Bad case experience

MoneyFace =p

I seriously believe this news will spread like wildfire if posted on other foreign forums, cos no such thing have ever happened to renowned brands. :s22:

trento

call the shop first see if can exchange so u won't waste time and energy.

if cannot, go distro. distro don't do, then email Fractal.

mib500

wah the damage look serious... looks like purposely wanna damage the casing... so basically Chassis doesn't have one to one exchange policy... that's when you buy... need to check everything before moving out... base on my experience... but its very rare to see this....

Guanjin Peter

actually.....sit back and think logically for a moment....

if you are the staff see something bend until like that....you still put inside?
it's like a deliberate attempt....
Or the case just went for crash dummies training
unless it's auto packed by machines?

enenyi

Was gonna help a friend build a new pic and what a surprise I got when open up the casing cardboard box.:eek::eek:

Define R5 become ReDefined

KKgslIxh.jpg

9I7t2Ich.jpg

wQT3mtNh.jpg

PS: Cardboard box wasn't dented at all.
U shld have requested the shop to open the cardboard packaging to check for any defects in casing before u pay money. Coz now the distro can use SAF-style reply to u: "When u purchase from retailer, it is consumer's responsibility to check the product for defects before purchase. Distro is not responsible for defective goods that the consumer has accepted upon purchase." In short, they can easily push blame to u as consumer since u didnt check, and it is not the shop's responsibility to check (their responsibility is to sell the product and RMA to distro if defective goods are found), nor is it the distro's responsibility to check since most distros are not allowed to open final packaging.

The only thing u can rely on is that Fractal's distro (Tech Dynamic I think) has compassion for your case and willing to exchange 1-1 on goodwill terms. Can try to argue on the grounds of DOA, though not easy to fight for it, but if u can talk ur way through it, it may be possible. At least now u noe need to check through products before paying for them.

idjekyll

post on facebook and tag Fractal. Who knows someone might get a whiff and fractal will send a new case and freebies to compensate and save face. It's happened before so who knows? hehe

ahjunz

I understand your point and most certainly valid. We open up mobo and gpu to check. But casing rarely seen such big damage. Minor knocks here or there or side panel slightly warped i seen before. However how many of us actually open up the casing to check? The shop already tied it up upon bringing it out.

idjekyll

I understand your point and most certainly valid. We open up mobo and gpu to check. But casing rarely seen such big damage. Minor knocks here or there or side panel slightly warped i seen before. However how many of us actually open up the casing to check? The shop already tied it up upon bringing it out.

this kind of thing is an anomaly ba. just TS luck is crap.

ahjunz

post on facebook and tag Fractal. Who knows someone might get a whiff and fractal will send a new case and freebies to compensate and save face. It's happened before so who knows? hehe
I will see how distro handles this before going this step.

MoneyFace =p

U shld have requested the shop to open the cardboard packaging to check for any defects in casing before u pay money. Coz now the distro can use SAF-style reply to u: "When u purchase from retailer, it is consumer's responsibility to check the product for defects before purchase. Distro is not responsible for defective goods that the consumer has accepted upon purchase." In short, they can easily push blame to u as consumer since u didnt check, and it is not the shop's responsibility to check (their responsibility is to sell the product and RMA to distro if defective goods are found), nor is it the distro's responsibility to check since most distros are not allowed to open final packaging.

The only thing u can rely on is that Fractal's distro (Tech Dynamic I think) has compassion for your case and willing to exchange 1-1 on goodwill terms. Can try to argue on the grounds of DOA, though not easy to fight for it, but if u can talk ur way through it, it may be possible. At least now u noe need to check through products before paying for them.

Who usually really check chassis condition before leaving shop? Cos salesperson usually will wind scotch tape around the box to create a improvised handle (sic ****), and i think pretty inconvenient to take out entire chassis and accessories just to conduct the checks.

And i think points will be served soon for citing wrong distro =:p

It's Convergent....

muddle

Yes I agree with you. Have never seen a case so knocked up on arrival. Furthermore I don't see any hammer marks or anything. The paintwork still looks intact. How can the shop or distro accuse the buyer for abusing the case?

enenyi

Who usually really check chassis condition before leaving shop? Cos salesperson usually will wind scotch tape around the box to create a improvised handle (sic ****), and i think pretty inconvenient to take out entire chassis and accessories just to conduct the checks.

It's Convergent....
Oh paiseh, Tech Dynamic handles NZXT, not Fractal :(

And who checks casing before leaving shop? Me! :p Haha. Coz I usually buy from PCThemes, and their shop has enough space to open up cardboard packaging to double-check casing is correct colour (yes, some manufacturers can even state colour wrongly on the outside packaging, seen before :0) and has defects or not. So different shops apparently carries different risks in this aspect, I guess. :)

Even if talking about shops with limited space, I will still want them to open up to check casing. Must be my buyer's habit ba. :s13: If shopkeeper refuses, I will ask them if anything wrong, I can come back to shop to change or not. Usually they will say can one la, since they lazy to open up for me. Then if really anything wrong like TS' casing now, I will lug casing back to shop complete with original packaging, find back salesman and ask "that day u say anything wrong can come back find u, now...", high chance they cannot siam liao. :s13: Just how persistent u can be when buying stuff from SLS. :s13:

ahjunz

Oh paiseh, Tech Dynamic handles NZXT, not Fractal :(

And who checks casing before leaving shop? Me! :p Haha. Coz I usually buy from PCThemes, and their shop has enough space to open up cardboard packaging to double-check casing is correct colour (yes, some manufacturers can even state colour wrongly on the outside packaging, seen before :0) and has defects or not. So different shops apparently carries different risks in this aspect, I guess. :)

Even if talking about shops with limited space, I will still want them to open up to check casing. Must be my buyer's habit ba. :s13: If shopkeeper refuses, I will ask them if anything wrong, I can come back to shop to change or not. Usually they will say can one la, since they lazy to open up for me. Then if really anything wrong like TS' casing now, I will lug casing back to shop complete with original packaging, find back salesman and ask "that day u say anything wrong can come back find u, now...", high chance they cannot siam liao. :s13: Just how persistent u can be when buying stuff from SLS. :s13:

Bring casing back isnt as easy as just mobo or gpu. Even if they allow 1 to 1, u will waste 2 trips of cab. Its not as though u can bring to work and go change after work. I understand its not shop fault for such situation, i will approach the distro first

enenyi

Bring casing back isnt as easy as just mobo or gpu. Even if they allow 1 to 1, u will waste 2 trips of cab. Its not as though u can bring to work and go change after work. I understand its not shop fault for such situation, i will approach the distro first
Try ba. Wanted to point out that distro can easily blame consumer or shop for the error coz distro don't even get to physically see the casing condition when stock passes through their hands from warehouse to retail shops. I think Convergent will not be so picky on the details, they may be able to give u a 1-1 exchange (coz they also have rep to protect here at HWC :s13:).

Eternal-fire

Woah this is seriously whacked (no pun intended).:eek:

Never seen a case getting damaged so badly before, it's just pure bad luck to kena such a thing, next time should check before leaving.

mib500

It's Convergent....

its me... i will open, ask the shop to open it and we check together... i dont care about it... if you want me to buy then open it... because it s my hard earn money... im abit strict person when comes to buy something... lol :s13::s13::s22::s22:

sglords

Jus see the outside condition of the box can alrdy la.
To check color jus peek through the handle hole to cfm

But Ts case really special. Lol

koroshiya8

Actually I should but I don't.. Given this incident I think.I will check next time. If shop is too cramped just check outside the shop bah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.