Australia PR

yodatan

See the URL below....

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/pdf/critical-skills-list.pdf

accountants still get priority processing, although i am wondering about this skilled internship thing that they have to go thru in place of IELTS... sounds like another way to suck more money out of u. would i be better of going for an honours year or my CPA??

anyone know if u can remain in australia to study for the CPA australia exams? as CPA australia is a distance learning thing....

it says in their advisory on waiting times that we can possibly wait from 6 mths to 2 years for the visa... do we have to stay in australia then? like that do what, cannot work cannot study how??

http://www.immi.gov.au/about/charters/client-services-charter/visas/8.0.htm

Rushifaa

Wah lau.
The NZ thing real or not?

Like that i don't dare to try NZ immigration liao.
Pray for my US green card lottery this July.
Every year 40 SG win only.

patryn33

pay less tax? In belgium u pay tax 70% hor..

come on friend, do read a little deeper. how many joes do pay 70% tax.
to pay an avg of 70% on tax how much $$ must 1 make?
base on the below.
the 1st EUR$6430 is exempted from tax.
next 0-7899 you pay 25%
79000 - 11239 is at 30%
etc

eg if U make EUR$60.7K there U're paying ~38% in tax,
if u making EUR$80.7k there, its ~40.8% in tax
@ 120K its ~44% to gov

of course ppl pay communal and regional taxes which is and additional 6%.

http://www.expatica.com/be/finance_business/tax/taxation-in-belgium-8618_8286.html
It amounts to – including social security – 57.3% for a single earner.

The basic exemption for 2010 is 6,430.

marginal income tax starts at 25%, rises to 30% over EUR 7,900, 40% over EUR 11,240, 45% over 18,730 EUR with a top limit of 50% for incomes above EUR 34,330.

they have social security like our CPF. employer contributions of up to 40 per cent and employee contribute up to 20% of their income.

http://www.justlanded.com/english/Belgium/Belgium-Guide/Jobs/Social-Security
In Belgium, 13.07 per cent of employees’ salary is withheld and a further 25 to 30 per cent of salary contributed by employers. The 3 per cent ‘crisis surcharge’ also contributes to social security funding.

In short to hit 70% tax.. one must be making more than EUR$140K and have very few deductible to siamz tax. ppl making that much do know how to hire accountant to lower they tax man.

friendlyguy

come on friend, do read a little deeper. how many joes do pay 70% tax.
to pay an avg of 70% on tax how much $$ must 1 make?
base on the below.
the 1st EUR$6430 is exempted from tax.
next 0-7899 you pay 25%
79000 - 11239 is at 30%
etc

eg if U make EUR$60.7K there U're paying ~38% in tax,
if u making EUR$80.7k there, its ~40.8% in tax
@ 120K its ~44% to gov

of course ppl pay communal and regional taxes which is and additional 6%.

http://www.expatica.com/be/finance_business/tax/taxation-in-belgium-8618_8286.html

they have social security like our CPF. employer contributions of up to 40 per cent and employee contribute up to 20% of their income.

http://www.justlanded.com/english/Belgium/Belgium-Guide/Jobs/Social-Security

In short to hit 70% tax.. one must be making more than EUR$140K and have very few deductible to siamz tax. ppl making that much do know how to hire accountant to lower they tax man.

Still Sg lower..but you expect to get high salary when you hit your 30s right?

My cousin's friend is working in Saudi Arabia now, the pay is 3x higher than Sg.. e.g: if he got 3k here, so now : 9k/month. Moreover, no need to pay tax since you pay zakat only.

patryn33

Saudi Arabia no welfare when u grow old.
U pay your bills thru your own savings.

those Scandinavian countries, Edu free, medicine free, funeral free, retire depending how much U contribute u get $$ until one die. even u are jobless U get some $$, at times owning a dog means getting a few hundred dollars more a mth.

singapore ya tax is lower, U don't save. who is going to pay for your hospital and funeral bills?

anyway, tell it to those guys that say SG sucks.. as for the new article, didn't find any stats that SG have more millionaire than Scandinavian countries where did U get the info from? by other Scandinavian countries U meant? Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland or Iceland? ppl know iceland in big trouble last yr.

