of asians there but many speak Jap or Korean

Inix

I think someone needs to open a thread and put all the details of a buying a house in Australia in there

For me I am quite certain I can find a job with my degree. GC is like a mini Japan/Korea....alot of asians there but many speak Jap or Korean
Good for you. Goldcoast is nice. Better than Sydney IMO. I'm still contemplating if I should head down under. Only issue is that I will be based in Sydney, which IMO, is just another City, so why should I move.

Migration is pretty darn complicated, even if we take the emotional factors out of it...

alvina87

yea its true, love the G.C!! in fact my relatives were keen to explore the opportunity of buying G.C. property but we realised there is limited upside due to overwhelming supply, just look at all the skyscrapers!

And rental yield is low too, since there's supply overhang..

I guess its a good buy only if u're looking to live there yourself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.