ya.. 77000 millionaire here, population of SG ~4.8M thats ~1.5-1.6% no where close to 2%. anyway your pts is every 100 ppl U meet at least 1 is millionaire. thats good news! soon more ppl here will be turning into millionaire and fewer complains!

friendlyguy

Saudi Arabia no welfare when u grow old.
U pay your bills thru your own savings.

those Scandinavian countries, Edu free, medicine free, funeral free, retire depending how much U contribute u get $$ until one die. even u are jobless U get some $$, at times owning a dog means getting a few hundred dollars more a mth.

singapore ya tax is lower, U don't save. who is going to pay for your hospital and funeral bills?

anyway, tell it to those guys that say SG sucks.. as for the new article, didn't find any stats that SG have more millionaire than Scandinavian countries where did U get the info from? by other Scandinavian countries U meant? Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland or Iceland? ppl know iceland in big trouble last yr.

ya.. 77000 millionaire here, population of SG ~4.8M thats ~1.5-1.6% no where close to 2%. anyway your pts is every 100 ppl U meet at least 1 is millionaire. thats good news! soon more ppl here will be turning into millionaire and fewer complains!

http://www.aftenposten.no/english/local/article1881847.ece
this one, norway has 1 out of 86 but singapore has

1 out of 62 exactly, and that's exclude the housewives and children liao..
For your info, in Norway 40% executive jobs must belong to women.

patryn33

huh?
according to this its (Norway) 54,810 out of a population of 4,768,212.
sweden is ~48310 out of a population of 9,219,637.
yes SG (PR or citizens) has more millionaire. I wonder if those rich indo PR help to contribute to the number. over in those Scandinavian countries are there that many PR. The rich is always looking for some kinda tax haven. I think ppl here always complain about FT, if they see the ratio of millionaire here is heavy on the PR side, another reason to complain.

hey whats wrong with 40% of the jobs must go to women? better than some countries don't say what %, so long U are women u are discredited.

OK, so more millionaire here, does it mean the society here is well balance? what's the pt here? avg joe should have 50% of those millionaire? hey with that I wonder why ppl are still bitching about it and wanna be PR in OZ since they should have ~$0.5M in assets/investment/savings. OZ more millionaire?

friendlyguy

huh?
according to this its (Norway) 54,810 out of a population of 4,768,212.
sweden is ~48310 out of a population of 9,219,637.
yes SG (PR or citizens) has more millionaire. I wonder if those rich indo PR help to contribute to the number. over in those Scandinavian countries are there that many PR. The rich is always looking for some kinda tax haven. I think ppl here always complain about FT, if they see the ratio of millionaire here is heavy on the PR side, another reason to complain.

hey whats wrong with 40% of the jobs must go to women? better than some countries don't say what %, so long U are women u are discredited.

OK, so more millionaire here, does it mean the society here is well balance? what's the pt here? avg joe should have 50% of those millionaire? hey with that I wonder why ppl are still bitching about it and wanna be PR in OZ since they should have ~$0.5M in assets/investment/savings. OZ more millionaire?

Singaporean contributes singapore la, those indos contribute to Indo..
And you learnt economics right, it will create economics growth when people in other countries investing in our countries, the influx of foreign exchange so our foreign exchange reserve is more-> our currency is more strength-> cheaper to import.. I would rather respect that people rather than people who come here only to seek a job rather than invest/contribute to our economy.(but I shouldn't because some are di**y money).
More women to get job, it means in Norway you can count the population because in sg some women become housewives so you cannot count the all 4.8m..

yup OZ more millionaires but not per capita.. and GNP/capita here is number 20..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

This is GNP so belongs to Singaporean.

worse than Aussie but better than UK and HK..

patryn33

Singaporean contributes singapore la, those indos contribute to Indo..
And you learnt economics right, it will create economics growth when people in other countries investing in our countries, the influx of foreign exchange so our foreign exchange reserve is more-> our currency is more strength-> cheaper to import.. I would rather respect that people rather than people who come here only to seek a job rather than invest/contribute to our economy.(but I shouldn't because some are di**y money).
More women to get job, it means in Norway you can count the population because in sg some women become housewives so you cannot count the all 4.8m..

yup OZ more millionaires but not per capita..

huh? that Merrill Lynch data is based on citizen? I didn't get that from the report.

U think Singaporean millionaire contribute most of their $$ in SG. that may not always be the case. why are u explaining Econ?
SG ladies also work, why are U discrediting these group of ppl? even no laws saying company must hire x% of ladies, alot of married ladies do work. cannot count the 4.8M, U just paying with numbers man. econ.. statistic.. sign.. number game.

so OZ have how many millionaire reported by Merrill Lynch report? can post a link?
no one is asking GDP.. no need to link to wiki.
ppl here understand, with a larger population sure have the chance to have more millionaire. issue is will one be the next one by going there!

@ bengkia963, u found 1 person here that loves SG

patryn33

no matter how australia is , it is still better than our ******* sg

1st: don't even understand OZ.. another thinking grass is greener?

anyway, how can it be better? fewer millionaire per capita unlike SG was the argument here. ppl imply greater chance of becoming a millionaire here. why not become 1 the go over to OZ and shake leg?

this thread also becoming so EDMW

amerell

If you all think its so great to be a quitter and rise up in Australia, wait till you all come here and

1) Face your PR issues (Can take up from 6-12 months depending on how fast their admin wanna be)

2) Job Hunt (You miss the deadlines and fail your interviews, you just gonna wait 1 year and do odd-jobs like restaurant waiter etc). No PR, no chance for you to get an interview at all.

3) Enjoy slow admin work (Ordering a blanket or your mattress can take 3-4 months to arrive at your house, like that? Don't chase them they dont care)

4) Pay loads of $$$ for workmanship (eg. Renovation, repairing your furniture)

5) Getting fined for overloading your rubbish chute (You think the workers will clear your rubbish bins outside your house if it gets overloaded? They just leave it there if its overloaded and you can get fined).

6) Getting a house around CBD area (Get ready to pay millions if you wanna live around city area). Stay far far away and you will start to compare time vs money.

7) Car Cheap !? (Price of car very cheap but Petrol and maintenance can go up very high).

8) Public Transport good? Wait till you see how frequent trams jam in melbourne and how buses move slowly around sydney.

In my own opinion, you must have come from some well-to-do family if you plan to migrate here long term.

Yunachan

> Amerell
You seem to be really hating AUS to give such a one sided view. I feel that the lacking of basic human rights in Singapore alone would turn many people off. Press freedom at 138th worse than Bangladesh. Human freedom worse than Sri Lanka. Many people do not want to be tools of nation building.
http://en.rsf.org/press-freedom-index-2009,1001.html
http://www.freedomhouse.org/uploads/fiw10/FIW_2010_Tables_and_Graphs.pdf

1) Most people who want to get AUS PR does not care about how long the PR process will take. I would prefer AUS to selectively pick their candidate rather then SG giving PR to Chinese bus drivers.

2) Where do you get that information. If you are good enough for the job you will get it. I dont see failing interviews in SG will get u any job.

3) Slow or not it is their style. Once in Rome do as Romans do, why do you expect Australians to follow your style of living.

4) You do get paid loads of $$$ for doing the same jobs, what is there to complain? It is display of better equality among people when you see a lesser gap of income.

5) Separate the rubbish and throw 2 times.

6) How many Singaporean live in CBD area? Do you live in City Hall or Raffles Place?

7) Be the slave of your car and house in Singapore is definitely a better choice for you obviously.

8) I would not like to take SG bus either when bus drivers do not even know where is Raffles Place.

There are too much reasons not to live in Singapore. Salaries of fresh grads have not raise since past 10years and houses are going up by folds. People graduate to become slaves of their house and car, while ministers drawing millions of salary each year with increment annually. All the statistics are just numbers, easily manipulated. W/o the dirt cheap labors and foreigners how could you get so much econ growth? When Singapore GDP are one of the highest, why I do not see the quality of living being any where near highest? Good job for the garment for achieving New York cost of living and Malaysia standard of living.

Last thing, if you are not willing to adapt then no where is good enough for you. If you are willing to adapt, you can go anywhere.

lycans

3) Enjoy slow admin work (Ordering a blanket or your mattress can take 3-4 months to arrive at your house, like that? Don't chase them they dont care)

4) Pay loads of $$$ for workmanship (eg. Renovation, repairing your furniture)

5) Getting fined for overloading your rubbish chute (You think the workers will clear your rubbish bins outside your house if it gets overloaded? They just leave it there if its overloaded and you can get fined).

6) Getting a house around CBD area (Get ready to pay millions if you wanna live around city area). Stay far far away and you will start to compare time vs money.

7) Car Cheap !? (Price of car very cheap but Petrol and maintenance can go up very high).

8) Public Transport good? Wait till you see how frequent trams jam in melbourne and how buses move slowly around sydney.

In my own opinion, you must have come from some well-to-do family if you plan to migrate here long term.
3) That one is I think you are too used to SG fast and efficient lifestyle. Take some time to get used to it....If you talk nicely to them instead of being angry you usually can get them to do things for you

4) That is true but here people know how to DIY and Bunnings warehouse offer alot of DIY courses...quite interesting

http://www.bunnings.com.au/learn-how-to-DIY_diy-workshops.aspx

5) Are u sure about no.5? I havent seen any rubbish chute around, is only got rubbish bin and me and my house mates havent got any fines for overloading it.

7) Car is really cheap, petrol wise must be tactical because the petrol kiosk here the fuel price fluctuates over the week. Sometimes its cheap on Mon, other times it is expensive....IIRC in the past if you shop at Coles and buy more than $30 of groceries you can get rebates on petrol when you go to selected kiosk. Maintenance wise my friend spends about 1K+ every year on check ups and routine work for his car.

8) Screw Melbourne and Sydney, plenty of other places around to explore and develop your career

amerell

Yunachan,

What i have just posted in my previous post is because people have been spamming this thread that "sg is ****** up" and "i hate sg" they don't even know what to expect in Australia and not everybody is like you all who always think the grass is greener on the other side. You don't think that this thread is becoming more like an EDMW thingy ?

Your reply to my post is just another one-sided view of hating Singapore instead.

If Australia is totally 100% better than Singapore, then wouldnt it make sense for everybody to just leave?

Of course, in Australia you definitely have your:

1) Work-Family balance. (8-5 working lifestyle, who wouldn't crave for that?)

2) High pay in part time jobs. (can easily go up to $20/hr if you have the right connections).

3) 4 seasons in a day.

4) All the interesting festivals.

5) Enjoy being an international and mixing with the locals.

I'm not gonna post anymore in this thread after this since there no link towards helping our fellow citizens achieve their PR.

Yunachan

Amerell,

I do not deny that SG do have advantages over other country like efficiency.
It is all about give and take. No people could get 100% gain on anythings they do. Something have to be forgone when something are to be achieved.

Those who want AUS PR are definitely ready to give up benefits in SG to pick up AUS PR. In the end, everything comes down to personal preference.

lilacblue1

hey guys, I'm currently studying in australia, graduating end of this year and thinking of getting a pr. i would like to hear about the experiences of others who have gone thru this route.

My degree is on the critical skills list(chemist), and I meet the 120 point criteria, however the only problem is I will complete my degree with only 1.5 years of study (with poly exemptions) which makes me uneligible to apply for pr since I don't meet the 2 years study requirements.

Is it possible for me to study one more semester before I grad or should I do 1 yr honors? Or are there any other ways such as enrolling in short courses like for safety or whatnot to get around the 2 yr study requirement? I'm hoping to spend the least amount of money possible towards getting my pr.
LOL. same situation!
but i guess im not getting the PR liao. :(

lilacblue1

mind sharing why not? like what factors and stuff
1. I 'missed' the deadline to apply for graduate's program in Oz.
2. Pulling factor: family and friends in SG
3. Heard that its not guranteed that you'll get your PR even though u meet the criteria plus the cost of applying it...kinda turns me off.

just a qns...isit gonna cost us a few grands to apply for PR? :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.